DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention of Embodiment 2 of Figures 10-12, Claims 1-20, in the reply filed on 07/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that both Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 2 include a charge bump, a bonding pad with corresponding switch, PMIC, a voltage generator, etc., therefore, are not patentably distinct This is not found persuasive because Embodiment 1 shows a bonding pad with a bonding pad switch, and Embodiment 2, on the other hands, shows a plurality of bonding pads with a plurality of bonding pad switches.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2017/0154666) in view of Suh (PN 8,698,321).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses, as shown in Figures, a memory device comprising:
a first chip (die #1) comprising a memory cell array [0030]; and
a second chip (die #2) bonded to the first chip and comprising a voltage generator ([0006],[0025],[0076]-[0079]) configured to generate a voltage which is supplied to the memory cell array,
wherein the second chip is connected to the voltage generator and bonded to an external charge pump (156 in die #k).
Park does not disclose the second chip comprises a bonding pad. However, Suh disclose a chip (die 1 to die 4) comprises a bonding pad (no label, or 504, 510, 516, 522 of Figure 5). Note Figures 1-5 of Suh. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was made to form the chip of Park comprising a bonding pad, such as taught by Suh in order to provide a better electrical connection between the chips.
Regarding claim 2, Park and Suh disclose the second chip comprises:
a first surface (a bottom surface of die #2) bonded to the first chip; and
a second surface (an upper surface of die #2) on which the bonding pad is formed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant' s claims 3-20 are allowable over the references of record because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed memory device comprising a second chip comprises a bonding pad switch configured to adjust a connection between the bonding pad and the voltage generator, a wire pad connected to the voltage generator in parallel with the bonding pad and connected to an external power management integrated circuit (PMIC), and a wire pad switch configured to adjust a connection between the wire pad and the voltage generator, as recited in claim 3; none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed memory device comprising the second chip comprises: a connection circuit supplied with an external voltage, and a voltage generator configured to generate a voltage which is supplied to the memory cell array based on the external voltage, wherein the connection circuit comprises: a plurality of bonding pads connected to the voltage generator, wherein each bonding pad of the plurality of bonding pads is bonded to a corresponding external charge pump from among a plurality of external charge pumps, a plurality of bonding pad switches configured to adjust a connection between the each bonding pad and the voltage generator, a wire pad connected to the voltage generator in parallel with the plurality of bonding pads, and connected to an external power management integrated circuit, and a wire pad switch configured to adjust a connection between the wire pad and the voltage generator, in combination with the remaining claimed limitations of claim 9; none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed memory system comprising a memory device comprises: a memory cell array, a connection circuit supplied with an external voltage, and a voltage generator configured to generate a voltage supplied to the memory cell array based on the external voltage, wherein the connection circuit comprises: a plurality of bonding pads connected to the voltage generator, wherein each bonding pad of the plurality of bonding pads is bonded to a corresponding external charge pump from among a plurality of external charge pumps, a plurality of bonding pad switches configured to adjust a connection between the each bonding pad and the voltage generator, a wire pad connected to the voltage generator in parallel with the plurality of bonding pads, and connected to an external power management integrated circuit, and a wire pad switch configured to adjust a connection between the wire pad and the voltage generator, in combination with the remaining claimed limitations of claim 16.
Conclusion
/HUNG K VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897