DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and response filed on July 16, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-36 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-18 and 22-36) in the reply filed on July 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 19-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-18 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In claim 16, line 1, the term “the cured thermally conductive silicone rubber composition” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 18, lines 1 and 2, the terms “the innermost electrically conductive liquid silicone rubber layer and the outer or outermost electrically conductive liquid silicone rubber layer” lack antecedent basis.
In claim 36, line 1, the term “the cured composition” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-26, 29, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Naik et al. (US Pub 2019/0092993).
Regarding claim 22, Naik discloses a thermally conductive silicone rubber composition comprising a silicone rubber, a first thermally conductive filler, and a second thermally conductive filler (claims 1 and 4).
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Naik discloses a two-part liquid silicone mixture comprising a cure catalyst (Examples 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 25, Naik discloses that the first and second thermally conductive fillers can be selected from aluminum oxide, alumina, aluminum nitride, and boron nitride (claims 4 and 11).
Regarding claim 26, Naik discloses that the first thermally conductive filler can be aluminum oxide (claim 11).
Regarding claim 29, Naik discloses that the second thermally conductive filler can be boron nitride (claim 11).
Regarding claim 35, Naik discloses that the composition can further comprises additional fillers or additives (claims 1 and 4, [0140], [00189], [0191]).
Regarding claim 36, Naik discloses that the composition exhibits a thermal conductivity of 2 to 14 W/m·K [0036].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27, 28, and 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naik et al. (US Pub 2019/0092993).
Regarding claims 27 and 30, Naik discloses first and second particle size ranges that overlap with the claimed ranges ([0133], [0137]). Naik discloses that the particle size can be measured on a D90 basis [0138]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claims 28, Naik does not specifically disclose an example of a first filler having a morphology selected from platelets and flakes. However, Naik does disclose that the fillers can have a morphology chosen from spherical, platelet, agglomerates, spherical agglomerates and graphitic [0063]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared the composition of Naik wherein the morphology of the first thermally conductive filler is a platelet, as specifically suggested in Naik.
Regarding claim 31, Naik discloses that the second thermally conductive filler can be platelet boron nitride (claim 15).
Regarding claims 32-34, Naik discloses conductive filler weight %, ratio of first conductive filler to second conductive filler, and silicone rubber weight % ranges that overlap with the presently claimed ranges. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (US Pat. No. 5,801,332) in view of Naik et al. (US Pub 2019/0092993).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Berger discloses a shaped, stretched, and cured cold shrink splice article comprising an electrically conductive silicone layer and a thermally conductive silicone layer (col. 4, lines 1-4; col. 5, lines 26-29; col. 6, 39-40). As detailed above, Naik disclosed the claimed thermally conductive silicone rubber layer. Naik further discloses the thermally conductive silicone rubber layer can be used in articles having multiple layers, such as being disposed between two layers [0196]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared the cold shrink splice article of Berger, wherein the thermally conductive silicone rubber layer of Naik is used, motivated by the desire to obtain a cold shrink splice article that exhibits high thermal conductivity and enhanced elasticity, elongation, and hardness properties (Naik [0001]).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Naik discloses a two-part liquid silicone mixture comprising a cure catalyst (Examples 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, Naik discloses that the first and second thermally conductive fillers can be selected from aluminum oxide, alumina, aluminum nitride, and boron nitride (claims 4 and 11).
Regarding claim 6, Naik discloses that the first thermally conductive filler can be aluminum oxide (claim 11).
Regarding claims 7 and 10, Naik discloses first and second particle size ranges that overlap with the claimed ranges ([0133], [0137]). Naik discloses that the particle size can be measured on a D90 basis [0138]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claims 8, Naik does not specifically disclose an example of a first filler having a morphology selected from platelets and flakes. However, Naik does disclose that the fillers can have a morphology chosen from spherical, platelet, agglomerates, spherical agglomerates and graphitic [0063]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared the composition of Naik wherein the morphology of the first thermally conductive filler is a platelet, as specifically suggested in Naik.
Regarding claim 9, Naik discloses that the second thermally conductive filler can be boron nitride (claim 11).
Regarding claim 11, Naik discloses that the second thermally conductive filler can be platelet boron nitride (claim 15).
Regarding claims 12-14, Naik discloses conductive filler weight %, ratio of first conductive filler to second conductive filler, and silicone rubber weight % ranges that overlap with the presently claimed ranges. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 15, Naik discloses that the composition can further comprises additional fillers or additives (claims 1 and 4, [0140], [00189], [0191]).
Regarding claim 16, Naik discloses that the composition exhibits a thermal conductivity of 2 to 14 W/m·K [0036].
Regarding claim 17, Berger as modified by Naik would result in the claimed electronically conductive silicone rubber layer/thermally conductive silicone rubber layer/ electronically conductive silicone rubber layer structure (Berger: col. 5, lines 26-29; Naik: [0196]).
Regarding claim 18, Berger discloses a volume resistivity of the electrically conductive layers that overlaps with the claimed ranges (col. 6, lines 6-19). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub 2023/0374235 and JP 2000-063670 disclose silicone rubbers containing thermally conductive fillers
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781