DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Applicant’s election Species B, claims 1-7, 9, 10, 16, and 20, without traverse in the response filed September 4, 2026 has been acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending while claims 8, 11-15, and 17-19 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second surface" on line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As there is more than one previously recited second surface (see line 2, claim 3 reciting “two second surfaces”), it is unclear as to what “the second surface” recited on line 1 of claim 7 is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 10, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Negishi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0102528 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Negishi et al. discloses a battery cell, comprising:
an electrode assembly (1, Fig. 4);
a casing for accommodating the electrode assembly (3, Fig. 1-7),
an outer surface of the casing (as depicted in Fig. 1-7, an outer exterior surface of the casing 3) comprising
an outer side surface parallel to a first direction (as depicted in Fig. 1-6 and detailed in embodiment of Fig. 7, an outer side surface including 33A, 33B, the two surfaces facing the foreground/background depicted in Fig. 7, and the vertical surface connecting inclined surface 34A and surface 33B as parallel to a first horizontal direction as viewed in Fig. 7) and
a first surface connected with the outer side surface (as depicted in Fig. 7, a first surface, left 33A, connected with the cited outer side surface),
the outer side surface being arranged surrounding the electrode assembly (as depicted in Fig. 4 and 7, the cited outer side surface being arranged surrounding the electrode assembly 1),
the first surface intersecting the first direction (as depicted in Fig. 7, the first surface, left 34A, intersecting the cited first horizontal direction); and
a first electrode terminal convexly arranged on the first surface and for electrically connecting with the electrode assembly (as depicted in Fig. 7, a first electrode terminal 5 convexly arranged on the cited first surface, left 34A, and for electrically connecting with the cited electrode assembly 1),
the first electrode terminal not protruding, in the first direction, from an outermost end of the first surface along the first direction (as depicted in Fig. 7, the first electrode terminal 5 not protruding, in the cited first horizontal direction, from an outermost left end of the first surface, left 34A, along the first horizontal direction).
With regard to claim 2, Negishi et al. discloses wherein
in a direction perpendicular to the first direction, the first electrode terminal does not protrude from the outer side surface (as depicted in Fig. 7, in a vertical direction perpendicular to the cited first horizontal direction, the first electrode terminal 5 does not protrude from the cited outer side surface at 33A).
With regard to claim 3, Negishi et al. discloses wherein the outer side surface comprises
two second surfaces arranged oppositely along a second direction (as depicted in Fig. 1-6 and detailed in the embodiment of Fig. 7, the two surfaces facing the foreground/background depicted in Fig. 7 having the thicknesses T33 and T34 arranged oppositely along a second direction into and out of the foreground/background), and
a third surface and a fourth surface arranged oppositely along a third direction (as depicted in Fig. 1-6 and detailed in the embodiment of Fig. 7, a third surface 33A and a fourth surface 33B arranged oppositely along a third vertical direction),
each of the second surfaces is connected with the third surface and the fourth surface (as depicted in Fig. 1-6 and detailed in the embodiment of Fig. 7, each of the cited second surfaces is connected with the third surface 33A and the fourth surface 33B),
the first direction, the second direction and the third direction are perpendicular to each other (as depicted in the embodiment of Fig. 7, the cited first horizontal direction, the cited second direction into and out of the foreground/background, and the cited third vertical direction are perpendicular to each other); and
the first surface is connected to an end of the third surface along the first direction and inclines towards the fourth surface relative to the third surface (as depicted in the embodiment of Fig. 7, the cited first surface, left 34A, is connected to a left end of the cited third surface 33A along the first horizontal direction and inclines towards the cited fourth surface 33B relative to the third surface 33A), and
the first surface is connected with the two second surfaces (as depicted in the embodiment of Fig. 7, the cited first surface 34A is connected with the cited two second surfaces).
With regard to claims 4 and 5, Negishi et al. discloses wherein
an angle between the first surface and the third surface is θ, and 120° < θ < 150° (see Fig. 7 depicting an angle between the first surface, left 34A, and the third surface 33A is θ, and 120° < θ < 150°).
With regard to claim 9, Negishi et al. discloses wherein the outer surface of the casing further comprises
a fifth surface perpendicular to the first direction and connected with the two second surfaces (as depicted in the embodiment of Fig. 7, a fifth vertical surface connecting inclined surface 34A and surface 33B perpendicular to the cited first horizontal direction and connected with the cited two second surfaces), and
the fifth surface is connected to an end of the first surface away from the third surface (as depicted in the embodiment of Fig. 7, the cited fifth vertical surface is connected to a left end of the cited first surface 34A away from the third surface 33A); and
the fifth surface is located at an outermost end of the battery cell along the first direction (as depicted in the embodiment of Fig. 7, the cited fifth vertical surface is located at an outermost left end of the battery cell along the first horizontal direction).
With regard to claim 10, Negishi et al. discloses wherein the outer surface of the casing further comprises
a sixth surface connected with the two second surfaces (as depicted in the embodiment of Fig. 7, a sixth surface, right 34A, connected with the cited two second surfaces); and the battery cell further comprises
a second electrode terminal convexly arranged on the sixth surface and for electrically connecting with the electrode assembly (as depicted in the embodiment of Fig. 7, a second electrode terminal 5 convexly arranged on the cited sixth surface, right 34A, and for electrically connecting with the electrode assembly 1),
the second electrode terminal not protruding, in the first direction, from an outermost end of the sixth surface along the first direction (as depicted in the embodiment of Fig. 7, the second electrode terminal 5 not protruding, in the cited first horizontal direction, from an outermost right end of the sixth surface, right 34A, along the first horizontal direction).
With regard to claim 20, Negishi et al. discloses a battery, comprising
a plurality of battery cells of claim 1 (see Fig. 8 and recall rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Negishi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0102528 A1).
With regard to claim 6, dependent claim 3 is anticipated by Negishi et al. under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as discussed above. Negishi et al. discloses wherein
a size of the first surface along a fourth direction is L, a size of the first electrode terminal along the fourth direction is W, the fourth direction is parallel to the first surface and perpendicular to the second direction; a size of a part of the first electrode terminal protruding from the first surface along a fifth direction is H, the fifth direction is perpendicular to the first surface (as depicted in Fig. 7, a size of the first surface, left 34A, along a fourth direction is L, a size of the first electrode terminal 5 along the fourth direction is W, the fourth direction is parallel to the first surface, left 34A, and perpendicular to the cited second direction; a size of a part of the first electrode terminal 5 protruding from the first surface, left 34A, along a fifth direction is H, the fifth direction is perpendicular to the first surface, 34A).
Negishi et al. does not disclose wherein L, W, H and θ satisfy W ≤ L-H/(cosθsinθ).
However, the relationship between L, W, H and θ is a result effective variable.
Negishi et al. teaches the relationship between L, W, H and θ directly affects the space between electrode terminals of adjacent batteries and the area of the terminal provided on the terminal connecting part which can lead to an easily assembled battery module exhibiting low terminal resistance (see [0112], [0143], and [0154]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the relation between L, W, H and θ in the battery cell of Negishi et al. and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the space between electrode terminals of adjacent batteries and the area of the terminal provided on the terminal connecting part which can lead to an easily assembled battery module exhibiting low terminal resistance.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 116508196 A) in view of Negishi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0102528 A1).
With regard to claims 1, 3, 7, 10, and 16, Xu discloses a battery cell, comprising:
an electrode assembly (10, Fig. 4);
a casing for accommodating the electrode assembly (casing 20, Fig. 4),
an outer surface of the casing (as depicted in Fig. 14, an outer exterior surface of the casing 20) comprising
an outer side surface parallel to a first direction (as depicted in Fig. 14, an outer side surface including 22, 23, and 21 as parallel to a first horizontal direction along surfaces 21) and
a first surface connected with the outer side surface (as depicted in Fig. 14, a first surface, the surface at 241 connecting surface 22 and surface 23, connected with the cited outer side surface),
the outer side surface being arranged surrounding the electrode assembly (as depicted in Fig. 4 and 14, the cited outer side surface being arranged surrounding the electrode assembly 10), and
a first electrode terminal convexly arranged on the first surface and for electrically connecting with the electrode assembly (as depicted in Fig. 14, a first electrode terminal 31 convexly arranged on the cited first surface, the surface at 241 connecting surface 22 and surface 23, and for electrically connecting with the cited electrode assembly 10),
the first electrode terminal not protruding, in the first direction, from an outermost end of the first surface along the first direction (as depicted in Fig. 14, the first electrode terminal 31 not protruding, in the cited first horizontal direction, from an outermost right end of the first surface, the surface at 241 connecting surface 22 and surface 23, along the first horizontal direction), wherein the outer side surface comprises
two second surfaces arranged oppositely along a second direction (as depicted in Fig. 14, the two surfaces 21 arranged oppositely along a second direction extending along the width of surface 23), and
a third surface and a fourth surface arranged oppositely along a third direction (as depicted in Fig. 14, a third surface, top 22, and a fourth surface, bottom 22, arranged oppositely along a third vertical direction),
each of the second surfaces is connected with the third surface and the fourth surface (as depicted in Fig. 14, each of the cited second surfaces 21 is connected with the third surface, top 22, and the fourth surface, bottom 22),
the first direction, the second direction and the third direction are perpendicular to each other (as depicted in Fig. 14, the cited first horizontal direction, the cited second direction, and the cited third vertical direction are perpendicular to each other); and
the first surface is connected to an end of the third surface along the first direction and inclines towards the fourth surface relative to the third surface (as depicted in Fig. 14, the cited first surface, the surface at 241 connecting surface 22 and surface 23, is connected to a right end of the cited third surface, top 22, along the first horizontal direction and inclines towards the cited fourth surface, bottom 22, relative to the third surface, top 22), and
the first surface is connected with the two second surfaces (as depicted in Fig. 14, the cited first surface, the surface at 241 connecting surface 22 and surface 23, is connected with the cited two second surfaces 21), wherein
the second surface is a surface having the largest area among all surfaces of the casing (as depicted in Fig. 14, the cited second surface 21 is a surface having the largest area among all surfaces of the casing), wherein the outer surface of the casing further comprises
a sixth surface connected with the two second surfaces (as depicted in Fig. 14, a sixth surface, the surface at 242 connecting 23 and 22, connected with the cited two second surfaces 21); and the battery cell further comprises
a second electrode terminal convexly arranged on the sixth surface and for electrically connecting with the electrode assembly (as depicted in Fig. 14, a second electrode terminal 32 convexly arranged on the cited sixth surface, the surface at 242 connecting 23 and 22, and for electrically connecting with the electrode assembly 10),
the second electrode terminal not protruding, in the first direction, from an outermost end of the sixth surface along the first direction (as depicted in Fig. 14, the second electrode terminal 32 not protruding, in the first horizontal direction, from an outermost left end of the sixth surface, the surface at 242 connecting 23 and 22, along the first horizontal direction), wherein the outer surface of the casing further comprises
a fifth surface and a seventh surface respectively located at two ends of the battery cell along the first direction (as depicted in Fig. 14, a fifth surface, right 23, and a seventh surface, left 23, respectively located at two right and left ends of the battery cell along the first horizontal direction);
two ends of the fifth surface along the second direction are respectively connected to the two second surfaces (as depicted in Fig. 14, two ends of the fifth surface, right 23, along the cited second direction are respectively connected to the cited two second surfaces 21),
two ends of the fifth surface along the third direction are respectively connected to the first surface and the fourth surface (as depicted in Fig. 14, two ends of the fifth surface along the cited third vertical direction are respectively connected to the cited first surface, surface at 241 connecting 23 and 22, and the cited fourth surface, bottom 22);
two ends of the seventh surface along the second direction are respectively connected to the two second surfaces (as depicted in Fig. 14, two ends of the seventh surface, left 23, along the cited second direction are respectively connected to the cited two second surfaces 21),
two ends of the seventh surface along the third direction are respectively connected to the sixth surface and the third surface (as depicted in Fig. 14, two ends of the seventh surface, left 23, along the cited third vertical direction are respectively connected to the cited sixth surface, surface at 242 connecting 23 and 22, and the cited third surface, top 22); and
the sixth surface is connected with the fourth surface (as depicted in Fig. 14, the sixth surface, surface at 242 connecting 23 and 22, is connected with the fourth surface, bottom 22).
Xu does not disclose wherein the first surface intersects the first direction such that the first surface inclines towards the fourth surface relative to the third surface and the sixth surface inclines towards the third surface.
However, Negishi et al. discloses a battery cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a first surface intersects the first direction such as that the first surface inclines towards the fourth surface relative to the third surface (see the embodiment of Fig. 7 depicting a first surface, left 34A, intersects the first horizontal direction such as that the first surface, left 34A, inclines towards the fourth surface 33B relative to the third surface 33A).
Negishi et al. teaches the inclined design of the first surface having the electrode terminal provides for an easily assembled module with lower terminal resistance (see [0142-0144]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first surface and sixth surface in the battery cell of Xu to included the inclined design suggested by Negishi et al. because it would have provided for an easily assembled module with lower terminal resistance.
Conclusion
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 September 24, 2026