DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Comments
Claims 1-20 presented for examination. Applicant filed an amendment on 11/25/2025 amending the claims 2 and 11, cancelling the claims 8 and 18 and adding new claims 21 and 22 in the amendment. Therefore, the claims 1-7, 9-17 and 19-22 are pending.
After careful consideration of applicant’s amendments and arguments, new ground of rejections of claims necessitated by applicant amendment has been established in the instant application as set forth in detail below. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Examples of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices; certain methods of organizing human activities; an idea itself; and mathematical relationships/formulas. Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S. ____ (2014).
In the instant case, Claims 1-7, 9-17 and 19-22 are directed to system and method for activating the currency dispensing mechanism based on detection of QR code based capturing image of QR code without direct user input. The claim 1 is analyzed to see if claims are statutory category of invention, recites judicial exception and the claims are further analyzed to see if the claims are integrated into practical application if the judicial exception is recited and the claims provides an inventive as per 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG) and October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility as set forth below:
Analysis:
Step 1: Statutory Category? This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category. MPEP 106.03.
Claim 1 is directed to a touchless ATM system comprising at least a non-transitory computer readable medium and a processor, for activating the currency dispensing mechanism. The claimed system is therefore directed to a statutory category, i.e., a machine (a combination of device) (Step 1: YES).
Claim 11 is directed to a process i.e., a series of method steps or acts, of activating the currency dispensing mechanism, which is a statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited? This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04(II) and the October 2019 Update, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim. There are no nature- based product limitations in this claim, and thus the markedly different characteristics analysis is not performed. However, the claim still must be reviewed to determine if it recites any other type of judicial exception.
Claims 1 and 11 are then analyzed to determine whether they are directed to a judicial exception. The claim recite plurality of steps of “provide currency in multiple denominations, a capturing images of a code without user input, and detecting a QR code.”
The limitations of “provide currency, a capturing images of a code, and detecting a QR code”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind similar to Mortgage Grader, Inc., v. First Choice Loan Servcs with computer implemented method and system for anonymous shopping loan packages but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “processor” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind and thus fall within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract idea set forth in the 2019 PEG. 2019 PEG Section I, 84 Fed. Reg. at 52. For example, but for the “by processor” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually performing steps of “provide currency in multiple denominations, a capturing images without user input, detecting a QR code …” The recitation of a processor in this claim does not negate the mental nature of these limitations because the claim here merely uses the processor as a tool to perform the otherwise mental processes. See October Update at Section I(C)(ii). Thus, the above limitations of recite concepts that fall into the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas (YES).
Step 2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application? This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. This evaluation is performed by (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. 2019 PEG Section III(A)(2), 84 Fed. Reg. at 54-55.
Besides the abstract idea as described in Prong 1, the claim recites the additional elements of the processor performing “transfer and erase information associated with the QR code based on detecting the QR code, partially decrypting, by the image processing unit, the information to identify an interbank network; sending at least the partially encrypted information to the interbank network; receiving a command from the interbank network to authorize a transaction; and activating the currency dispensing mechanism without direct user input.”
The order combination elements of the claim is integrated into a practical application by providing a technical solution to problem of requirement of physical presence and physical interaction with an ATM transaction to operate by pressing input screen and touching screen creating potential environment that transmit germs, bacteria, virus, allergens and other pathogens to other bank customers using the same ATM for financial transactions (see Specification; paragraph [6]).The claims as presented enabled to remote access ATM transaction by scanning QR code by ATM displayed user mobile device without requiring to travel to multiple ATMs to receive currency given denomination by sending and receiving information to mobile device over a Bluetooth, over wireless network using multiple banks network and erasing information stored in QR code after the transaction providing security data protection for the users based encryption decryption of information on the QR code(see Specification: paragraphs [25, 30, 31, 42, and 114-115]). The claims are eligible because they do not recite a judicial exception as per 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG) and October 2019 Update of Subject Matter Eligibility (YES).
Step 2B: Claim provides an Inventive concept? – Not Applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 9, 11-14, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballout, U.S. Pub No. 2014/0019344 (reference A in attached PTO-892) in view of Puffer e al., U.S. Patent No. 10,706,400 (reference B in attached PTO-892) further in view of Inami et al., U.S. Pub No. 2010/0074437 (reference C in attached PTO-892).
As per claim 1, Ballout teaches a touchless ATM (see Fig. 4I), comprising:
a currency dispensing mechanism configured to provide currency in multiple denomination (see abstract; Fig. 4I, ATM Vending/Cash Dispensing Machine (480): Cash Deposit Withdrawal Window (484): paragraph [0022, 0036, 0166, 0171]; where currency dispensed multiple currency denomination);
a camera module for capturing images of a code, the camera module configured to operate without user input (Fig. 4I, Code Scanner/Camera (482): paragraph [0038, 0168]; where ATM Scanner/Camera scans code (QR) that include withdrawal amount and relevant information of the transaction generated by the user mobile device);
at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform operations (see Fig. 4I, ATM Vending/Cash Machines/Point of Service (POS) Terminal (480) <-> User Mobile Device (105): paragraph [0166]); where User Mobile Device communicate wirelessly with devices of the ATM) comprising:
detecting, using the camera module, a QR code (see Fig. 4I, ATM (480) -> Code Scanner (482): paragraph [0038, 0168]; where QR code is scanned and recognized/detected by ATM for cash withdrawal),
based on detecting the QR code, initiating a data transfer module operatively connected to an image processing unit, the data transfer module configured to transfer and erase information associated with the QR code (see paragraph [0169]; where ATM effected payment to Payee based on QR code scanned and generate cancel instructions to Payee mobile device after the payment including identification in order to prevent double payment or unauthorized duplications or the user’s information);
sending the information to an interbank network; receiving a command from the interbank network to authorize a transaction; and activating the currency dispensing mechanism without direct user input (see Fig. 1, User Mobile Device (110) <-> Mobile Environment network/Internet (101) <-> ATMS, Vending and Cash Dispensing Machines (480) and Inter Banking/Financial Institutions (150): abstract, paragraph [0128, 0232]; where system is interconnected with plurality of bank internationally via mobile network and enabling to transfer withdrawal at ATMs from plurality banks based QR code scanned by ATM from the user mobile device).
Ballout does not teach decrypting the information to identify an interbank network; sending encrypted information to the interbank network.
Puffer et al. teach partially decrypting, by the image processing unit, the information to identify an interbank network; sending at least the partially encrypted information to the interbank network (see Fig. 6, ATM 102 -> Card Network Computing System (110) -> Interbank Network Computing System (112) -> Unaffiliated Financial Institution Computing System (620): column 17, lines 8-33; where Card Network 110 decrypt the cryptogram and payment token if the token is not associated with affiliated Financial Institution (FI) and transmit the token to identified Interbank Network and the Interbank Network further send the payment token to Unaffiliated FI which further detokenize the payment token to identify the customer account as described in column 16, lines 48-67 to column 17,lines 1-7).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow partially decrypting, by the image processing unit, the information to identify an interbank network; sending at least the partially encrypted information to the interbank network to Ballout because Puffer et al. teaches including above features would enable to identify unaffiliated financial institution in identified interbank network based of decryption of cryptogram and detokenizing the payment token received (see Fig. 6, column 16, lines 47-67 to column 1-33).
Ballout does not teach partially decrypting, by the image processing unit, the information to identify information; sending at least the partially encrypted information.
Inami et al. teach partially decrypting, by the image processing unit, the information to identify information; sending at least the partially encrypted information (see Figs. 4, 6 and 11 paragraph [0010, 0108, 0105; where information is partially decrypted locating area of encryption).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow partially decrypting, by the image processing unit, the information to identify information; sending at least the partially encrypted information to Ballout because Inami et al. teaches including above features would enable to decrypt specific encrypted information in an encrypted portion of encrypted area such as social security number, or e-mail address that need to protection (see paragraph [0105])).
As per claim 2, Ballout teaches the touchless ATM as described in the claim 1 above. Ballout further teach the ATM, wherein
the touchless ATM communicates with a user via non-visual means (see Fig 4I, ATM Code Scanner (4I) -> Mobile Device (105): QR Code (477): where user mobile device scans QR code based on non-visual wireless mobile communication network as shown Fig. 1).
As per claim 3, Ballout teaches the touchless ATM as described in the claim 1 above. Ballout further teach the ATM, wherein
the camera module is the only device configured to receive input from a user (see Fig. 4I: paragraph [0168]; where QR code in mobile is scanned by Code Scanner in the ATM).
As per claim 4, Ballout teaches the touchless ATM as described in the claim 1 above. Ballout further teach the ATM, wherein
at least one processor is further configured to receive the QR code from a user device (see Fig. 4I, where ATM Vending/Cash Dispensing Machine 480 having processor executing Code Scanner 482 receive/scan QR code by User Mobile Device 105).
As per claim 6, Ballout teaches the touchless ATM as described in the claim 1 above. Ballout further teach the ATM, wherein
the camera module is configured to capture images of QR codes (see Fig. 4I: paragraph [0168]; where Code Scanner in the ATM captures QR code in user mobile device wirelessly).
As per claim 7, Ballout teaches the touchless ATM as described in the claim 1 above. Ballout further teach the ATM, wherein
the camera module is configured to continuously or periodically monitor for QR codes (see Fig. 4I: paragraph [0168-0169]; where Code Scanner in the ATM periodically QR code in user mobile device wirelessly as presented for withdrawing/deposit cash for user and other recipients provided by the user in QR code generated by the mobile device).
As per claim 9, Ballout teaches the touchless ATM as described in the claim 1 above. Ballout further teach the ATM, wherein
the processor is further configured to activate the currency dispensing mechanism without receiving tactile input (see Fig. 4I, where ATM Vending/Cash Dispensing Machine 480 scans QR code 477 by Code Scanner 482 displayed in User Mobile Device 105 and activate currency dispense from Cash deposit withdrawal Window 484).
As per claim 11, Ballout teaches a method comprising steps as described in the claim 1 above.
As per claims 12-14 and 16, 17 and 19, Ballout teach the claim 11 as described above. Claims 12-14,16-17 and 19 are rejected under same rational as the claims 2-4, 6-7, and 9 as described above.
Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballout, U.S. Pub No. 2014/0019344 (reference A in attached PTO-892) in view of Puffer e al., U.S. Patent No. 10,706,400 (reference B in attached PTO-892) and Inami et al., U.S. Pub No. 2010/0074437 (reference C in attached PTO-892) further in view of Yang et al., U.S. Patent No. 11,257,067 (reference D in attached PTO-8920) and Malathi et al., IEEE, 2017 (reference U in attached PTO-892).
As per claims 5, 10, 15 and 20, Ballout teaches the touchless ATM as described in the claims and 11 above respectively.
Ballout does not teach the QR code contains encrypted information comprising: an amount of currency; a breakdown of an amount of currency by denomination; and user information, the user information comprising a user and a bank associated with the user; and activating the currency dispensing mechanism comprises dispensing currency equal to the amount of currency; and updating a data value associated with an amount of currency available.
Yang et al. in view of Malathi et al. teach the QR code contains encrypted information comprising: an amount of currency; a breakdown of an amount of currency by denomination; and user information, the user information comprising a user and a bank associated with the user (Yang et al.: Fig. 1, User Mobile Device (104): Security Client (118); Fig. 2 and 5: column 6, lines 56-67 to column 7, lines 1-41 where data payload transmitted to ATM by tapping mobile device to the ATM is encrypted; Malathi et al., abstract, page 1)
Yang et al. further teach activating the currency dispensing mechanism comprises dispensing currency equal to the amount of currency; and updating a data value associated with an amount of currency available (Yang et al.: Fig. 6, User Mobile Device (104) : Denomination (608) -> 20s; where denomination selection of $5s, 10s, 20s displays available currency denomination in the ATM, no cents which updated as indicated unavailability of specific if that denomination runs out in the ATM:).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow the QR code contains encrypted information comprising: an amount of currency; a breakdown of an amount of currency by denomination; and user information, the user information comprising a user and a bank associated with the user; and activating the currency dispensing mechanism comprises dispensing currency equal to the amount of currency; and updating a data value associated with an amount of currency available to Ballout because Yang et al. teaches including above features would enable to address digital espionage and vulnerability and indicate available dollar denomination prior to selection and encrypting payload and sent to ATM for scanning (Yang et al., column 3, lines 23-41).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballout, U.S. Pub No. 2014/0019344 (reference A in attached PTO-892) in view of Puffer e al., U.S. Patent No. 10,706,400 (reference B in attached PTO-892) further in view of Inami et al., U.S. Pub No. 2010/0074437 (reference C in attached PTO-892) and Koo et al., 2021 (reference V in attached PTO-892)..
As per claims 21-22, Ballout teaches the touchless ATM as described in the claims 1 and 11 above
Ballout does not teach the information stored in the QR code is encrypted on a first layer and a second layer, and partially decrypting the information comprises decrypting the first layer.
Koo et al. teach the information stored in the QR code is encrypted on a first layer and a second layer (see Fig. 4, Prime Layer; Encode QRp; Layer 1 and 2: Encode QR1 and QR2, and partially decrypting the information comprises decrypting the first layer (see Fig. 4, Prime Layer: Decode: Password -> K: page 100-101: 2-2 Attribute-Based Encryption).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow the information stored in the QR code is encrypted on a first layer and a second layer and partially decrypting the information comprises decrypting the first layer to Ballout because Koo et al. teaches including above features would enable to users to decrypt the ciphertext only if the attributes satisfy access policy (Koo et al., page 101, first paragraph).
Response to Arguments
New ground of rejections of claims necessitated by applicant amendment after careful consideration of applicant’s amendments and arguments, has been established in the instant application as described above. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosures. The following are pertinent to current invention, though not relied upon:
Mattison et al. (U.S Patent No. 11,636,481) teach intelligent cash handling with pre-staged transaction by a mobile device.
Phillips et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,997,581) teach personalized QR codes for ATM authentication.
Phillips et al. (U. S. Pub No. 2021/0150497) teach cardless ATM connectivity for denomination selection.
Thimmareddy et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0095698) teach banking at an ATM using mobile device.
Respectfully submitted,
/BIJENDRA K SHRESTHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3691
March 16, 2026
.