DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on March 16, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: (Page 7 f Applicant Arguments/Remarks Page 7):
“nowhere does Haslam disclose a screen reader configured to present such audio data to an authorized user, much less determining a positive enablement status of the screen reader. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Haslam fails to disclose, at least, "determining, by an application running on the client device, a positive enablement status of a screen reader on the client device," as recited in Claim 1.”
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Haslam discloses determining, by an application running on the client device, a positive enablement status of a screen reader on the client device (See Col. 4 lines 1-32; selectively censoring sensitive information presented on a computing device. As referred to herein, “censoring” includes modifying image data, video data, and audio data (e.g., the sound output by an audio device based on the audio data) to block or prevent the sensitive information from being viewed or heard while the image data, the video data, or the audio data is being presented …).
Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, the Examiner has reasonably interpreted the determination of a positive enablement status of a screen reader on the client device to be equivalent to an assistive software or program to be successfully activated and functioning as intended to censoring sensitive information presented (i.e., displayed) on a computing device.
Argument 2: (Applicant Arguments/Remarks Page 8):
“Haslam fails to disclose the determination of a connection status of a client device to an audio device after a number of wait periods, it is clear that Haslam fails to disclose determining a persistence of a negative connection status of the client device to an audio device after each period of the number of water periods. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Haslam fails to disclose, at least, "determining, by the application, a persistence of the negative connection status after each period of the number of wait periods.”
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Haslam discloses determining, by the application, a persistence of the negative connection status after each period of the number of wait periods (See Col. 21 lines 1-17; the uncensored data (e.g., the sensitive information) may be presented by the external device 14 for a time period. For example, the processor 42 may output a message that is displayed on the external device 14 for a predetermined time period, and when the predetermined time period has elapsed, the uncensored data may not be displayed on the external device 14 until the uncensored data is transmitted again to the external device 14).
Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, the Examiner has reasonably interpreted the negative connection status to be equivalent to when the computing device is not transmitting the sensitive information to the external device; where the periods are interpreted to be equivalent to time periods during which the uncensored data (e.g., sensitive information) is displayed on the external device. Therefore, the computing device is not transmitting the sensitive information (i.e., negative connection status) after each allowed time period during which the uncensored data (e.g., sensitive information) is displayed on the external device after being transmitted by the user.
Argument 3: (Applicant Arguments/Remarks Page 8):
“Nowhere does Haslam disclose that a user may be prompted to input a password via an input of the computing device based on a persistence of a negative connection status of a client device to an audio device. In other words, nowhere does Haslam disclose that a user may be prompted to input a password via an input of the computing device based on a negative connection status of Haslam's computing device to an audio device. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Haslam fails to disclose, at least, "prompting, by the client device, to input a passcode via the client device based on the persistence of the negative connection status determination," as recited in Claim 1.”
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Haslam disclose prompting, by the client device, to input a passcode via the client device based on the persistence of the negative connection status determination (See Col. 20 lines 61-67; the user may select a button, input a password, or take another action using the input devices that indicates that user wishes to see the sensitive information, such as on an external device that is paired with the computing device 12).
As described in Examiner’s response to Argument 2, above, the Examiner has reasonably interpreted the negative connection status to be equivalent to when the computing device is not transmitting the sensitive information to the external device. As taught by Haslam, the user may input a password (i.e., passcode) via the computing device when the user wants to censor the sensitive information and decides to transmit the sensitive information to the external device while the user is not currently transmitting any sensitive information to the external device (i.e., based on the persistence of the negative connection status).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haslam et al. (Patent No. US 12,182,302), hereinafter Haslam.
Claim 1. Haslam discloses [a] method for securely communicating sensitive information on a client device (See Col. 3 lines 48-67; allow or deny data that includes sensitive information (e.g., personal information of a user or other users and confidential information associated with an organization that employs the user) to be presented (e.g., displayed, output using a sound device) on a computing device associated with the user … controlling the presentation of certain data for the user may help improve the security related to distributing the sensitive information), the method comprising:
receiving, by a client device, sensitive information (See Col. 1 lines 56-66; receiving an indication of data to be presented using a first device. The operations also include determining that at least a portion of the data comprises sensitive information. Further, the operations include censoring the at least a portion of the data to generate censored user data in response to determining that the user data comprises the sensitive information);
determining, by an application running on the client device, a positive enablement status of a screen reader on the client device (See Col. 4 lines 1-32; selectively censoring sensitive information presented on a computing device. As referred to herein, “censoring” includes modifying image data, video data, and audio data (e.g., the sound output by an audio device based on the audio data) to block or prevent the sensitive information from being viewed or heard while the image data, the video data, or the audio data is being presented …);
determining, by the application, a negative connection status of the client device to an audio device; prompting, by the client device, to connect an audio device to the client device based on the negative connection status determination (See Col. 20 lines 26-60; scan for devices (audio device) capable of pairing with the computing device 12. In any case, the processor 42 may output a control signal that causes the display 48 to present a list of paired or connected devices identified using the scan. Then, the processor 42 may receive a selection (e.g., via the input device 50) of one of the devices presented in the list … the indication may list one or more devices that are capable of connecting to or pairing with the computing device 12. Accordingly, the indication may also include a user selectable control enabling the user to confirm whether to pair with one of the listed devices);
triggering, by the application, a number of wait periods (See Col. 7 lines 57-67 and Col. 8 lines 1-18; the computing device 12 may automatically determine whether or not to censor the data based on user-defined criteria and/or filter data, such as a time period … the user may only want to filter sensitive data during the day, which may correspond to when the user is working. Accordingly, the filter data may include a time period (e.g., 9 AM to 5 PM) when the user wants to censor sensitive information. As such, the computing device 12 may censor sensitive information that may be displayed on the computing during the time period);
determining, by the application, a persistence of the negative connection status after each period of the number of wait periods (See Col. 21 lines 1-17; the uncensored data (e.g., the sensitive information) may be presented by the external device 14 for a time period. For example, the processor 42 may output a message that is displayed on the external device 14 for a predetermined time period, and when the predetermined time period has elapsed, the uncensored data may not be displayed on the external device 14 until the uncensored data is transmitted again to the external device 14); and
prompting, by the client device, to input a passcode via the client device based on the persistence of the negative connection status determination (See Col. 20 lines 61-67; the user may select a button, input a password, or take another action using the input devices that indicates that user wishes to see the sensitive information, such as on an external device that is paired with the computing device 12).
Claim 4. Haslam discloses the method of claim 1,
Haslam further discloses the method further comprising:
determining, by the application, a positive connection status of the client device to an audio device (See Col. 20 lines 30-37; the processor 42 may scan for devices (e.g., the external device 14, the wearable device 16, and the smart glasses 20) connected (e.g., physically or wirelessly) to the computing device 12. Additionally or alternatively, the processor 42 may scan for devices currently paired with (e.g., via a wireless connection) the computing device 12 or capable of pairing with the computing device 12); and
playing, by the screen reader, a screen reading of the sensitive information on the client device via the audio device based on the positive connection status determination (See Col. 21 lines 1-6; the processor 42 may transmit the uncensored data (e.g., the sensitive information) to be presented by the additional device. For example, the processor 42 may transmit an image, a text message, audio data, and other suitable formats of the data to be presented on the external device 14).
Claim 5. Haslam discloses the method of claim 1,
Haslam further discloses the method further comprising:
determining, by the application, a positive connection status of the client device to an audio device after a period of the number of wait periods (See Col. 20 lines 30-37; the processor 42 may scan for devices (e.g., the external device 14, the wearable device 16, and the smart glasses 20) connected (e.g., physically or wirelessly) to the computing device 12. Additionally or alternatively, the processor 42 may scan for devices currently paired with (e.g., via a wireless connection) the computing device 12 or capable of pairing with the computing device 12);
playing, by the screen reader, a screen reading of the sensitive information on the client device via an audio device based on the positive connection status determination (See Col. 21 lines 1-6; the processor 42 may transmit the uncensored data (e.g., the sensitive information) to be presented by the additional device. For example, the processor 42 may transmit an image, a text message, audio data, and other suitable formats of the data to be presented on the external device 14); and
terminating, by the application, any remaining wait periods of the number of wait periods based on the positive connection status determination (See Col. 21 lines 8-13; the processor 42 may output a message that is displayed on the external device for a predetermined time period, and when the predetermined time period has elapsed, the uncensored data may not be displayed on the external device 14 until the uncensored data is transmitted again to the external device 14).
Claim 6. Haslam discloses the method of claim 1,
Haslam further discloses the method further comprising:
determining, by the application, a negative enablement status of a screen reader on the client device; and displaying, by the client device, the sensitive information on a display of the client device (See Col. 9 lines 57-59; the processor 42 may receive an indication indicative of data (e.g., image data, audio data, video data) to be presented on a computing device 12 … See Col. 10 lines 13-24; the processor 42 may retrieve, intercept, or collect the data to be presented on the computing device 12 in response to receiving the indication of the data to be presented on the computing device 12. In general, retrieving, intercepting, or collecting the data to be presented on the computing device 12 may include accessing the data before the data is presented or opened ... In this way, the processor 42 may prevent data including sensitive information from being displayed in a public area, or otherwise a location where the user may not desire the data be presented).
Claim 7. Haslam discloses the method of claim 1,
Haslam further discloses the method further comprising:
prompting, by the application, to input the passcode via the client device based on the persistence of the negative connection status after a last wait period of the number of wait periods; receiving, by the client device, the passcode; verifying, by the client device, the passcode; and displaying, by the client device, the sensitive information on the client device based on a verification of the passcode (See Col. 20 lines 8-14; the processor 42 may configure the censored data to become selectively removed (e.g., uncensored) upon the user providing a password, hovering a cursor over the object masking the sensitive information, receiving a voice command, or otherwise indicate (e.g., using the input device 50) that the user desires to see the sensitive information … See Col. 20 lines 62-65; he processor 42 may receive the request based on other types of input that are provided by the user. For example, the user may select a button, input a password, or take another action using the input devices that indicates that user wishes to see the sensitive information).
Claim 8. Haslam discloses the method of claim 1,
Haslam further discloses the method further comprising:
determining, by a proximity sensor of the client device, a relative position of the client device to a user of the client device based on the negative connection status, wherein the relative position is within an operable position (See Col. 12 lines 1-3; the processor 42 may determine whether the user (e.g., an authorized user) is using the computing device 12 in a public location or in an area in which unknown or unwanted individuals or devices may have access to view or acquire the sensitive information. See also Col. 15 lines 41-44; the processor 42 may identify objects (e.g., lamps, computers, coffee mugs, framed objects, lighting) that may indicate whether the user is using the computing device 12 in an office or in a public location); and
playing, by the screen reader, a screen reading of the sensitive information by an audio device connected to the client device based on the relative position being within the operable position, wherein at least one of a volume or a spatial direction of the screen reading is based on the relative position (See Col. 13 lines 41-44; if the processor 42 does not determine that the user is using the computing device in a public or other undesirable location, the processor 42 may display the sensitive information. See Col. 15 lines 49-53; if the processor 42 determines that the sensor image data does not indicate that the user is using the device in a public location or is located in an expected environment (e.g., home office), the processor may display the sensitive information. See Col. 14 lines 32-36; the processor 42 may uncensor or transmit the sensitive information to a suitable device (e.g., audio headphone, wearable device) to enable the user to view or acquire the data without compromising the security of the data being presented).
Claim 9. Haslam discloses the method of claim 1,
Haslam further discloses the method further comprising:
determining, by a proximity sensor of the client device, a relative position of the client device to a user of the client device based on the negative connection status, wherein the relative position is within one of an operable position or an inoperable position (See Col. 12 lines 1-3; the processor 42 may determine whether the user (e.g., an authorized user) is using the computing device 12 in a public location or in an area in which unknown or unwanted individuals or devices may have access to view or acquire the sensitive information. See also Col. 15 lines 41-44; the processor 42 may identify objects (e.g., lamps, computers, coffee mugs, framed objects, lighting) that may indicate whether the user is using the computing device 12 in an office or in a public location); and
triggering, by the application, a prompting protocol based on the relative position being within the inoperable position (See Col. 13 lines 44-49; If, however, the processor 42 does determine that the user is using the computing device in a public or undesirable location, the processor 42 may proceed to block 72. At block 72, the processor 42 may censor the sensitive information to generate censored sensitive information. See Col. 15 lines 44-48; when the processor 42 identifies objects that are not associated with the user's office or an expected environment, the processor 42 may determine that the user is working in a public location and the processor 42 may censor the sensitive information).
Claim 10. Haslam discloses the method of claim 9,
Haslam further discloses wherein the prompting protocol comprises:
prompting, by the client device, to position the client device in a certain position (See Col. 12 lines 1-3; the processor 42 may determine whether the user (e.g., an authorized user) is using the computing device 12 in a public location or in an area in which unknown or unwanted individuals or devices may have access to view or acquire the sensitive information. See also Col. 15 lines 41-44; the processor 42 may identify objects (e.g., lamps, computers, coffee mugs, framed objects, lighting) that may indicate whether the user is using the computing device 12 in an office or in a public location);
detecting, by the proximity sensor, a change in the relative position; determining, via the proximity sensor, a new relative position of the client device to the user (See Col. 12 lines 1-3; the processor 42 may determine whether the user (e.g., an authorized user) is using the computing device 12 in a public location or in an area in which unknown or unwanted individuals or devices may have access to view or acquire the sensitive information. See also Col. 15 lines 41-44; the processor 42 may identify objects (e.g., lamps, computers, coffee mugs, framed objects, lighting) that may indicate whether the user is using the computing device 12 in an office or in a public location);
playing, by the screen reader, a screen reading of the sensitive information based on the new relative position being within the operable position (See Col. 13 lines 41-44; if the processor 42 does not determine that the user is using the computing device in a public or other undesirable location, the processor 42 may display the sensitive information. See also Col. 15 lines 49-53 and Col. 14 lines 32-36); and
terminating, by the client device, the prompting protocol based on the new relative position being within the operable position (See Col. 11 lines 57-65; the processor 42 may determine whether the computing device 12 is being used in a public location (or a location deemed inappropriate). In this way, the censoring application 30 may censor the sensitive information when an unauthorized user, that was previously not in a position to view or hear the sensitive information, moves to such a position, or the user moves to a position that enables an unauthorized person or sensor (camera, mic, etc.) to view and or hear the data).
Claim 11. Haslam discloses the method of claim 10,
Haslam further discloses the method further comprising:
generating, by the client device, an updated audio prompt instruction comprising a prompt to position the client device in a certain position or a different user position based on the new relative position being within an inoperable position (See Col. 17 lines 13-24; the processor 42 may send suitable signals (e.g., control signals) to instruct the audio sensors 38 to acquire audio data based on the operation of the computing device 12. For example, the processor 42 may receive the audio data related to an environment surrounding the computing device 12 while the user is utilizing a software application associated with the user's work or the presence of sensitive information. The processor 42 may determine whether the received audio data indicates whether the user is using the computing device 12 in a public location. See Col. 17 line 66; the processor 42 censors the data, which is generally).
Claim 12. Haslam discloses the method of claim 9,
Haslam further discloses wherein the prompting comprises instructions to connect, move, or orientate at least one of the client device or the audio device (See Col. 20 lines 26-60; scan for devices capable of pairing with the computing device 12. In any case, the processor 42 may output a control signal that causes the display 48 to present a list of paired or connected devices identified using the scan. Then, the processor 42 may receive a selection (e.g., via the input device 50) of one of the devices presented in the list … the indication may list one or more devices that are capable of connecting to or pairing with the computing device 12. Accordingly, the indication may also include a user selectable control enabling the user to confirm whether to pair with one of the listed devices).
Claim 13. Haslam discloses the method of claim 9,
Haslam further discloses the method further comprising:
playing, by the screen reader, a screen reading of the sensitive information based on the relative position being within the operable position (See Col. 13 lines 41-44; if the processor 42 does not determine that the user is using the computing device in a public or other undesirable location, the processor 42 may display the sensitive information. See Col. 15 lines 49-53; if the processor 42 determines that the sensor image data does not indicate that the user is using the device in a public location or is located in an expected environment (e.g., home office), the processor may display the sensitive information. See Col. 14 lines 32-36; the processor 42 may uncensor or transmit the sensitive information to a suitable device (e.g., audio headphone, wearable device) to enable the user to view or acquire the data without compromising the security of the data being presented).
Claim 14. Haslam discloses the system for securely communicating sensitive
information on a client device (See Col. 3 lines 48-67; allow or deny data that includes sensitive information (e.g., personal information of a user or other users and confidential information associated with an organization that employs the user) to be presented (e.g., displayed, output using a sound device) on a computing device associated with the user … controlling the presentation of certain data for the user may help improve the security related to distributing the sensitive information), the system comprising:
a terminal device or online platform; a client device comprising a wireless interface; and a server coupled to the client device and the terminal device or the online platform, wherein the server facilitates communication between the client device and the terminal device or the online platform (See Fig. 1 and Col. 9 lines 35-39; aspects of the presently disclosed subject matter may be implemented in or across a plurality of processing chips or devices, and storage may similarly be effected across a plurality of devices. Such devices might include personal computers, network servers, and handheld devices);
wherein the client device is configured to:
determine a positive enablement status of a feature or option on the client device (See Col. 4 lines 1-32; selectively censoring sensitive information presented on a computing device. As referred to herein, “censoring” includes modifying image data, video data, and audio data (e.g., the sound output by an audio device based on the audio data) to block or prevent the sensitive information from being viewed or heard while the image data, the video data, or the audio data is being presented …);
determine a negative connection status of the client device to an audio device based on the positive enablement status determination (See Col. 20 lines 26-60; scan for devices (audio device) capable of pairing with the computing device 12. In any case, the processor 42 may output a control signal that causes the display 48 to present a list of paired or connected devices identified using the scan. Then, the processor 42 may receive a selection (e.g., via the input device 50) of one of the devices presented in the list … the indication may list one or more devices that are capable of connecting to or pairing with the computing device 12. Accordingly, the indication may also include a user selectable control enabling the user to confirm whether to pair with one of the listed devices);
trigger a number of wait periods; determine a connection status of the client device to an audio device after at least one wait period of the number of wait periods (See Col. 7 lines 57-67 and Col. 8 lines 1-18; the computing device 12 may automatically determine whether or not to censor the data based on user-defined criteria and/or filter data, such as a time period … the user may only want to filter sensitive data during the day, which may correspond to when the user is working. Accordingly, the filter data may include a time period (e.g., 9 AM to 5 PM) when the user wants to censor sensitive information. As such, the computing device 12 may censor sensitive information that may be displayed on the computing during the time period. See also Col. 20 lines 26-60); and
playing a screen reading of sensitive information, generating a prompt, terminating the number of wait periods, or continuing the number of wait periods based on the connection status after the at least one wait period (See Col. 14 lines 32-36; the processor 42 may uncensor or transmit the sensitive information to a suitable device (e.g., audio headphone, wearable device) to enable the user to view or acquire the data without compromising the security of the data being presented. See Col. 20 lines 61-67; the user may select a button, input a password, or take another action using the input devices that indicates that user wishes to see the sensitive information, such as on an external device that is paired with the computing device 12).
Claim 15. Haslam discloses the system of claim 14,
Haslam further discloses wherein the client device is further configured to connect via the wireless interface to the server to communicate with the terminal device or the online platform (See Fig. 1 and Col. 9 lines 35-39; aspects of the presently disclosed subject matter may be implemented in or across a plurality of processing chips or devices, and storage may similarly be effected across a plurality of devices. Such devices might include personal computers, network servers, and handheld devices).
Claim 16. Haslam discloses the system of claim 14,
Haslam further discloses wherein the client device is further configured to:
transmit the connection status to the terminal device or the online platform; and receive an authentication request or sensitive information from the terminal device or the online platform (See Col. 14 lines 32-36; the processor 42 may uncensor or transmit the sensitive information to a suitable device (e.g., audio headphone, wearable device) to enable the user to view or acquire the data without compromising the security of the data being presented. See Col. 20 lines 61-67; the user may select a button, input a password, or take another action using the input devices that indicates that user wishes to see the sensitive information, such as on an external device that is paired with the computing device 12).
Claim 17. Haslam discloses the system of claim14,
Haslam further discloses wherein the terminal device or the online platform is configured to: transmit the sensitive information to the client device based on a successful authentication of a user or a connection status of the client device to the audio device (See Col. 14 lines 32-36; the processor 42 may uncensor or transmit the sensitive information to a suitable device (e.g., audio headphone, wearable device) to enable the user to view or acquire the data without compromising the security of the data being presented. See Col. 20 lines 61-67; the user may select a button, input a password, or take another action using the input devices that indicates that user wishes to see the sensitive information, such as on an external device that is paired with the computing device 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haslam et al. (Patent No. US 12,182,302), hereinafter Haslam, in view of Iranitalab et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0098086), hereinafter Iranitalab.
Claim 2. Haslam discloses the method of claim 1,
Haslam doesn’t explicitly disclose the method further comprising authenticating, by the client device, a user of the client device via multifactor authentication (MFA).
However, Iranitalab discloses authenticating, by the client device, a user of the client device via multifactor authentication (MFA) (See Parag. [0030]; transmitting a notification to the corresponding user device, and/or requesting the corresponding user conduct multi-factor authentication. See Parag. [0075]; conduct multi-factor authentication (e.g., input biometric information)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Haslam, to include authenticating, by the client device, a user of the client device via multifactor authentication, as taught by Iranitalab. This would be convenient to authenticate individuals prior to allowing them to conduct higher risk transactions, such as those involving higher amounts of money or those that may pose greater risk to a responsible party (Iranitalab, Parag. [0002]).
Claim 3. Haslam in view of Iranitalab discloses the method of claim 2,
Iranitalab further discloses wherein the MFA comprises biometric identification information of the user (See Parag. [0030]; transmitting a notification to the corresponding user device, and/or requesting the corresponding user conduct multi-factor authentication. See Parag. [0075]; conduct multi-factor authentication (e.g., input biometric information)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Haslam, to include authenticating, by the client device, a user of the client device via multifactor authentication, as taught by Iranitalab. This would be convenient to authenticate individuals prior to allowing them to conduct higher risk transactions, such as those involving higher amounts of money or those that may pose greater risk to a responsible party (Iranitalab, Parag. [0002]).
Claim 18. Haslam discloses a method for securely communicating sensitive information on a client device (See Col. 3 lines 48-67; allow or deny data that includes sensitive information (e.g., personal information of a user or other users and confidential information associated with an organization that employs the user) to be presented (e.g., displayed, output using a sound device) on a computing device associated with the user … controlling the presentation of certain data for the user may help improve the security related to distributing the sensitive information), the method comprising:
detecting, by an application running on the client device, an enablement status of a screen reader/talk back feature of the client device (See Col. 4 lines 1-32; selectively censoring sensitive information presented on a computing device. As referred to herein, “censoring” includes modifying image data, video data, and audio data (e.g., the sound output by an audio device based on the audio data) to block or prevent the sensitive information from being viewed or heard while the image data, the video data, or the audio data is being presented …);
determining, by the application, a status of a user of the client device based on the enablement status of the screen reader/talk back feature of the client device; determining, by the application, the status of the user to be a regular user based on the enablement status being disabled (See Col. 12 lines 1-3; the processor 42 may determine whether the user (e.g., an authorized user) is using the computing device 12 in a public location or in an area in which unknown or unwanted individuals or devices may have access to view or acquire the sensitive information. See also Col. 15 lines 41-44; the processor 42 may identify objects (e.g., lamps, computers, coffee mugs, framed objects, lighting) that may indicate whether the user is using the computing device 12 in an office or in a public location);
determining, by the application, the status of the user based on the enablement status being enabled, based on the enablement status being enabled, the method further comprises: determining, by the application, a connection status between the client device and an audio device (See Col. 20 lines 26-60; scan for devices (audio device) capable of pairing with the computing device 12. In any case, the processor 42 may output a control signal that causes the display 48 to present a list of paired or connected devices identified using the scan. Then, the processor 42 may receive a selection (e.g., via the input device 50) of one of the devices presented in the list … the indication may list one or more devices that are capable of connecting to or pairing with the computing device 12. Accordingly, the indication may also include a user selectable control enabling the user to confirm whether to pair with one of the listed devices); and
providing, by the client device, feedback based on the connection status between the client device and the audio device (See Col. 20 lines 61-67; the processor 42 may receive the request based on other types of input that are provided by the user. For example, the user may select a button, input a password, or take another action using the input devices that indicates that user wishes to see the sensitive information, such as on an external device that is paired with the computing device 12. See also Col. 20 lines 26-60).
Haslam doesn’t explicitly disclose unmasking, by a client device, sensitive information using a multifactor authentication (MFA); determining the user to be an impaired user.
However, Iranitalab discloses unmasking, by a client device, sensitive information using a multifactor authentication (MFA) (See Parag. [0075]; requesting Sally conduct multi-factor authentication (e.g., input biometric information). Once the system receives Sally's multi-factor authentication input, and determines it matches Sally's authentication information stored on file with the financial institution, Sally may be able to complete her requested transaction, i.e., virtually view her credit card);
an impaired user (See Parag. [0061]; the user device 402 may include or incorporate electronic communication devices for hearing or vision impaired users).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Haslam, to include authenticating, by the client device, a user of the client device via multifactor authentication; and an impaired user, as taught by Iranitalab. This would be convenient to authenticate individuals prior to allowing them to conduct higher risk transactions, such as those involving higher amounts of money or those that may pose greater risk to a responsible party (Iranitalab, Parag. [0002]).
Claim 19. Haslam in view of Iranitalab discloses the method of claim 18,
Haslam further discloses the method further comprising reading out, by the client device, the sensitive information based on the connection status between the client device and the audio device being connected (See Col. 14 lines 32-36; the processor 42 may uncensor or transmit the sensitive information to a suitable device (e.g., audio headphone, wearable device) to enable the user to view or acquire the data without compromising the security of the data being presented. See Col. 20 lines 61-67; the user may select a button, input a password, or take another action using the input devices that indicates that user wishes to see the sensitive information, such as on an external device that is paired with the computing device 12).
Claim 20. Haslam in view of Iranitalab discloses the method of claim 18,
Haslam further discloses the method further comprising prompting, by the client device, connect the audio device to the client device or locate the client device close to an ear of a user of the client device (See Col. 20 lines 26-60; scan for devices (audio device) capable of pairing with the computing device 12. In any case, the processor 42 may output a control signal that causes the display 48 to present a list of paired or connected devices identified using the scan. Then, the processor 42 may receive a selection (e.g., via the input device 50) of one of the devices presented in the list … the indication may list one or more devices that are capable of connecting to or pairing with the computing device 12. Accordingly, the indication may also include a user selectable control enabling the user to confirm whether to pair with one of the listed devices. See Col. 14 lines 32-36; the processor 42 may uncensor or transmit the sensitive information to a suitable device (e.g., audio headphone, wearable device) to enable the user to view or acquire the data without compromising the security of the data being presented. See Col. 20 lines 61-67).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-form 892).
The following Patents and Papers are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s invention with respect to communication of sensitive information in a secure manner.
Torres (Pub. No. US 2026/0058958); “Social Networking Content Supplemented Web Page Linker;”
Teaches advanced security and privacy features, the present invention creates a trusted environment where users can confidently share, create, and collaborate without fear of compromising their personal information or intellectual property. With end-to-end encryption, granular permission settings, multi-factor authentication, and real-time security monitoring, the present invention ensures that every aspect of the user experience is protected, preserving the integrity and privacy of user contributions while empowering individuals to maintain full control over their content. (See Parag. [0189]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/GHIZLANE MAAZOUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2499 /PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499