DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18430567 application filed February 1, 2024, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on July 14, 2026. Claims 1-15 and 19-23 are currently pending and have been considered below. Applicant’s cancelation of claims 16-18 and withdrawal of claims 11-15 and 19-20 acknowledged.
Claim Interpretations
Applicant has elected Group I, which is drawn to a chemical composition, in response to the Election/Restriction requirement. The claims are drawn to a chemical composition, and as such will be examined under such conditions. The process of forming the composition and using the composition, or the material that the composition acts upon are viewed as recitation of intended use and are given little patentable weight. (Please see MPEP 2114 R1-2115 R2 for further details). It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (See MPEP 2106; Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Thomas et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20200071642), hereinafter “Thomas”:--Claims 1, 8, 10: Thomas teaches a removal composition (abstract), comprising ([0010])(i) an oxidizing agent, such as nitric acid, presents at a concentration 0.001 wt.% - 5 wt.% ([0016]);(ii) a complexing agent, presents at a concentration 0.01 wt.% - 10 wt.% ([0018]);(iii) a cleaning agent comprising a water-miscible organic solvent and/or a polymer, such as acetic acid ([0019-0020]), wherein the concentration of the water-miscible organic solvent is 0.0001-5 wt.% (Claim 12) and of the polymer is 0.0001-20 wt.% ([0020]);(iv) a pH adjusting agent, such as phosphoric acid [0038]), to adjust the pH to a desirable value ([0043]);(v) optionally a fluoride containing compound and/or a surfactant, such as dodecylphosphonic acid (DDPA) and/or benzyldimethyldodecylammonium chloride ([0042]), at a weight ratio to component (i)-(iii) of about 0.001:1 to about 10:1 ([0043]);(vi) a buffer, such as ammonium dihydrogen phosphate, presents at a concentration 0.1-20 wt.% ([0033]); (vii) a metal corrosion inhibitor, such as 1-decyl-3-methylimidazolium chloride ([0028]) at a concentration of less than 2 wt.% ([0030-0031]); and (vii) water (Claim 1, [0010]). It is noted that ammonium dihydrogen phosphate is also known as ammonium phosphate monobasic. Since components (v)-(vii) have the same chemical formula as the additive recited in claims 2, 3, 4 and 5 (see Claims 2-5 below), they possess the property of reducing an oxidation rate of a MoOx layer, where x is 1 to 5, as taught by Applicant. Although Thomas does not disclose the exact combination of components recited in claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a removal composition comprising the above components from the list of possible components taught by Thomas in the absence of an unexpected result. According to MPEP 2112.01, II, ““Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.”. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.” It is noted that components (i)-(iii) constitute 0.0111-35 wt.% of the composition, component (v) may constitute 0.000001-200% of the composition and component (vi) may constitute 0.1-20 wt.% of the composition, the amount of component (vii) is 0-2 wt.%, the amount of component (iv) is as needed, and water is added to the balance. Thus, the amount of water may be 0-99.89 wt.% of the composition, which overlaps the claimed range of 1-10 wt.% recited in claim 1.--Claim 2: Thomas teaches that component (v) may comprise dodecylphosphonic acid and component (vi) may comprise ammonium dihydrogen phosphate, as shown above.--Claim 3: Thomas teaches that component (vii) may comprise 1-decyl-3-methylimidazolium chloride, as shown above.--Claim 4: Thomas teaches that component (v) may comprise dodecylphosphonic acid, as shown above.--Claim 5: Thomas teaches that component (vi) may comprise ammonium dihydrogen phosphate, also known as ammonium phosphate monobasic, as shown above.--Claim 6: Thomas further teaches that the pH adjusting agent is present at an amount to adjust the pH to a desirable value ([0043]). Therefore, the amount of phosphoric acid in the composition is a result-effective variable, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the amount of phosphoric acid in the composition, such as to 1-20 wt.%, because it’s been well established that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). --Claim 7: Thomas further teaches that the water miscible organic solvent may be present at a concentration 0.0001-5 wt.% (Table 1). Thomas further teaches to dilute the composition with water and/or water miscible organic solvent at the point of use (Claim 15) from about 1:1 to 2500:1 ([0044]). This reads on the acetic acid, i.e. water miscible organic solvent, concentration recited in claim 7. For example, a composition comprising 5 wt.% of acetic acid, when diluted by 2:1 with acetic acid would comprise 52.5 wt.% of acetic acid.--Claim 9: Thomas does not teaches that the composition comprises any tungsten compound.
Claims 21-22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Thomas:--Claims 21, 22: Thomas teaches a removal composition (abstract), consisting essentially of ([0009]):(i) an oxidizing agent, such as nitric acid, presents at a concentration 0.001 wt.% - 5 wt.% ([0016]);(ii) a complexing agent, such as citric acid (Claim 7)(iii) a cleaning agent, such as acetic acid ([0019-0020]) at a concentration 0.0001-5 wt.% (Claim 12)(iv) at least one quaternary ammonium or quaternary phosphonium compound or inorganic hydroxide; and(v) water. Thomas further teaches that the composition may further include a pH adjustor, wherein the pH adjustor may include the quaternary ammonium, such as tetramethylammonium hydroxide ([0037]), and, in addition, phosphoric acid ([0038]). Although Thomas does not does not disclose the exact combination of components recited in claim 21, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to select the above compounds from the lists of possible compounds in the invention of Thomas. It is noted that the tetramethylammonium hydroxide may be present as an ammonium salt composed of tetramethylammonium cations (CH3)4N+ and hydroxide anions (OH-) in the aqueous composition.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 23, none of the cited prior arts teaches the feature “the additive comprises at least one of 1-dodecylpyridinium chloride, 1-methyl-3-N-octylimidazolium chloride, and 1-decyl-3-methylimidazolium chloride, or any combination thereof” in the context of claim 23.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 14, 2026 have been fully considered as follows:
--Regarding Applicant’s argument that the previous Office action is incomplete because it fails to address claims 21-23, this omission was due to a typographical error. It is shown above that claims 21 and 22 read on the existing prior art, while claim 23 is allowable.
Conclusion
This Office action is to correct a typographical error. All existing rejections are maintained, and the omitted claims are rejected based on the same prior art of Thomas. Therefore, the finality of the Office action is maintained. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713