DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN114740590) in view of Jhang et al. (US20190204559).
Regarding claim 1, Zeng teaches an optical imaging lens (Zeng, figs.1-12, abstract, an optical lens), from an object side to an image side in order along an optical axis (fig. 9, paragraph [0150], along the optical axis O from the object side to the image side) comprising: a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element, a sixth lens element, a seventh lens element and an eighth lens element (paragraph [0150], a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a seventh lens L7, an eighth lens L8), the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (see annotated image, Zeng, fig. 9, the first lens L1 to the eighth lens L8 each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through);the second lens element (fig. 9, lens L2) has negative refracting power (paragraph [0151], the second lens L2 has negative refractive power);
a periphery region of the image-side surface of the third lens element is convex (see annotated image, Zeng, fig. 9, the periphery region of the image-side surface of the third lens L3 is convex);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (fig. 9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface of the fourth lens L4 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (fig. 9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
the sixth lens element has positive refracting power (fig. 9, paragraph [0151] the sixth lens L6 has positive refractive power) and an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 61 of the sixth lens L6 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex (paragraph [0152] the object-side surface 71 of the seventh lens L7 is convex, near the optical axis O); and
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens element is convex (see annotated image, Zeng, fig. 9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens L8 is convex);
wherein lens elements included by the optical imaging lens are only the eight lens elements described above (see fig. 9, only the eight lenses), ImgH is an image height of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0015], ImgH is half of the image height corresponding to the maximum field of view of the optical lens), Fno is an f-number of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0023], FNO is the aperture number of the optical lens), T2 is a thickness of the second lens element (fig. 9, lens L2) along the optical axis, T3 is a thickness of the third lens element (fig. 9, lens L3) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3))≥3.200 (3.85; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162], data of table 11, ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3) = (6.75/(2.1*(0.838+0.32))= 3.85).
Zeng does not explicitly disclose wherein a transition point being a point on a surface of a lens element at which a line tangent to that point is perpendicular to the optical axis, a periphery region of the surface being defined as a region located radially outside of the transition point farthest from the optical axis to an optical boundary when the surface comprises at least one transition point; the object-side surface of the eighth lens element has at least one of the transition point.
However, Jhang teaches the analogous optical imaging lens (Jhang, abstract, an optical imaging lens may comprise at least eight lens elements positioned in an order from an object side to an image side), and further teaches wherein
a transition point being a point on a surface of a lens element at which a line tangent to that point is perpendicular to the optical axis (see Jhang, figs. 1-2, paragraph [0073] “The transition point is a point on a surface of a lens element, at which the line tangent to that point is perpendicular to the optical axis I”), a periphery region of the surface being defined as a region located radially outside of the transition point farthest from the optical axis to an optical boundary when the surface comprises at least one transition point (see Jhang, paragraph [0074] “The region located radially outside of the farthest Nth transition point from the optical axis I to the optical boundary OB of the surface of the lens element is defined as the periphery region. In some embodiments, there may be intermediate regions present between the optical axis region and the periphery region, with the number of intermediate regions depending on the number of the transition points.”);
the object-side surface of the eighth lens element (Jhang, fig. 26, lens 680) has at least one of the transition point (see Jhang, fig. 26, lens 680 has at least one of the transition point on periphery region 6812) and a periphery region (fig. 26, a periphery region 6812) of the object-side surface (surface 681) of the eighth lens element (fig. 26, lens 680) is convex (paragraph [0131] “a periphery region 6812 may be convex”).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Zeng to have the specific lens taught by Jhang for the purpose of the length of the optical imaging lens may be shortened, the HFOV and aperture of the optical imaging lens may be broadened, and meanwhile good imaging quality and system functionality may be maintained (Jhang, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Zeng further teaches wherein EFL is an effective focal length of the optical imaging lens (fig. 9, paragraph [0153] the optical lens 100 with a focal length F = 6.932mm), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: EFL*Fno/ImgH≤2.500 (2.16; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162] data of table 11, EFL*Fno/ImgH = 6.932*2.1/6.75).
Regarding claim 3, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Zeng further teaches wherein TL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L3) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TL*Fno/ImgH≤3.000 (2.33; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162] data of table 11, TL*Fno/ImgH = 7.493*2.1/6.75).
Regarding claim 4, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Zeng further teaches wherein TL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) along the optical axis (fig. 9, optical axis O), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TL/ImgH≤2.000 (1.11; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162] data of table 11, TL/ImgH = 7.493/6.75=1.11).
Regarding claim 5, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Zeng further teaches wherein BFL is a distance from the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) to an image plane (fig. 9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis and Tmax is a maximal lens element thickness among the first lens element (lens L1) and the eighth lens element (lens L8) along the optical axis (see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, Tmax = 0.838), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ImgH/(BFL+Tmax)≥1.500 (3.87; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162] data of table 11, ImgH/(BFL+Tmax) = 6.75/(6.932+0.838)=3.87).
Regarding claim 6, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Zeng further teaches wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to an image plane (fig. 9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, BFL is a distance from the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (lens L8) to the image plane (fig. 9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TTL*Fno/BFL≤20.500 (19.47; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, TTL*Fno/BFL = 9.399*2.1/0.906).
Regarding claim 7, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Zeng further teaches wherein D61t82 is a distance from the object-side surface of the sixth lens element (fig. 9, lens L6) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: D61t82/(T2*Fno)≥4.000 (5.07; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, D61t82/(T2*Fno) = 3.411/(0.32*2.1)=5.07).
Regarding claim 8, Zeng teaches an optical imaging lens (Zeng, figs.1-12, abstract, an optical lens), from an object side to an image side in order along an optical axis (fig. 9, paragraph [0150], along the optical axis O from the object side to the image side) comprising: a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element, a sixth lens element, a seventh lens element and an eighth lens element (paragraph [0150], a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a seventh lens L7, an eighth lens L8), the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (see annotated image, Zeng, fig. 9, the first lens L1 to the eighth lens L8 each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through);
the second lens element (fig. 9, lens L2) has negative refracting power (paragraph [0151], the second lens L2 has negative refractive power);
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the third lens element is concave (see annotated image, Zeng, fig. 9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the third lens L3 is concave);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (fig. 9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (fig. 9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
the sixth lens element (fig. 9, lens L6) has positive refracting power (fig. 9, paragraph [0151] the sixth lens L6 has positive refractive power) and an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 61 of the sixth lens L6 is concave, near the optical axis O); and
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens element is convex (see annotated image, Zeng, fig. 9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens L8 is convex);
wherein lens elements included by the optical imaging lens are only the eight lens elements described above (see fig. 9, only the eight lenses), ImgH is an image height of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0015], ImgH is half of the image height corresponding to the maximum field of view of the optical lens), Fno is an f-number of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0023], FNO is the aperture number of the optical lens), T2 is a thickness of the second lens element (fig. 9, lens L2) along the optical axis, T3 is a thickness of the third lens element (fig. 9, lens L3) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3))≥3.200 (3.85; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162], data of table 11, ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3) = (6.75/(2.1*(0.838+0.32))= 3.85).
Zeng does not explicitly disclose wherein a transition point being a point on a surface of a lens element at which a line tangent to that point is perpendicular to the optical axis, a periphery region of the surface being defined as a region located radially outside of the transition point farthest from the optical axis to an optical boundary when the surface comprises at least one transition point; the object-side surface of the eighth lens element has at least one of the transition point.
However, Jhang teaches the analogous optical imaging lens (Jhang, abstract, an optical imaging lens may comprise at least eight lens elements positioned in an order from an object side to an image side), and further teaches wherein
a transition point being a point on a surface of a lens element at which a line tangent to that point is perpendicular to the optical axis (see Jhang, figs. 1-2, paragraph [0073] “The transition point is a point on a surface of a lens element, at which the line tangent to that point is perpendicular to the optical axis I”), a periphery region of the surface being defined as a region located radially outside of the transition point farthest from the optical axis to an optical boundary when the surface comprises at least one transition point (see Jhang, paragraph [0074] “The region located radially outside of the farthest Nth transition point from the optical axis I to the optical boundary OB of the surface of the lens element is defined as the periphery region. In some embodiments, there may be intermediate regions present between the optical axis region and the periphery region, with the number of intermediate regions depending on the number of the transition points.”);
the object-side surface of the eighth lens element (Jhang, fig. 26, lens 680) has at least one of the transition point (see Jhang, fig. 26, lens 680 has at least one of the transition point) and a periphery region (fig. 26, a periphery region 6812) of the object-side surface (surface 681) of the eighth lens element (fig. 26, lens 680) is convex (paragraph [0131] “a periphery region 6812 may be convex”).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Zeng to have the specific lens taught by Jhang for the purpose of the length of the optical imaging lens may be shortened, the HFOV and aperture of the optical imaging lens may be broadened, and meanwhile good imaging quality and system functionality may be maintained (Jhang, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and Zeng further teaches wherein ALT is a sum of thicknesses of eight lens elements (fig. 9, lens L1~ L8) from the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fi.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, T4 is a thickness of the fourth lens element (fig. 9, lens L4) along the optical axis, T5 is a thickness of the fifth lens element (fig. 9, lens L5) along the optical axis, G34 is an air gap between the third lens element (fig. 9, lens L3) and the fourth lens element (fig. 9, lens L4) along the optical axis, G45 is an air gap between the fourth lens element (fig. 9, lens L4) and the fifth lens element (fig. 9, lens L5) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ALT/(G34+T4+G45+T5)≥2.500 (3.41; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, ALT/(G34+T4+G45+T5 = 4.376/(0.168+0.406+0.338+0.371) = 3.41).
Regarding claim 10, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and Zeng further teaches wherein D41t82 is a distance from the object-side surface of the fourth lens element (fig. 9, lens L4) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: D41t82/(T2*Fno)≥5.800 (7.6; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, D41t82/(T2*Fno)= 5.109/(0.32*2.1) = 7.6).
Regarding claim 11, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and Zeng further teaches wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to an image plane (fig. 9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, AAG is a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TTL/AAG≤3.500 (2.69; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, TTL/AAG=8.399/3.117).
Regarding claim 12, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and Zeng further teaches wherein υ2 is an Abbe number of the second lens element (fig. 9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L2, u2=19.24), υ4 is an Abbe number of the fourth lens element (fig. 9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L4, u4 = 23.52), υ5 is an Abbe number of the fifth lens element (fig. 9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L5, u5 = 23.9), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: υ2+υ4+υ5≤135.000 (66.66; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, described above, υ2+υ4+υ5 = 66.66).
Regarding claim 13, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and Zeng further teaches wherein ALT is a sum of thicknesses of eight lens elements from the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) along the optical axis, T1 is a thickness of the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) along the optical axis, G12 is an air gap between the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) and the second lens element (fig. 9, lens L2) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ALT/(T1+G12+T2)≥2.600 (3.479; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, ALT/(T1+G12+T2)=4.376/(0.838+0.1+0.32)=3.479).
Regarding claim 14, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and Zeng further teaches wherein T1 is a thickness of the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) along the optical axis, T5 is a thickness of the fifth lens element (fig. 9, lens L5) along the optical axis, G12 is an air gap between the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) and the second lens element (fig. 9, lens L2) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: (T1+G12)/T5≥2.000 (2.53; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, (T1+G12)/T5 = (0.838+0.1)/0.371=2.53).
Regarding claim 15, Zeng teaches an optical imaging lens (Zeng, figs.1-12, abstract, an optical lens), from an object side to an image side in order along an optical axis (fig. 9, paragraph [0150], along the optical axis O from the object side to the image side) comprising: a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element, a sixth lens element, a seventh lens element and an eighth lens element (paragraph [0150], a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a seventh lens L7, an eighth lens L8), the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (see annotated image, Zeng, fig. 9, the first lens L1 to the eighth lens L8 each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through);
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the third lens element is concave (see annotated image, Zeng, fig. 9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the third lens L3 is concave);
the fourth lens element has negative refracting power (fig. 9, paragraph [0151] the fourth lens L4 has negative refractive power) and an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (fig. 9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (fig. 9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 61 of the sixth lens L6 is concave, near the optical axis O); and
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens element is concave (fig. 9, paragraph [0152] the object-side surface 81 of the eighth lens L8 is concave near the optical axis O);
wherein lens elements included by the optical imaging lens are only the eight lens elements described above (see fig. 9, only the eight lenses), ImgH is an image height of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0015], ImgH is half of the image height corresponding to the maximum field of view of the optical lens), Fno is an f-number of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0023], FNO is the aperture number of the optical lens), T2 is a thickness of the second lens element (fig. 9, lens L2) along the optical axis, T3 is a thickness of the third lens element (fig. 9, lens L3) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3))≥3.200 (3.85; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162], data of table 11, ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3) = (6.75/(2.1*(0.838+0.32))= 3.85).
Zeng does not explicitly disclose wherein an air gap between the third lens element and the fourth lens element along the optical axis is greater than an air gap between the fourth lens element and the fifth lens element along the optical axis.
However, Jhang teaches the analogous optical imaging lens (Jhang, figs.26-28, paragraph [0130] “As shown in FIG. 26, the optical imaging lens 6 of the present embodiment, in an order from an object side A1 to an image side A2 along an optical axis, may comprise an aperture stop 600, a first lens element 610, a second lens element 620, a third lens element 630, a fourth lens element 640, a fifth lens element 650, a sixth lens element 660, a seventh lens element 670 and an eighth lens element 680.”; paragraph [0131] “The fourth lens element 640 may have negative refracting power”), and further teaches wherein an air gap between the third lens element (Jhang, fig. 26, fig. 28, lens 630) and the fourth lens element (fig. 26, fig. 28, lens 640) along the optical axis (paragraph [0130] “in an order from an object side A1 to an image side A2 along an optical axis”) is greater than an air gap between the fourth lens element (lens 640) and the fifth lens element (lens 650) along the optical axis (paragraph [0008] “an air gap between the third lens element and the fourth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G34”; “an air gap between the fourth lens element and the fifth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G45”; see fig . 28, G34 = 0.077 mm, G45 = 0.062 mm, thus, G34 > G45).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Zeng to have the specific distance taught by Jhang for the purpose of the length of the optical imaging lens may be shortened, the HFOV and aperture of the optical imaging lens may be broadened, and meanwhile good imaging quality and system functionality may be maintained (Jhang, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 16, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and Zeng further teaches wherein υ2 is an Abbe number of the second lens element (fig. 9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L2, u2 = 19.24), υ8 is an Abbe number of the eighth lens element (fig. 9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L8, u8 = 55.75), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: υ8/υ2≥2.000. (2.9; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, υ8/υ2 = 55.75/19.24=2.9).
Regarding claim 17, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and Zeng further teaches wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to an image plane (fig. 9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, AAG is a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) along the optical axis, BFL is a distance from the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) to the image plane (fig. 9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TTL/(AAG+BFL)≥2.000 (2.08; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, TTL/(AAG+BFL) = 8.399/(3.117+0.906)=2.08).
Regarding claim 18, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and Zeng further teaches wherein EFL is an effective focal length of the optical imaging lens (fig. 9, paragraph [0153] the optical lens 100 with a focal length F = 6.932mm), T1 is a thickness of the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) along the optical axis, T6 is a thickness of the sixth lens element (fig. 9, lens L6) along the optical axis, G12 is an air gap between the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) and the second lens element (fig. 9, lens L2) along the optical axis, G78 is an air gap between the seventh lens element (fig. 9, lens L7) and the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: EFL/(T1+G12+T3+T6+G78)≤1.900 (1.99; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, EFL/(T1+G12+T3+T6+G78) = 6.932/(0.838+0.1+0.514+0.677+1.341) = 1.99; it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum range or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05 Section II, Subsection A, citing In re Aller,105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955) --- thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the effective focal length of the optical imaging lens to fit into the claimed range of the above expression, in order to achieve large image size imaging in optical lenses and shorten lens length to achieve miniaturization while maintaining good image quality are problems that the industry urgently needs to solve (Zeng, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 19, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and Zeng further teaches wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to an image plane (fig. 9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, D61t82 is a distance from the object-side surface of the sixth lens element (fig. 9, lens L6) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TTL/D61t82≤3.200 (2.46; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, TTL/D61t82=8.399/3.411=2.46).
Regarding claim 20, combination Zeng-Jhang discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and Zeng further teaches wherein EFL is an effective focal length of the optical imaging lens (fig. 9, paragraph [0153] the optical lens 100 with a focal length F = 6.932mm), AAG is a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig. 9, lens L8) along the optical axis, T1 is a thickness of the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) along the optical axis, G12 is an air gap between the first lens element (fig. 9, lens L1) and the second lens element (fig. 9, lens L2) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: EFL/(AAG+T1+G12)≤2.000 (1.7; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9 EFL/(AAG+T1+G12)=6.932/(3.117+0.838+0.1)=1.7).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references or portions of the reference being used in the current rejections.
Conclusion
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872