DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 3/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeng et al. (CN114740590).
Regarding claim 1, Zeng teaches an optical imaging lens (Zeng, figs.1-12, abstract, an optical lens), from an object side to an image side in order along an optical axis (fig.9, paragraph [0150], along the optical axis O from the object side to the image side) comprising: a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element, a sixth lens element, a seventh lens element and an eighth lens element (paragraph [0150], a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a seventh lens L7, an eighth lens L8), the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the first lens L1 to the eighth lens L8 each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through);
the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) has negative refracting power (paragraph [0151], the second lens L2 has negative refractive power);
a periphery region of the image-side surface of the third lens element is convex (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the periphery region of the image-side surface of the third lens L3 is convex);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (fig.9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface of the fourth lens L4 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (fig.9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
the sixth lens element has positive refracting power (fig.9, paragraph [0151] the sixth lens L6 has positive refractive power) and an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 61 of the sixth lens L6 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex (paragraph [0152] the object-side surface 71 of the seventh lens L7 is convex, near the optical axis O); and
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens element is convex (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens L8 is convex);
wherein lens elements included by the optical imaging lens are only the eight lens elements described above (see fig.9, only the eight lenses), ImgH is an image height of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0015], ImgH is half of the image height corresponding to the maximum field of view of the optical lens), Fno is an f-number of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0023], FNO is the aperture number of the optical lens), T2 is a thickness of the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, T3 is a thickness of the third lens element (fig.9, lens L3) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3))≥3.200 (3.85; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162], data of table 11, ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3) = (6.75/(2.1*(0.838+0.32))= 3.85).
Regarding claim 2, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein EFL is an effective focal length of the optical imaging lens (fig.9, paragraph [0153] the optical lens 100 with a focal length F = 6.932mm), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: EFL*Fno/ImgH≤2.500 (2.16; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162] data of table 11, EFL*Fno/ImgH = 6.932*2.1/6.75).
Regarding claim 3, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein TL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L3) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TL*Fno/ImgH≤3.000 (2.33; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162] data of table 11, TL*Fno/ImgH = 7.493*2.1/6.75).
Regarding claim 4, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein TL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis (fig.9, optical axis O), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TL/ImgH≤2.000 (1.11; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162] data of table 11, TL/ImgH = 7.493/6.75=1.11).
Regarding claim 5, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein BFL is a distance from the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) to an image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis and Tmax is a maximal lens element thickness among the first lens element (lens L1) and the eighth lens element (lens L8) along the optical axis (see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, Tmax = 0.838), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ImgH/(BFL+Tmax)≥1.500 (3.87; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162] data of table 11, ImgH/(BFL+Tmax) = 6.75/(6.932+0.838)=3.87).
Regarding claim 6, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to an image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, BFL is a distance from the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (lens L8) to the image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TTL*Fno/BFL≤20.500 (19.47; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, TTL*Fno/BFL = 9.399*2.1/0.906).
Regarding claim 7, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein D61t82 is a distance from the object-side surface of the sixth lens element (fig.9, lens L6) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: D61t82/(T2*Fno)≥4.000 (5.07; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, D61t82/(T2*Fno) = 3.411/(0.32*2.1)=5.07).
Regarding claim 8, Zeng teaches an optical imaging lens (Zeng, figs.1-12, abstract, an optical lens), from an object side to an image side in order along an optical axis (fig.9, paragraph [0150], along the optical axis O from the object side to the image side) comprising: a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element, a sixth lens element, a seventh lens element and an eighth lens element (paragraph [0150], a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a seventh lens L7, an eighth lens L8), the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the first lens L1 to the eighth lens L8 each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through);
the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) has negative refracting power (paragraph [0151], the second lens L2 has negative refractive power);
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the third lens element is concave (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the third lens L3 is concave);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (fig.9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (fig.9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
the sixth lens element (fig.9, lens L6) has positive refracting power (fig.9, paragraph [0151] the sixth lens L6 has positive refractive power) and an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 61 of the sixth lens L6 is concave, near the optical axis O); and
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens element is convex (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens L8 is convex);
wherein lens elements included by the optical imaging lens are only the eight lens elements described above (see fig.9, only the eight lenses), ImgH is an image height of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0015], ImgH is half of the image height corresponding to the maximum field of view of the optical lens), Fno is an f-number of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0023], FNO is the aperture number of the optical lens), T2 is a thickness of the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, T3 is a thickness of the third lens element (fig.9, lens L3) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3))≥3.200 (3.85; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162], data of table 11, ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3) = (6.75/(2.1*(0.838+0.32))= 3.85).
Regarding claim 9, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein ALT is a sum of thicknesses of eight lens elements (fig.9, lens L1~ L8) from the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fi.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, T4 is a thickness of the fourth lens element (fig.9, lens L4) along the optical axis, T5 is a thickness of the fifth lens element (fig.9, lens L5) along the optical axis, G34 is an air gap between the third lens element (fig.9, lens L3) and the fourth lens element (fig.9, lens L4) along the optical axis, G45 is an air gap between the fourth lens element (fig.9, lens L4) and the fifth lens element (fig.9, lens L5) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ALT/(G34+T4+G45+T5)≥2.500 (3.41; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, ALT/(G34+T4+G45+T5 = 4.376/(0.168+0.406+0.338+0.371) = 3.41).
Regarding claim 10, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein D41t82 is a distance from the object-side surface of the fourth lens element (fig.9, lens L4) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: D41t82/(T2*Fno)≥5.800 (7.6; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, D41t82/(T2*Fno)= 5.109/(0.32*2.1) = 7.6).
Regarding claim 11, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to an image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, AAG is a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TTL/AAG≤3.500 (2.69; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, TTL/AAG=8.399/3.117).
Regarding claim 12, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein υ2 is an Abbe number of the second lens element (fig.9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L2, u2=19.24), υ4 is an Abbe number of the fourth lens element (fig.9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L4, u4 = 23.52), υ5 is an Abbe number of the fifth lens element (fig.9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L5, u5 = 23.9), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: υ2+υ4+υ5≤135.000 (66.66; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, described above, υ2+υ4+υ5 = 66.66).
Regarding claim 13, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein ALT is a sum of thicknesses of eight lens elements from the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, T1 is a thickness of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) along the optical axis, G12 is an air gap between the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) and the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ALT/(T1+G12+T2)≥2.600 (3.479; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, ALT/(T1+G12+T2)=4.376/(0.838+0.1+0.32)=3.479).
Regarding claim 14, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein T1 is a thickness of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) along the optical axis, T5 is a thickness of the fifth lens element (fig.9, lens L5) along the optical axis, G12 is an air gap between the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) and the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: (T1+G12)/T5≥2.000 (2.53; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, (T1+G12)/T5 = (0.838+0.1)/0.371=2.53).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN114740590), and further in view of Wenren (US20190107690).
Regarding claim 15, Zeng teaches an optical imaging lens (Zeng, figs.1-12, abstract, an optical lens), from an object side to an image side in order along an optical axis (fig.9, paragraph [0150], along the optical axis O from the object side to the image side) comprising: a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element, a sixth lens element, a seventh lens element and an eighth lens element (paragraph [0150], a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a seventh lens L7, an eighth lens L8), the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the first lens L1 to the eighth lens L8 each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through);
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the third lens element is concave (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the third lens L3 is concave);
the fourth lens element has negative refracting power (fig.9, paragraph [0151] the fourth lens L4 has negative refractive power) and an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (fig.9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (fig.9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 61 of the sixth lens L6 is concave, near the optical axis O); and
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens element is concave (fig.9, paragraph [0152] the object-side surface 81 of the eighth lens L8 is concave near the optical axis O);
wherein lens elements included by the optical imaging lens are only the eight lens elements described above (see fig.9, only the eight lenses), ImgH is an image height of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0015], ImgH is half of the image height corresponding to the maximum field of view of the optical lens), Fno is an f-number of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0023], FNO is the aperture number of the optical lens), T2 is a thickness of the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, T3 is a thickness of the third lens element (fig.9, lens L3) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3))≥3.200 (3.85; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162], data of table 11, ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3) = (6.75/(2.1*(0.838+0.32))= 3.85).
Zeng does not explicitly disclose wherein a thickness of the fifth lens element along the optical axis is greater than an air gap between the fifth lens element and the sixth lens element along the optical axis.
However, Wenren teaches the analogous optical imaging lens (Wenren, fig.21, paragraph [0142] “FIG. 21 is a schematic structural diagram of the optical imaging lens assembly according to the eleventh embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 21, the optical imaging lens assembly according to the eleventh embodiment includes first to eighth lenses E1-E8 having respective object-side surfaces and respective image-side surfaces”; paragraph [0143] “each of the first lens, the third lens, and the sixth lens has a positive focal power. Each of the second lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, the seventh lens, and the eighth lens has a negative focal power”), and further teaches wherein a thickness of the fifth lens element (Wenren, fig.21, lens E5) along the optical axis (see Wenren, fig.21, lens E5 is along the optical axis) is greater than an air gap between the fifth lens element (lens E5) and the sixth lens element (lens E6) along the optical axis (see Wenren, fig.21, paragraph [0144] the date of table 31, a thickness of the fifth lens element E5 along the optical axis = 0.3688, is greater than an air gap between the fifth lens element E5 and the sixth lens element E6 along the optical axis = 0.2801).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Zeng to have the specific distance taught by Wenren for the purpose of having a growing market has brought forward higher requirements on performances of the optical imaging lens assembly such as miniaturization, lightweight, and image quality (Wenren, paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, combination Zeng-Wenren discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and Zeng further teaches wherein υ2 is an Abbe number of the second lens element (fig.9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L2, u2 = 19.24), υ8 is an Abbe number of the eighth lens element (fig.9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L8, u8 = 55.75), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: υ8/υ2≥2.000. (2.9; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, υ8/υ2 = 55.75/19.24=2.9).
Regarding claim 17, combination Zeng-Wenren discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and Zeng further teaches wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to an image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, AAG is a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, BFL is a distance from the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) to the image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TTL/(AAG+BFL)≥2.000 (2.08; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, TTL/(AAG+BFL) = 8.399/(3.117+0.906)=2.08).
Regarding claim 18, combination Zeng-Wenren discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and Zeng further teaches wherein EFL is an effective focal length of the optical imaging lens (fig.9, paragraph [0153] the optical lens 100 with a focal length F = 6.932mm), T1 is a thickness of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) along the optical axis, T6 is a thickness of the sixth lens element (fig.9, lens L6) along the optical axis, G12 is an air gap between the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) and the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, G78 is an air gap between the seventh lens element (fig.9, lens L7) and the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: EFL/(T1+G12+T3+T6+G78)≤1.900 (1.99; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, EFL/(T1+G12+T3+T6+G78) = 6.932/(0.838+0.1+0.514+0.677+1.341)=1.99------it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum range or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05 Section II, Subsection A, citing In re Aller,105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955) --- thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the effective focal length of the optical imaging lens to fit into the claimed range of the above expression, in order to achieve large image size imaging in optical lenses and shorten lens length to achieve miniaturization while maintaining good image quality are problems that the industry urgently needs to solve (Zeng, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 19, combination Zeng-Wenren discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and Zeng further teaches wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to an image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, D61t82 is a distance from the object-side surface of the sixth lens element (fig.9, lens L6) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TTL/D61t82≤3.200 (2.46; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, TTL/D61t82=8.399/3.411=2.46).
Regarding claim 20, combination Zeng-Wenren discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and Zeng further teaches wherein EFL is an effective focal length of the optical imaging lens (fig.9, paragraph [0153] the optical lens 100 with a focal length F = 6.932mm), AAG is a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, T1 is a thickness of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) along the optical axis, G12 is an air gap between the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) and the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: EFL/(AAG+T1+G12)≤2.000 (1.7; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9 EFL/(AAG+T1+G12)=6.932/(3.117+0.838+0.1)=1.7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered, see Remarks Page. 8-12 with respect to the 35 U.S.C.& 102 rejection have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues that:
Zeng fails to disclose a periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens element is convex.In response to applicant's argument(s) of 1
See claim 1 described, Zeng teaches a periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens element is convex (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens L8 is convex; also see paragraph [n0016] “After the incident light passes through the eighth lens with negative refractive power, it will be incident on the imaging surface of the optical lens at a smaller incident angle, which can effectively improve the illumination of the optical lens and achieve high-quality imaging”; paragraph [n0072] “the object-side surface 81 of the eighth lens L8 is either convex or concave near the optical axis O”; paragraph [n0054] “In the fifth embodiment, the object-side surface and image-side surface of any one of the first lens L1 to the eighth lens L8 are aspherical. The calculation method of the surface shape x of each aspherical lens can be derived from the description of the foregoing embodiments”); also that the drawing is an actual structural view of the optical lens according to (given) embodiment defined by structural characteristics of the lens data given in paragraphs [0155]-[0159], data of table 9-10, and therefore is anticipated; Further such graphical diagrams of the lens system are result of optical design software (Zmax, CodeV and similar) and based on disclosed lens data --- thus, Zeng teaches a periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens element is convex.)
Note: the claim didn’t indicate the term “the periphery region is defined as a region of 50%-100% of the distance between the optical axis I and the optical boundary OB of the surface of the lens element”.
In the remarks, applicant argues that:
Zeng fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the fifth lens element along the optical axis is greater than an air gap between the fifth lens element and the sixth lens element along the optical axis.In response to applicant's argument(s) of 2
See claim 15 described, however, Wenren teaches the analogous optical imaging lens (Wenren, fig.21, paragraph [0142] “FIG. 21 is a schematic structural diagram of the optical imaging lens assembly according to the eleventh embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 21, the optical imaging lens assembly according to the eleventh embodiment includes first to eighth lenses E1-E8 having respective object-side surfaces and respective image-side surfaces”; paragraph [0143] “each of the first lens, the third lens, and the sixth lens has a positive focal power. Each of the second lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, the seventh lens, and the eighth lens has a negative focal power”), and further teaches wherein a thickness of the fifth lens element (Wenren, fig.21, lens E5) along the optical axis (see Wenren, fig.21, lens E5 is along the optical axis) is greater than an air gap between the fifth lens element (lens E5) and the sixth lens element (lens E6) along the optical axis (see Wenren, fig.21, paragraph [0144] the date of table 31, a thickness of the fifth lens element E5 along the optical axis = 0.3688, is greater than an air gap between the fifth lens element E5 and the sixth lens element E6 along the optical axis = 0.2801).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Zeng to have the specific distance taught by Wenren for the purpose of having a growing market has brought forward higher requirements on performances of the optical imaging lens assembly such as miniaturization, lightweight, and image quality (Wenren, paragraph [0003]).
Examiner's Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872