DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/26/2024 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeng et al. (CN114740590, Of record, see IDS dated 3/26/2024, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Zeng teaches an optical imaging lens (Zeng, figs.1-12, abstract, an optical lens), from an object side to an image side in order along an optical axis (fig.9, paragraph [0150], along the optical axis O from the object side to the image side) comprising: a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element, a sixth lens element, a seventh lens element and an eighth lens element (paragraph [0150], a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a seventh lens L7, an eighth lens L8), the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the first lens L1 to the eighth lens L8 each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through);
the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) has negative refracting power (paragraph [0151], the second lens L2 has negative refractive power);
a periphery region of the image-side surface of the third lens element is convex (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the periphery region of the image-side surface of the third lens L3 is convex);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (fig.9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface of the fourth lens L4 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (fig.9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
the sixth lens element has positive refracting power (fig.9, paragraph [0151] the sixth lens L6 has positive refractive power) and an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave(paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 61 of the sixth lens L6 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex (paragraph [0152] the object-side surface 71 of the seventh lens L7 is convex, near the optical axis O); and
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens element is convex (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens L8 is convex);
wherein lens elements included by the optical imaging lens are only the eight lens elements described above (see fig.9, only the eight lenses), ImgH is an image height of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0015], ImgH is half of the image height corresponding to the maximum field of view of the optical lens), Fno is an f-number of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0023], FNO is the aperture number of the optical lens), T2 is a thickness of the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, T3 is a thickness of the third lens element (fig.9, lens L3) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3))≥3.200 (3.85; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162], data of table 11, ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3) = (6.75/(2.1*(0.838+0.32))= 3.85).
Regarding claim 2, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein EFL is an effective focal length of the optical imaging lens (fig.9, paragraph [0153] the optical lens 100 with a focal length F = 6.932mm), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: EFL*Fno/ImgH≤2.500 (2.16; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162] data of table 11, EFL*Fno/ImgH = 6.932*2.1/6.75).
Regarding claim 3, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein TL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L3) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TL*Fno/ImgH≤3.000 (2.33; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162] data of table 11, TL*Fno/ImgH = 7.493*2.1/6.75).
Regarding claim 4, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein TL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis (fig.9, optical axis O), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TL/ImgH≤2.000 (1.11; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162] data of table 11, TL/ImgH = 7.493/6.75=1.11).
Regarding claim 5, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein BFL is a distance from the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) to an image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis and Tmax is a maximal lens element thickness among the first lens element (lens L1) and the eighth lens element (lens L8) along the optical axis (see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, Tmax = 0.838), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ImgH/(BFL+Tmax)≥1.500 (3.87; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162] data of table 11, ImgH/(BFL+Tmax) = 6.75/(6.932+0.838)=3.87).
Regarding claim 6, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to an image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, BFL is a distance from the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (lens L8) to the image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TTL*Fno/BFL≤20.500 (19.47; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, TTL*Fno/BFL = 9.399*2.1/0.906).
Regarding claim 7, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein D61t82 is a distance from the object-side surface of the sixth lens element (fig.9, lens L6) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: D61t82/(T2*Fno)≥4.000 (5.07; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, D61t82/(T2*Fno) = 3.411/(0.32*2.1)=5.07).
Regarding claim 8, Zeng teaches an optical imaging lens (Zeng, figs.1-12, abstract, an optical lens), from an object side to an image side in order along an optical axis (fig.9, paragraph [0150], along the optical axis O from the object side to the image side) comprising: a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element, a sixth lens element, a seventh lens element and an eighth lens element (paragraph [0150], a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a seventh lens L7, an eighth lens L8), the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the first lens L1 to the eighth lens L8 each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through);
the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) has negative refracting power (paragraph [0151], the second lens L2 has negative refractive power);
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the third lens element is concave (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the third lens L3 is concave);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave(fig.9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (fig.9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
the sixth lens element (fig.9, lens L6) has positive refracting power (fig.9, paragraph [0151] the sixth lens L6 has positive refractive power) and an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave(paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 61 of the sixth lens L6 is concave, near the optical axis O); and
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens element is convex (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens L8 is convex);
wherein lens elements included by the optical imaging lens are only the eight lens elements described above (see fig.9, only the eight lenses), ImgH is an image height of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0015], ImgH is half of the image height corresponding to the maximum field of view of the optical lens), Fno is an f-number of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0023], FNO is the aperture number of the optical lens), T2 is a thickness of the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, T3 is a thickness of the third lens element (fig.9, lens L3) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3))≥3.200 (3.85; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162], data of table 11, ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3) = (6.75/(2.1*(0.838+0.32))= 3.85).
Regarding claim 9, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein ALT is a sum of thicknesses of eight lens elements (fig.9, lens L1~ L8) from the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fi.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, T4 is a thickness of the fourth lens element (fig.9, lens L4) along the optical axis, T5 is a thickness of the fifth lens element (fig.9, lens L5) along the optical axis, G34 is an air gap between the third lens element (fig.9, lens L3) and the fourth lens element (fig.9, lens L4) along the optical axis, G45 is an air gap between the fourth lens element (fig.9, lens L4) and the fifth lens element (fig.9, lens L5) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ALT/(G34+T4+G45+T5)≥2.500 (3.41; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, ALT/(G34+T4+G45+T5 = 4.376/(0.168+0.406+0.338+0.371) = 3.41).
Regarding claim 10, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein D41t82 is a distance from the object-side surface of the fourth lens element (fig.9, lens L4) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: D41t82/(T2*Fno)≥5.800 (7.6; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, D41t82/(T2*Fno)= 5.109/(0.32*2.1) = 7.6).
Regarding claim 11, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to an image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, AAG is a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TTL/AAG≤3.500 (2.69; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, TTL/AAG=8.399/3.117).
Regarding claim 12, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein υ2 is an Abbe number of the second lens element (fig.9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L2, u2=19.24), υ4 is an Abbe number of the fourth lens element (fig.9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L4, u4 = 23.52), υ5 is an Abbe number of the fifth lens element (fig.9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L5, u5 = 23.9), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: υ2+υ4+υ5≤135.000 (66.66; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, described above, υ2+υ4+υ5 = 66.66).
Regarding claim 13, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein ALT is a sum of thicknesses of eight lens elements from the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, T1 is a thickness of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) along the optical axis, G12 is an air gap between the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) and the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ALT/(T1+G12+T2)≥2.600 (3.479; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, ALT/(T1+G12+T2)=4.376/(0.838+0.1+0.32)=3.479).
Regarding claim 14, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 8 and further teaches wherein T1 is a thickness of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) along the optical axis, T5 is a thickness of the fifth lens element (fig.9, lens L5) along the optical axis, G12 is an air gap between the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) and the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: (T1+G12)/T5≥2.000 (2.53; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, (T1+G12)/T5 = (0.838+0.1)/0.371=2.53).
Regarding claim 15, Zeng teaches an optical imaging lens (Zeng, figs.1-12, abstract, an optical lens), from an object side to an image side in order along an optical axis (fig.9, paragraph [0150], along the optical axis O from the object side to the image side) comprising: a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element, a sixth lens element, a seventh lens element and an eighth lens element (paragraph [0150], a first lens L1, a second lens L2, a third lens L3, a fourth lens L4, a fifth lens L5, a sixth lens L6, a seventh lens L7, an eighth lens L8), the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the first lens L1 to the eighth lens L8 each having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through);
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the third lens element is concave (see annotated image, Zeng, fig.9, the periphery region of the object-side surface of the third lens L3 is concave);
the fourth lens element has negative refracting power (fig.9, paragraph [0151] the fourth lens L4 has negative refractive power) and an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fourth lens element is concave (fig.9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave(fig.9, paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 51 of the fifth lens L5 is concave, near the optical axis O);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (paragraph [0152], the object-side surface 61 of the sixth lens L6 is concave, near the optical axis O); and
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the eighth lens element is concave (fig.9, paragraph [0152] the object-side surface 81 of the eighth lens L8 is concave near the optical axis O);
wherein lens elements included by the optical imaging lens are only the eight lens elements described above (see fig.9, only the eight lenses), ImgH is an image height of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0015], ImgH is half of the image height corresponding to the maximum field of view of the optical lens), Fno is an f-number of the optical imaging lens (paragraph [0023], FNO is the aperture number of the optical lens), T2 is a thickness of the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, T3 is a thickness of the third lens element (fig.9, lens L3) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3))≥3.200 (3.85; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, and paragraph [0162], data of table 11, ImgH/(Fno*(T2+T3) = (6.75/(2.1*(0.838+0.32))= 3.85).
Regarding claim 16, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and further teaches wherein υ2 is an Abbe number of the second lens element (fig.9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L2, u2 = 19.24), υ8 is an Abbe number of the eighth lens element (fig.9, see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, the lens L8, u8 = 55.75), and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: υ8/υ2≥2.000. (2.9; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, υ8/υ2 = 55.75/19.24=2.9).
Regarding claim 17, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and further teaches wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to an image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, AAG is a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, BFL is a distance from the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) to the image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TTL/(AAG+BFL)≥2.000 (2.08; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, TTL/(AAG+BFL) = 8.399/(3.117+0.906)=2.08).
Regarding claim 19, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and further teaches wherein TTL is a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to an image plane (fig.9, imaging surface 101) along the optical axis, D61t82 is a distance from the object-side surface of the sixth lens element (fig.9, lens L6) to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: TTL/D61t82≤3.200 (2.46; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, TTL/D61t82=8.399/3.411=2.46).
Regarding claim 20, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and further teaches wherein EFL is an effective focal length of the optical imaging lens (fig.9, paragraph [0153] the optical lens 100 with a focal length F = 6.932mm), AAG is a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) to the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, T1 is a thickness of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) along the optical axis, G12 is an air gap between the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) and the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: EFL/(AAG+T1+G12)≤2.000 (1.7; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9 EFL/(AAG+T1+G12)=6.932/(3.117+0.838+0.1)=1.7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN114740590, Of record, see IDS dated 3/26/2024, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 18, Zeng discloses the invention as described in Claim 15 and further teaches wherein EFL is an effective focal length of the optical imaging lens (fig.9, paragraph [0153] the optical lens 100 with a focal length F = 6.932mm), T1 is a thickness of the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) along the optical axis, T6 is a thickness of the sixth lens element (fig.9, lens L6) along the optical axis, G12 is an air gap between the first lens element (fig.9, lens L1) and the second lens element (fig.9, lens L2) along the optical axis, G78 is an air gap between the seventh lens element (fig.9, lens L7) and the eighth lens element (fig.9, lens L8) along the optical axis, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the relationship: EFL/(T1+G12+T3+T6+G78)≤1.900 (1.99; see paragraph [0155], data of table 9, EFL/(T1+G12+T3+T6+G78) = 6.932/(0.838+0.1+0.514+0.677+1.341)=1.99------it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum range or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05 Section II, Subsection A, citing In re Aller,105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955) --- thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the effective focal length of the optical imaging lens to fit into the claimed range of the above expression, in order to achieve large image size imaging in optical lenses and shorten lens length to achieve miniaturization while maintaining good image quality are problems that the industry urgently needs to solve (Zeng, paragraph [0002]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hashimoto of US20170329108 (Fig.3, Fig.5), discloses wherein lens elements included by the optical imaging lens are only the eight lens elements similar in structure to the claimed invention.
Wenren of US20190107690 (Fig.21), discloses wherein lens elements included by the optical imaging lens are only the eight lens elements similar in structure to the claimed invention.
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872