Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that Mattos and Ostrovsky, taken alone or in combination, do not teach, suggest, or contemplate outputting a reference signal, let alone "a combined connection at which a combined signal is provided, wherein the combined signal is indicative of the fault signal during times when the fault is detected and the reference voltage during times when the fault is not detected," as claimed. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 1 and 14 as currently presented does not recite “outputting a reference signal”. Hence, this statement is moot. Regarding the newly presented limitations “a combined connection at which a combined signal is provided, wherein the combined signal is indicative of the fault signal during times when the fault is detected and the reference voltage during times when the fault is not detected” in claims 1 and 14, Mattos teaches wherein the output signal Out_d is a digital logic gate output of ONE or ZERO from an AND gate based on the output of comparator 150, which compares a sensed voltage to the selected reference voltage. The output signal Out_d in Mattos is the equivalent to the claimed combined signal, because the digital logic gate output of one or zero will indicate whether a fault is detected or not. In the case a fault exists, the output signal OUT_d will indicate a one, which is the representation of a fault signal; and when a fault doesn’t exist, the output signal OUT_d will indicate a zero, which is the representation of a reference signal. Therefore, Mattos can be reasonably construed as teaching “a combined connection at which a combined signal is provided, wherein the combined signal is indicative of the fault signal during times when the fault is detected and the reference voltage during times when the fault is not detected”, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11-12, 14-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattos et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0331270) in view of Ostrovsky (US PGPUB 2022/0294204).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Mattos et al. teaches a method and sensor integrated circuit configured to generate a sensor output signal indicative of a sensed parameter, comprising: a power connection (vddd connected to 160, as shown in fig. 1) configured to receive a supply voltage; a ground connection (pad_vgnd connected to 160, as shown in fig. 1); a sensing circuit (110) configured to generate the sensor output signal (Out1) at a sensor output signal connection; a fault circuit (140) comprising a fault detector (150) configured to detect a fault and generate a fault signal (Out2, as shown in fig. 3) indicative of the fault; and a combined connection (Out_d, as shown in fig. 3) at which a combined signal is provided, wherein the combined signal is indicative of the fault signal during times when the fault is detected and the reference voltage (Vref) during times when the fault is not detected (see response to arguments section above).
Mattos et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the sensing circuit has a reference voltage. However, Ostrovsky teaches wherein the sensing circuit (110) has a reference voltage (Vref) (as shown in fig. 2).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the sensing circuit have a reference voltage
as taught by Ostrovsky with the invention of Mattos et al. in order to recognize an acceptable range for Vref and extrapolate information about the power supplied to the sensor integrated circuit based on Vref.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 14, in addition, Mattos et al. teaches a reference buffer (456) coupled to receive the reference voltage (as disclosed in para. 0046).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 14, in addition, Mattos et al. teaches wherein the fault is an overcurrent condition.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky teaches the limitations of claims 1, in addition, Mattos et al. teaches wherein the sensing circuit comprises a sensing element (sense resistor) configured to generate a sensing element output signal and a processing path responsive to the sensing element output signal and configured to generate the sensor output signal (as shown in fig. 1 and disclosed in para. 0025).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky teaches the limitations of claims 9, in addition, Mattos et al. teaches wherein the processing path comprises a front-end amplifier (114) coupled to receive the sensing element output signal and configured to generate an amplifier output signal (as shown in fig. 1 and disclosed in para. 0025).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky teaches the limitations of claims 1.
Mattos et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the reference voltage is at a voltage level of approximately one-half the supply voltage. However, Ostrovsky teaches wherein the reference voltage is at a voltage level of approximately one-half the supply voltage (as disclosed in para. 0053).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the reference voltage at a voltage level of approximately one-half the supply voltage as taught by Ostrovsky with the invention of Mattos et al. in order to use a value that it is easier to compare to the original voltage supplied.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattos et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0331270) and Ostrovsky (US PGPUB 2022/0294204) as applied to claims 2 and 15 above, and further in view of Le Goff et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0034684).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky teaches the limitations of claims 2 and 15.
The combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky fails to specifically teach wherein the fault detector is further configured to generate a disable signal coupled to the reference buffer and configured to disable the reference buffer when a fault is detected. However, Le Goff et al. teaches wherein the fault detector (200) is further configured to generate a disable signal coupled to the reference buffer and configured to disable the reference buffer (285) when a fault is detected (as disclosed in para. 0046).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the fault detector configured to generate a disable signal coupled to the reference buffer and configured to disable the reference buffer when a fault is detected as taught by Le Goff et al. with the invention of the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky in order to set the output of the sensor integrated circuit to a high impedance state.
Claims 4-6, 8, 10, 13, 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattos et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0331270) and Ostrovsky (US PGPUB 2022/0294204) as applied to claims 1, 7, 9 and 14 above, and further in view of Fernandez (US PGPUB 2018/0136999).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 14.
The combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky fails to specifically teach wherein the fault signal is a digital signal having a low level when a fault is detected. However, Fernandez teaches wherein the fault signal is a digital signal having a low level when a fault is detected (as disclosed in para. 0045-0048).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the fault signal as a digital signal having a low level when a fault is detected as taught by Fernandez with the invention of the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky in order to turn on/off other devices on the sensor integrated circuit.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, the combination of Mattos et al., Ostrovsky and Fernandez teaches the limitations of claims 4 and 17, in addition, Fernandez teaches wherein the fault circuit further comprises a pull-down transistor (216’) controlled by the fault signal and configured to pull the combined signal to the low level when the fault is detected (as disclosed in para. 0045-0048).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the fault circuit comprise a pull-down transistor controlled by the fault signal and configured to pull the combined signal to the low level when the fault is detected as taught by Fernandez with the invention of the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky in order to avoid damage to components in the sensor integrated circuit.
Regarding claims 6 and 19, the combination of Mattos et al., Ostrovsky and Fernandez teaches the limitations of claims 4 and 17, in addition, Fernandez teaches wherein the fault is a first fault and the fault detector is further configured to detect a second fault (as disclosed in para. 0045-0048), and wherein the fault circuit further comprises a push-pull circuit (216’) controlled by the fault signal and configured to pull the combined signal to the low level when the first fault is detected and pull the combined signal to a high level when the second fault is detected (as disclosed in para. 0045-0048).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the fault as a first fault and the fault detector is further configured to detect a second fault, and wherein the fault circuit further comprises a push-pull circuit controlled by the fault signal and configured to pull the combined signal to the low level when the first fault is detected and pull the combined signal to a high level when the second fault is detected as taught by Fernandez with the invention of the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky in order to avoid damage to components in the sensor integrated circuit.
Regarding claims 8 and 21, the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky teaches the limitations of claims 7 and 14.
The combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky fails to specifically teach wherein the sensed parameter is a current flow through a conductor and the overcurrent condition is an overcurrent condition of the current flow through the conductor. However, Fernandez teaches wherein the sensed parameter is a current flow through a conductor and the overcurrent condition is an overcurrent condition of the current flow through the conductor (as disclosed in para. 0027).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the sensed parameter as a current flow through a conductor and the overcurrent condition as an overcurrent condition of the current flow through the conductor as taught by Fernandez with the invention of the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky in order to have the ability to detect variations in a magnetic field.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky teaches the limitations of claim 9.
The combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky fails to specifically teach wherein the sensing element comprises a magnetic field sensing element and the sensed parameter is a magnetic field. However, Fernandez teaches wherein the sensing element comprises a magnetic field sensing element and the sensed parameter is a magnetic field (as disclosed in para. 0027).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the sensing element comprise a magnetic field sensing element and the sensed parameter is a magnetic field as taught by Fernandez with the invention of the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky in order to have the ability to detect variations in a magnetic field.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky teaches the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky fails to specifically teach wherein the combined connection is configured for coupling to an external buffer or an external inverter to generate a level-shifted combined signal. However, Fernandez teaches wherein the combined connection is configured for coupling to an external buffer or an external inverter (304) to generate a level-shifted combined signal (high or low signal) (as disclosed in para. 0040-0041).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the combined connection configured for coupling to an external buffer or an external inverter to generate a level-shifted combined signal as taught by Fernandez with the invention of the combination of Mattos et al. and Ostrovsky in order to pivot between different actions based on different outcomes.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fernandez (US PGPUB 2018/0136999) teaches a diagnostic fault communication.
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858