DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-25 filed on 2/2/2024 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/2/2024 and 7/11/2025 were submitted before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1,2,25 recite adding to the food or raw material a cell wall containing fraction of a gram positive bacterium. The broadest reasonable interpretation is adding gram positive bacterium cells that inherently have cell walls and fractions thereof, which would include numerous fermented food products or purposefully prepared probiotic containing foods wherein the microbial cells are in active or inactive form. A property of enhancing flavor would be inherent in the microbe itself or its metabolite. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 3 recites “a rich taste” the scope of which is undefined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umezawa et al. (JP2012196191A) in view of Palzer et al. (US 20120315354 A1) cited in an IDS.
Regarding claim 1,2 and 21-25, Umezawa discloses methods of improving flavor and taste characteristics of foods. The taste material is obtained by heat-treating a mixture of (A) a fermented product of a tomato-processed material obtained by fermenting the tomato-processed material with vegetable lactic acid bacteria with (B) a milk serum of a fermented milk, obtained by removing curd from a fermented milk obtained by subjecting lactic raw material containing casein to lactic fermentation, and contains furfural and furfuryl alcohol. The fermented product inherently contains cell fractions of gram positive lactic acid producing bacteria. The reference therefore points to a method as claimed, namely, a method of improving a flavor of food, the method comprising: a step of adding a cell wall-containing fraction of a gram-positive bacterium to a raw material of a food. One of ordinary skill in the art would have applied the claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success base on the disclosure in Palzer. Palzer discloses the successful production of fermentation-derived savory compositions produced using gram positive bacteria including Corynebacterium, Brevibacterium, and Bacillus species. The reference further discloses flavor-enhancing compositions containing microbial biomass, cellular material, peptides, amino acids, glutamate, and other taste-active materials useful for improving flavor and savory characteristics of foods.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, to modify the fermented flavor compositions of Umezawa with the unpurified base of Palzer containing microbial biomass and cellular flavor material in order to improve flavor intensity, richness , umami, kokumi, and overall palatability of foods because both references are directed to improving organoleptic properties of foods through microbial derives flavor systems, with a reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected success because fermented compositions were conventionally used as flavor enhancers, in particular glutamate containing systems, were well known.
Regarding claim 11, one of ordinary skill in the art would add optimized amounts of the ingredient to obtain a desired taste enhancement in a food.
Regarding claims 12-14, addition of L-amino acids, glutamic acid or organic acids such as lactic acid is an obvious modification because Palzer discloses adding fermentation derived savory compositions comprising such compounds to improve umami, kokumi, richness and flavor intensity, motivating one of the ordinary skill in the art to modify the art method with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 3,4, 16-20, Umezawa in an exemplary embodiment discloses taste enhancement of curry that is mildly spiced. A curry is inherently expected to have spices form the claimed genera and pungency. One would experimentally optimize amounts of taste enhancer to be added, to achieve a desired taste profile and pungency intensity, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the genetically modified strains listed in claim 24, it is pointed out that Palzer discloses the use of Corynebacterium species, for example, in fermentation derived flavor enhancing compositions. Corynebacterium species including Corynebacterium glutamicum and related strains were known in the art as microorganisms capable of producing L-glutamic acid through fermentation.
It was further well known in the biotechnology art to develop mutant strains optimized to improve production efficiency, metabolite yield, flavor characteristics, stress tolerance or fermentation performance. Selection and optimization of mutant strains possessing desired glutamic-acid producing characteristics represented routine techniques within the ordinary skill in the fermentation and food biotechnology art.
Claims 1-25 are therefore prima facie obvious in view of the art.
Correspondence
/SUBBALAKSHMI PRAKASH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793