Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 with respect to the USC 102 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Burdette’s coil is “driven” by a current source and therefore cannot produce and electromagnetic force induced by an oscillating magnetic field.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, as the claim language does not require that the oscillating magnetic field be generated exclusively by an external source or that the coil operates solely as a passive sensor. Rather, the claims broadly recite that the electrically conductive coil is “configured to produce” and EMF induced by an oscillating magnetic field. Burdette explicitly discloses driving coil 18 with a time varying current, thereby producing a time varying field [0035]. A time varying magnetic field necessarily results in a time varying magnetic flux through the coil, which in turn produces an EMF in the coil in accordance with Faraday’s Law. Thus, even though the coil is actively driven, the coil nonetheless experiences EMF associated with an oscillating magnetic field. Applicants’ interpretation would improperly import limitation requiring exclusively external magnetic field induction, which is not recited in the claim. Accordingly, Burdette’s coil reasonably meets the limitation of producing MEF induced by an oscillating magnetic field under the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Applicant further argues that Burdette’s detected signal originates from a Hall or magneto resistive sensing element rather from EMF produced by coil.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Burdette teaches that coil 18 is electrically coupled to circuit 30, which processes alternating electrical signals using differential amplifiers and peak detectors (fig. 2 [0035,36]). The claim does not required EMF to be excluding or direct source if the alternating current detected by the readout circuit, nor do they exclude the presence of additional sensing elements within the signal path. Rather, the claims broadly encompass configurations in which coil related electromagnetic behavior contributes alternating electrical signals that are processed by a readout circuit configured to detect peak voltage magnitudes. Burdette’s circuitry performs this function and therefore reasonably teaches the claimed readout limitation.
Applicants’ arguments that Sharma discloses electromagnet coils that generate magnetic fields rather than coils that sense induced EMF. Examiner respectfully states while Sharma discloses electromagnetic coil sets that are driven to generate magnetic field gradients, Sharma nonetheless teaches a three-dimensional arrangement of planar coils oriented along mutually orthogonal axes [0025,62]. The rejection does not rely on Sharma teaching EMF sensing in isolation, but rather for teaching the structural configuration of multiple orthogonal coils suitable for three-dimensional magnetic interaction.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/25/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burdette (U.S. Publication 20150022193) in view of Sharma (U.S. Publication 20210141034).
Regarding claim 1, Burdette teaches a semiconductor chip having a semiconductor substrate (fig. 1 (14, 20));
a plurality of metal layers disposed on the semiconductor substrate; a plurality of insulator layers disposed on the semiconductor substrate, each insulator layer disposed between a pair of neighboring metal layers to form an alternating arrangement of metal layers and insulator layers (“It is also understood that insulation layers may be placed between the coils and the sensors and/or other die material to prevent shorting of the coil to other electrical layers in the device” [0044-0045]);
a plurality of metal vias defined in the insulator layers, each metal via electrically connecting a respective pair of neighboring metal layers (“The vias and connections are omitted in the figure (for clarity) but would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. It is understood that multiple metal layers can be used as well as other geometries of metal” [0045]); and a respective readout circuit electrically coupled to a respective electrically conductive coil, the respective readout circuit disposed in the semiconductor chip (circuit 30 for detection fig. 2), wherein:
each electrically conductive coil (fig. 1 (18)) is configured to produce a respective electromagnetic force (EMF) induced by an oscillating magnetic field (“which drive coil 18 and produce a differential current through signal lines 38. The changing current source may be an AC source, a ramped current source, a switched current source, a pulsed current source, a transient current source, or any other current source that creates a current that changes in magnitude over time. The current through coil 18 produces a changing magnetic field” [0035]), the respective EMF driving a respective alternating current (AC) through the respective readout circuit, and each readout circuit is configured to detect a respective peak voltage magnitude of the respective AC (“The current through coil 18 produces a changing magnetic field which is detected by sensing element 16. (In FIG. 2, sensing element 16 is shown as a giant-magnetoresistive (GMR) bridge). Sensing element 16 produces a differential voltage signal on signal lines 40. A differential current amplifier 42 amplifies the differential current applied to the coil 18 for coupling to a peak detector 44. A differential voltage amplifier 46 receives the differential voltage signal from sensing element 16 for coupling to a peak detector 48. Comparator 50 compares the signals from peak detectors 44 and 48 and produces an output signal 52” [0035]).
Sharma teaching an apparatus for producing magnetic field gradients along mutually-orthogonal axes teaches a three-dimensional on-chip magnetic sensor (“a three-dimensional magnetic sensor” [0025])
a first electrically conductive coil (fig. 3 (110)) having a plurality of first planar spirals formed by the metal layers and the metal vias, each first planar spiral including a plurality of first interconnected loops wound about a first axis, wherein neighboring first planar spirals are electrically connected to each other (fig. 3 (112, 114, 312, 314) [0074]);
a second electrically conductive coil (fig. 8 (120)) having a plurality of second planar spirals formed by the metal layers and the metal vias, each second planar spiral including a plurality of second interconnected loops wound about a second axis that is orthogonal to the first axis, wherein neighboring second planar spirals are electrically connected to each other (fig. 8 (122, 124, 812, 814) [0084]);
a third electrically conductive coil (fig. 12 (130)) having a third planar spiral (fig. 12 (132)) formed by at least some of the metal layers and at least some of the metal vias, the third planar spiral including a plurality of third interconnected loops that are wound about a third axis that is orthogonal to the first and second axes, the metal layers spaced apart along the third axis (fig. 12 (axis of symmetry 632, with top and bottom surfaces parallel to 1200)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sharma in Burdette to gain the advantage of Improved measurement system for better quality analysis [Sharma [0026]].
Regarding claims 2, 13, Burdette as modified by Sharma further teaches wherein the respective readout circuit comprises: a respective amplifier and filter circuit electrically coupled having an input coupled to the respective electrically conductive coil; a respective peak-detect-and-hold (PDH) circuit having an input coupled to an output of the respective amplifier and filter circuit (fig. 2 (“Sensing element 16 produces a differential voltage signal on signal lines 40. A differential current amplifier 42 amplifies the differential current applied to the coil 18 for coupling to a peak detector 44. A differential voltage amplifier 46 receives the differential voltage signal from sensing element 16 for coupling to a peak detector 48. Comparator 50 compares the signals from peak detectors 44 and 48 and produces an output signal 52”) [0035]); and a respective analog-to-digital converter (ADC) having an input coupled to an output of the respective peak-detect-and-hold circuit ((fig. 1 sensor 10) “the signal produced by sensor 10 may be analog, digital, or switched” [0034]).
Regarding claims 3, 14, Burdette as modified by Sharma further teaches wherein the respective amplifier and filter circuit includes a band-pass filter having an output coupled to an input of a programmable gain amplifier (“A differential voltage amplifier 46 receives the differential voltage signal from sensing element 16 for coupling to a peak detector 48. Comparator 50 compares the signals from peak detectors 44 and 48 and produces an output signal 52” [0035]).
Regarding claims 4, 15, Burdette as modified by Sharma further teaches wherein the respective PDH circuit includes a respective positive differential PDH circuit and a respective negative differential PDH (“adjustable, changing current source 32 controls current drivers 34 and 36, which drive coil 18 and produce a differential current through signal lines 38”[0035]).
Regarding claims 5, 16, Burdette as modified by Sharma further teaches wherein the respective ADC comprises a respective differential-input successive approximation register (SAR) ADC (“amplifiers 1030 and 1032 receive these signals, amplify them, and supply them to processor 1034. Processor 1034 then processes the signals to determine presence, speed, direction, position, or other properties of target 1001, other variations of circuitry could be used to sense the target” [0089]).
Regarding claim 6, Burdette as modified by Sharma further teaches a catheter attached to the three-dimensional on-chip magnetic sensor of claim 1 (“electromagnet coil sets 110, 120, 130 each have upper and lower planar surfaces (e.g., orthogonal to the Z axis), which allows them to be stacked and integrated or embedded into a flat device, such as a board, a wall, the back of a chair, a conformable wearable belt, or other location to minimize patient discomfort” [0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sharma in Burdette to gain the advantage of Improved measurement system for better quality analysis [Sharma [0026]].
Regarding claim 7, Burdette as modified by Sharma further teaches a guidewire attached to the three-dimensional on-chip magnetic sensor of claim 1 (“electromagnet coil sets 110, 120, 130 each have upper and lower planar surfaces (e.g., orthogonal to the Z axis), which allows them to be stacked and integrated or embedded into a flat device, such as a board, a wall, the back of a chair, a conformable wearable belt, or other location to minimize patient discomfort” [0063]).
Regarding claim 8, the structure recited is intrinsic to the method recited in claim 1, as disclosed by Burdette (U.S. Publication 20150022193) in view of Sharma (U.S. Publication 20210141034) as the recited structure will be used during the normal operation of the method, as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Sharma further teaches a first planar electromagnet coil set configured to produce a first oscillating magnetic field gradient with respect to a first axis (fig. 3 via 110 field on x axis); a second planar electromagnet coil set configured to produce a second oscillating magnetic field gradient with respect to a second axis that is orthogonal to the first axis (fig. 8 via 120 field on Y axis ); a third planar electromagnet coil set configured to produce a third oscillating magnetic field gradient with respect to a third axis that is orthogonal to the first and second axes (fig. 12 via 130 field on z axis), the first, second, and third planar electromagnet coil sets vertically arranged with respect to the third axis (fig. 1); and a controller configured to selectively provide alternating-current (AC) power to the first planar electromagnet coil set, to the second planar electromagnet coil set, and/or to the third planar electromagnet coil set to sequentially produce a respective oscillating localization magnetic field gradient with respect to each of the first, second, and third axes, at least a portion of each oscillating localization magnetic field gradient having a monotonically-varying peak magnetic field magnitude along a respective axis that uniquely encodes a relative position along a respective axis (“a controller (e.g., controller 100) is electrically connected to the first, second, and third electromagnet coil sets. The controller is configured to selectively provide power to the first, second, and/or third electromagnet coil sets to produce a localization magnetic field gradient with respect to each axis that has a monotonically-varying magnitude (e.g., a FOV) over at least a portion thereof. For example, the controller can be configured to provide power simultaneously (a) only to the first and third electromagnet coil sets, (b) only to the second and third electromagnet coil sets, and (c) only to the third electromagnet coil set. The power can be provided sequentially to (a), (b), and (c) in a predetermined sequence and/or in a predetermined time sequence that can encode the magnetic field gradients. The power can be provided to (a), (b), and (c) in any order” [0162, 0163]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sharma in Burdette to gain the advantage of Improved measurement system for better quality analysis [Sharma [0026]].
Regarding claim 9, Burdette as modified by Sharma further teaches the controller is configured to provide AC power simultaneously to only the first and third planar electromagnet coil sets to thereby produce a first oscillating localization magnetic field gradient with respect to the first axis, the controller is configured to provide AC power simultaneously to only the second and third planar electromagnet coil sets to thereby produce a second oscillating localization magnetic field gradient with respect to the second axis, and the controller is configured to provide AC power to only the third planar electromagnet coil set to thereby produce a third oscillating localization magnetic field gradient with respect to the third axis (“the controller is configured to provide power simultaneously to only the first and third planar electromagnet coil sets to thereby produce a first localization magnetic field gradient with respect to the first axis. In one or more embodiments, the first localization magnetic field gradient comprises a total magnetic field produced by the first and third planar electromagnet coil sets. In one or more embodiments, the controller is configured to provide power simultaneously to only the second and third planar electromagnet coil sets to thereby produce a second localization magnetic field gradient with respect to the second axis. In one or more embodiments, the second localization magnetic field gradient comprises a total magnetic field produced by the second and third planar electromagnet coil sets. In one or more embodiments, the controller is configured to provide power to only the third planar electromagnet coil set to thereby produce a third localization magnetic field gradient with respect to the third axis. In one or more embodiments, the controller is configured to selectively provide the power according to a predetermined time sequence to encode each localization magnetic field gradient” [0013]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sharma in Burdette to gain the advantage of Improved measurement system for better quality analysis [Sharma [0026]].
Regarding claim 10, Burdette as modified by Sharma further teaches the first planar spirals are spatially offset from each other along the first chip axis, and the second planar spirals are spatially offset from each other along the second chip axis (fig. 1 (coils 110, 120, 130) “the electromagnet coil sets 110, 120, 130 can be stacked together (e.g., in a vertical arrangement with respect to an underlying surface). The electromagnet coil sets 110, 120, 130 are preferably centered (e.g., concentrically centered) and/or aligned, with respect to the first and second axes, with respect to each other. In addition, the electromagnet coil sets 110, 120, 130 each have upper and lower planar surfaces (e.g., orthogonal to the Z axis), which allows them to be stacked and integrated or embedded into a flat device, such as a board, a wall, the back of a chair, a conformable wearable belt, or other location to minimize patient discomfort” [0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sharma in Burdette to gain the advantage of Improved measurement system for better quality analysis [Sharma [0026]].
Regarding claim 11, Burdette as modified by Sharma further teaches wherein each first interconnected loop and each second interconnected loop includes a respective pair of metal wires disposed in respective metal layers, a respective intra-loop column that electrically connects the respective pair of metal wires of a respective interconnected loop, and a respective inter-loop column that electrically connects one of the metal wires of the respective interconnected loop to one of the metal wires in a subsequent interconnected loop ((fig. 3, 8, 12 for coils 110, 120, 130)” The spiral windings 112, 114 are formed by respective wires 322, 324 (e.g., first and second wires). Alternatively, more than one wire can be connected together to form a spiral winding. The spiral windings 112, 114 have a thickness (e.g., a profile) defined by the thickness of the respective wires 322, 324. The wires 322, 324 can be identical and thus have the same thickness. Thus, the spiral windings 112, 114 have top and bottom planar surfaces (or substantially planar surfaces (e.g., at least 95% planar)) that are parallel to X-Y plane 300. The top and bottom planar surfaces of the spiral windings 112, 114 are defined by the respective top and bottom surfaces of wires 322, 324. The thickness of the spiral windings 112, 114 with respect to the third axis (e.g., the Z axis) is equal to the thickness of the wires 322, 324. The wires 322, 324 can have an appropriate number of windings or turns to produce the first magnetic field gradient” [0075]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sharma in Burdette to gain the advantage of Improved measurement system for better quality analysis [Sharma [0026]].
Regarding claim 12, Burdette as modified by Sharma further teaches wherein the at least some of the metal layers and the at least some of the metal vias form a continuous metal structure, with respect to the third chip axis, along a length of the third planar spiral (“In a cylindrical coil the direction of the magnetic field lines will be parallel to the length of the coil (that is, the longitudinal path of the coil). In a planar spiral coil design the direction of the field lines at the center of the coil will be substantially perpendicular to the plane of the coil but will be substantially parallel to the die surface under the turns of the coil. Consideration may be given to the direction of the field generated by the coil at various locations in choosing the appropriate position and type of the sensing element.” [0046]).
Regarding claim 17-18, Burdette as modified by Sharma further teaches the 3D on-chip magnetic sensor attached to the catheter (“the electromagnet coil sets 110, 120, 130 each have upper and lower planar surfaces (e.g., orthogonal to the Z axis), which allows them to be stacked and integrated or embedded into a flat device, such as a board, a wall, the back of a chair, a conformable wearable belt, or other location to minimize patient discomfort” [0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sharma in Burdette to gain the advantage of Improved measurement system for better quality analysis [Sharma [0026]].
Regarding claim 19, the method recited is intrinsic to the apparatus recited in claim 8, as disclosed by Burdette (U.S. Publication 20150022193) in view of Sharma (U.S. Publication 20210141034) as the recited method steps will be performed during the normal operation of the apparatus, as discussed above with regard to claim 8 Sharma further discloses placing a 3D magnetic sensor (fig. 24 (2310)) within a field of view (FOV) of a 3D magnetic field gradient generator (“The magnetic sensor device 2410 includes a capsule or housing 2411 and a circuit that includes a three-dimensional magnetic sensor 2412, the magnetic sensor device 2310 can be placed on or near an anatomical feature 2430” [0129] “The three-dimensional magnetic sensor 2412 measures the magnetic field at the position of the ingestible magnetic sensor 2412 and outputs the magnetic field measurements to the device controller 2414” [0130]); sequentially producing, with the 3D magnetic field gradient generator, first, second, and third oscillating localization magnetic field gradients with respect to first, second, and third axes, respectively, the first, second, and third axes mutually orthogonal to one another, wherein the FOV corresponds to at least a portion of each oscillating localization magnetic field gradient having a monotonically-varying peak magnitude along a respective axis (“forming a first planar electromagnet coil set configured to produce a first magnetic field gradient with respect to a first axis; forming a second planar electromagnet coil set configured to produce a second magnetic field gradient with respect to a second axis that is orthogonal to the first axis; forming a third planar electromagnet coil set configured to produce a third magnetic field gradient with respect to a third axis that is orthogonal to the first and second axes; vertically arranging the first, second, and third planar electromagnet coil sets along the third axis; and electrically connecting a controller to the first planar electromagnet coil set, the second planar electromagnet coil set, and the third planar electromagnet coil set, the controller configured to selectively provide power to the first planar electromagnet coil set, the second planar electromagnet coil set, and/or the third planar electromagnet coil set to produce a localization magnetic field gradient with respect to each of the first, second, and third axes, at least a portion of each localization magnetic field gradient having a monotonically-varying magnetic field magnitude along a respective axis” [claim 22]); sequentially measuring, with a respective electrically conductive coil in the 3D magnetic sensor, respective peak voltages corresponding to the monotonically-varying peak magnitude of each oscillating localization magnetic field gradient; and determining a relative position of the 3D magnetic sensor, with respect to the 3D magnetic field gradient generator, using the respective peak voltages (“The three-dimensional magnetic sensor 2412 measures the magnetic field at the position of the ingestible magnetic sensor 2412 and outputs the magnetic field measurements to the device controller 2414. The magnetic field measurements include a measurement of each of the X, Y, and Z field values, which can each be provided as a 16-bit data vector. The three-dimensional magnetic sensor 2412 can measure the magnetic field based on control signals received from the device controller 1414, which can be sent over a protocol such as I2C. In some embodiments, 25 or more measurements of each magnetic field gradient can be taken…” [0130]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sharma in Burdette to gain the advantage of Improved measurement system for better quality analysis [Sharma [0026]].
Regarding claim 20, Burdette as modified by Sharma further teaches attaching and/or mechanically coupling the 3D magnetic sensor to an object, whereby the relative position of the 3D magnetic sensor corresponds to a relative position of the object (“The apparatus 10 is then placed such that its FOV is within the mammal's GI tract. For example, the apparatus 10 can be placed on or in a platform or bed (on which the mammal lies down), the back of a chair (in which the mammal sits). Alternatively, the apparatus 10 can be disposed in a wearable device, for example that can be wrapped around the subject's (e.g., mammal's) stomach” [0135]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAQI R NASIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858