DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response application 18/430978 filed on 02/02/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekido et al. (US Pub. 2014/0303939).
As to claim the prior art teaches a design support apparatus that supports design of an electronic component embedded substrate, the apparatus comprising:
a height difference calculating unit that calculates a difference between the height of a first electronic component and the height of a second electronic component on the basis of first component information containing height information about the first electronic component to be incorporated in an electronic component embedded substrate (see fig 5b) and second component information containing height information about the second electronic component to be incorporated in the electronic component embedded substrate (see fig 3-7 paragraph 0048-0058);
and a height adjustment necessity judging unit that compares the difference with a reference value set in advance, and judges the necessity of a height adjusting member to be arranged on the first electronic component and/or the second electronic component (see fig 3-9 paragraph 0063-0072).
As to claim 2 the prior art teaches wherein the height adjustment necessity judging unit selects an electronic component where the height adjusting member is to be arranged (see fig 3-9 paragraph 0058-0064).
As to claim 3 the prior art teaches further comprising: a height adjusting member dimension calculating unit that calculates a dimension of the height adjusting member( see fig 3-5 and 8-10 paragraph 0070-0075).
As to claim 4 the prior art teaches wherein the first electronic component and the second electronic component are bare chips, and the height information about the first electronic component and the height information about the second electronic component are height information about the respective bare chips (see fig 7-11 paragraph 0073-0079).
As to claim 5 the prior art teaches further comprising: a height adjusting member arrangement method selecting unit that selects an arrangement method of arranging the height adjusting member (see fig 8-12 paragraph 0078-0084).
As to claim 6 the prior art teaches wherein the first component information and the second component information, or the first component information or the second component information contains availability condition information about the first electronic component and/or the second electronic component, and the height adjusting member arrangement method selecting unit selects the arrangement method of arranging the height adjusting member on the basis of the availability condition information (see fig 9-13 paragraph 0088-0095).
As to claim 7 the prior art teaches further comprising: an input device for inputting component identifying information about the first electronic component and component identifying information about the second electronic component (see fig 9-14 paragraph 0093-0097).
As to claim 8, the prior art teaches comprising: a component information acquiring unit that acquire component information containing the height information about the first electronic component and the height information about the second electronic component from a component database on the basis of the component identifying information about the first electronic component and the component identifying information about the second electronic component accepted by the input device (see fig 10-15 paragraph 0096-0100).
As to claim 9 the prior art teaches wherein the first electronic component and the second electronic component are power devices (see fig 13-17 paragraph 0108-0112).
As to claim 10 the prior art teaches wherein the first electronic component is a rectifier element and the second electronic component is a switching element (see fig 14-17 paragraph 0110-0114).
As to claim 11 the prior art teaches further comprising: an output device that outputs result of judgment by the height adjustment necessity judging unit(see fig 15-19 paragraph 0158-0164).
As to claim 12 the prior art teaches a design support program that supports design of an electronic component embedded substrate, the program causing a computer to perform:
a height difference calculating process of calculating a difference between the height of a first electronic component and the height of a second electronic component on the basis of first component information containing height information about the first electronic component to be incorporated in an electronic component embedded substrate and second component information containing height information about the second electronic component to be incorporated in the electronic component embedded substrate (see fig 3-7 paragraph 0048-0058);
and a height adjustment necessity judging process of comparing the difference with a reference value set in advance, and judging the necessity of a height adjusting member (see fig 3-9 paragraph 0058-0064).
As to claim 13 the prior art teaches a design support method of supporting design of an electronic component embedded substrate, the method comprising at least:
calculating a difference between the height of a first electronic component and the height of a second electronic component on the basis of first component information containing height information about the first electronic component to be incorporated in an electronic component embedded substrate and second component information containing height information about the second electronic component to be incorporated in the electronic component embedded substrate (see fig 3-7 paragraph 0048-0058);
and comparing the difference with a reference value set in advance, and judging the necessity of a height adjusting member (see fig 3-9 paragraph 0058-0064).
Conclusion
/BINH C TAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851