DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namiki (CN116453971A) in view of Lee (KR20060083571A) and Liu (US20190063689A1).
Regarding claim 1, Namiki teaches a system (see Fig. 1-6) comprising: a closed loop (see closed loop of temperature adjusting device 50) configured to flow a heat transfer fluid to regulate temperature of a process tool (conveying device 12), wherein the heat transfer fluid comprises a flammable or combustible fluid (temperature adjusting medium can be a liquid…can also be any one of methanol, ethanol, ethylene glycol… - Page 3, which are inherently flammable/combustible); a temperature control unit (shut-off valve 545 of 54 & cooling unit 51 – page 3) configured to receive the heat transfer fluid and regulate temperature of the heat transfer fluid; a plurality of sensors (see pressure switch 547 & “unillustrated flow meter…detecting a difference in flow rate of the cooling water” – Page 4) configured to measure one or more properties of the heat transfer fluid; and a controller (control unit – 60) configured to determine a fault in the closed loop based on sensor data received from the plurality of sensors and to further cause a corrective action responsive to determining the fault (shut-off valve…is closed when…leakage – Page 3).
Namiki does not teach a plurality of sensors configured to measure one or more properties of the heat transfer fluid flowing along a first flow path from the temperature control unit to the process tool and to measure the one or more properties of the heat transfer fluid flowing along a second flow path from the process tool to the temperature control unit.
Lee teaches (see Fig. 2) leak detector (222) of the heat transfer fluid flowing along a first flow path from the temperature control unit (208) to the process tool (202) and a leak detector (224) of the heat transfer fluid flowing along a second flow path from the process tool to the temperature control unit, in order to quickly respond to leaks, by measuring for leakages in both the supply and return conduits (Page 2). Liu further teaches a leak detector (100; Fig. 1-2) which uses a plurality of sensors configured to measure one or more properties of the heat transfer fluid (flowmeter 104 & pressure sensor(s) 103/112), in order to provide an improved and reliable means to detect leakages (¶[0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Namiki to include the placement of the leakage detector as taught by Lee, and the specific sensors of Liu as the leakage detector as taught by Liu, in order to quickly respond to leaks, by measuring for leakages in both the supply and return conduits (Page 2 – Lee) and in order to provide an improved and reliable means to detect leakages (¶[0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Namiki teaches a method (see Fig. 1-6) comprising: causing regulation of temperature of a process tool (conveying device 12) by a flow of heat transfer fluid to the process tool along a closed loop (see closed loop of temperature adjusting device 50), wherein the heat transfer fluid comprises a flammable or combustible fluid (temperature adjusting medium can be a liquid…can also be any one of methanol, ethanol, ethylene glycol… - Page 3); causing regulation of temperature the heat transfer fluid in a temperature control unit (shut-off valve 545 of 54 & cooling unit 51 – page 3)configured to receive the heat transfer fluid from the process tool; receiving sensor data (via control unit 60) indicative of one or more measured properties of the heat transfer fluid (see pressure switch 547 & “unillustrated flow meter…detecting a difference in flow rate of the cooling water” – Page 4); determining a fault in the closed loop based on the sensor data; and causing a corrective action responsive to determining the fault (shut-off valve…is closed when…leakage – Page 3).
Namiki does not teach a plurality of sensors configured to measure one or more properties of the heat transfer fluid flowing along a first flow path from the temperature control unit to the process tool and to measure the one or more properties of the heat transfer fluid flowing along a second flow path from the process tool to the temperature control unit.
Lee teaches (see Fig. 2) leak detector (222) of the heat transfer fluid flowing along a first flow path from the temperature control unit (208) to the process tool (202) and a leak detector (224) of the heat transfer fluid flowing along a second flow path from the process tool to the temperature control unit, in order to quickly respond to leaks, by measuring for leakages in both the supply and return conduits (Page 2). Liu further teaches a leak detector (100; Fig. 1-2) which uses a plurality of sensors configured to measure one or more properties of the heat transfer fluid (flowmeter 104 & pressure sensor(s) 103/112), in order to provide an improved and reliable means to detect leakages (¶[0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Namiki to include the placement of the leakage detector as taught by Lee, and the specific sensors of Liu as the leakage detector as taught by Liu, in order to quickly respond to leaks, by measuring for leakages in both the supply and return conduits (Page 2 – Lee) and in order to provide an improved and reliable means to detect leakages (¶[0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Namiki teaches a system (see Fig. 1-6) comprising: a temperature control unit (shut-off valve 545 of 54 & cooling unit 51 – page 3); a process tool (12); a closed loop (see closed loop of temperature adjusting device 50) to flow a heat transfer fluid between the temperature control unit and the process tool, wherein the heat transfer fluid comprises a flammable or combustible fluid (temperature adjusting medium can be a liquid…can also be any one of methanol, ethanol, ethylene glycol… - Page 3); a plurality of sensors configured to measure one or more properties of the heat transfer fluid (see pressure switch 547 & “unillustrated flow meter…detecting a difference in flow rate of the cooling water” – Page 4); and a controller (control unit – 60), wherein the controller is configured to: cause the heat transfer fluid to flow along the closed loop to regulate temperature of the process tool; cause the temperature control unit to regulate temperature of the heat transfer fluid; receive sensor data from the plurality of sensors indicative of the one or more properties of the heat transfer fluid; determine a fault in the closed loop based on the sensor data; and cause a corrective action responsive to determining the fault (shut-off valve…is opened when…normally operated…is closed when…leakage – Page 3).
Namiki does not teach a plurality of sensors configured to measure one or more properties of the heat transfer fluid flowing along a first flow path from the temperature control unit to the process tool and to measure the one or more properties of the heat transfer fluid flowing along a second flow path from the process tool to the temperature control unit.
Lee teaches (see Fig. 2) leak detector (222) of the heat transfer fluid flowing along a first flow path from the temperature control unit (208) to the process tool (202) and a leak detector (224) of the heat transfer fluid flowing along a second flow path from the process tool to the temperature control unit, in order to quickly respond to leaks, by measuring for leakages in both the supply and return conduits (Page 2). Liu further teaches a leak detector (100; Fig. 1-2) which uses a plurality of sensors configured to measure one or more properties of the heat transfer fluid (flowmeter 104 & pressure sensor(s) 103/112), in order to provide an improved and reliable means to detect leakages (¶[0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Namiki to include the placement of the leakage detector as taught by Lee, and the specific sensors of Liu as the leakage detector as taught by Liu, in order to quickly respond to leaks, by measuring for leakages in both the supply and return conduits (Page 2 – Lee) and in order to provide an improved and reliable means to detect leakages (¶[0004]).
Regarding claim 2/11/18, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1/10/17, and Namiki as modified by Liu further teaches the plurality of sensors comprises one or more of: one or more pressure sensors, one or more flow sensors (see above).
Regarding claim 3/12, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 2/11, and Namiki further teaches the fault in the closed loop is determined based on at least a mismatch in first flowrate data from a first flow sensor of the one or more flow sensors and second flowrate data from a second flow sensor of the one or more flow sensors responsive to a comparison of the first flowrate data and the second flowrate data (Page 4).
Regarding claim 4/19, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1/17, and Namiki further teaches the temperature control unit comprises: a sealed tank (tank – Page 3) along a flow path of the closed loop and configured to receive the heat transfer fluid; and a pump (pump – Page 3) configured to pump the heat transfer fluid along the flow path of the closed loop.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the temperature control unit comprises one or more of a heating unit configured to heat the heat transfer fluid for heating the process tool or a cooling unit configured to cool the heat transfer fluid for cooling the process tool.
Regarding claim 7/14, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1/10, and Namiki further teaches the fault in the closed loop comprises one or more of a heat transfer fluid leak in the closed loop (leakage – Page 3).
Regarding claim 8/15/20, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1/10/17, and Namiki further teaches the fault in the closed loop comprises one or more of a heat transfer fluid leak in the closed loop (leakage – Page 3), and wherein the corrective action comprises triggering an interlock to stop the flow of heat transfer fluid in the closed loop (shut-off valve…is closed when…leakage – Page 3).
Regarding claim 9/16, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1/10, and Namiki further teaches the process tool, wherein the process tool comprises a substrate processing chamber (12).
Claim(s) 5-6, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namiki (CN116453971A) in view of Lee (KR20060083571A) and Liu (US20190063689A1), Buchberger (US20140262030A1).
Regarding claim 5-6, and 13, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Namiki does not teach the temperature control unit comprises one or more of a heating unit configured to heat the heat transfer fluid for heating the process tool, the heating unit comprises one or more resistive heating elements, wherein causing regulation of the heat transfer fluid in the temperature control unit comprises activating a heating unit configured to heat the heat transfer fluid for heating the process tool.
Buchberger teaches the temperature control unit comprises one or more of a heating unit configured to heat the heat transfer fluid for heating the process tool, the heating unit comprises one or more resistive heating elements, wherein causing regulation of the heat transfer fluid in the temperature control unit comprises activating a heating unit configured to heat the heat transfer fluid for heating the process tool (see in-line resistive heater 345; Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Namiki to include the resistive heater of Buchberger, in order to quickly change the fluid temperature either for heating or cooling (¶[0063]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763