Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Moulin”, WO 2015087102.
Regarding claim 1, Moulin discloses a patient table for a medical imaging system [abstract], comprising:
a base [e.g., 2];
a cradle [tabletop 1] configured to support a subject [e.g., 4] to be imaged and to move bi-directionally relative to the base [abstract: tabletop (1) longitudinally translate with respect to said table column (2)]; and
a fixed structure [24] directly coupled to both the base and the cradle [fig.1], wherein the cradle is configured to move relative to the fixed structure without a portion of the subject being pinched between the cradle and the fixed structure [fig.2: tabletop comprises elevated portion 3 to be leveled with 25 so oversized subject won’t be pinched].
Regarding claim 2, Moulin discloses wherein the cradle has a first width [e.g., 3] in a first direction perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the cradle, and the first width is greater than a second width [25] of the fixed structure in the first direction [fig.1: 14 wider than 25 in the same first direction; pg.8, 4th paragraph].
Regarding claim 9, Moulin discloses wherein the cradle is configured to provide a flat surface [fig.1, 2] for engagement with a radiation therapy table top.
Regarding claim 11, Moulin discloses wherein the cradle comprises a foam core [pg.5, 6th paragraph].
Regarding claim 12, Moulin discloses a CT imaging system [pg. 11, line 5] comprising: a gantry having a bore [e.g., fig.3A] and coupled to imaging components configured to acquire imaging data of a subject [pp. 10-11]; and a patient table comprising the elements as discussed above in reference to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulin.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Moulin discloses the patient table as discussed above, but did not disclose explicitly the first width of the cradle. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the cradle to have the first width be at least 42 centimeters in order to accommodate wide population of patients as it’s commonly known.
Regarding claim 8, Moulin discloses wherein the cradle is configured to enable the subject both to load and to unload onto cradle solely utilizing the cradle [e.g., fig. 3B-C], but did not disclose explicitly a single subject point load. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to explicitly implement a “single subject point load” as a structural point-load design to have safe support during transfer and imaging as a functional requirement.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulin as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of “Wiener”, US Patent 8395129.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Moulin discloses a tabletop for the subject, but does not explicitly describe that “a cross-section… comprises a plurality of flat sections with at least two flat sections sloped relative to a central flat section.”
Wiener teaches a similar patient table with a rigid thin sheet having a bevel/chamfer that reduces edge artifacts and is characterized by a structured bevel geometry with a height and length relationship to sheet thickness [col.4, ll.33-54; col.5, ll.26-67]. The bevel spreads the attenuation transition across multiple pixels/voxels by using a bevel dimension “x” substantially larger than resolution [col.6, l.50 to col.7, l.2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moulin’s cradle to incorporate the bevel/chamfer teaching of Weiner, resulting in the cradle with a cross-section of the cradle along the first width comprising a plurality of flat sections with at least two flat sections sloped relative to a central flat section of the plurality of flat sections. An ordinary artisan would be motivated to implement the bevel as multiple planar/flat segments (i.e., a “plurality of flat sections” including sloped flats and a central region) to achieve the gradual attenuation transition and artifact reduction [Wiener: col.1, l.56 to col.2, l.3].
Regarding claim 10, Moulin discloses a tabletop having an inner foam. However, Wiener discloses an alternative imaging pallet including a rigid thin sheet with thickness less than about six millimeters and discusses sheet materials such as aluminum or carbon fiber [0014-0015]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Moulin’s inner foam cradle with Wiener’s rigid sheet materials in order to lower attenuation compared to a foam-core cradle in the context of radiation transmission imaging [0003+; 0013+].
Claim(s) 6-7, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulin in view of Wiener as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of “Bonner”, US Publication 20170112455.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Moulin and Wiener combined provides support for multi-direction thickness/geometry variation -- Wiener describes the rigid sheet may have non-uniform thickness and that the bevel effectively thins the sheet at the edge region [col.5, ll.8-15] to have the radiation attenuation transition at the edge to be gradual rather than abrupt which suppresses edge artifacts [col.1, l.56 to col.2, l.3], and did not disclose explicitly that the cradle varies in thickness along the longitudinal axis both in the first direction and a second direction perpendicular to both the first direction and the longitudinal axis.
Bonner teaches longitudinal height variation and angled top/bottom surfaces along the support to compensate sag/deflection [0020, 0023-0024, 0029] which indicates the support geometry varies along the longitudinal axis. Using Bonner’s angled top/bottom geometry and combined Moulin-Wiener’s edge bevel thinning, an ordinary artisan would be motivated to implement thickness that changes along the longitudinal axis at the edge region (bevel thins) and also changes due to the angled/non-parallel surfaces (sag compensation), resulting in thickness variation relative to multiple perpendicular directions.
Regarding claims 7, 17, Moulin teaches a longitudinal translation stroke sufficient for only part of the tray supporting the mattress to be shifted so it no more overhangs the guiding part, while another part remains guided and horizontal [pg.8: “The longitudinal translation stroke… sufficient for all the part of the tray… to be shifted so as to no more overhang the guiding part 24… while the remaining part… is guided by the guiding part 24… horizontal”]. This supports the concept of proximal vs distal sections relative to the guiding/fixed structure during extension.
As discussed above, Bonner teaches height decreasing toward the distal end [0024, 0029]. Interpreting the “extended beyond fixed structure” portion as the distal portion into the imaging region, Bonner’s height decrease supports that the distal [first] section is thinner than the proximal [second] section.
It would have been obvious to combine Moulin’s overhang/guided-length disclosure with Bonner’s sag-compensation geometry [as the references address geometry changes along the extension direction to maintain functional imaging positioning] so that the distal section extending into the imaging region has a different thickness/profile than the proximal guided section for functional compensation during imaging.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulin as applied to at least claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Bonner as applied to at least claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 18, Moulin and Bonner disclose the patient table for an imaging system as discussed above in reference to claims 1 and 7, including the cradle comprising a thicker second [proximal] section for functional compensation during imaging.
Regarding claim 19, Moulin discloses the limitation as discussed above in reference to claim 8.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moulin in view of Bonner as discussed above in reference to claim 18 above, and further in view of Weiner as applied to at least claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 20, Moulin, Bonner and Wiener disclose the patient table for an imaging system as discussed above in reference to claims 18 and 5, with thickness variation relative to multiple perpendicular directions with Wiener’s teaching of non-uniform thickness and bevels that effectively thin the sheet at the edge region [col.5, ll.8-15] to have the radiation attenuation transition at the edge to be gradual rather than abrupt which suppresses edge artifacts [col.1, l.56 to col.2, l.3].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 4/22/26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Schwehr applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSE W CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791