DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted claiming the benefit of Application No. 63/442,875, filed on 02/02/2023, which papers have been placed of record in the file required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed "Remarks/Arguments" on 04/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that: Regarding claims 1, and 3, “Ahmed's relative location of one device with respect to another device is not the same as the provided positional information indicating the relative positions of beacons in a beacon constellation,” and “Ahmed does not disclose a beacon constellation that self-localizes or otherwise establishes beacon-to-beacon relative-position information and then provides that beacon-relative- position information to the claimed device for use in generating the position estimate.” However, Ahmed teaches [0040] “the artificial reality environment 300 is shown to include a first device 302 and one or more peripheral devices 304(1)-304(N) (also referred to as “peripheral device 304” or “device 304”). The first device 302 and peripheral device(s) 304 may each include a communication device 306 including a plurality of UWB devices 308. A set of UWB devices 308 may be spatially positioned/located (e.g., spaced out) relative to each other on different locations on/in the first device 302 or the peripheral device 304, so as to maximize UWB coverage and/or to enhance/enable specific functionalities.” That is, said peripheral devices 304(1)-304(N) may include UWB(s) configured to communicate with each other, and peripheral device(s) 304 (the beacon devices) may be specifically aligned in specific positions relative to each other as described above, i.e. the beacons may be aligned in an arrangement such that of a constellation configuration. Additionally, [0051] describes “the first device 302 may include various sensors and/or sensing systems. For example, the first device 302 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor 312, global positioning system (GPS) 314,” and as described in [0041] the peripheral devices (beacons) “may be or include the computing device 110 described above, (or be) a device similar to the first device 302 (e.g., a HWD 150, a smart watch, mobile device, etc.),” i.e. the peripheral devices (beacons) may provide positioning locations with the incorporation of various sensors and techniques such as GPS, and may then transmit said positioning locations to the first device 302 (the augmented reality device). Therefore, the beacon(s) may “self-localize” within the constellation and each beacon is configured to transmit positioning information (and estimates of the augmented reality device’s position) to the augmented reality device.
Applicant’s additional arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 3 and respective claims 2 and 4-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s remarks have been given full consideration, as such this Office Action has been modified in view of Amendments filed on 04/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, the independent claims recite the claim language “…positions of at least some of the beacons…” and therefore creating a deficiency of language. The term “some” in claims 1 and 3 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. More specifically, “some” is a relative term, and not specifying a specific number of the term “some” makes claims 1 and 3 indefinite. Additionally, the number in which the term “some” is not defined by the claim, nor does the specification provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In other words, it is unclear what number “some” should be. For the same reasons, claims 2, 4-18 and 20 are also rejected because of depending on claims 1 and 3, respectively, containing the same deficiency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US 2022/0303680 A1, hereinafter Ahmed) in view of Guan et al. (US 2016/0360418 A1, hereinafter Guan).
Regarding claim 1, Ahmed teaches an augmented reality device ([0037] FIG. 2 displays a head wearable device (HWB) capable of producing [0003 and 0076] an augmented reality) comprising: an ultra-wideband module ([0021] devices operate in the ultra-wideband (UWB) spectrum, i.e. includes UWB modules as depicted in FIG. 3); and a processor ([Figure 2, Processor 170]); the ultra-wideband module being configured to connect to a constellation of beacons including other ultra-wideband modules ([0021 and 0040-0041] describes any of the UWB devices may be beacons that include UWB modules, FIG. 3 depicts a multitude of UWB devices configured to connect to each other, including the first device 302, which may be the device described in FIG. 2); the processor ([Figure 2, Processor 170]) being configured to: receive one or more estimates for a distance between the ultra-wideband module in the augmented reality device and an ultra-wideband module in at least one of the beacons ([0022] "Some implementations of UWB may focus on precision ranging, security, and low to moderate rate data communication. For example, employing UWB devices as described herein allows for a determination of a relative location between two or more UWB devices with precision (e.g., determination of devices within 5-10 degrees of rotation and a distance within 0.5 mm). The determination of the location, position, tilt, and/or rotation of UWB devices relative to one another enables, among other features, clear spatial audio content to be communicated between the UWB devices (and/or between multiple other devices such as a first device and any peripheral devices)." That is, the device described in FIG. 2 may receive distance estimates between a multitude of other UWB devices); and output a position estimate for the augmented reality device using the one or more estimates and the positional information ([0022 and 0025] a user wearing a HWD configured with head-locked rotation may experience a fixed audio sound emanating from a fixed location, and [0055] the first device may also include a microphone and a display, i.e. the ability to output position estimate, and said output methods may output the positional information/estimates, such as in the example depicted in FIG. 9, and [0087] describes “Each user 902, 904, 906(1)-906(4) in scene 900 may be coupled to a device having one or more UWB devices (e.g., UWB antennas), a microphone, a speaker phone, a display, and/or other processors configured to perform various functions. Each of the users in scene 900 may be displayed information conveying the presence of each of the other users in the scene 900. For example, the devices coupled to each user may display each of the other users in the scene 900,” i.e. the devices worn by users 906(1)-906(4) (which may be the beacons) may communicate with each other in regards to the positions and position estimates of all the devices, including the devices worn by users 902 or 904 (the first device 302 in this scenario)).
Ahmed is not relied on for the claim language receive positional information indicating relative positions of at least some of the beacons in the constellation, the positional information being based on communications among the beacons; However, Guan teaches [abstract] a method to detect unauthorized beacons in a beacon environment, wherein said beacons may determine and transmit positional patterns of another receiving beacon along a path in the beacon environment. Guan also teaches receive positional information indicating relative positions of at least some of the beacons in the constellation ([0013-0014] FIG. 1 depicts an example of a beacon environment 100, beacon environment read as constellation, and the signals 112 emitted by the authorized beacons 110 may enable a user 120 to move through the beacon environment 100 and receive beacon identification information from the authorized beacons 110 with a beacon receiving device (not shown) such as a cell phone or tablet. The beacon identification information may enable the beacon receiving device to provide position dependent information or interactions to the user 120, i.e. the beacons will provide positional information to the user as they move around the beacon constellation), the positional information being based on communications among the beacons ([0023] FIGS. 4A and 4B depict, respectively, one example of a zone transition map 410 and one example of a zone transition table 420, wherein they indicate which beacon zones in an environment are adjacent to each other, and [0024] “The zone transition map 410 includes a set of nodes 412 and a set of links 414. The zone transition map 410 may be generated by user input or generated automatically from the position information received in step 310 of FIG. 3 based on the estimated transmission range of beacons. The nodes 412 correspond to authorized beacons and the links 414 indicate valid transitions,” i.e. the nodes 412(n) consist of beacons, wherein each beacon may communicate to determine node positional data, and each node may communicate with other nodes (and therefore other beacons) via link 414 to determine the positional data to be sent to the receiving device, i.e. received positional information by the receiving device is based on communications among a plurality of beacons).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ahmed to include the ability for the positional information to include relative positions of a multitude of beacons, wherein said beacons are in communication with each, as taught by Guan, in order to aid in [0002] the beacons enabling electronic devices to determine their approximate position without requiring access to satellite signals and provide a location dependent experience to the users of the receiving devices, and [0019] improve positional estimates for the receiving device and/or improve detection of movement path anomalies of the receiving device.
Regarding claim 3, Ahmed teaches a system comprising: an augmented reality device configured to wirelessly connect to a smart device (FIG. 3 depicts a multitude of UWB devices in wireless communication, including the first device 302 which may include [0003 and 0076] an augmented reality, and any of the UWB devices may be [0041] a smart device); and the smart device ([0041] peripheral devices 304 may be a plurality of smart devices), the smart device comprising: a first ultra-wideband module ([0041] and [Figure 3, 308(4-6)] FIG. 3 depicts peripheral device 1 304(1) including UWB modules 308(4-6)); a first transmitter ([Figure 3, 306(1)] communication device 306(1), i.e. a transmitter); and a first processor ([Figure 3, 310(1)] processing engine(s), i.e. processor(s)); the first ultra-wideband module being configured to connect to a constellation of beacons including other ultra-wideband modules ([0021 and 0040-0041] describes any of the UWB device may be beacons that include UWB modules, FIG. 3 depicts a multitude of UWB devices configured to connect to each other, including the first device 302, which may be the device described in FIG. 2); the first processor being configured to: receive one or more estimates for a distance between the first ultra- wideband module and an ultra-wideband module in at least one of the beacons ([0022] "Some implementations of UWB may focus on precision ranging, security, and low to moderate rate data communication. For example, employing UWB devices as described herein allows for a determination of a relative location between two or more UWB devices with precision (e.g., determination of devices within 5-10 degrees of rotation and a distance within 0.5 mm). The determination of the location, position, tilt, and/or rotation of UWB devices relative to one another enables, among other features, clear spatial audio content to be communicated between the UWB devices (and/or between multiple other devices such as a first device and any peripheral devices)." That is, the device described in FIG. 2 may receive distance estimates between a multitude of other UWB devices); and output a position estimate using the one or more estimates and the positional information; and the first transmitter configured to send the position estimate to the augmented reality device ([0022 and 0025] a user wearing a HWD configured with head-locked rotation may experience a fixed audio sound emanating from a fixed location, and [0055] the first device may also include a microphone and a display, i.e. the ability to output a received position estimate, and said output methods may output the positional information/estimates, such as in the example depicted in FIG. 9, and [0087] describes “Each user 902, 904, 906(1)-906(4) in scene 900 may be coupled to a device having one or more UWB devices (e.g., UWB antennas), a microphone, a speaker phone, a display, and/or other processors configured to perform various functions. Each of the users in scene 900 may be displayed information conveying the presence of each of the other users in the scene 900. For example, the devices coupled to each user may display each of the other users in the scene 900,” i.e. the devices worn by users 906(1)-906(4) (which may be the beacons) may communicate with each other in regards to the positions and position estimates of all the devices, including the devices worn by users 902 or 904 (the first device 302 in this scenario))
Ahmed is not relied on for the claim language receive positional information indicating relative positions of at least some of the beacons in the constellation, the positional information being based on communications among the beacons; However, Guan teaches receive positional information indicating relative positions of at least some of the beacons in the constellation ([0013-0014] FIG. 1 depicts an example of a beacon environment 100, beacon environment read as constellation, and the signals 112 emitted by the authorized beacons 110 may enable a user 120 to move through the beacon environment 100 and receive beacon identification information from the authorized beacons 110 with a beacon receiving device (not shown) such as a cell phone or tablet. The beacon identification information may enable the beacon receiving device to provide position dependent information or interactions to the user 120, i.e. the beacons will provide positional information to the user as they move around the beacon constellation), the positional information being based on communications among the beacons ([0023] FIGS. 4A and 4B depict, respectively, one example of a zone transition map 410 and one example of a zone transition table 420, wherein they indicate which beacon zones in an environment are adjacent to each other, and [0024] “The zone transition map 410 includes a set of nodes 412 and a set of links 414. The zone transition map 410 may be generated by user input or generated automatically from the position information received in step 310 of FIG. 3 based on the estimated transmission range of beacons. The nodes 412 correspond to authorized beacons and the links 414 indicate valid transitions,” i.e. the nodes 412(n) consist of beacons, wherein each beacon may communicate to determine node positional data, and each node may communicate with other nodes (and therefore other beacons) via link 414 to determine the positional data to be sent to the receiving device, i.e. received positional information by the receiving device is based on communications among a plurality of beacons).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ahmed to include the ability for the positional information to include relative positions of a multitude of beacons, wherein said beacons are in communication with each, as taught by Guan, in order to aid in [0002] the beacons enabling electronic devices to determine their approximate position without requiring access to satellite signals and provide a location dependent experience to the users of the receiving devices, and [0019] improve positional estimates for the receiving device and/or improve detection of movement path anomalies of the receiving device.
Regarding claim 4, Ahmed teaches the augmented reality device includes a first inertial measurement unit (IMU) ([0051] FIG. 3 depicts the first device 302 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensor 312), and the first processor ([0007] each of the UWB devices may include processors, also shown in FIG. 3) is further configured to estimate an attitude for the augmented reality device at least in part based on synthesizing data from the first IMU and the position estimate ([0051] FIG. 3 depicts MM 316, and/or GPS 314 may be configured to generate data corresponding to the first device 302, and send/receive IMU and GPS position measurement information to and from each of depicted UWB devices).
Regarding claim 5, Ahmed teaches the augmented reality device includes a camera ([0023] In some embodiments, sensors (e.g., inertial measurement units, magnetometers, cameras, etc.) can provide head locked rotation data corresponding to the movement and/or orientation of the sensors or an associated object, i.e. the augmented reality device 302 may include a camera), and the first processor ([0007] each of the UWB devices may include processors, also shown in FIG. 3) is further configured to estimate an attitude for the augmented reality device at least in part based on synthesizing data from the camera and the position estimate ([0093] In some embodiments, each of the devices may employ one or more additional sensors (e.g., cameras) to further provide position information, orientation information).
Regarding claim 6, Ahmed teaches the smart device includes a global positioning system (GPS) unit ([0051] and [Figure 3, GPS 314] the smart devices 302 and 304 may include a GPS unit 314), and the first transmitter is further configured to: send first data to the augmented reality device that includes second data from the GPS unit; or send third data to the augmented reality device that is at least partially based on the second data from the GPS unit ([0051] FIG. 3 depicts MM 316, and/or GPS 314 may be configured to generate data corresponding to the first device 302, and send/receive IMU and GPS position measurement information to and from each of depicted UWB devices).
Regarding claim 7, Ahmed teaches the augmented reality device is configured to wirelessly connect to an accessory ([Figure 3, Devices 304(1, 2, N)] augmented reality device 302 is configured to wirelessly connect to a plurality of accessories as shown in FIG. 3), the accessory comprising: a second ultra-wideband module ([0040] each of the peripheral devices 304(1)-304(N) may include UWB modules); a second transmitter ([Figure 3, 306] and [0040] peripheral device(s) 304 may each include a communication device 306, i.e. a plurality of transmitters); and a second processor ([Figure 3, 310] and [0040] peripheral device(s) 304 may include various processing engines 310, i.e. a plurality of processors); the second ultra-wideband module being configured to connect to at least one of the beacons in the constellation of beacons including the other ultra-wideband modules ([0021 and 0040-0041] describes any of the UWB devices may be beacons that include UWB modules, FIG. 3 depicts a multitude of UWB devices configured to connect to each other, i.e. a second UWB module connected to other devices which may be UWB beacons); the second processor being configured to: receive one or more estimates for a distance between the second ultra-wideband module and an ultra-wideband module in at least one of the beacons ([0022] the plurality of UWB devices 302/304 depicted in FIG. 3 may transmit/receive a multitude of generated estimates for distance); and output a position estimate for the accessory; and the second transmitter being configured to send the position estimate to the augmented reality device ([0022 and 0025] a user wearing a HWD configured with head-locked rotation may experience a fixed audio sound emanating from a fixed location, and [0055] the first device may also include a microphone and a display, i.e. the ability to receive a position estimate from an accessory and then output position estimate to the augmented reality device).
Regarding claim 8, Ahmed teaches the accessory includes a second IMU ([0061] IMU sensors may support a plurality of devices, i.e. any of the UWB devices depicted in FIG. 3 may include [0051] an IMU module).
Regarding claim 9, Ahmed teaches the accessory during operation is attached to an object that is held by a person or worn by the person ([0071] describes the first device, the augmented reality device, may be held or worn by a person, and [0040-0049] describes devices 304 may be any UWB device, and therefore if device 302 may be held or worn by a user, devices 304 (1, 2, N) may be held or worn by a user, additionally FIG. 1 depicts two HWD devices that may communicate with each other, i.e. devices in operation and may be worn by a person).
Regarding claim 10, Ahmed teaches the accessory during operation is not physically connected to a person, worn by the person, or attached to the person ([Figure 7, device 702] as shown in FIG 7A/B, the accessory device 702 may not be physically connected to a person).
Regarding claim 11, Ahmed teaches the smart device is a smartphone ([0094] the computing device 110, the HWD 150, devices 302, 304, or each of the components of FIG. 1-9 are implemented by or may otherwise include one or more components of the computing system 1014. Computing system 1014 can be implemented, for example, as a consumer device such as a smartphone, other mobile phone, tablet computer, wearable computing device (e.g., smart watch, eyeglasses, head wearable display), desktop computer, laptop computer, or implemented with distributed computing devices.).
Regarding claim 12, Ahmed teaches the accessory is a smartwatch ([0094] the computing device 110, the HWD 150, devices 302, 304, or each of the components of FIG. 1-9 are implemented by or may otherwise include one or more components of the computing system 1014. Computing system 1014 can be implemented, for example, as a consumer device such as a smartphone, other mobile phone, tablet computer, wearable computing device (e.g., smart watch, eyeglasses, head wearable display), desktop computer, laptop computer, or implemented with distributed computing devices).
Regarding claim 18, Ahmed teaches the smart device is configured to connect to a different device ([0040-0049] FIG. 3 depicts any of the [0041] smart devices 302 or 304(1, 2, N) connecting to one another, i.e. connecting to a different device), the different device comprising: a third ultra-wideband module ([0040] each of the peripheral devices 304(1)-304(N) may include UWB modules); a third transmitter ([Figure 3, 306] and [0040] peripheral device(s) 304 may each include a communication device 306, i.e. a plurality of transmitters); and a third processor ([Figure 3, 310] and [0040] peripheral device(s) 304 may include various processing engines 310, i.e. a plurality of processors); the third ultra-wideband module being configured to connect to at least one of the beacons in the constellation of beacons including the other ultra-wideband modules ([0021 and 0040-0041] describes any of the UWB device may be beacons that include UWB modules, FIG. 3 depicts a multitude of UWB devices configured to connect to each other, i.e. a third UWB module connected to other devices which may be UWB beacons); the third processor being configured to: receive one or more estimates for a distance between the third ultra-wideband module and an ultra-wideband module in at least one of the beacons ([0022] the plurality of UWB devices 302/304 depicted in FIG. 3 may transmit/receive a multitude of generated estimates for distance); and output a position estimate for the different device; and the third transmitter being configured to send, to the smart device, the position estimate and an estimate for the distance between the smart device and the different device ([0022 and 0025] a user wearing a HWD configured with head-locked rotation may experience a fixed audio sound emanating from a fixed location, and [0055] the smart device may also include a microphone and a display, i.e. the ability to receive a position estimate from a smart device and then output position estimates to/for the other smart device); wherein the smart device is configured to interpret information from the different device as an additional beacon in the constellation ([0082-0085] FIG. 8 describes a situation wherein the smart device interprets information from a plurality of different devices 802, 804, 806, 808, 810, 812, acting as additional beacons in the constellation).
Regarding claim 20, Ahmed teaches the augmented reality device is configured to run a sports-related application ([0081] describes a situation where the user is coupled with the wearable first device 302 to simulate running a marathon where each of the beacons in the city may be considered gates, where a runner is determined to have successfully completed the marathon (and/or specific stages of the marathon) in response to being within a predetermined distance from each of the corresponding gate(s), i.e. a sports-related application).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US 2022/0303680 A1, hereinafter Ahmed) and Guan et al. (US 2016/0360418 A1, hereinafter Guan) as applied in the claims above, in view of Zumsteg (US 2007/0253400 A1, hereinafter Zumsteg).
Regarding claim 2, Ahmed teaches at least one beacon of the constellation of beacons including other ultra-wideband modules- ([0021 and 0040-0041] describes any of the UWB devices may be beacons that include UWB modules, FIG. 3 depicts a multitude of UWB devices configured to connect to each other, i.e. a constellation of beacons).
The combination of Ahmed and Guan does not specifically teach -is passively powered. However, Zumsteg teaches [abstract] a method of determining distances between communication nodes via [0001] Global Positioning System (GPS) and using a constellation of geosynchronous satellites to provide the necessary coordinate reference points in order to aid in determining the building-relative position coordinates. Zumsteg also teaches -is passively powered ([0007] beacon components may be battery powered, i.e. passively powered).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ahmed and Guan to include passively powering said beacons, as taught by Zumsteg, in order to improve upon and [0002] perform the need for a perimeter monitoring or surveillance system.
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al. (US 2022/0303680 A1, hereinafter Ahmed) and Guan et al. (US 2016/0360418 A1, hereinafter Guan) as applied in the claims above, in view of Lai et al. (US 2018/0049115 A1, hereinafter Lai).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ahmed and Guan does not specifically teach the constellation of beacons is arranged in a convex quadrilateral. However, Lai teaches [abstract and 0001] a method for selecting a positioning access point (AP) via a positioning sever to aid in acquiring the position of a terminal device, which is enclosed by a plurality of APs. Lai also teaches the constellation of beacons is arranged in a convex quadrilateral ([0042] the positioning server may determine whether line segments, line segments read as beacons, in the selected line segment subset, selected line segment subset read as the constellation of beacons, may form a convex quadrilateral).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ahmed and Guan to include the ability for beacons to form specific patterns, such as convex quadrilaterals, triangles, circles, etc., as taught by Lai, in order to [0021] reduce the complexity for the positioning calculation to improve the positioning efficiency of positioning methods.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ahmed and Guan does not specifically teach the constellation of beacons further includes another beacon in an interior of the convex quadrilateral. However, Lai teaches as such (FIG. 5 depicts a plurality of beacons in an interior, and the outer beacons may form the convex quadrilateral).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ahmed and Guan to include the ability for beacons to form specific patterns, such as convex quadrilaterals, triangles, circles, etc., and interior beacons, as taught by Lai, in order to [0021] reduce the complexity for the positioning calculation to improve the positioning efficiency of positioning methods.
Regarding claim 15, Ahmed teaches the processor ([0007] each of the UWB devices may include processors, also shown in FIG. 3).
The combination of Ahmed and Guan does not specifically teach -is configured to select three beacons and estimate a position coordinate; wherein the position coordinate is approximately the centroid of a triangle, wherein each vertex of the triangle is located at a respective closest point to a pair of circles in a group of three circles, wherein each circle in the group of three circles is respectively centered at a respective location of a beacon of the three selected beacons, and wherein each circle and has a respective radius approximately equal to a corresponding estimated distance from the respective beacon. However, Lai teaches -is configured to select three beacons and estimate a position coordinate; wherein the position coordinate is approximately the centroid of a triangle ([Figure 1] and [0024] describes selecting three beacons and in triangular positioning calculation, selecting the positioning APs enclosing the terminal, depicted to be approximately the centroid of the triangle, to be positioned may obtain a more accurate positioning result in comparison with the case that the positioning APs cannot enclose the terminal to be positioned), wherein each vertex of the triangle is located at a respective closest point to a pair of circles in a group of three circles ([0045] describes the vertex of the triangle being used in calculation, and [0026] describes the target AP set may be, for example, a candidate AP set closest to the terminal 11, terminal 11 read as smart device, and [0021 and 0025] describes how in FIG. 1/5-9 a plurality of circles may be created from the beacon devices, therefore the vertex of the triangle may be located at a respective closest point to a pair of circles in a group of a plurality of circles), wherein each circle in the group of three circles is respectively centered at a respective location of a beacon of the three selected beacons, and wherein each circle and has a respective radius approximately equal to a corresponding estimated distance from the respective beacon ([0021 and 0025] describes how in FIG. 1/5-9 a plurality of circles may be created from the beacon devices, and [0047] depicted in FIG. 8 S1, S2, S3 and S4 distances are calculated, which may be the radius if terminal 51 is directly in the center, and therefore would make said respective radius approximately equal to a corresponding estimated distance from the respective beacon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ahmed and Guan to include the ability for beacons to form specific patterns, such as convex quadrilaterals, triangles, circles, etc., and position measurements based on said patterns, as taught by Lai, in order to [0021] reduce the complexity for the positioning calculation to improve the positioning efficiency of positioning methods.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Ahmed and Guan does not specifically teach the three selected beacons are the three beacons in the constellation closest to the smart device. However, Lai teaches as such ([0026] describes the target AP set may be, for example, a candidate AP set closest to the terminal 11, terminal 11 read as smart device, and since [0024] the calculation requires triangular positioning, the three selected beacons may be the three beacons in the constellation closest to the smart device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ahmed and Guan to include the ability for the beacons selected to be the closest to the smart device, as taught by Lai, in order to [0021] reduce the complexity for the positioning calculation to improve the positioning efficiency of positioning methods.
Regarding claim 17 the combination of Ahmed and Guan does not specifically teach the three selected beacons are the beacons in the constellation that have the three strongest signal connections with the first ultra-wideband module. However, Lai teaches as such ([0030] describes obtaining packet transmissions such as Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), and how signal strength may be used to help the positioning server to calculate the position of the terminal to be positioned according to the values of the parameters and the coordinates of each of the positioning AP, i.e. the three selected beacons of the beacon constellation may have the strongest signal connections).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ahmed and Guan to include the ability for the beacons selected to be the strongest signal connections to the first ultra-wideband module, as taught by Lai, in order to [0021] reduce the complexity for the positioning calculation to improve the positioning efficiency of positioning methods.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoshida, Hidemasa (2005). Wireless communication system, wireless communication apparatus, wireless communication method and computer program (US 2005/0047383 A1). Filed 2004-07-21. Discloses a communication station which determines a seed and generates a frequency channel switching pattern basing upon the seed. The seed is written in a beacon in each transmission frame to notify it to other stations, wherein the beacons are capable of positioning and a transmission channels. (abstract)
Laroia, Rajiv et al. (2007). Communication methods and apparatus which may be used in the absence or presence of beacon signals (US 2007/0206554 A1). Filed 2007-01-10. Discloses discovery of devices and use of locally available usable spectrum for communication, wherein beacon signaling facilitates available spectrum discovery, spectrum usage coordination, and device identification. (abstract)
Tsumura, Shusuke (2020). Position measurement device and method, and recording medium (US 2020/0348420 A1). Filed 2018-12-18. Discloses a method to enhance the accuracy of positioning in an area not reached by a GNSS signal, which utilizes positioning beacons. (abstract)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699