DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Brake system with two brake boosters where one is directly between the master cylinder and the brakes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 14, 15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Zimmermann (U.S. Pat. No. 11,332,112).
Regarding claim 1, Zimmermann discloses A brake system, comprising:
A first interface (8c-d); a first booster (5); a first control valve (6c-d) coupling the first booster to the first interface;
A second control valve (40) coupled to the first interface through the first control valve;
Master cylinder (200 which contains the cavities 31 and 80) comprising a first main cavity (shown in the figures); and
A second main cavity (the space of 31 disclosed in col. 18, lines 13-16 as being connected to the master cylinder) connected to the first interface sequentially through a seventh control valve (84), an eighth control valve (81), and the first control valve (the second main cavity connections run through the seventh eighth and first before reaching the first interface); and
a second booster (2) coupling the first main cavity to the second control valve (shown in fig. 4 there is a fluid line connecting the two),
Wherein the second booster comprises a first booster pump (it is a pump) a first output end (27) coupled to the first interface.
Regarding claim 2 which depends from claim 1, Zimmermann discloses further comprising a brake fluid reservoir (4) coupled to the first interface through at least on third control valve (7c-d).
Regarding claim 3 which depends from claim 2, Zimmermann discloses wherein the second booster comprises a fourth control valve (32) and wherein the first main cavity is connect to the first interface sequentially through the fourth control valve, the second control valve and the first control valve (first cavity the line that connects to 41 then bypasses the booster to connect to 32 to 40 to 6).
Regarding claim 4 which depends from claim 3, Zimmermann discloses wherein the first output end is coupled to a pipe between the fourth control valve and the second control valve and wherein the first output end is coupled to the first interface sequentially through the second control valve and the first control valve (shown in the figures).
Note all that is required here are structural connections not functionality or flow of the fluid.
Regarding claim 5 which depends from claim 4, Zimmermann discloses wherein the first booster pump comprises a first input end connect to the brake fluid reservoir (53 provides this connection).
Regarding claim 6 which depends from claim 5, Zimmermann discloses wherein the second booster further comprises a first one-way valve (53), wherein the first one-way valve comprises: a first end coupled to the brake fluid reservoir (shown in fig. 4); and
A second end coupled to the first input end (shown in fig. 4), and
Wherein the first one-way valve is configured to allow brake fluid to flow from the brake fluid reservoir to the first input end through the first one-way valve (col. 12, lines 39-41).
Regarding claim 7 which depends from claim 6, Zimmermann discloses wherein the second booster further comprises a fifth control valve (23) and wherein the brake fluid reservoir is connected to the first interface sequentially through the fifth control valve the second control valve and the first control valve (shown in the figures).
Regarding claim 14, Zimmermann discloses the structure has been addressed by claim 1 above. Where the brake system is required to operate under a fault of the second booster that is disclosed in col. 18, lines 49-52,
Regarding claim 15 which depends from claim 14, Zimmermann discloses the physical structure has been addressed in claim 3 above and the two operations of the fourth control valve are either open or closed, where closed disconnects the passage.
Regarding claim 17 which depends from claim 15, Zimmermann discloses the physical structure has been addressed in claim 6 above and the two positions of the valve are either connected or disconnected.
Regarding claim 18 which depends from claim 17, Zimmermann discloses the switching frequency of the valve by controlling the pump to not produce a negative pressure.
Regarding claim 19 which depends from claim 15, Zimmermann discloses a first controller (B) that controls the second booster and a second controller (A) that controls the first booster and the second control valve (40). Col. 5, lines 30-40 discloses how the system is able to operate with one partition of the system being down including the valves of that partition.
Regarding claim 20, Zimmermann addresses the limitations in claim 1 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-13, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claims are a novel combination where they have sufficiently limited the environment to a combination not found in the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues for the amendments made to the claims which have been addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GONZALO LAGUARDA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747 email: gonzalo.laguarda@uspto.gov
/GONZALO LAGUARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747