Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20220088881).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kim et al. teach a method for manufacturing a metal frame support of a wind turbine blade mold (See paragraph [0003]-[0004], [0072]-[0073]). the method (A system for manufacturing a metal frame support of 8 wind turbine blade mold (para [0003]-[0004], [0072]-[0073]), the
system comprising: a first module (para [0063], [0084]-[0085], [0105]); 3 second module (para [0063], [0084]-[0085]. [0105]); a third module (para [0063], [0084]-[0085], [0105])) comprising:
receiving a wind turbine blade mold surface comprising a three-dimensional geometry file (e.g. an initial CAD model of a part having desired part geometry and generates a compensated CAD model. The compensated CAD model when sliced and printed into a part accounts for anisotropic deformation due to the additive manufacturing process and/or expected service loading such that the
compensated part geometry (after being additively manufactured and service loaded) substantially matches the part geometry of the initial CAD design The CAD model can be 3 solid model that represents a three dimensional (3D) solid geometry, a surface model that represents the 3D surface geometry, a combination thereof, or some other type of digital representation of the part, para [0079]-[0080]); receiving at least one input parameter (para [0084]-[0085], [0091]-[0096]. [0105]);
receiving a design scheme (e.g. The CAD software can export the model as a design file, such as a standard STP or STEP file The CAD software can export the CAD model as a slicing design file (a stereolithographic or STL file), para [0080]); outputting a first plurality of files comprising at least one line model wherein the line model represents a generated framework (para [0080]; Fig. 2 and 10A);
outputting B second plurality of files comprising at least one element of geometry data in text form (e.g. The CAD model, or derivative forms of the CAD model, can be provided to both the slicer software 308 and FEA software 304. The slicer software 308 can generate
additive manufacturing instructions, such as a toolpath based on what it receives from the CAD software. The additive manufacturing instructions can be provided to the FEA software 304 for use in the finite element analysis, para [0081]; 8.g. The simulation-assisted additive manufacturing design system communicates a slicer design file to the slicer software for toolpath generation. in many cases, a
slicer generates geometries which are not the same as the original CAD design. For example, where the slicer design file provided to the slicer defines a generally hollow part with only a few perimeters as shown in FIG. 2, the slicer may be configured to insert a specified infill.
structure into the hollow space (e.g., 50%-filled honeycomb structure or support lines 3S depicted in the alternative construction of FIG. 2). para [0084]):
performing finite element analysis of the line model and at least one element of geometry data (e.g. The FEA software 304 can generate a finite element mesh based on the provided CAD model of the part that has desired part geometry, or derivative thereof, para [0082]: para [0086]);
outputting a full frame model (e.g. surface machining the instance of the part based on the target design file to finalize the instance of the part, claim 9; Fig. 11A, 12A, 12D); and outputting at least one technical drawing of the full frame model (Fig. 11A, 12A, 12D).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kim et al. teach wherein the at least one input parameter comprises one of mold shell thickness, distance from the mold surface to a ground level, and structural tubing (See paragraph [0084]-[0085], [0091], [0105]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kim et al. teach wherein the design scheme is scaled automatically to the at least one input parameter and the mold surface (See paragraph [0072]-[0073]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kim et al. teach wherein the design scheme comprises a cross section of a metal frame (See paragraph [0072], [0073],[0091]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Kim et al. teach wherein the design scheme comprises an adjacent side connection and a bottom connection (Fig. 11A, 12A, 120).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Kim et al. teach wherein the design scheme is selected from a plurality of design schemes (See paragraph [0086], [0108]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Kim et al. teach wherein the second plurality of files comprises at least one element of data representing lines, start points, end points, and orientation of a portion of the metal frame (See paragraph [0072]-[0073], [0091], [0109]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Kim et al. teach further comprising: performing quality control with the at least one input parameter (See paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Kim et al. teach further comprising: converting the mold surface to a point cloud (See para [0029], [0082]-[0083], [0097]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. In view of Dikovsky et al. (US 20200171739 ).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Kim et al. teach all but fail to specifically teach wherein the point cloud comprises 100 points per 100 millimeters. However, Dikovsky et al. teach wherein the point cloud comprises 100 points per 100 millimeters (See paragraph [0164]-[0166]. [0305], [0336], [0587]-[0588], [0584]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Kim et al by including wherein the point cloud comprises 100 points per 100 millimeters as taught by Dikovsky et al. because the modification would provide the AM system with sufficient information for dispensing the core, the shell, and an Intermediate shell within the gap between the inner surface of the shell and the outermost surface of the core (Dikovsky et al, para [0576]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hall et al. (U.S. Pub No. 20210363961) disclose that the present disclosure may be embodied as a blade for a wind turbine. The blade includes a spar and a blade body arranged around the spar. The blade may include a root, a tip, and one or more body sections, each body section having a length, a stiffness ratio. The blade may further include two or more boundary actuators, each boundary actuator positioned at a boundary end of a body section, wherein each boundary actuator is configured to engage the corresponding boundary end to twist the body section. The length and stiffness ratio of each section may be optimized for maximum efficiency during Region 2 operation.
/GERTRUDE ARTHUR JEANGLAUDE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661