DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the “shaft locking assembly” in claims 6, 10 and 20.
With regard to the term “shaft locking assembly”,
first, the term “assembly” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “shaft locking”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., the term “shaft locking” preceding the generic placeholder describes the function, not the structure, of the shaft locking assembly.
Because this claim limitation is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 17-18, and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPN 4054394 Neuman.
Regarding Claim 11, Neuman discloses A board cutting apparatus for cutting a plate-shaped article into slats (col 1, 5-25), comprising:
a housing (10) defining a plate-shaped article entrance for receiving the plate-shaped article (opening of housing from left to right in fig 1), a slat exit opposite of the plate-shaped article entrance to expel the slats (left side of housing in fig. 1), and a conveying path (e.g. between shafts 12) extending between the plate-shaped article entrance and the slat exit (see: fig. 1-3); and
a cutting device (12, 16, 17) including at least one rotating shaft (12) at least partially located in the housing and across the conveying path (fig. 1), and at least one cutting blade assembly 16 mounted to the at least one rotating shaft (fig 1), engageable in rotation therewith (fig 1), and securable thereto in at least two longitudinally spaced-apart positions (col. 2, 55-65), wherein each one of the at least one cutting blade assembly comprises: an adjustable blade mount (18/24) having a variable inner diameter and being selectively configurable in a secured configuration wherein the adjustable blade mount is secured to a respective one of the at least one rotating shaft in a selected one of the at least two longitudinally spaced-apart positions and engaged in rotation with the at least one rotating shaft and a loosen configuration (col. 2, 50-65) wherein the adjustable blade mount is displaceable along the least one rotating shaft; and a circular blade mounted to the adjustable blade mount and being engaged in rotation with the at least one rotating shaft when the adjustable blade mount is configured in the secured configuration (col. 2, 50-65).
Regarding Claim 17, Neuman discloses A method for cutting a plate-shaped article into slats having predetermined widths, the method comprising: untightening a shaft locking assembly (16, 18, and 22-25) of at least one cutting blade assembly 16 mounted to a rotating shaft 12 of a cutting device (abstract); displacing the at least one cutting blade assembly along the rotating shaft of the cutting device to a longitudinal position corresponding to the predetermined widths of the slats (col. 2, 50-65); securing the at least one cutting blade assembly at the longitudinal position by tightening the shaft locking assembly of the at least one cutting blade assembly to the rotating shaft (col. 2, 50-65); engaging the rotating shaft having the at least one cutting blade assembly secured thereto in rotation; and translating the plate-shaped article along a conveying path to engage the at least one cutting blade assembly and be cut into the predetermined width slats (col. 2, 50-65).
Regarding Claim 18, Neuman discloses: the at least one cutting blade assembly comprises at least two cutting blade assemblies (fig 1) configured to be distributed in an irregular configuration where a distance between adjacent ones the at least two cutting blade assemblies and/or between a longitudinal edge of the plate-shaped article and an adjacent one of the at least two cutting assemblies is variable (as is possible since a user can freely move the blades along the shaft, per col 2, 50-68).
Regarding Claim 20, the displacing the at least one cutting blade assembly comprises sliding the at least one cutting blade assembly along the rotating shaft (per col 2, 50-68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-6, 16, 19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuman, in view of USPN 3850069 Saunders.
Regarding Claims 1, 5-6, and 22 Neuman discloses a board cutting apparatus for cutting a plate-shaped article into slats (col 1, 5-25), comprising:
a housing (10) having a plate-shaped article entrance (opening of housing from left to right in fig 1), a slat exit (left side of housing in fig. 1); and
a conveying path extending between the plate-shaped article entrance and the slat exit (e.g. between shafts 12); and
a cutting device (12 16 and 17) at least partially located in the housing across the conveying path, the cutting device comprising:
a rotating shaft (12) adjustable blade mounts (36 and 38) mounted to the rotating shaft (fig 1),
Neuman lacks: each one of the adjustable blade mounts comprising at least a first half collar and a second half collar detachably securable to the rotating shaft in a plurality of longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft to modify a width of the slats being cut at least one circular blade comprising at least a first half-disc and a second half-disc; and mechanical fasteners engageable with the first and second half- discs and the first and second half collars to secure the first and second half-discs to respective ones of the first and second half collars for the first and second half-discs being engageable in rotation by the rotating shaft (Claim 1), wherein each one of the first and second half collars comprises an inner portion engageable with the rotating shaft and a support plate protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the rotating shaft when mounted thereto, wherein the first and second half-discs are securable to the support plates with the mechanical fasteners, (Claim 5) wherein each one of the at least one adjustable blade mounts further comprises a shaft locking assembly for detachably securing the first and second half collars at a selected one of the longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft (Claim 6), the shaft locking assembly comprising a locking channel defined in the first half collar, a corresponding elongated groove extending longitudinally along the rotating shaft and, a mechanical fastener engageable in the locking channel and the elongated groove (Claim 22).
Saunders discloses a shaft supported rotating disc cutter, in the same field of endeavor as the a shaft supported rotating disc cutter tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes the apparatus having at least one circular blade (15) comprises a first half-disc (36) and a second half- disc 35; and at least one adjustable blade mount (13 and 15) comprising: a first half collar and a second half collar (22 and 21), each one of the first and second half collars comprising an inner portion engageable with the rotating shaft (arcuate shoulders 33 and 34 which engage with shaft 11) and a support plate protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the rotating shaft when mounted thereto (portions 31 and 32); and wherein the cutting device further comprises mechanical fasteners 37 engageable with a respective one of the first and second half-discs and a respective one of the first and second half collars to secure the first and second half-discs to the respective one of the first and second half collars (col 2, 35-55)(Claim 1), wherein each one of the first and second half collars comprises an inner portion 43 engageable with the rotating shaft 11 and a support plate 36 protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the rotating shaft (fig 3) when mounted thereto (fig 3), wherein the first and second half-discs are securable to the support plates with the mechanical fasteners (37) (Claim 5) wherein each one of the at least one adjustable blade mounts further comprises a shaft locking assembly 24 for detachably securing the first and second half collars at a selected one of the longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft (fig 1-3) (Claim 6), the shaft locking assembly comprising a locking channel 28 defined in the first half collar 21, a corresponding elongated groove 26 extending longitudinally along the rotating shaft (when the collar is attached to said shaft) and, a mechanical fastener 24, engageable in the locking channel and the elongated groove (fig 1) (Claim 22) in order to facilitate changing of the blades due to rapid wear of the blades (col. 1, line 25-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Neuman by the apparatus having each one of the adjustable blade mounts comprising at least a first half collar and a second half collar detachably securable to the rotating shaft in a plurality of longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft to modify a width of the slats being cut at least one circular blade comprising at least a first half-disc and a second half-disc; and mechanical fasteners engageable with the first and second half- discs and the first and second half collars to secure the first and second half-discs to respective ones of the first and second half collars for the first and second half-discs being engageable in rotation by the rotating shaft (Claim 1) wherein each one of the first and second half collars comprises an inner portion engageable with the rotating shaft and a support plate protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the rotating shaft when mounted thereto, wherein the first and second half-discs are securable to the support plates with the mechanical fasteners, (Claim 5) wherein each one of the at least one adjustable blade mounts further comprises a shaft locking assembly for detachably securing the first and second half collars at a selected one of the longitudinal positions along the rotating shaft (Claim 6), the shaft locking assembly comprising a locking channel defined in the first half collar, a corresponding elongated groove extending longitudinally along the rotating shaft and, a mechanical fastener engageable in the locking channel and the elongated groove (Claim 22), in order to facilitate changing of the blades due to rapid wear of the blades, as taught by Saunders.
Regarding Claims 16 and 21, Neuman lacks: The board cutting apparatus of claim 11, wherein circular blade of each one of the at least one cutting blade assembly comprises a first half-disc and a second half-disc; and adjustable blade mount of each one of the at least one cutting blade assembly comprises a first half collar and a second half collar, and wherein each one of the at least one cutting blade assembly further comprises mechanical fasteners engageable with the first and second half-discs and the first and second half collars to secure the first and second half-discs to respective ones of the first and second half collars (claim 16) and wherein each one of the first and the second half collars comprises an inner portion engageable with the at least one rotating shaft and a support plate protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the at least one rotating shaft when mounted thereto and the first half-discs and the second half-discs are securable to the support plate of the first and the second half collars respectively (Claim 21).
Saunders discloses a shaft supported rotating disc cutter, in the same field of endeavor as the a shaft supported rotating disc cutter tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes the apparatus having at least one circular blade (15) comprises a first half-disc (36) and a second half- disc 35; and at least one adjustable blade mount (13) comprising: a first half collar and a second half collar (22 and 21), each one of the first and second half collars comprising an inner portion engageable with the rotating shaft (arcuate shoulders 33 and 34 which engage with shaft 11) and a support plate protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the rotating shaft when mounted thereto (portions 31 and 32); and wherein the cutting device further comprises mechanical fasteners 37 engageable with a respective one of the first and second half-discs and a respective one of the first and second half collars to secure the first and second half-discs to the respective one of the first and second half collars (col 2, 35-55)(Claim 16), wherein each one of the first and second half collars comprises an inner portion 43 engageable with the rotating shaft 11 and a support plate 36 protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the rotating shaft (fig 3) when mounted thereto (fig 3), wherein the first and second half-discs are securable to the support plates with the mechanical fasteners (37) (Claim 21) in order to facilitate changing of the blades due to rapid wear of the blades (col. 1, line 25-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Neuman by the apparatus having each one of the adjustable blade mounts comprising each one of the at least one cutting blade assembly comprises a first half-disc and a second half-disc; and adjustable blade mount of each one of the at least one cutting blade assembly comprises a first half collar and a second half collar, and wherein each one of the at least one cutting blade assembly further comprises mechanical fasteners engageable with the first and second half-discs and the first and second half collars to secure the first and second half-discs to respective ones of the first and second half collars (claim 16) and wherein each one of the first and the second half collars comprises an inner portion engageable with the at least one rotating shaft and a support plate protruding outwardly from and extending perpendicularly to a longitudinal axis of the at least one rotating shaft when mounted thereto and the first half-discs and the second half-discs are securable to the support plate of the first and the second half collars respectively (Claim 21).
Regarding Claim 19, Neuman lacks: at least one of adding and removing a respective one of the at least two cutting blade assemblies to the rotating shaft.
Saunders discloses a shaft supported rotating disc cutter, in the same field of endeavor as the a shaft supported rotating disc cutter tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes the apparatus having at least one circular blade (15) comprises a first half-disc (36) and a second half- disc 35; and having comprises mechanical fasteners 37 engageable with a respective one of the first and second half-discs and a respective one of the first and second half collars to secure the first and second half-discs to the respective one of the first and second half collars (col 2, 35-55)(Claim 16), in order to facilitate changing of the blades due to rapid wear of the blades (col. 1, line 25-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Neuman by the apparatus having each one of the adjustable blade mounts comprising each one of the at least one cutting blade assembly comprises a first half-disc and a second half-disc and having comprises mechanical fasteners 37 engageable with a respective one of the first and second half-discs and a respective one of the first and second half collars to secure the first and second half-discs to the respective one of the first and second half collars (col 2, 35-55)(Claim 16), in order to facilitate changing of the blades due to rapid wear of the blades, as taught by Saunders, which assembly would include removing a respective cutting blade.
Claims 2-4 and 7-8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuman, in view of Saunders and in view of USPN 1570318, Pollard.
Regarding Claims 2-4, Neuman lacks the device thereof comprising: a worktable extending upstream of the plate-shaped article entrance of the housing and configured to support the plate-shaped article as it is received in the housing via the plate-shaped article entrance (Claim 2), wherein the housing further comprises a lip adjacent to the plate-shaped article entrance and extending substantially parallel to the worktable and vertically spaced-apart therefrom, the lip being configured to stabilize the plate-shaped article during introduction of the plate-shaped article into the housing (Claim 3), and the cutting device comprises: an additional rotating shaft mounted in a spaced apart and parallel configuration with the rotating shaft with a section of the conveying path extending in between; a motor operatively connected to the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft; and a gear assembly mechanically connecting together the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to rotate in opposing rotational directions whereby when the plate-shaped article reaches the cutting device, the plate-shaped article is automatically entrained between the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to be cut into slats (Claim 4), further comprising a carrier on which the housing and the cutting device are mountable for carrying and displacing same (Claim 7) wherein the carrier comprises one or more framing structures surrounding at least partially the housing and the cutting device and protecting same (Claim 8).
Pollard discloses a shaft supported rotating disc cutter, in the same field of endeavor as the a shaft supported rotating disc cutter tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes the apparatus having: a worktable 12 extending upstream of the plate-shaped article entrance (fig. 1 and 3) of the housing (fig 1 and 3) and configured to support the plate-shaped article as the plate-shaped article is received in the housing via the plate-shaped article entrance (page 1 lines 30-60) (Claim 2), wherein the housing further having a lip adjacent to the plate-shaped article entrance and extending substantially parallel to the worktable and vertically spaced-apart therefrom (see annotated fig 1 below), the lip being configured to stabilize the plate-shaped article during introduction of the plate-shaped article into the housing (since the part 13 is used to fill this function and the lip in the annotated figure may be used to help fulfill this for certain workpieces, see page 1,; lines 30-50) (Claim 3) an additional rotating shaft (23) mounted in a spaced apart and parallel configuration with the rotating shaft (fig 1) with a section of the conveying path extending in between (see figure 1); a motor (29) operatively connected to the rotating shaft (pg 1, 60-80) and the additional rotating shaft (page 1 lines 45-65); and a gear assembly 24 mechanically connecting together the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to rotate in opposing rotational directions (page. 1 lines 45-65) whereby when the plate-shaped article reaches the cutting device, the plate-shaped article is automatically entrained between the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to be cut into slats (pg. 1, 55-90), (Claim 4), a carrier (20, 47, 45, 17, and 32) on which the housing and the cutting device are mountable for carrying and displacing same (page 2, 90-100) (Claim 7), the carrier comprises one or more framing structures (47 and 17) surrounding at least partially the housing and the cutting device and protecting same (fig 1-2) (Claim 8), in order to allow the work to be supported in a back and forth fashion during cutting, pg. 1, 40-55.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Neuman by including a worktable extending upstream of the plate-shaped article entrance of the housing and configured to support the plate-shaped article as it is received in the housing via the plate-shaped article entrance (Claim 2), wherein the housing further comprises a lip adjacent to the plate-shaped article entrance and extending substantially parallel to the worktable and vertically spaced-apart therefrom, the lip being configured to stabilize the plate-shaped article during introduction of the plate-shaped article into the housing (Claim 3), and the cutting device comprises: an additional rotating shaft mounted in a spaced apart and parallel configuration with the rotating shaft with a section of the conveying path extending in between; a motor operatively connected to the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft; and a gear assembly mechanically connecting together the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to rotate in opposing rotational directions whereby when the plate-shaped article reaches the cutting device, the plate-shaped article is automatically entrained between the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to be cut into slats (Claim 4), further comprising a carrier on which the housing and the cutting device are mountable for carrying and displacing same (Claim 7) wherein the carrier comprises one or more framing structures surrounding at least partially the housing and the cutting device and protecting same (Claim 8) in order to allow the work to be supported in a back and forth fashion during cutting, as taught in Pollard.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuman, in view of Pollard.
Regarding Claims 13-15, in Neuman the cutting device comprises: an additional rotating shaft (12 on bottom) mounted in a spaced apart and parallel configuration with the rotating shaft (12 on top) with a section of the conveying path extending in between (fig 1) (as is required by current claim 15);
Neuman lacks: a worktable extending upstream of the plate-shaped article entrance of the housing and configured to support the plate-shaped article as it is received in the housing via the plate-shaped article entrance (Claim 13), and wherein the housing further comprises a lip adjacent to the plate-shaped article entrance and extending substantially parallel to the worktable and vertically spaced-apart therefrom, the lip being configured to stabilize the plate-shaped article during introduction of the plate-shaped article into the housing (Claim 14) a motor operatively connected to the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft; and a gear assembly mechanically connecting together the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to rotate in opposing rotational directions whereby when the plate-shaped article reaches the cutting device, the plate-shaped article is automatically entrained between the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to be cut into slats (Claim 15).
Pollard discloses a shaft supported rotating disc cutter, in the same field of endeavor as the a shaft supported rotating disc cutter tool of the present invention and discloses that such a system includes the apparatus having: a worktable 12 extending upstream of the plate-shaped article entrance of the housing (see: fig’s. 1-3) and configured to support the plate-shaped article as it is received in the housing via the plate-shaped article entrance (pa 1, 30-60) (Claim 13), a lip (see annotated fig 1 below) adjacent to the plate-shaped article entrance and extending substantially parallel to the worktable and vertically spaced-apart therefrom, the lip being configured to stabilize the plate- shaped article during introduction of the plate-shaped article into the housing (since the part 13 is used to fill this function and the lip in the annotated figure may be used to help fulfill this for certain workpieces, see page 1,; lines 30-50) (Claim 14) and a motor 29 operatively connected to the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft (see: page. 1 lines 45-65); and a gear assembly 24 mechanically connecting together the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to rotate in opposing rotational directions whereby when the plate-shaped article reaches the cutting device, the plate-shaped article is automatically entrained between the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to be cut into slats (pg. 1, 55-90) (Claim 15), in order to allow the work to be supported in a back and forth fashion during cutting, pg. 1, 40-55.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Neuman by including a worktable extending upstream of the plate-shaped article entrance of the housing and configured to support the plate-shaped article as it is received in the housing via the plate-shaped article entrance (Claim 13), and wherein the housing further comprises a lip adjacent to the plate-shaped article entrance and extending substantially parallel to the worktable and vertically spaced-apart therefrom, the lip being configured to stabilize the plate-shaped article during introduction of the plate-shaped article into the housing (Claim 14) a motor operatively connected to the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft; and a gear assembly mechanically connecting together the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to rotate in opposing rotational directions whereby when the plate-shaped article reaches the cutting device, the plate-shaped article is automatically entrained between the rotating shaft and the additional rotating shaft to be cut into slats (Claim 15) in order to allow the work to be supported in a back and forth fashion during cutting, as taught in Pollard.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/10/25, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 USC 102/103 (as the claims have now been amended) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the prior art rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Neuman.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FERNANDO A AYALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724
/GHASSEM ALIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724 03/26/2026