Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 2, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 12, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-20 have been amended. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112(a) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed March 16, 2026, hereafter referred to as the Final Office Action (OA).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 11-13 of Applicant remarks, filed June 12, 2026, have been entered, fully considered but they are not persuasive. In light of the amendments, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further reconsideration, new grounds of rejections have been made, and Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
In response to the Applicant’s arguments, please see pp. 11-14 of Applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of amended independent claim 1, and independent claims 9 & 17, which require similar elements as claim 1, under U.S.C. § 103, that the prior art references, Merrow et al. (US 2011/0012632, hereinafter, Merrow), in view of Kwon et al. (US 2014/0192436, hereinafter Kwon), and further in view of Yardley et al. (US 2024/0330137 A1, hereinafter, Yardley), as cited by the applicant, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest individually or in combination, each and every limitation of amended independent claim 1 (similarly in independent claims 9 & 17), to include the amended claim features of the invention, “in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot in a data storage environment,” and “wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy of the data storage simulation device emulates a data storage drive installed in an enclosure of the data storage environment”.
New grounds of rejection are made over Merrow et al. (US 2011/0012632, hereinafter, Merrow), in view of Kwon et al. (US 2014/0192436, hereinafter, Kwon), in view of Yardley et al. (US 2024/0330137, hereinafter, Yardley), and further in view of Garcia et al. (US 2009/0265136 A1, hereinafter, Garcia). The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s contentions that Merrow, in view of Kwon, in view of Yardley, in light of new prior art reference Garcia, for amended independent claim 1, and similarly in amended independent claims 9 & 17, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest, individually or in combination, each and every limitation of the claim, to include the amended features of the invention, “in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot in a data storage environment,” and “wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy of the data storage simulation device emulates a data storage drive installed in an enclosure of the data storage environment”.
Merrow, in view of Kwon, in view of Yardley, and further in view of Garcia, in amended independent claim 1, Kwon, in view of Garcia, and further in view of Yardley, in amended independent claims 9 & 17, further disclose the additional claim limitations that have been amended, and meet these requirements. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are unconvincing and the rejections of amended independent claims 1, 9, & 17, and dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, & 18-20, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claims 1, 9, & 17, are respectively maintained. Rejections based on the newly cited prior art reference follow below.
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 11-13 of Applicant remarks, filed June 12, 2026, have been entered, fully considered but they are moot and not persuasive, with respect to amended independent claim 1, and similarly amended independent claims 9 & 17. Applicant in their submitted response has presented the argument that the combination of Merrow, Kwon, and Yardley fails to teach “in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot…causing a power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a first amount of power….wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy…of the data storage simulation device that emulates a data storage drive…receiving movement information from one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device”. Specifically pointing out that because Kwon teaches a functioning storage device (HDD), it does not teach a “data storage simulation device,” and therefore the combination fails, further stating that the claim “teaches away” from Kwon.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees based on two reasonings. The first reasoning is that the Applicant’s argument attacks the references individually rather than addressing the combination as a whole. Please see MPEP 2145 (IV). The second reasoning is that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is not based on Kwon alone, but the combined teaches of Merrow, Kwon, and Yardley, for independent claim 1, 9, & 17. As detailed in the Final OA (pp. 6-14, 30-35, & 47-53), Yardley is relied upon to teach the data storage emulation device that emulates a data storage drive utilizing a power load to release thermal energy ([0011]-[0012], [0015]-[0016], [0021]-[0023], & [0031]-[0035]). Yardley further teaches a testing storage device that simulates a real SSD or hard disk drive and uses resistor load banks to generate a thermal and power load ([0031]-[0035])). Kwon is relied upon to teach capturing information using one or more accelerometers on board the device during operational testing (Fig. 4; [0006]-[0008], [0030], [0047]-[0048], [0059], [0062], & [0067]-[0069]).
Further, the Applicant’s assertion regarding “teaching away” is a misapplication of the standard. For a reference to teach away, the prior art must criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the claimed solution. Please see MPEP 2123 (I) and 2145. Kwon merely describes utilizing accelerometers in functioning storage devices and does not criticize or discourage the use of accelerometers in non-functioning simulation or testing devices. It would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time the invention was made to incorporate the onboard accelerometers of Kwon into the data storage simulation device of Yardley, as implemented in the testing environment of Merrow. The motivation to do so would be to provide a cost-effective, comprehensive simulation testing device capable of simultaneously monitoring thermal, electrical, and vibrational parameters (movement information) within the enclosure slot, thereby protecting expensive, fully functioning drives from damage during environmental stress testing. Therefore, although it is true that a prior art teaching away can be a convincing argument that a claimed invention would not have been obvious, in this case, the prior art does not actually teach away from the Examiner’s proposed combination.
For these reasons, the rejection of amended independent claims 1, 9, & 17, and dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, & 18-20, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of independent claims 1, 9, & 17, are respectively maintained. Please see updated mapping for all claims below, in light of the new prior art reference Garcia, which further discloses the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrow et al. (US 2011/0012632, hereinafter, Merrow), in view of Kwon et al. (US 2014/0192436, hereinafter, Kwon), in view of Yardley et al. (US 2024/0330137, hereinafter, Yardley), and further in view of Garcia et al. (US 2009/0265136 A1, hereinafter, Garcia).
Regarding independent claim 1, Merrow, teaches:
A method comprising (Figs. 1 & 2; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081], [0083]-[0085], [0112], & [0128]: discloses a computer-implemented method in response to a device being inserted into a drive slot),
The Examiner is combining Merrow in view of Garcia by implementing the onboard temperature sensor of Garcia ([0024]).
receiving, by the data storage environment, temperature information from one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0015]-[0016], [0018], [0120], [0122], [0146]: teaches the test electronics (environment) receiving this information);
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot in a data storage environment, causing a power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a first amount of power and release a first amount of thermal energy, wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy of the data storage simulation device emulates a data storage drive installed in an enclosure slot of the data storage environment;
receiving, by the data storage environment, power information from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device;
receiving, by the data storage environment, movement information from one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device; and
determining, using the temperature information, the power information, and the movement information, whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range.
However, Garcia, further teaches:
in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot in a data storage environment (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0021], [0024], & [0026]: discloses inserting a disk drive emulator (data storage simulation device) into a test slot), causing a power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a first amount of power and release a first amount of thermal energy ([0026]: teaches causing the simulation device’s load circuit to draw current (power) and release thermal energy via a resistor), wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy of the data storage simulation device emulates a data storage drive installed in an enclosure slot of the data storage environment ([Abstract] & [0021]: teaches that the device generates power/thermal loads specifically to emulate an actual data storage drive);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage device testing method of Merrow to include inserting a data storage simulation device into a drive slot and causing a power load to draw power and release thermal energy to emulate an actual storage drive, as taught by Garcia ([0021] & [0026]). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to configure the environment to receive temperature and movement information from temperature and vibration sensors located within the data storage simulation device, as further taught by Garcia ([0004] & [0024]). This combination constitutes a substitution of one known testing element (an actual disk drive in Merrow) for another (the disk drive emulator 100 in Garcia) to yield predictable results in diagnostic hardware validation. The benefit gained by this substitution is the ability to safely and accurately validate the environmental controls of a test slot without risking wear or damage to an expensive, fully functioning “gold” drive (KSR).
However, Yardley, further teaches:
receiving, by the data storage environment, power information from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 2; [0004], [0011]-[0012], [0015], [0019], [0021]-[0022], [0026], [0030], [0032], & [0034]-[0035]: discloses utilizing an onboard current sensor to monitor and provide power information);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined simulation testing device of Merrow and Garcia to include receiving power information from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device as taught by Yardley. Applying the current sense monitoring sensor 222 of Yardley to the load testing circuit of Garcia constitutes applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (Garcia: [0024]). The benefit gained by this modification is the ability to measure the actual power load drawn in watts by the simulation device during testing. This modification ensures the host system can accurately track and verify the exact power delivery capabilities and thermal load generation occurring within the enclosure slot during environmental stress testing (KSR).
However, Kwon, further teaches:
receiving, by the data storage environment, movement information from one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 4; [0030] & [0047]-[0048]: defines capturing the movement data utilizing accelerometers); and
The Examiner is combining Kwon in view of Merrow by implementing the testing the amount of power received and the operating methodology of Merrow ([0015]-[0016], [0018], [0084]-[0085], [0120], [0122], [0146], & [0148]-[0149]).
determining, using the temperature information, the power information, and the movement information, whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0026], [0031], [0058], [0068], [Claim 1], [Claim 11], [Claim 15]: teaches determining whether the collected multi-variable parameters (thermal, power, and movement) result in errors or breach predefined acceptable thresholds (predetermined range)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined simulation testing method to specifically utilize one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device to capture movement information and to determine whether performance is inside a predetermined range using the gathered sensor data, as taught by Kwon ([0068]). Utilizing the accelerometers of Kwon as the specific vibration sensors 320 of Garcia represents a predictable variation of known vibration monitoring techniques (Garcia: [0024]). Furthermore, applying Kwon’s step of determining if parameters meet a pre-defined threshold to the temperature, power, and movement information ensures that the enclosure slot is operating safely. The problem being solved is identifying performance-degrading dynamic disturbances and ensuring that the operational limits of the storage environment are maintained within strict, predefined verification tolerances (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Merrow, teaches:
The method of claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081], [0083]-[0085], [0112], & [0128]),
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy are correlated with a particular segment of verification testing.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy are correlated with a particular segment of verification testing ([0031]-[0035]: discloses that the software modifies the power and thermal output to correlate with specific scheduled segments of the verification test (e.g., applying higher heat/power during high-traffic segments)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined simulation testing method of Merrow and Garcia to include the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy are correlated with a particular segment of verification testing, as taught by Yardley. Yardley’s slot testing code 114 teaches modifying the resistor load bank 218 settings over time according to a testing schedule to generate different wattages corresponding to high or low I/O load traffic segments. Applying Yardley’s scheduled thermal load profiles to the variable heat generating load circuit 400 of Garcia ([0025]-[0026]) constitutes a predictable variation of a known hardware testing technique. The benefit gained by this modification is improved efficiency and accuracy in verification testing, as the system dynamically mimics the fluctuating thermal and electrical outputs an actual drive exhibits under varying, real-world operational phases. Further, this scheduled testing configuration ensures that the data storage environment’s cooling and power management subsystems are validated across all anticipated operational stress states (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Merrow, teaches:
The method of claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081], [0083]-[0085], [0112], [0128]-[0130], [0141], & [0148]-[0149]), further comprising ([Claim 20]):
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range,
However, Kwon, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Kwon in view of Yardley by implementing the performance metrics determination of Yardley ([0035]).
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0031], [0053], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1], [Claim 11], & [Claim 15]: teaches determining whether performance metrics breach acceptable predefined thresholds (ranges) or result in errors when the simulated load is introduced),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined environmental testing method of Merrow and Garcia to include determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range and indicating the first amount of power and/or first amount of thermal energy are verified as taught by Yardley and Kwon. Yardley discloses a storage controller 100 determining whether the introduction of a thermal load results in errors, while Kwon teaches determining if a critical parameter of a hard disk drive 132 meets a pre-defined threshold, which corresponds to evaluating if performance remains inside the predetermined range. Applying Kwon’s pre-defined threshold evaluation framework to the thermal load testing of Yardley constitutes applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The problem being solved by this combination is the need for an automated diagnostic framework that eliminates subjective observation of system failures during environmental stress testing. When the combined system determined that the device performance remains inside the predetermined threshold range, it provides actionable diagnostic feedback to operators indicating that the specific amount of power and thermal energy applied to the enclosure slot is verified (KSR).
Merrow, and Kwon, are silent in regard to:
indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified.
However, Garcia, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Garcia in view of Yardley by implementing the evaluation of the introduced thermal load, which inherently verifies that the system can handle a specific amount of power/thermal energy of Yardley ([0034]-[0035]).
indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified ([0004] & [0029]-[0031]: teaches that the emulator’s purpose is “validating” (verifying) the slot’s capability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined simulation testing method of Merrow to include determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range, and in response, indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified, as taught by Yardley and Garcia. Yardley specifically teaches a storage controller 100 that determines whether the introduction of a specific thermal load results in errors or failures, while Garcia utilizes a disk drive emulator 100 as a diagnostic tool for validating test slots 10. Incorporating Yardley’s evaluation of the thermal load into Garcia’s validation process, to indicate that the applied power and thermal loads are verified when performance remains within an error-free predetermined range, constitutes a predictable variation of a known testing technique. The benefit gained by this modification is clear diagnostic feedback to system operators, confirming that the storage array’s cooling and power delivery subsystems successfully meet the required design specifications for those specific simulated thermal and power loads (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Merrow, teaches:
The method of claim 3 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0011], [0015]-[0016], [0018]-[0020], [0022], [0081], [0083]-[0085], [0112]-[0113], [0119]-[0122], [0128], [0130], [0141], [0146], [0148]-[0149], & [Claim 18]), further comprising ([Claim 20]):
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
causing the power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a second amount of power and release a second amount of thermal energy;
receiving, by the data storage environment, second temperature information from the one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device;
receiving, by the data storage environment, second power information from the one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device;
receiving, by the data storage environment, second movement information from the one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device; and
determining, using the second temperature information, the second power information, and the second movement information, whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Yardley in view of Garcia by implementing the operation of the load circuit 400 to provide “variable heat generation” ([0026] & [0033]).
causing the power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a second amount of power and release a second amount of thermal energy ([0031]-[0035]: teaches modifying the resistor settings over time to shift the power draw to a higher or lower (second) amount);
receiving, by the data storage environment, second temperature information from the one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0031]-[0035]: teaches the data storage environment periodically receiving updated (second) iterations of temperature information over time);
receiving, by the data storage environment, second power information from the one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0031]-[0035]: teaches periodically updating the power measurements from the sensors to gather second power information);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined testing method of Merrow and Garcia to include causing the power load to draw a second amount of power and release a second amount of thermal energy and periodically receiving second temperature and power information as taught by Yardley. Yardley discloses a lost testing code 114 that modifies the resistor load bank 218 settings over time to higher or lower wattages and periodically reads temperatures and power measurements from the sensors 222, 224 to re-evaluate the system. Applying the dynamic testing schedule and periodic sensor polling of Yardley to the variable load circuit 400 of Garcia constitutes a predictable variation of a known hardware testing technique. The motivation and limitations are supported by Yardley ([0032] & [0034]) and Garcia ([0026]). The benefit gained by this modification is improved efficiency and accuracy in thermal stress testing, allowing the host system to automatically emulate shifting operational phases, such as transitioning from idle to peak I/O loads without requiring physical intervention (KSR).
However, Kwon, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Kwon in view of Garcia by implementing the monitoring of vibration levels during the diagnostic test of Garcia ([0032]-[0033]).
receiving, by the data storage environment, second movement information from the one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 4; [0006]-[0008], [0028]-[0032], [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0057]-[0058], & [Claim 15]: teaches iteratively gathering accelerometer data on a continual basis via periodic sampling, resulting in second movement information); and
The Examiner is combining Kwon in view of Yardley by implementing the determination whether the introduction of thermal load results in errors or failures of Yardley ([0031]-[0035]).
determining, using the second temperature information, the second power information, and the second movement information, whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0031]-[0032], [0048]-[0050], [0057], [0059], [0062], [0067]-[0068], & [Claim 1]: as the thermal load is adjusted and secondary readings are periodically gathered, the combined system continuously re-evaluates if the updated metrics fall within acceptable thresholds/ranges).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined testing system to include receiving second movement information from the accelerometers and determining whether performance remains inside the predetermined range using the second set of temperature, power, and movement information, as taught by Kwon. Kwon teaches that acceleration data from onboard accelerometers is determined on a continual basis via periodic sampling to continuously evaluate if the critical parameter meets a pre-defined threshold. Incorporating Kwon’s continuous accelerometer sampling and iterative threshold determination into the period thermal polling schedule of Yardley and Garcia is a substitution of one known monitoring protocol for another to yield predictable results (KSR). The problem being solved is that dynamic chassis disturbances change over time as thermal loads fluctuate and cooling fans adjust speed, therefore iterative verification is necessary to ensure the slot maintains continuous vibration dampening and thermal stability throughout an entire multi-phase stress test.
Regarding dependent claim 5, Merrow, teaches:
The method of claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081], [0083]-[0085], [0112], [0128]-[0130], & [0148]), further comprising ([0003], [0083]-[0085], [0128]-[0130], & [0148]):
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is not inside the predetermined range:
indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are not verified;
writing the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory in the data storage simulation device.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Yardley in view of Kwon by implementing the evaluating if performance exceeds a threshold to determine the introduction of thermal load results in errors or failures of Kwon ([0006]-[0007], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1]).
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is not inside the predetermined range ([0034]-0035]: teaches evaluating if the introduced load causes errors/failures (i.e., performance falls outside the acceptable range)):
writing the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory in the data storage simulation device ([0022] & [0031]-[0035]: teaches writing the power and thermal measurements directly into memory (EEPROM) located onboard the data storage simulation device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined testing method of Merrow and Garcia to include determining if performance results in errors and writing the amount of power and thermal energy in memory in the data storage simulation device, as taught by Yardley. This combination teaches indicating the first amount of power and/or thermal energy are not verified when performance is not inside the predetermined range by determining if the thermal load results in errors and writing the thermal and power measurements in an EEPROM 234 onboard the simulation device. Yardley teaches the EEPROM 234 storing sensor measurements on the device and the controller checking for errors ([0022] & [0034]-[0035]). The benefit gained by this modification is maintaining a localized hardware log of the stress conditions encountered during the test and ensuring data integrity even if the host connection is temporarily lost during testing. Applying Yardley’s onboard EEPROM storage and error evaluation to the diagnostic emulator of Garcia constitutes a predictable variation of a known technique to improve similar testing devices (KSR).
However, Kwon, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Kwon in view of Yardley by implementing the evaluation/determination of results in errors or failures in the storage array, identifying these errors/failures under a specific load to indicate the load is unverified/unsafe of Yardley ([0023] & [0031]-[0035]).
indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are not verified (Fig. 4; [Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0049], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1]: teaches finding an error/failure under a specific load indicated that the load is unverified/unsafe, therefore flagging the need for a design for a design change, Step 490 “Indicate Design and/or Configurations”, teaches core concept of indicating a problem (e.g., a modification is needed) when a performance parameter is outside a tolerance, programming the system to indicate the need for a modification); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined validation method to include indicating the load is not verified in response to determining performance is not inside the predetermined range, as taught by Kwon. This corresponds to determining if critical parameters exceed a pre-defined threshold (i.e., not inside the predetermined range) and indicating the need for design modifications (i.e., indicating the load is not verified for safe operation). Kwon teaches determining if a parameter exceed a threshold and subsequently indicates modifications ([0068]-[0069]). The problem being solved by this substitution is the lack of automated feedback when a system fails diagnostic stress test under a specific thermal or power load. Incorporating Kwon’s automated threshold evaluation and failure indication into the thermal testing framework of Yardley and Garcia is a substitution of one known diagnostic reporting method for another to yield predictable results.
Regarding dependent claim 6, Merrow, teaches:
The method of claim 1 (Figs. 1, 2 & 20; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081]-[0085], [0107]-[0108], [0110]-[0112], [0127]-[0130], [0148] & [Claim 19]),
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
wherein the data storage simulation device has a connection interface with a form factor that approximates a connection interface at an exterior of a hard disk drive, wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning hard disk drives.
However, Garcia, further teaches:
wherein the data storage simulation device has a connection interface with a form factor that approximates a connection interface at an exterior of a hard disk drive ([0021]-[0022]: teaches a testing device with a connector interface configured to mate with standard hard disk drive slots utilizing standard drive communication interfaces and physical form factors),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing method of Merrow to utilize a data storage simulation device having a connection interface with a form factor that approximates a connection interface at an exterior of a hard disk drive, as taught by Garcia. This modification addresses incorporating Garcia’s disk drive emulator 100, which physically emulates the size and appearance of an actual disk drive and features an interface connector 120 configured to mate with standard SATA or SAS test slot connectors. Substituting this standard data storage drive testing in Merrow’s array with the physically mimicking emulator and standardized interface connector of Garcia constitutes a substitution of one known testing element for another to yield predictable results. The benefit gained by this substitution is improved testing efficiency and compatibility, allowing validation engineers to plug the simulation device into standard server backplanes and drive bays without the need for specialized mounting hardware or custom wiring adapters (KSR).
However, Yardley, further teaches:
wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning hard disk drives (Figs. 2-3 & 4A; [0002], [0011]-[0012], [0019] & [0026]-[0027]: teaches that the simulation device emulates a hard disk drive but completely lacks storage elements of a real drive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing method of Merrow to include a data storage simulation device that does not include any functioning hard disks drives and features a connection interface with a form factor that approximates an exterior connection interface of a hard disk drive, as taught by Yardley and Garcia. This combination utilizes the testing storage device 200 of Yardley, which lacks functioning storage elements, combined with the interface connector 120 of Garcia that physically emulates the size, appearance, and standard data connection ports (SATA/SAS) of an actual disk drive. Applying the physical form factor and matching connector interface of Garcia, along with the storage-element free emulation design of Yardley, to the test slot of Merrow constitutes a substitution of one known testing element for another to yield predictable results in hardware validation. Yardley details the connector 202 and lack of storage elements ([0012], [0019], & [0026]) and Garcia details the interface connector 120 and the physical emulation capabilities ([0021]-[0022]). The benefit gained by this substitution is cost reduction, allowing engineers to accurately emulate the airflow impedance, connection resistance, and thermal profile of a standard hard disk drive without risking wear-leveling damage to expensive, fully functioning data storage drives (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Merrow teaches:
The method of claim 6 (Figs. 1, 2, 19-21, 22A & 30B; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081]-[0085], [0107]-[0112], [0127]-[0131], [0133]-[0134], [0148] & [Claim 19]),
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
wherein the drive slot is configured to receive each of: the connection interface of the data storage simulation device, and the connection interface at the exterior of a hard disk drive, wherein the data storage simulation device includes:
a temperature sensor;
a current sensor,
an accelerometer; and
a control bus physically connecting the temperature sensor, the current sensor, and the accelerometer.
However, Garcia, further teaches:
wherein the drive slot is configured to receive each of: the connection interface of the data storage simulation device, and the connection interface at the exterior of a hard disk drive ([0021]-[0022]: teaches that the test enclosure slots are standard bays designed for actual hard disk drives, and that the simulation device features an identical connection interface to plug directly into the standard slots), wherein the data storage simulation device includes ([0021]-[0022]):
a temperature sensor ([0024] & [0028]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing method of Merrow to utilize a drive slot configured to receive both the connection interface of the data storage simulation device and the connection interface of an actual hard disk drive, while including a temperature sensor and vibration sensor on the simulation device, as taught by Garcia. Garcia teaches that the simulation device features an interface connector 120 configured to mate with the same standard test slot connector 14 used by actual drives via SATA or SAS and further includes a temperature sensor 310 and vibration sensor 320. Substituting the standard hard drive tested in Merrow’s slot with the physically mimicking emulator and onboard sensors of Garcia constitutes a substitution of one known testing element for another to yield predictable results. The benefit gained by this substitution is the ability to validate standard storage bays for thermal and kinetic stress without needing custom-built backplane adapters or risking damage to expensive, functioning hard drives (KSR).
However, Yardley, further teaches:
a current sensor ([0012], [0022], & [0034]-[0035]),
a control bus physically connecting the temperature sensor, the current sensor, and the accelerometer ([0021]-[0022]: teaches utilizing a low-speed bus on the circuit board to physically connect and route data from all the onboard sensors to route data and integrating with Kwon’s accelerometer into this design, inherently places it on the same control bus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined simulation device of Merrow and Garcia to include a current sensor, and the vibration sensor, as taught by Yardley. By incorporating Yardley’s current sense monitoring sensor 222 and low-speed bus 226, which physically routes measurements from the various onboard sensors back to the controller. Applying Yardley’s current sensor and shared communication bus to the diagnostic emulator of Garcia represents a predictable variation of known sensor integration techniques. The problem being solved by this combination is the need to accurately measure power load in watts during testing while optimizing circuit board space by utilizing a single shared bus for all sensor telemetry rather than redundant individual wiring pathways (KSR).
However, Kwon, further teaches:
an accelerometer ([0030], [0047]-[0048], [0051], [0063], & [Claim 10]: teaches the accelerometer to monitor chassis vibrations), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined testing system to specifically utilize an accelerometer as the vibration sensor connected to the control bus, as taught by Kwon. This modification teaches an accelerometer, as Kwon teaches capturing linear and rotational vibration using onboard accelerometers during drive operation. Utilizing the accelerometers of Kwon as the specific implementation for Garcia’s generic vibration sensors constitutes applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (KSR). The benefit gained from this modification is the ability to capture accurate, multi-axis acceleration data to pinpoint exact vibrational resonance frequencies causing throughput degradation within the drive enclosure.
Regarding dependent claim 8, Merrow, teaches:
The method of claim 1 (Figs. 1, 2, 19-21, 22A & 30B; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081]-[0085], [0107]-[0112], [0127]-[0131], [0133]-[0134], [0148] & [Claim 19]),
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
wherein the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy includes sending power, ground, and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals from a host system to the data storage simulation device.
However, Garcia, further teaches:
wherein the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy ([0006], [0021], [0026], [0028], [Claim 6], & [Claim 7]: teaches operating resistor load banks via circuits and commands to draw wattage and release thermal energy) includes sending power ([0022]), ground ([0022]: discloses the simulation device receiving/sensing power and ground directly from the host system’s slot),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing method of Merrow to include sensing power and ground from a host system to the data storage simulation device to draw the first amount of power, as taught by Garcia. Incorporating Garcia’s teaching that the host test slot supplies power and ground directly to the disk drive emulator through the interface connector 120 to activate the load circuits. Utilizing the host system’s standard slot power and ground lines to supply the simulation device’s thermal load circuits constitutes a predictable variation of known power delivery methods (KSR). The benefit gained from this modification is improved test efficiency and reduced hardware complexity, as it eliminates the need for external, separate power supplies by drawing the necessary wattage directly from the storage environments standard backplane.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals from a host system to the data storage simulation device ([0015] & [0021]: teaches sending management signals from the host over a low-speed bus to the GPIO expander to cause the thermal release. Implementing this low-speed bus as an I2C bus is a standard design choice in server architectures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined testing system to include sensing Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals from a host system to cause the power load to release thermal energy, utilizing the teachings of Yardley. Yardley discloses sending configuration commands from a host controller to a GPIO expander over a low-speed system management interface bus to adjust the resistor load bank and control the thermal load. Implementing Yardley’s generic low-speed system management bus utilizing the industry-standard Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) protocol constitutes applying a known technique to improve similar devices and yield predictable results (KSR). The problem being solved by this signaling implementation is the need to establish reliable, out-of-band diagnostic communication between a host controller and peripheral testing sensors without occupying the primary high-speed data lanes. Utilizing standard I2C signals ensures seamless compatibility with standard server backplane architectures and commercially available peripheral electronic components, such as the EEPROMs and GPIO expanders utilized by the emulation device.
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, in view Garcia, and further in view of Yardley.
Regarding independent claim 9, Kwon, teaches:
A computer program product, comprising (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]: teaches a computer readable medium including program instructions for optimizing HDD performance, stored on a computer-readable medium system which includes memory 108 and mass storage device 110 to perform diagnostic testing operations):
one or more computer readable storage media ([0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0023], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]: system includes memory 108 and mass storage device 110 which are computer-readable media storing instructions, and HDDs 132 which are computer-readable storage media); and
program instructions stored on the one or more computer readable storage media to perform operations comprising: (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0033], [0048], & [0053]: instructions are stored in memory and executed by a processor to perform operations, figure further illustrates details the operations performed, system operates in response to HDDs 132 being placed and configured in a chassis (slots), Steps 404 and 405),
receiving, by the data storage environment, movement information from one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 4; [0030] & [0047]-[0048]: defines capturing the movement/vibration data utilizing accelerometers); and
The Examiner is combining Kwon in view of Yardley by implementing the determination of whether the introduction of thermal load results in errors or failures of Yardley ([0031]-[0035]).
determining, using the temperature information, the power information, and the movement information, whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0026], [0031], [0058], [0068], [Claim 1], [Claim 11], [Claim 15]: teaches determining whether the collected multi-variable parameters (thermal, power, and movement) result in errors or breach predefined acceptable thresholds (predetermined range)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined simulation testing method of Kwon and Garcia to specifically utilize one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device to capture movement information and to determine whether performance is inside a predetermined range using the gathered sensor data, as taught by Kwon ([0068]). Utilizing the accelerometers of Kwon as the specific vibration sensors 320 of Garcia represents a predictable variation of known vibration monitoring techniques (Garcia: [0024]). Applying the current sense monitoring sensor 222 and error evaluation framework of Yardley to the diagnostic emulator of Garcia and Kwon represents the application of a known technique to improve similar devices. Furthermore, applying Kwon’s step of determining if parameters meet a pre-defined threshold to the temperature, power, and movement information ensures that the enclosure slot is operating safely. The benefit gained by this modification is the ability to accurately measure the power load drawn in watts during testing to automatically ensure all simulated operational limits of the storage environment remain within safe, strict, predefined verification tolerances (KSR) by identifying performance-degrading dynamic disturbances.
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot in a data storage environment, causing a power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a first amount of power and release a first amount of thermal energy, wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy of the data storage simulation device emulates a data storage drive installed in an enclosure slot of the data storage environment;
receiving, by the data storage environment, temperature information from one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device;
receiving, by the data storage environment, power information from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device;
However, Garcia, further teaches:
in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot in a data storage environment (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0021], [0024], & [0026]: discloses inserting a disk drive emulator (data storage simulation device) into a test slot), causing a power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a first amount of power and release a first amount of thermal energy ([0026]: teaches causing the simulation device’s load circuit to draw current (power) and release thermal energy via a resistor), wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy of the data storage simulation device emulates a data storage drive installed in an enclosure slot of the data storage environment ([Abstract] & [0021]: teaches that the device generates power/thermal loads specifically to emulate an actual data storage drive);
receiving, by the data storage environment, temperature information from one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device ([Abstract], [0003], [0005]-[0006], [0008], [0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0028]-[0029], [0032], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 4], [Claim 10], [Claim 15], [Claim 16], [Claim 17], & [Claim 19]: teaches the onboard temperature sensors providing telemetry during the validation test);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the software diagnostic instructions of Kwon to operate on a data storage simulation device inserted into a drive slot that draws power and releases thermal energy to emulate an actual data storage drive, while receiving temperature information from onboard sensors, as taught by Garcia. This combination accounts for executing program instructions in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot, causing a power load to draw power and release a first amount of power and thermal energy to emulate an installed data storage drive, and receiving temperature information from one or more temperature sensors, as taught by Garcia ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0019], [0021], [0023]-[0024], & [0026]). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to configure the environment to receive temperature and movement information from temperature and vibration sensors located within the data storage simulation device, as further taught by Garcia ([0004] & [0024]). Substituting the fully functioning hard disk drive tested in Kwon with the disk drive emulator 100 of Garcia constitutes a substitution of one known testing element (an actual disk drive in Kwon) for another (the disk drive emulator 100 in Garcia) to yield predictable diagnostic results. The motivation is supported by Garcia ([0021], [0024], & [0026]), which detail the emulator generating heat to simulate an actual drive, and describes the integrated temperature sensors 310. The problem being solved by this modification is the high cost and risk of wear-leveling damage associated with expensive, fully functional enterprise drives to validate enclosure cooling and power delivery environments (KSR).
However, Yardley, further teaches:
receiving, by the data storage environment, power information from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 2; [0004], [0011]-[0012], [0015], [0019], [0021]-[0022], [0026], [0030], [0032], & [0034]-[0035]: discloses utilizing an onboard current sensor to monitor and provide power information);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined simulation testing method of Kwon and Garcia to include receiving power information from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device as taught by Yardley. Applying the current sense monitoring sensor 222 of Yardley to the load testing circuit of Garcia constitutes applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (Garcia: [0024]). The benefit gained by this modification is the ability to measure the actual power load drawn in watts by the simulation device during testing. This modification ensures the host system can accurately track and verify the exact power delivery capabilities and thermal load generation occurring within the enclosure slot during environmental stress testing (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Kwon, teaches:
The computer program product of claim 9 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]),
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy are correlated with a particular segment of verification testing.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy are correlated with a particular segment of verification testing ([0031]-[0035]: discloses program instructions that modify the power and thermal output to correlate with specific scheduled segments of the verification test (e.g., applying higher heat/power during high-traffic segments)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined computer program testing product of Kwon and Garcia to include the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy are correlated with a particular segment of verification testing, as taught by Yardley. Yardley’s slot testing code 114 provides a schedule that modifies the resistor load bank 218 settings over time according to generate different wattages corresponding to high or low I/O load traffic segments/periods. Applying Yardley’s software-driven scheduled thermal load profiles to the variable heat generating load circuit 400 of Garcia ([0025]-[0026]) constitutes a predictable variation of a known automated hardware testing technique. The benefit gained by this modification is improved efficiency and accuracy in verification testing, as the software dynamically mimics the fluctuating thermal and electrical outputs an actual drive exhibits under varying, real-world operational phases. Further, this scheduled software configuration ensures that the data storage environment’s cooling and power management subsystems are validated across all anticipated operational stress states without requiring manual intervention (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Kwon, teaches:
The computer program product of claim 9 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]), wherein operations further comprise (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0027], [0030], [0033], [0049], [0053], [0068] & [Claim 15]: instructions are stored in memory and executed by a processor to perform operations, figure further illustrates details the operations performed, system operates in response to HDDs 132 being placed and configured in a chassis (slots), Steps 404 and 405, tests the “functionality” of a real storage device, equivalent of a “simulation device” for testing purposes):
The Examiner is combining Kwon in view of Yardley by implementing the performance metrics determination of Yardley ([0035]).
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0031], [0053], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1], [Claim 11], & [Claim 15]: teaches determining whether performance metrics breach acceptable predefined thresholds (ranges) or result in errors when the simulated load is introduced),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer program product of Kwon to include determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range and indicating the first amount of power and/or first amount of thermal energy are verified as taught by Yardley and Kwon. Kwon teaches software instructions determining if a critical parameter meets a pre-defined threshold, while Yardley discloses a storage controller 100 and slot testing code that evaluates whether the introduction of a thermal load results in errors. Incorporating Yardley’s thermal load error evaluation into Kwon’s pre-defined automated threshold determination framework constitutes applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The problem being solved by this combination is the need for an automated software diagnostic framework that eliminates subjective human observation of system failures during environmental stress testing. When the combined computer program product determines that the simulation device’s performance remains error-free and inside the predetermined threshold range, it provides automated software feedback indicating that the specific amount of power and thermal energy applied to the enclosure slot are successfully verified (KSR).
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified.
However, Garcia, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Garcia in view of Yardley by implementing the evaluation of the introduced thermal load, which inherently verifies that the system can handle a specific amount of power/thermal energy of Yardley ([0034]-[0035]).
indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified ([0004] & [0029]-[0031]: teaches that the emulator’s purpose is “validating” (verifying) the slot’s capability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diagnostic program instructions of Kwon to include determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range, indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified, as taught by Yardley and Garcia. Kwon teaches software determining if critical parameters exceed thresholds, while Yardley teaches a storage controller 100 and slot testing code determining whether the introduction of a specific thermal load results in errors or failures. Furthermore, Garcia utilizes a disk drive emulator 100 as a diagnostic tool for validating test slots 10. Incorporating Yardley’s software-driven thermal load evaluation into Kwon’s diagnostic threshold framework to indicate successful validation, or verification, of the applied power and thermal loads, as motivated by Garcia’s validation process, to indicate that the applied power and thermal loads are verified when performance remains within an error-free predetermined range, constitutes a predictable variation of a known automated testing technique. The benefit gained by this modification is clear automated software diagnostic feedback to system operators, confirming that the storage array’s cooling and power delivery subsystems successfully meet the required design specifications for those specific simulated thermal and power loads (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Kwon, teaches:
The computer program product of claim 11 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]), wherein the operations further comprise (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0027], [0030], [0033], [0049], [0053], [0068]):
receiving, by the data storage environment, second movement information from the one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 4; [0006]-[0008], [0028]-[0032], [0046]-[0048], [0050], [0057]-[0058], & [Claim 15]: teaches program instructions that iteratively gatherer accelerometer data on a continual basis via periodic sampling, inherently resulting in second movement information); and
The Examiner is combining Kwon in view of Yardley by implementing the determination whether the introduction of thermal load results in errors or failures of Yardley ([0031]-[0035]).
determining, using the second temperature information, the second power information, and the second movement information, whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0031]-[0032], [0048]-[0050], [0057], [0059], [0062], [0067]-[0068], & [Claim 1]: as the software adjusts the thermal load and periodically gathers secondary readings, the combined system continuously re-evaluates if the updated metrics fall within acceptable thresholds/ranges).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer program product to include determining whether performance remains inside the predetermined range using the second set of temperature, power, and movement information, as taught by Kwon and Yardley. Kwon teaches that acceleration data from onboard accelerometers is determined on a continual basis via periodic sampling to continuously evaluate if the critical parameter meets a pre-defined threshold. Incorporating Kwon’s continuous accelerometer sampling and iterative threshold determination into the periodic thermal polling schedule of Yardley and Garcia is a substitution of one known monitoring protocol for another to yield predictable results (KSR). The problem being solved is that dynamic chassis disturbances change over time as thermal loads fluctuate and cooling fans adjust speed, therefore iterative verification is necessary to ensure the slot maintains continuous vibration dampening and thermal stability throughout an entire multi-phase stress test.
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
causing the power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a second amount of power and release a second amount of thermal energy;
receiving, by the data storage environment, second temperature information from the one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device;
receiving, by the data storage environment, second power information from the one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device;
However, Yardley, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Yardley in view of Garcia by implementing the operation of the load circuit 400 to provide “variable heat generation” ([0026] & [0033]).
causing the power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a second amount of power and release a second amount of thermal energy ([0031]-[0035]: teaches software modifying the resistor settings over time to shift the power draw to a higher or lower (second) amount);
receiving, by the data storage environment, second temperature information from the one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0031]-[0035]: teaches the software periodically reading the sensors, gathering updated (second) iterations of temperature information over time);
receiving, by the data storage environment, second power information from the one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0031]-[0035]): teaches the software periodically polling and updating the power measurements from the sensors to gather second power information);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer program product of Kwon to include the teachings of Yardley and Garcia to satisfy the program operations of the data storage simulation device of causing the power load to draw a second amount of power and release a second amount of thermal energy and periodically receiving second temperature and power information, as taught by Yardley and Garcia. Kwon teaches software performing periodic sampling to continuously determine if thresholds are met, while Yardley discloses a slot testing code 114 that dynamically modifies the resistor load bank 218 settings over time to higher or lower wattages and periodically polls sensors 222 and 224 for updated measurements from temperatures and power to re-evaluate the system. Applying the dynamic, software-driven thermal testing schedule and periodic sensor polling of Yardley, alongside the variable heat-generating emulation load circuit 400 of Garcia, to the continuous monitoring program instructions of Kwon, constitutes a predictable variation of a known automated hardware testing technique. The motivation and limitations are supported by Yardley ([0032] & [0034]) and Garcia ([0026]). The benefit gained by this modification is improved efficiency and accuracy in thermal stress testing, as the software can automatically emulate shifting operational environments, such as storage slot transitioning from idle power states to peak thermal loads I/O loads without manual technician intervention (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Kwon, teaches:
The computer program product of claim 9 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], [0068], & [Claim 15]), wherein the operations further comprise (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0020], [0022], [0027], [0030]-[0031], [0033], [0046], [0048]-[0049], [0053], [0068], & [Claim 15]):
The Examiner is combining Kwon in view of Yardley by implementing the evaluation/determination of results in errors or failures in the storage array, identifying these errors/failures under a specific load to indicate the load is unverified/unsafe of Yardley ([0023] & [0031]-[0035]).
indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are not verified (Fig. 4; [Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0049], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1]: teaches identifying a software-detected error or threshold breach under a specific load inherently indicating that the load is unverified/unsafe, therefore flagging the need for a design for a design change, Step 490 “Indicate Design and/or Configurations”, teaches core concept of indicating a problem (e.g., a modification is needed) when a performance parameter is outside a tolerance, programming the system to indicate the need for a modification); and
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is not inside the predetermined range:
writing the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory in the data storage simulation device.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Yardley in view of Kwon by implementing the program instructions evaluating if performance exceeds a threshold (i.e., not inside the predetermined range) of Kwon ([0006]-[0007], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1]).
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is not inside the predetermined range ([0034]-0035]: teaches evaluating if the introduced load causes errors/failures (i.e., performance falls outside the acceptable range)):
writing the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory in the data storage simulation device ([0022] & [0031]-[0035]: teaches program operations that write the power and thermal measurements directly into memory (EEPROM 234) located onboard the data storage simulation device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diagnostic program instructions of Kwon to include determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is not inside the predetermined range, indicating the first amounts of power and/or thermal energy are not verified, and writing those amounts in memory in the data storage simulation device, as taught by Yardley and Garcia. Kwon teaches software determining if a critical parameter exceeds a pre-defined threshold to indicate a need for modifications, while Yardley teaches slot testing code that determines if a thermal load results in errors and writes the power and thermal measurements into an EEPROM 234 onboard the storage testing simulation device 200. Incorporating Yardley’s explicit onboard EEPROM 234 storage and thermal error evaluation into Known’s automated threshold software, as applied to the emulator validation tool of Garcia, constitutes a predictable variation of a known automated diagnostic technique (KSR). The benefit gained by this software modification is the creation of a localized hardware log of the stress conditions that caused a test failure, ensuring crucial diagnostic data integrity even if the host connection is temporarily lost during extreme thermal testing.
Regarding dependent claim 14, Kwon, teaches:
The computer program product of claim 9 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]),
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
wherein the data storage simulation device has a connection interface with a form factor that approximates a connection interface at an exterior of a hard disk drive, wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning hard disk drives.
However, Garcia, further teaches:
wherein the data storage simulation device has a connection interface with a form factor that approximates a connection interface at an exterior of a hard disk drive ([0021]-[0022]: teaches a testing device with a connector interface configured to mate with standard hard disk drive slots utilizing standard drive communication interfaces and physical form factors),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer program product of Kwon to operate a data storage simulation device having a connection interface with a form factor that approximates a connection interface at an exterior of a hard disk drive, utilizing the hardware teachings of Garcia. This modification addresses incorporating Garcia’s disk drive emulator 100, which physically emulates the size and appearance of an actual disk drive and features an interface connector 120 configured to mate with standard SATA or SAS test slot connectors. Substituting this standard data storage drive tested by Kwon’s software with the physically mimicking emulator and standardized interface connector of Garcia constitutes a substitution of one known testing element for another to yield predictable diagnostic results. The benefit gained by this substitution is improved testing efficiency and hardware compatibility, allowing validation engineers to run diagnostic software while plugging the simulation device into standard server backplanes and drive bays without the need for specialized mounting hardware or custom wiring adapters (KSR).
However, Yardley, further teaches:
wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning hard disk drives (Figs. 2-3 & 4A; [0002], [0011]-[0012], [0019] & [0026]-[0027]: teaches that the simulation device emulates a hard disk drive but completely lacks storage elements of a real drive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer program product of Kwon to operate on a data storage simulation device that does not include any functioning hard disks drives and features a connection interface with a form factor that approximates an exterior connection interface of a hard disk drive, utilizing the hardware teachings of Yardley and Garcia. This combination utilizes the testing storage device 200 of Yardley, which lacks functioning storage elements, alongside the interface connector 120 of Garcia that physically emulates the size, physical appearance, and standard data connection ports (SATA/SAS) of an actual disk drive. Integrating the storage-element free design of Yardley and the physical form factor and matching connector interface of Garcia into the software-driven diagnostic environment of Kwon constitutes a substitution of one known testing element for another to yield predictable diagnostic results in hardware validation. Yardley details the connector 202 and lack of storage elements ([0012], [0019], & [0026]) and Garcia details the interface connector 120 and the physical emulation capabilities ([0021]-[0022]). The benefit gained by this substitution is cost reduction and hardware preservation, allowing software to accurately evaluate the airflow impedance, connection resistance, and thermal profile of a standard hard disk drive during automated tests without risking wear-leveling damage to expensive, fully functioning data storage drives (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Kwon, teaches:
The computer program product of claim 14 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]),
an accelerometer ([0030], [0047]-[0048], [0051], [0063], & [Claim 10]: teaches the accelerometer to monitor chassis vibrations), and
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
wherein the drive slot is configured to receive each of: the connection interface of the data storage simulation device, and the connection interface at the exterior of a hard disk drive, wherein the data storage simulation device includes:
a temperature sensor;
a current sensor,
a control bus physically connecting the temperature sensor, the current sensor, and the accelerometer.
However, Garcia, further teaches:
wherein the drive slot is configured to receive each of: the connection interface of the data storage simulation device, and the connection interface at the exterior of a hard disk drive ([0021]-[0022]: teaches that the test enclosure slots are standard bays designed for actual hard disk drives, and that the simulation device features an identical connection interface to plug directly into the standard slots), wherein the data storage simulation device includes ([0021]-[0022]):
a temperature sensor ([0024] & [0028]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer program product testing system of Kwon to execute operations utilizing a drive slot configured to receive the connection interface of a data storage simulation device and an actual hard disk drive, while including an onboard temperature sensor, as taught by Garcia. Garcia teaches that the simulation device features an interface connector 120 which physically emulates an actual disk drive’s exterior connection to mate perfectly with the same standard test slot connector 14 used by actual drives via SATA or SAS and further includes a temperature sensor 310 and vibration sensor 320. Substituting the standard functioning hard drive tested in Kwon with the physically mimicking emulator and onboard sensors of Garcia constitutes a substitution of one known testing element for another to yield predictable diagnostic software results. The benefit gained by this substitution is the ability to validate standard storage bays for thermal and kinetic stress using automated software without needing custom-built backplane adapters or risking damage to expensive, functioning hard drives (KSR).
However, Yardley, further teaches:
a current sensor ([0012], [0022], & [0034]-[0035]),
a control bus physically connecting the temperature sensor, the current sensor, and the accelerometer ([0021]-[0022]: teaches utilizing a low-speed bus on the circuit board to physically connect and route data from all the onboard sensors to route data and integrating with Kwon’s accelerometer into this design, inherently places it on the same control bus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined software simulation system of Kwon and Garcia to include a current sensor, and a control bus physically connecting the temperature sensor, the current sensor, and the accelerometer or the vibration sensor, as taught by Yardley. By incorporating Yardley’s current sense monitoring sensor 222 and low-speed bus 226, which physically routes measurements from the various onboard sensors, including Kwon’s onboard accelerometer, back to the main software controller. Applying Yardley’s current sensor and shared communication bus architecture to the diagnostic emulator framework of Kwon and Garcia represents a predictable variation of known sensor integration techniques. The problem being solved by this combination is the need to accurately measure power load in watts during the automated software testing while simultaneously optimizing circuit board space by utilizing a single shared bus for all sensor telemetry rather than redundant individual wiring pathways (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Kwon, teaches:
The computer program product of claim 9 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]),
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
wherein the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy includes sending power, ground, and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals from a host system to the data storage simulation device.
However, Garcia, further teaches:
wherein the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy ([0006], [0021], [0026], [0028], [Claim 6], & [Claim 7]: teaches operating resistor load banks via circuits and commands to draw wattage and release thermal energy) includes sending power ([0022]), ground ([0022]: discloses the simulation device receiving/sensing power and ground directly from the host system’s slot),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer program product of Kwon to include causing the power load to draw power and release thermal energy by sending power and ground from a host system to the data storage simulation device, as taught by Garcia. Incorporating Garcia’s teaching that the host test slot supplies power and ground directly to the disk drive emulator through the interface connector 120 to activate the load circuits. Utilizing the host system’s standard software-controlled slot power and ground lines to supply the simulation device’s thermal load circuits constitutes a predictable variation of known power delivery methods (KSR). The benefit gained from this software-hardware modification is improved test efficiency and reduced physical hardware complexity, as it eliminates the need for external, separate power supplies by drawing the necessary wattage directly from the storage environments standard backplane.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals from a host system to the data storage simulation device ([0015] & [0021]: teaches program instructions sending management signals from the host over a low-speed bus to the GPIO expander to cause the thermal release. Implementing this low-speed bus as an I2C bus is a standard design protocol choice in server architectures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined software testing system of Kwon and Garcia to include sensing Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals from the host system to cause the power load to release thermal energy, utilizing the teachings of Yardley. Yardley discloses sending configuration commands from a host controller executing instructions to send configuration commands over a low-speed system management interface bus to a GPIO expander to adjust the resistor load bank and control the thermal load. Implementing Yardley’s generic low-speed system management bus utilizing the industry-standard Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) protocol constitutes applying a known technique to improve similar devices and yield predictable results (KSR). The problem being solved by this signaling implementation is the need to establish reliable, out-of-band diagnostic communication between a host software controller and peripheral emulation sensors without occupying the primary high-speed data lanes. Generating standard I2C signals via the computer program product ensures seamless compatibility with standard server backplane architectures and commercially available peripheral electronic components, such as the EEPROMs and GPIO expanders utilized by the emulation device.
Regarding independent claim 17, Kwon, teaches:
A computer system (CS), comprising (Fig. 2; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0023], [0028], [0033], [0048], [0053] & [Claim 15]: discloses an “information handling system (IHS)” with a “host system 102”, figure illustrates “Disk Controller 202” and “Serve Processor 214”, further disclosing a computer system, processor and memory storing instructions):
a processor set ([0016]-[0019], [0022]-[0023], [0053] & [Claim 15]: discloses an “information handling system (IHS)” with a “host system 102”, that includes a “processor 104” and “memory 108”);
one or more computer readable storage media ([0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0023], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]: system includes memory 108 and mass storage device 110 which are computer-readable media storing instructions, and HDDs 132 which are computer-readable storage media); and
program instructions stored on the one or more computer readable storage media to cause the processor set to perform operations comprising (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0033], [0048], & [0053]: instructions are stored in memory and executed by a processor to perform operations, figure further illustrates details the operations performed, system operates in response to HDDs 132 being placed and configured in a chassis (slots), Steps 404 and 405):
receiving, by the data storage environment, movement information from one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 4; [0030] & [0047]-[0048]: defines capturing the movement and vibration data utilizing onboard accelerometers); and
The Examiner is combining Kwon in view of Yardley by implementing the determination of whether the introduction of thermal load results in errors or failures of Yardley ([0031]-[0035]).
determining, using the temperature information, the power information, and the movement information, whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0026], [0031], [0058], [0068], [Claim 1], [Claim 11], [Claim 15]: teaches determining whether the collected multi-variable parameters (thermal, power, and movement) result in errors or breach predefined acceptable thresholds (predetermined range)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined computer system of Kwon to determine whether performance is inside a predetermined range using the gathered sensor data, as taught by Kwon and Yardley. Utilizing the accelerometers of Kwon as the specific vibration sensors 320 of Garcia represents a predictable variation of known vibration monitoring techniques (Garcia: [0024]). Applying the current sense monitoring sensor 222 and error evaluation framework of Yardley to the diagnostic emulator of Garcia and Kwon represents the application of a known technique to improve similar devices. Furthermore, applying Kwon’s step of determining if parameters meet a pre-defined threshold to the temperature, power, and movement information ensures that the enclosure slot is operating safely. The benefit gained by this modification is the ability to accurately measure the power load drawn in watts during testing to automatically ensure all simulated operational limits of the storage environment remain within safe, strict, predefined verification tolerances (KSR) by identifying performance-degrading dynamic disturbances.
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot in a data storage environment, causing a power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a first amount of power and release a first amount of thermal energy, wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy of the data storage simulation device emulates a data storage drive installed in an enclosure slot of the data storage environment;
receiving, by the data storage environment, temperature information from one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device;
receiving, by the data storage environment, power information from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device;
However, Garcia, further teaches:
in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot in a data storage environment (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0021], [0024], & [0026]: discloses physically inserting a disk drive emulator (data storage simulation device) into a test slot), causing a power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a first amount of power and release a first amount of thermal energy ([0026]: teaches causing the simulation device’s load circuit to draw current (power) and release thermal energy via a resistor), wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy of the data storage simulation device emulates a data storage drive installed in an enclosure slot of the data storage environment ([Abstract] & [0021]: teaches that the simulation device generates specific power and thermal loads to emulate an actual data storage drive);
receiving, by the data storage environment, temperature information from one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device ([Abstract], [0003], [0005]-[0006], [0008], [0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0019], [0023]-[0024], [0028]-[0029], [0032], [Claim 1], [Claim 3], [Claim 4], [Claim 10], [Claim 15], [Claim 16], [Claim 17], & [Claim 19]: teaches that the onboard temperature sensors providing telemetry back to the environment during the validation test);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer system of Kwon to perform diagnostic operations on a data storage simulation device inserted into a drive slot that draws power and releases thermal energy to emulate an actual data storage drive, while receiving temperature information from onboard sensors, as taught by Garcia. This combination accounts for instructions in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot, causing a power load to draw power and release a first amount of power and thermal energy to emulate an installed data storage drive, and receiving temperature information from one or more temperature sensors, as taught by Garcia ([0010]-[0011], [0018]-[0019], [0021], [0023]-[0024], & [0026]). Substituting the fully functioning hard disk drive tested in Kwon with the disk drive emulator 100 of Garcia constitutes a substitution of one known testing element (an actual disk drive in Kwon) for another (the disk drive emulator 100 in Garcia) to yield predictable diagnostic results. The motivation is supported by Garcia ([0021], [0024], & [0026]), which detail the emulator generating heat to simulate an actual drive, and describes the integrated temperature sensors 310. The problem being solved by this modification is the high cost and risk of wear-leveling damage associated with expensive, fully functional enterprise drives to validate enclosure cooling and power delivery environments (KSR).
However, Yardley, further teaches:
receiving, by the data storage environment, power information from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 2; [0004], [0011]-[0012], [0015], [0019], [0021]-[0022], [0026], [0030], [0032], & [0034]-[0035]: discloses utilizing an onboard current sensor to monitor and provide power information);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined computer testing system of Kwon and Garcia to include receiving power information from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device and utilizing the combined data to determine whether performance is inside a predetermined range, as taught by Yardley. Yardley teaches receiving power information from one or more current sensors in the simulation device and using the temperature, power, and movement information to determine whether performance is inside a predetermined range. Applying the current sense monitoring sensor 222 and error evaluation framework of Yardley to the diagnostic emulator system of Garcia and Kown represents the application of a known technique to improve similar devices. The benefit gained by this modification is the ability to measure the precise power load drawn in watts by the simulation device during testing. This modification automatically ensures all simulated operational limits remain within safe, predefined verification tolerances without relying on subjective observation, and the host system can accurately track and verify the exact power delivery capabilities and thermal load generation occurring within the enclosure slot during environmental stress testing (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Kwon, teaches:
The computer system of claim 17 (Fig. 2; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0023], [0028], [0033], [0048], [0053] & [Claim 15]: discloses an “information handling system (IHS)” with a “host system 102”, figure illustrates “Disk Controller 202” and “Serve Processor 214”), wherein operations further comprise (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0027], [0030], [0033], [0049], [0053], [0068] & [Claim 15]: instructions are stored in memory and executed by a processor to perform operations, figure further illustrates details the operations performed, system operates in response to HDDs 132 being placed and configured in a chassis (slots), Steps 404 and 405, tests the “functionality” of a real storage device, equivalent of a “simulation device” for testing purposes):
The Examiner is combining Kwon in view of Yardley by implementing the performance metrics determination of Yardley ([0035]).
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range ([Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0031], [0053], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1], [Claim 11], & [Claim 15]: teaches determining whether performance metrics breach acceptable predefined thresholds (ranges) or result in errors when the simulated load is introduced),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer system operations of Kwon to include determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range and indicating the first amount of power and/or first amount of thermal energy are verified as taught by Yardley and Kwon. Kwon teaches software instructions determining if a critical parameter meets a pre-defined threshold, while Yardley discloses a storage controller 100 and slot testing code that evaluates whether the introduction of a thermal load results in errors. Incorporating Yardley’s thermal load error evaluation into Kwon’s pre-defined automated threshold determination framework constitutes applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. The problem being solved by this combination is the need for an automated software diagnostic framework that eliminates subjective human observation of system failures during environmental stress testing. When the combined computer program product determines that the simulation device’s performance remains error-free and inside the predetermined threshold range, it provides automated software feedback indicating that the specific amount of power and thermal energy applied to the enclosure slot are successfully verified (KSR).
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified.
However, Garcia, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Garcia in view of Yardley by implementing the evaluation of the introduced thermal load, which inherently verifies that the system can handle a specific amount of power/thermal energy of Yardley ([0034]-[0035]).
indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified ([0004] & [0029]-[0031]: teaches that the emulator’s purpose is “validating” (verifying) the slot’s capability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer system operations of Kwon to include determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range and indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified, as taught by Yardley and Garcia. Kwon teaches software operations determining if critical parameters exceed thresholds, while Yardley teaches a storage controller 100 executing instructions and slot testing code determining whether the introduction of a specific thermal load results in errors or failures. Furthermore, Garcia teaches utilizing a disk drive emulator 100 as a diagnostic tool for validating test slots 10. Incorporating Yardley’s software-driven thermal load evaluation into Kwon’s diagnostic threshold framework to indicate successful validation, or verification, of the applied power and thermal loads, as motivated by Garcia’s validation process, to indicate that the applied power and thermal loads are verified when performance remains within an error-free predetermined range, constitutes a predictable variation of a known automated testing technique. The benefit gained by this modification is clear automated diagnostic feedback to system operators, confirming that the storage array’s cooling and power delivery subsystems successfully meet the required design specifications for those specific simulated thermal and power simulated loads (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Kwon, teaches:
The computer system of claim 17 (Fig. 2; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0023], [0028], [0033], [0048], [0053] & [Claim 15]), wherein the operations further comprise (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0020], [0022], [0027], [0030]-[0031], [0033], [0046], [0048]-[0049], [0053], [0068], & [Claim 15]):
The Examiner is combining Kwon in view of Yardley by implementing the evaluation/determination of results in errors or failures in the storage array, identifying these errors/failures under a specific load to indicate the load is unverified/unsafe of Yardley ([0023] & [0031]-[0035]).
indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are not verified (Fig. 4; [Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0049], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1]: teaches identifying a software-detected error or threshold breach under a specific load inherently indicating that the load is unverified/unsafe, therefore flagging the need for a design for a design change, Step 490 “Indicate Design and/or Configurations”, teaches core concept of indicating a problem (e.g., a modification is needed) when a performance parameter is outside a tolerance, programming the system to indicate the need for a modification); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined computer system to include indicating the load is not verified in response to determining performance is not inside the predetermined range, as taught by Kwon and Yardley. This corresponds to determining if critical parameters exceed a pre-defined threshold (i.e., not inside the predetermined range) and indicating the need for design modifications (i.e., indicating the load is not verified for safe operation). Kwon teaches determining if a parameter exceed a threshold and subsequently indicates modifications. Yardley teaches the evaluation/determination of results in errors or failures in the storage array, further identifying these errors/failures under a specific load to indicate the load is unverified/unsafe. The problem being solved by this substitution is the lack of automated feedback when a system fails diagnostic stress test under a specific thermal or power load. Incorporating Kwon’s automated threshold evaluation and failure indication into the thermal testing framework of Yardley is a substitution of one known diagnostic reporting method for another to yield predictable results.
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is not inside the predetermined range:
writing the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory in the data storage simulation device.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
The Examiner is combining Yardley in view of Kwon by implementing the program instructions evaluating if performance exceeds a threshold (i.e., not inside the predetermined range) of Kwon ([0006]-[0007], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1]).
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is not inside the predetermined range ([0034]-0035]: teaches evaluating if the introduced load causes errors/failures (i.e., performance falls outside the acceptable range)):
writing the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory in the data storage simulation device ([0016], [0022], & [0031]-[0035]: teaches program operations that write the power and thermal measurements directly into memory (EEPROM 234) located onboard the data storage simulation device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diagnostic system operations of Kwon to include determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device is not inside the predetermined range, indicating the first amounts of power and/or thermal energy are not verified, and writing those amounts in memory in the data storage simulation device, as taught by Yardley and Garcia. Kwon teaches operations determining if a critical parameter exceeds a pre-defined threshold to indicate a need for modifications, while Yardley teaches slot testing code that determines if a thermal load results in errors and writes the power and thermal measurements into an EEPROM 234 onboard the storage testing simulation device 200. Incorporating Yardley’s explicit onboard EEPROM 234 storage and thermal error evaluation into Kwon’s automated threshold operations, as applied to the emulator validation tool of Garcia, constitutes a predictable variation of a known automated diagnostic technique (KSR). The benefit gained by this operational modification is the creation of a localized hardware log of the stress conditions that caused a test failure, ensuring crucial diagnostic data telemetry is preserved even if the host connection is temporarily lost during extreme thermal testing.
Regarding dependent claim 20, Kwon, teaches:
The computer system of claim 17 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0008], [0016]-[0023], [0028], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]),
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
wherein the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy includes sending power, ground, and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals from a host system to the data storage simulation device.
However, Garcia, further teaches:
wherein the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy ([0006], [0021], [0026], [0028], [Claim 6], & [Claim 7]: teaches operating resistor load banks via circuits and commands to draw wattage and release thermal energy) includes sending power ([0022]), ground ([0022]: discloses the simulation device receiving/sensing power and ground directly from the host system’s slot),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer system of Kwon to include causing the power load to draw power and release thermal energy by sending power and ground from a host system to the data storage simulation device, as taught by Garcia. Incorporating Garcia’s teaching that the host test slot supplies power and ground directly to the disk drive emulator through the interface connector 120 to activate the load circuits. Utilizing the host system’s standard software-controlled slot power and ground lines to supply the simulation device’s thermal load circuits constitutes a predictable variation of known power delivery methods (KSR). The benefit gained from this computer system modification is improved test efficiency and reduced physical hardware complexity, as it eliminates the need for external, separate power supplies by drawing the necessary wattage directly from the storage environments standard backplane.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals from a host system to the data storage simulation device ([0015] & [0021]: teaches program instructions sending management signals from the host over a low-speed bus to the GPIO expander to cause the thermal release. Implementing this low-speed bus as an I2C bus is a standard design protocol choice in server architectures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined computer system of Kwon and Garcia to include sensing Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals from the host system to cause the power load to release thermal energy, utilizing the teachings of Yardley. Yardley discloses sending configuration commands from a host controller executing instructions to send configuration commands over a low-speed system management interface bus to a GPIO expander to adjust the resistor load bank and control the thermal load. Implementing Yardley’s generic low-speed system management bus utilizing the industry-standard Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) protocol constitutes applying a known technique to improve similar devices and yield predictable results (KSR). The problem being solved by this signaling implementation is the need to establish reliable, out-of-band diagnostic communication between a host software controller and peripheral emulation sensors without occupying the primary high-speed data lanes. Generating standard I2C signals via the computer system ensures seamless compatibility with standard server backplane architectures and commercially available peripheral electronic components, such as the EEPROMs and GPIO expanders utilized by the emulation device.
Conclusion
/HUGO NAVARRO/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858 August 26, 2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 9/3/2026