Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 02, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 22, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 5-6, 7, 9, 13-15, 17 & 19 are amended. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims didn’t need to overcome any objection or 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections, none were previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed September 24, 2025, hereafter referred to as the Non-Final Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 22, 2025, have been entered and fully considered but they are not persuasive. In light of the amendments, the rejection(s) have been withdrawn. However, upon further reconsideration, new grounds of rejections have been made, and applicant’s arguments are rendered moot.
In response to applicant's arguments, please see pages 9-14 of applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection of amended independent claim 1, under U.S.C. § 103, that the prior art references, Merrow et al. (US 2011/0012632, hereinafter Merrow), in view of Kwon et al. (US 2014/0192436, hereinafter Kwon), as cited by the applicant, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest individually or in combination, each and every limitation of amended independent claim 1, to include the amended claim features of the invention, “wherein the data storage simulation does not include any functioning data storage drives therein.”
A new ground of rejection is made over Yardley et al. (US 2024/0330137, hereinafter Yardley). The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s contentions that Merrow, in view of Kwon, in light of new prior art reference Yardley, for amended independent claim 1, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest, individually or in combination, each and every limitation of the claim, to include the amended features of the invention, “wherein the data storage simulation does not include any functioning data storage drives therein.”
Merrow, in view of Kwon, and further in view of Yardley, in amended independent claim 1, further disclose the additional claim limitations that have been amended, and meet these requirements. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are unconvincing and the rejections of amended independent claim 1, and dependent claims (original and amended), including dependent claims 2-8, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 1, are respectively maintained. Rejections based on the newly cited prior art reference follow.
In response to applicant's arguments, please see pages 9-14 of applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejections of amended independent claims 9 & 17, under U.S.C. § 103, that the prior art references, Kwon, in view of Merrow, as cited by the applicant, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest individually or in combination, each and every limitation of amended independent claims 9 & 17, to include the amended claim features of the invention, “wherein the data storage simulation does not include any functioning data storage drives therein.”
A new ground of rejection is made over Yardley. The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s contentions that Kwon, in view of Merrow, in light of new prior art reference Yardley, for amended independent claims 9 & 17, fail to disclose, teach, and/or suggest, individually or in combination, each and every limitation of the claims, to include the amended features of the invention, “wherein the data storage simulation does not include any functioning data storage drives therein.”
Kwon, in view of Merrow, and further in view of Yardley, in amended independent claims 9 & 17, further disclose the additional claim limitations that have been amended, and meet these requirements. Therefore, the applicant’s arguments are unconvincing and the rejections of amended independent claims 9 &17, and dependent claims (original and amended), including dependent claims 10-16, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 9, and dependent claims 18-20, which depend from and incorporate the limitations of amended independent claim 17, are respectively maintained. Rejections based on the newly cited prior art reference follow
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 13 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 recites the amended limitation, “and storing the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory”, in ll. 5-7, which is not disclosed in the specification. The storing of the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory lacks support in the original disclosure and therefore constitutes new matter. Further, the original disclosures also do not specifically mention what type of memory is used to store the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy, but discloses there are several known types of storage devices (e.g., RAM, ROM, EPROM, Flash memory, SRAM, CD-ROM, DVD, memory stick, floppy disk, volatile memory, Cache 121), all related to “memory.”
Similarly, Claims 13 & 19, recite the amended limitation, “and store the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory”, in ll. 7-9, which is not disclosed in the specification. The storing of the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory lacks support in the original disclosure and therefore constitutes new matter. Further, the original disclosures also do not specifically mention what type of memory is used to store the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy either, but discloses there are several known types of storage devices (e.g., RAM, ROM, EPROM, Flash memory, SRAM, CD-ROM, DVD, memory stick, floppy disk, volatile memory, Cache 121), all related to “memory.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrow et al. (US 2011/0012632 A1, Pub. Date Jan. 20, 2011, hereinafter Merrow), in view Kwon et al. (US 2014/0192436 A1, Pub. Date Jul. 10, 2014, hereinafter Kwon), and further in view of Yardley et al. (US 2024/0330137A1, Fil. Date Mar. 29, 2023, hereinafter Yardley).
Regarding independent claim 1, Merrow, teaches:
A computer-implemented method (CIM) comprising slot (Figs. 1 & 2; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081], [0083]-[0085], [0112], & [0128]: discloses a computer-implemented method in response to a device being inserted into a drive slot),
to draw a first amount of power and release a first amount of thermal energy (Fig. 3B; [0008], [0011], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0084], [0112], [0141], & [0148]- [0149]: discloses a test algorithm where “power drawn by the storage device 600 will be dissipated as heat and increase the temperature…”);
receiving temperature information ([0015]-[0016], [0018], [0120], [0146]: discloses receiving data from a thermocouple/temperature sensor);
receiving power information ([0018], [0084]-[0085], & [0148]-[0149]: discloses test electronics measuring a power draw);
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
receiving movement information from one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device; and the movement information to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range.
However, Kwon, further teaches:
receiving movement information from one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 4; [0030] & [0047]-[0048]: teaches measuring vibrational movement and position error signaling (PES) based on “ algorithm data received from internal accelerometers located inside HDD”, provides a clear teaching of using accelerometers within a storage device to receive movement information); and the movement information to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range (Fig. 4; [0006]-[0008], [0059], [0062], [0067]-[0069], [Claim 1], [Claim 11], & [Claim 15]: teaches correlating PES (a measure of movement) to fan dynamics and throughput rates, the method checks if a “critical parameter of the PES exceeds a pre-defined threshold”, teaches using movement information to determine if performance is within a predetermined range, figure further illustrates Steps 480 & 485, evaluates vibration/movement against thresholds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the movement information from one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device and determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range, of Kwon to Merrow, in order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining the method for measuring vibration and its impact on performance using accelerometers into the existing system of Merrow (testing, temperature and thermal monitoring), to use all three data inputs (temperature, power, movement/ performance) to determine if a simulation device is operating within a predetermined acceptable range, where the problem of vibration affecting hard drive performance is a common issue, discussed in both prior arts, therefore, adding a sensor to detect movement or vibration and using that data for a more comprehensive performance analysis, as taught by Kwon, to actively control the temperature and power of a device under test, while simultaneously monitoring its performance with accelerometers to evaluate its behavior under varied conditions, would be a logical step to create a more robust testing method (KSR).
Merrow, in combination with Kwon, are silent in regard to:
in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive:
causing a power load in the data storage simulation device;
from one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device;
from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device; and
using the temperature information, the power information, to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range,
wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning data storage drives therein.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0004], [0011]-[0012], [0015], [0019] & [0026]: teaches inserting a dedicated simulation testing device into a storage array slot):
causing a power load in the data storage simulation device ([0004], [0012], [0019], [0021]-[0022], [0030], [0032] & [0034]-[0035]: discloses simulating a thermal/power load via a resistor load bank on the simulation device);
from one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0004], [0012], [0019], [0021]-[0022], [0032] & [0034]-[0035]: discloses the simulation device using temperature sensors to measure the thermal load “…and a temperature sensor 224 may detect a temperature storage testing device 200.”);
from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0019], [0021]-[0022], [0032] & [0034]-[0035]: discloses current sense monitoring sensor 222 to determine a power load); and
using the temperature information, the power information to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range ([0032] & [0034]-[0035]: evaluates thermal/power data for errors/failures),
wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning data storage drives therein ([0011]-[0012], [0015]-[0016], [0021]-[0023] & [0032]: describes testing with simulation devices lacking storage functionality).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization, by modifying the testing method of Merrow to include capturing movement information via accelerometers and evaluating it against a predetermined range as taught by Kwon, and to substitute the functioning storage device with a data storage simulation device lacking functioning storage elements as taught by Yardley. The motivation for incorporating the accelerometers of Kwon into the testing environment of Merrow would be to provide a more comprehensive multi-variable environmental test that ensures vibrational disturbances (e.g., chassis cooling fans) remain within tolerable operating bounds along thermal and electrical metrics. The motivation for utilizing the data storage simulation device of Yardley in the method of Merrow would be to cost-effectively stress-test the thermal, electrical, and physical parameters of the drive slots without risking damage to expensive functioning storage drives or requiring costly installation of actual memory cells for load generation, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Merrow, teaches:
The CIM of claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081], [0083]-[0085], [0112], & [0128]), wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy are correlated with a particular segment of verification testing ([0003],[0018], [0083]-[0085], [0101],[0112], [0130],& [0148]-[0149]: teaches that the test algorithm includes specific thermal setpoints (e.g., 70°) for testing, testing as a process with various steps, such as self-testing, functional testing, and compliance, performing operations at different temperatures, meaning test is segmented, and each segment (e.g., “read while hot”) is correlated to a specific thermal state).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Merrow, teaches:
The CIM of claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081], [0083]-[0085], [0112], & [0128]), further comprising ([Claim 20]):
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device ([0003], [0018], [0083]-[0085], [0128]-[0130], [0141], & [0148]-[0149]: tests the “functionality” of a real storage device, equivalent of a “simulation device” for testing purposes)
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
is inside the predetermined range, indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified.
However, Kwon, further teaches:
is inside the predetermined range, indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified ([0006]-[0008], [0031], [0053], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1], [Claim 11] & [Claim 15]: describes a method to determine if a critical parameter for a HDD is “below a pre-defined threshold”, method also checks if a generated performance map meets “predefined tolerances”, this teaches using performance data to determine if a device meets a specification, which is equivalent to being “inside the predetermined range”, indicating that the test parameters are ”verified” after meeting a predefined tolerance, remaining inside the threshold verifies the current configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the predetermined range, indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified, of Kwon to Merrow, in order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining the fundamental process of Merrow of heating and monitoring a device’s power and temperature during a test to ensure it meets requirements, Kwon teaches that a performance metric, like PES, must be within a “pre-defined threshold” or “pre-defined tolerances” for the device to be considered performing adequately, taking the results of the performance test from Kwon and applying it to the testing process of Merrow, if the performance is found to be “inside the predetermined range,” it would be an expected step to “indicate” that the corresponding test parameters (power and thermal energy) are “verified”, which is a basic principle of a verification or compliance testing process, creating a more robust testing method for the verification process, yielding predictable results (KSR). Alternatively, could integrate the testing instructions of Yardley, to Kwon and Merrow, to determine the performance of the data storage simulation device remains inside the predetermined acceptable range (i.e., does not trigger errors or exceeds the pre-defined thresholds), to verify that the storage slot successfully handles the applied amount of power and thermal energy, as taught by Yardley ([0016]-[0018] & [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Merrow, teaches:
The CIM of claim 3 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081], [0083]-[0085], [0112], & [0128]), further comprising ([Claim 20]):
causing the power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a second amount of power and release a second amount of thermal energy (Fig. 3B; [0003]-[0005], [0008], [0011], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0083]-[0085], [0112]-[0113], [0130], [0141], & [0149]: teaches the use of a simulation device to create thermal events in a test system designed for thermal testing, where the power load is a generic component of a simulator, discloses “functional testing system” that includes “the ability to read and write data at different temperatures (e.g., read while hot and write while cold, or vice versa)”, teaches varying thermal conditions of the test, the test electronics “can adjust the heating of the storage device…by controlling the flow of electrical current to the resistive heaters”, implies a change in the power load to achieve a different thermal state);
receiving updated temperature information from the one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0003]-[0005], [0015]-[0016], [0018], [0083-[0085]], [0119]-[0122], [0146], [0148]-[0149] & [Claim 18]: discloses temperature sensor “arranged to measure a temperature of the storage device”, the test electronics monitor “the status (e.g., temperature) of storage devices under test”, describes a connection interface board that can provide electrical communication between the temperature sensor and the test electronics, which receives signals from the sensor to control the flow of electrical current to the resistive heaters, provides a teaching of continuously receiving temperature information for control and monitoring purposes);
receiving updated power information from the one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0003]-[0005], [0018], [0083]-[0085], [0149], & [Claim 18]: states the test electronics are configured to “measure a power draw of the storage device”, this measurement can be used to “compensate for any error between an actual temperature of the storage device and a temperature measured by the temperature sensor”, provides a teaching of continuously or iteratively receiving power information);
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
receiving updated movement information from the one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device; and
using the updated temperature information, the updated power information, and the updated movement information to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range.
However, Kwon, further teaches:
receiving updated movement information from the one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 4; [0006]-[0008], [0028]-[0032], [0046]-[0048], [0050] & [Claim 15]: teaches dynamically evaluating performance parameters and position error signaling (PES) based on ongoing dynamic disturbances (e.g., chassis fans speeding up or slowing down), “data received from internal accelerometers located inside HDD”, figure further illustrates a continuous or iterative process of operation and determination of performance, which involves receiving updated information); and
using the updated temperature information, the updated power information, and the updated movement information to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range (Fig. 4; [Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0031]-[0032], [0049]-[0050], [0059], [0062], [0067]-[0068] & [Claim 1]: teaches using new gathered data to re-evaluate the system for errors or threshold breaches, correlating PES (a measure of movement) to fan dynamics and throughput rates, the method checks if the parameters “meet pre-defined tolerances” or are “below a threshold”, teaches using movement information to determine if performance is within a predetermined range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the predetermined range, indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified, of Kwon to Merrow, in order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining the hardware and method for actively heating and testing a storage device of Merrow, while Kwon provides the method for continuously monitoring performance in response to environmental factors like fan-induced vibration, operating and monitoring fans and HDDs (continuous process of collecting updated information), combining with the temperature and power control of Merrow, would be obvious to vary the temperature and power conditions and then collected updated sensor data to determine if the performance remains within a predetermined range, to create a more robust testing method, yielding predictable results (KSR). Alternatively, can modify the combined CIM method of Kwon and Merrow to include instructions/methodology for adjusting the thermal load to a second amount and periodically receiving updated sensor information as taught by Yardley ([0032] & [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Merrow, teaches:
The CIM of claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 2; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081], [0083]-[0085], [0112], [0128]-[0130] & [0148]), further comprising:
([0003], [0083]-[0085], [0128]-[0130], & [0148])
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
is not inside the predetermined range:
indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are not verified; and
However, Kwon, further teaches:
is not inside the predetermined range ([0006]-[0008], [0067]-[0069] & [Claim 1]):
indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are not verified (Fig. 4; [Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0049], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1]: teaches finding an error/failure under a specific load indicated that the load is unverified/unsafe, therefore flagging the need for a design for a design change, Step 490 “Indicate Design and/or Configurations”, teaches core concept of indicating a problem (e.g., a modification is needed) when a performance parameter is outside a tolerance); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the predetermined range is not inside, indicating the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are not verified, of Kwon to Merrow, in order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining the fundamental process of testing a device by controlling its power and temperature of Merrow, Kwon provides the teaching that if performance metric fails to meet a threshold (i.e., is not inside the predetermined range), a system parameter is faulty or requires attention when the performance is out of tolerance result is indicated, applying the logic of Kwon to the testing process of Merrow, if a device’s performance, as measured by the test in Merrow fails to meet the a predetermined range would indicate that the test parameters (power and thermal energy) are “not verified”, and that modifications may be necessary, which is a basic principle of a verification or compliance testing process, creating a more robust testing method for the verification process, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Merrow, in combination with Kwon, are silent in regard to:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device
storing the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device ([0034]-0035]: teaches evaluating if the introduced load causes errors/failures (i.e., performance falls outside the acceptable range))
storing the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory ([0016] & [0034]: teaches storing the power and temperature measurements in memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing method of Yardley, as integrated with Merrow and Kwon, to indicate when a specific thermal/power load is not verified and store those specific load amounts in memory. The motivation for this modification, according to known methods, would be to maintain an accurate, persistent log of the exact stress conditions that cause system failures. Storing unverified load data allows hardware validation testing to pinpoint the thermal and electrical limitations of the chassis cooling and power delivery subsystems, enabling targeted redesigns and ensuring safe operating threshold of the storage array are documented, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Merrow, teaches:
The CIM of claim 1 (Figs. 1, 2 & 20; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081]-[0085], [0107]-[0108], [0110]-[0112], [0127]-[0130], [0148] & [Claim 19]),
Merrow, in combination with Kwon, are silent in regard to:
wherein the data storage simulation device has a connection interface with a form factor that approximates a connection interface at an exterior of a hard disk drive, wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning hard disk drives.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
wherein the data storage simulation device has a connection interface with a form factor that approximates a connection interface at an exterior of a hard disk drive (Fig. 2; [0002], [0011]-[0012], [0019] & [0026]: teaches that the testing device includes a connector interface with the array and is housed in a form factor that fits into standard hard disk slots), wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning hard disk drives (Figs. 2-3 & 4A; [0002], [0011]-[0012], [0019] & [0026]-[0027]: teaches that the device emulates a hard disk drive but completely lacks storage elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing methods of Merrow and Kwon to utilize a simulation device featuring a housing and connection interface matching the form factor of a standards hard disk drive, as taught by Yardley. The motivation for this physical design modification, according to known methods, would be to allow the simulation device to seamlessly plug into standard storage array slots without requiring specialized adapters or custom backplanes, enabling the system to accurately emulate the physical airflow impedance and thermal dissipation profile of a standard hard disk drive during environmental testing, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Merrow teaches:
The CIM of claim 6 (Figs. 1, 2, 19-21, 22A & 30B; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081]-[0085], [0107]-[0112], [0127]-[0131], [0133]-[0134], [0148] & [Claim 19]),
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
an accelerometer, and
However, Kwon, further teaches
an accelerometer ([0030], [0047]-[0048], [0051], [0063] & [Claim 10]: teaches the accelerometer to monitor chassis vibrations), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing device Merrow to include the accelerometer of Kwon. Kwon provides the method for continuously monitoring performance in response to environmental factors like fan-induced vibration, operating and monitoring fans and HDDs (continuous process of collecting updated information). The motivation to combine with the temperature and power control of Merrow, would be to improve and optimize collected sensor data to determine if the performance remains within a predetermined range, creating a more robust testing method, according to known methods, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Merrow, in combination with Kwon, are silent in regard to:
wherein the drive slot is configured to receive each of: the connection interface of the data storage simulation device, and the connection interface at the exterior of a hard disk drive,
a control bus physically connecting the temperature sensor, the current sensor, and the accelerometer.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
wherein the drive slot is configured to receive each of: the connection interface of the data storage simulation device, and the connection interface at the exterior of a hard disk drive (Figs. 2-3 & 4A; [0002], [0004], [0011]-[0012], [0019] & [0026]-[0027]: teaches that the storage array slots are designed for standard hard disk drives, and the simulation device is placed into these exact slots), wherein the data storage simulation device includes: a temperature sensor, a current sensor ([0012], [0022] & [0034]-[0035]: teaches the temperature and current sensors onboard the simulation device),
a control bus physically connecting the temperature sensor, the current sensor, and the accelerometer ([0021]-[0022]: teaches a low-speed bus physically connecting the onboard sensors to route data and combining with Kwon’s accelerometer into this design places it on the same bus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing device hardware of Merrow to include the accelerometer of Kwon, connected to the existing low-speed control bus, and the storage testing device(s) of Yardley, which is/are placed into slots of a disk storage array that are designed for hard disk drives, and includes a current sense monitoring sensor, a temperature sensor, and a low-speed bus physically connecting the sensors to route their measurements. The motivation for this modification would be to improve, by simplifying the simulation device’s circuit board architecture and optimize data routing by utilizing a single shared communication interface (e.g., I2C or SPI, typical of low-speed control buses) to transmit environmental sensor telemetry (e.g., temperature, current, and vibration) back to the diagnostic controller, according to known methods, instead of designing redundant, separate communication pathways for each individual sensor, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Merrow, teaches:
The CIM of claim 1 (Figs. 1, 2, 19-21, 22A & 30B; [Abstract], [0003]-[0005], [0007]-[0008], [0018], [0020], [0022], [0081]-[0085], [0107]-[0112], [0127]-[0131], [0133]-[0134], [0148] & [Claim 19]),
wherein the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy includes sending power, ground (Figs. 12, 13, 23, & 24; [Abstract], [0008]-[0009], [0011], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0083]-[0085], [0107]-[0112], [0128], [0141], [0148]-[0149], [Claim 14]-[Claim 15], & [Claim 17]: figures illustrate the resistive heaters 487/706 which are the “power load” that draws current (power) to release thermal energy, teaches a host system of test electronics sending electrical current (which inherently requires sending power and ground signals) to a resistive heating element within a device (test slot/transporter) to cause it to generate thermal energy), and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals ([0017]-[0018], [0083]-[0085], [0101], [0107]-[0108], [0119], [0121]-[0122], [0128]-[0131], [0144], [Claim 17] & [Claim 19]: teaches a closed-loop control system where the host (test electronics) communicates with sensors and based on that communication, controls a power-drawing device, such as the heater, the use of the I2C is a common communication means, discloses various protocols and states that “other forms of communication may be used” other than the disclosed “IDE, ATA, ATAPI, UDMA, PATA, SATA, or SAS”, which are high-speed transfer/large data protocols)
Merrow, is silent in regard to:
from a host system to the data storage simulation device.
However, Kwon, further teaches:
from a host system to the data storage simulation device (Fig. 1; [0005]-[0006], [0008], [0016]-[0031], [0057], [0059], [0062], [0068]-[0069], & [Claim 1]: discloses a “host system 102” that is communicatively coupled to a “HDD array 130” and a “fan system 120”, hos system 102 includes a “processor 104” and a “mass storage device 110”, provides teaching of a host system communicating with storage devices, where it uses actual data storage devices (HDDs 132) whose performance is being tested and optimized).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a host system to the data storage simulation device, of Kwon to Merrow, in order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining the fundamental concept of a host system (test electronics) delivering power to a device (conductive heating assembly) to cause it to draw current and generate a precise amount of thermal energy, using a communication loop where the host receives sensor data and uses it to control the power delivery of Merrow. Kwon proves a host system within a data storage environment, monitoring device performing and controlling other system components (e.g., fans). Combining with Kwon’s modern data storage testing, using standard efficient serial communication protocols like I2C, that would provide communication between a host processor/microcontroller and peripheral chips (e.g., temperature sensors, power controllers, fan controllers), modifying the system of Merrow to use I2C signals for the communication and control, using a known technique to optimize a known system, creating a more robust testing method, yielding predictable results (KSR). Alternatively, can implement the low-speed system management communication bus of Yardley, utilizing Inter-Integrated (I2C) signals.
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, in view Merrow, and further in view of Yardley.
Regarding independent claim 9, Kwon, teaches:
A computer program product (CPP), comprising (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]: discloses a computer readable medium including instructions for optimizing HDD performance, system includes memory 108 and mass storage device 110 which are computer-readable media storing instructions):
a set of one or more computer-readable storage media ([0006], [0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0023], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]: system includes memory 108 and mass storage device 110 which are computer-readable media storing instructions, and HDDs 132 which are computer-readable storage media); and
program instructions, collectively stored in the set of one or more storage media (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0033], [0048], & [0053]: instructions are stored in memory and executed by a processor to perform operations, figure further illustrates details the operations performed, system operates in response to HDDs 132 being placed and configured in a chassis (slots), Steps 404 and 405),
receive movement information from one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 4; [0030] & [0047]-[0048]: teaches instructions for receiving vibrational movement data captured by accelerometers, and position error signaling (PES) based on “ algorithm data received from internal accelerometers located inside HDD”, provides a clear teaching of using accelerometers within a storage device to receive movement information); and
the movement information to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range (Fig. 4; [0006]-[0008], [0059], [0062], [0067]-[0069], [Claim 1], [Claim 11], & [Claim 15]: provides the software instructions for evaluating movement data against a predefined threshold, further, teaches correlating PES (a measure of movement) to fan dynamics and throughput rates, the method checks if a “critical parameter of the PES exceeds a pre-defined threshold”, teaches using movement information to determine if performance is within a predetermined range, figure further illustrates Steps 480 & 485, evaluates vibration/movement against thresholds).
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
to draw a first amount of power and release a first amount of thermal energy;
receive temperature information;
receive power information;
However, Merrow, further teaches:
to draw a first amount of power and release a first amount of thermal energy (Fig. 3B; [0008], [0011], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0084], [0112], [0141] & [0148]- [0149]: discloses a test algorithm where “power drawn by the storage device 600 will be dissipated as heat and increase the temperature…”);
receive temperature information ([0003], [0015]-[0016], [0018], [0120]-[0122] [0146]-[0149]: discloses receiving data from a thermocouple/temperature sensor);
receive power information ([0018], [0083]-[0085], [0129] & [0148]-[0149]: discloses test electronics measuring a power draw);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate and modify the program instructions of Kwon to further include receiving and evaluating temperature and power sensor information as taught by Merrow. The motivation would be to expand the software’s diagnostic capabilities to provide a multi-variable performance map that evaluates thermal and electrical limitations with vibrational metrics, according to known methods. In order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining to create a more comprehensive testing system and method for monitoring the real-time performance of a data storage simulation device, using a combination of sensor data for measuring movement/vibration and its impact on performance via an accelerometer. Combining the instructions and methods would easily create a computer program product that causes a processor to perform all the steps in the claim, measuring vibration and its impact on performance using accelerometers into the existing system of Merrow (testing, temperature and thermal monitoring), to use all three data inputs (temperature, power, movement/ performance) to determine if a simulation device is operating within a predetermined acceptable range, where the problem of vibration affecting hard drive performance is a common issue, discussed in both prior arts, therefore, adding a sensor to detect movement or vibration and using that data for a more comprehensive performance analysis, as taught by Kwon, to actively control the temperature and power of a device under test, while simultaneously monitoring its performance with accelerometers to evaluate its behavior under varied conditions, would be a logical step to create a more robust testing method (KSR).
Kwon, in combination with Merrow, are silent in regard to:
for causing a processor set to perform the following computer operations in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot:
cause a power load in the data storage simulation device;
from one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device;
from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device; and
use the temperature information, the power information, to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range,
wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning data storage drives therein.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
for causing a processor set to perform the following computer operations ([0004] & [0016]-[0018] : discloses a computer program product including slot testing code stored in memory and executed by a controller) in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0004], [0011]-[0012], [0015], [0019] & [0026]: teaches slot testing code executing operations on simulation devices positioned in the array’s slots):
cause a power load in the data storage simulation device ([0004], [0012], [0019], [0021]-[0022], [0030], [0032] & [0034]-[0035]: discloses simulating a thermal/power load via a resistor load bank on the simulation device);
from one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0004], [0012], [0019], [0021]-[0022], [0032] & [0034]-[0035]: teaches the CPP receiving measurements from the temperature sensors);
from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0019], [0021]-[0022], [0032] & [0034]-[0035]: teaches monitoring the power load in watts via a current sensor); and
use the temperature information, the power information to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range ([0032], [0034]-[0035]: evaluates the array’s performance against the simulated thermal/power data for errors/failures),
wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning data storage drives therein ([0011]-[0012], [0015]-[0016], [0021]-[0023] & [0032]: teaches the testing devices executed by the CPP completely lack storage elements).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization, by modifying the combined computer program product of Kwon and Merrow to apply its multi-variable diagnostic testing algorithms onto a data storage simulation device lacking functioning storage elements, as taught by Yardley, to include capturing movement information via accelerometers and evaluating it against a predetermined range as taught by Kwon, and to substitute the functioning storage device with a data storage simulation device lacking functioning storage elements as taught by Yardley. The motivation for this modification would be to allow the software to safely cost-effectively stress-test the storage array’s environmental limits (e.g., thermal, power, and vibrational) without risking damage or component destruction to expensive, fully functioning data storage drives or requiring costly installation of actual memory cells for load generation, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Kwon, teaches:
The CPP of claim 9 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]), are correlated with a particular segment of verification testing (Fig. 4; [0003], [0026], [0050], [0052], [0060]-[0061], [0065]: teaches goal of correlating external disturbances with device performance (throughput), which is linked to power, teaches creating a performance map that accounts for thermal effects).
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy
However, Merrow, further teaches:
wherein the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy ([0003],[0018], [0083]-[0085], [0101], [0112], [0130], & [0148]-[0149]: teaches that the test algorithm includes specific thermal setpoints (e.g., 70°) for testing, testing as a process with various steps, such as self-testing, functional testing, and compliance, performing operations at different temperatures)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first amount of power and the first amount of thermal energy, of Merrow to Kwon, in order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining the controlled heating and power management of Merrow to the specific testing segments outlined by Kwon, could use Merrow’s system to test the HDD at a specific high temperature (segment) and the use the analytical methods of Kwon to evaluate the performance at that temperature, and correlating the power and thermal energy to a particular segment of verification testing, would be a logical step to combine the disclosed concepts for a more robust testing method, that yield predictable results (KSR). Alternately, could also modify the combined computer product of Kwon and Merrow, utilizing the slot testing code of Yardley, to include scheduling and correlating the thermal and power loads with particular segments of the verification testing, as taught by Yardley ([0032]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Kwon, teaches:
The CPP of claim 9 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]), wherein the program instructions are for causing the processor set to further perform the following computer operations (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0027], [0030], [0033], [0049], [0053], [0068] & [Claim 15]: instructions are stored in memory and executed by a processor to perform operations, figure further illustrates details the operations performed, system operates in response to HDDs 132 being placed and configured in a chassis (slots), Steps 404 and 405, tests the “functionality” of a real storage device, equivalent of a “simulation device” for testing purposes):
is inside the predetermined range, indicate the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified ([0006]-[0008], [0031], [0053], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1], [Claim 11] & [Claim 15]: teaches instructions to indicate a mechanical design modification if a critical parameter exceeds a threshold, for a HDD is “below a pre-defined threshold”, method also checks if a generated performance map meets “predefined tolerances”, this teaches using performance data to determine if a device meets a specification, which is equivalent to being “inside the predetermined range”, indicating that the test parameters are ”verified” after meeting a predefined tolerance).
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device
However, Merrow, further teaches:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device ([0003], [0018], [0083]-[0085], [0128]-[0130], [0141], & [0148]-[0149]: tests the “functionality” of a real storage device, equivalent of a “simulation device” for testing purposes)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the response to determining the performance of the data storage simulation device, of Merrow to Kwon, in order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining, to adapt the program instructions from Kwon to apply to the testing system of Merrow, the instructions would cause the processor to perform the power and thermal tests described in Merrow, after determining that the device’s performance is within the “predetermined range” as defined by pre-defined tolerances of Kwon and the collection requirements of Merrow, would be obvious for the program to “indicate” that the corresponding power and thermal parameters are verified, would an expected outcome of an automated verification process, where combining the disclosed concepts would create a more robust testing method, that yields predictable results (KSR). Alternatively, could integrate the testing instructions of Yardley, to Kwon and Merrow, to determine the performance of the data storage simulation device remains inside the predetermined acceptable range (i.e., does not trigger errors or exceeds the pre-defined thresholds), to verify that the storage slot successfully handles the applied amount of power and thermal energy, as taught by Yardley ([0016]-[0018] & [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Kwon, teaches:
The CPP of claim 11 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]), wherein the program instructions are for causing the processor set to further perform the following computer operations (Fig. 4; [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0027], [0030], [0033], [0049], [0053], [0068]):
receive updated movement information from the one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 4; [0006]-[0008], [0028]-[0032], [0046]-[0048], [0050] & [Claim 15]); and
use the updated temperature information, the updated power information, and the updated movement information to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside the predetermined range (Fig. 4; [Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0031]-[0032], [0049]-[0050], [0059], [0062], [0067]-[0068] & [Claim 1]).
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
cause the power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a second amount of power and release a second amount of thermal energy;
receive updated temperature information from the one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device;
receive updated power information from the one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device;
However, Merrow, further teaches:
cause the power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a second amount of power and release a second amount of thermal energy (Fig. 3B; [0003]-[0005], [0008], [0011], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0083]-[0085], [0112]-[0113], [0130], [0141], & [0149]);
receive updated temperature information from the one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0003]-[0005], [0015]-[0016], [0018], [0083-[0085]], [0119]-[0122], [0146], [0148]-[0149] & [Claim 18]);
receive updated power information from the one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0003]-[0005], [0018], [0083]-[0085], [0149], & [Claim 18]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cause of the power load in the data storage simulation device to draw a second amount of power and release a second amount of thermal energy and receive updated temperature and power information from the one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device, of Merrow to Kwon, in order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining the continuous monitoring of performance parameters, including movement information from accelerometers of Kwon, with the hardware and method for actively and controllably applying power and heat to a storage device, along with sensors to measure the parameters, of Merrow, combining the two systems to create a program product that can continuously vary power and thermal loads on a device and monitor the updated performance metrics (temperature, power, and movement) to determine if the device’s performance remains within an acceptable range, where the continuous monitoring in Kwon, makes the concept of updated information obvious to apply to the controlled environment of Merrow, to create a more robust testing method, yielding predictable results (KSR). Alternatively, can modify the combined software testing method of Kwon and Merrow to include instructions for adjusting the thermal load to a second amount and periodically receiving updated sensor information as taught by Yardley ([0032] & [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Kwon, teaches:
The CPP of claim 9 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]), wherein the program instructions are for causing the processor set to further perform the following computer operations (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0020], [0022], [0027], [0030]-[0031], [0033], [0046], [0048]-[0049], [0053], [0068] & [Claim 15]):
is not inside the predetermined range (Fig. 6; [Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0049], [0067]-[0069] & [Claim 1]):
indicate the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are not verified (Fig. 4; [Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0049], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1]: teaches instructions that evaluate if performance exceeds a threshold, Step 490 “Indicate Design and/or Configurations”, teaches core concept of indicating a problem (e.g., a modification is needed) when a performance parameter is outside a tolerance); and
Merrow, in combination with Kwon, are silent in regard to:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device
store the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device ([0034]-0035]: teaches code evaluating if the introduced load causes errors/failures (i.e., performance falls outside the acceptable range))
store the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory ([0016] & [0034]: teaches instructions for storing the power and temperature measurements in memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing software of Kwon, as integrated with Merrow and Yardley, to program the system to indicate when a specific thermal/power load is not verified and store those specific load amounts in memory. The motivation for this modification, according to known methods, would be to maintain an automated, accurate, persistent software log of the exact physical stress conditions that cause system failures. Storing unverified load data allows hardware validation engineers to pinpoint the thermal and electrical limitations of the chassis subsystems and power delivery subsystems, enabling targeted mechanical design modifications, suggested by Kwon, and ensuring safe operating thresholds of the storage array are documented, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Kwon, teaches:
The CPP of claim 9 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]),
Kwon, in combination with Merrow, are silent in regard to:
wherein the data storage simulation device has a connection interface with a form factor that approximates a connection interface at an exterior of a hard disk drive, wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning hard disk drives.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
wherein the data storage simulation device has a connection interface with a form factor that approximates a connection interface at an exterior of a hard disk drive (Fig. 2; [0002], [0011]-[0012], [0019] & [0026]: teaches that the testing device operated on by the testing code includes a connector interface with the array and is housed in a form factor that fits into standard hard disk slots), wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning hard disk drives (Figs. 2-3 & 4A; [0002], [0011]-[0012], [0019] & [0026]-[0027]: teaches that the device operated on by the slot testing code emulates a hard disk drive but completely lacks storage elements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the software testing methods of Merrow and Kwon to execute on a simulation device featuring a housing and connection interface matching the form factor of a standard hard disk drive, as taught by Yardley. The motivation for this physical design modification, according to known methods, would be to allow the simulation device to seamlessly plug into standard storage array slots without requiring specialized adapters or custom backplanes, enabling the testing software to accurately emulate the physical airflow impedance and thermal dissipation profile of a standard hard disk drive during environmental testing, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Kwon, teaches:
The CPP of claim 14 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]),
an accelerometer ([0030], [0047]-[0048], [0051], [0063] & [Claim 10]: teaches the accelerometer to monitor chassis vibrations for the software), and
Kwon, in combination with Merrow, are silent in regard to:
wherein the drive slot is configured to receive each of: the connection interface of the data storage simulation device, and the connection interface at the exterior of a hard disk drive,
However, Yardley, further teaches:
wherein the drive slot is configured to receive each of: the connection interface of the data storage simulation device, and the connection interface at the exterior of a hard disk drive (Figs. 2-3 & 4A; [0002], [0004], [0011]-[0012], [0019] & [0026]-[0027]: teaches that the storage array slots and the software tests are designed for standard hard disk drives, and the simulation device is placed into these exact slots), wherein the data storage simulation device includes: a temperature sensor, a current sensor ([0012], [0022] & [0034]-[0035]: teaches the temperature and current sensors onboard the simulation device),
a control bus physically connecting the temperature sensor, the current sensor, and the accelerometer ([0021]-[0022]: teaches a low-speed bus physically connecting the onboard sensors to route data and combining with Kwon’s accelerometer into this design places it on the same bus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the testing device hardware operated upon by the software of Kwon and Merrow to include the accelerometer of Kwon connected to the existing low-speed control bus, and the storage testing device(s) of Yardley, which is/are placed into slots of a disk storage array that are designed for hard disk drives, and includes a current sense monitoring sensor, a temperature sensor, and a low-speed bus physically connecting the sensors to route their measurements. The motivation for this modification would be to improve, by simplifying the simulation device’s circuit board architecture and optimize data routing by utilizing a single shared communication interface (e.g., I2C or SPI, typical of low-speed control buses) to transmit environmental sensor telemetry (e.g., temperature, current, and vibration) back to the diagnostic controller, according to known methods, instead of designing redundant, separate communication pathways for each individual sensor accessed by the testing software, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Kwon, teaches:
The CPP of claim 9 (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0033], [0048], [0053], & [Claim 15]), from a host system to the data storage simulation device (Fig. 1; [0005]-[0006], [0008], [0016]-[0031], [0057], [0059], [0062], [0068]-[0069], & [Claim 1]: discloses a “host system 102” that is communicatively coupled to a “HDD array 130” and a “fan system 120”, hos system 102 includes a “processor 104” and a “mass storage device 110”, provides teaching of a host system communicating with storage devices, where it uses actual data storage devices (HDDs 132) whose performance is being tested and optimized).
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
wherein the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy includes sending power, ground, and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals
However, Merrow, further teaches:
wherein the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy includes sending power, ground, (Figs. 12, 13, 23, & 24; [Abstract], [0008]-[0009], [0011], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0083]-[0085], [0107]-[0112], [0128], [0141], [0148]-[0149], [Claim 14], [Claim 15] & [Claim 17]: figures illustrate the resistive heaters 487/706 which are the “power load” that draws current (power) to release thermal energy) and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals ([0017]-[0018], [0083]-[0085], [0101], [0107]-[0108], [0119], [0121]-[0122], [0128]-[0131], [0144], [Claim 17] & [Claim 19])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy includes sending power, ground, and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals, of Merrow to Kwon, in order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining the fundamental concept of a host system (test electronics) delivering power to a device (conductive heating assembly) to cause it to draw current and generate a precise amount of thermal energy, using a communication loop where the host receives sensor data and uses it to control the power delivery of Merrow, where Kwon proves a host system within a data storage environment (storage devices), monitoring device performing and controlling other system components (e.g., fans), combining with Kwon’s modern data storage testing, using standard, well-known, efficient serial communication protocols like I2C, that would provide communication between a host processor/microcontroller and peripheral chips (e.g., temperature sensors, power controllers, fan controllers), modifying the system of Merrow to use I2C signals for the communication and control, from a host to peripheral components, such as a storage device or a heating assembly, where a computer program product causes a processor to send power, ground, and I2C signals from a host to a data storage simulation device to cause a power load and release thermal energy, using a known technique to optimize a known system, creating a more robust testing method, yielding predictable results (KSR). Alternatively, can implement the low-speed system management communication bus of Yardley ([0015], [0019] & [0021]-[0022]), utilizing Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals.
Regarding independent claim 17, Kwon, teaches:
A computer system (CS), comprising (Fig. 2; [0006], [0016]-[0023], [0028], [0033], [0048], [0053] & [Claim 15]: discloses an “information handling system (IHS)” with a “host system 102”, figure illustrates “Disk Controller 202” and “Serve Processor 214”, further disclosing a computer system, processor and memory storing instructions):
a processor set ([0016]-[0019], [0022]-[0023], [0053] & [Claim 15]: discloses an “information handling system (IHS)” with a “host system 102”, that includes a “processor 104” and “memory 108”);
a set of one or more computer-readable storage media ([0016]-[0017], [0022]-[0023] & [Claim 15]: system includes memory 108 and mass storage device 110 which are computer-readable media storing instructions, HDDs 132 are computer-readable storage media);
program instructions, collectively stored in the set of one or more storage media, (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0033], [0048], & [0053]: instructions are stored in memory and executed by a processor to perform operations, Fig. 4 further illustrates details the operations performed, system operates in response to HDDs being placed and configured in a chassis (slots), Steps 404 and 405)
receive movement information from one or more accelerometers in the data storage simulation device (Fig. 4; [0030] & [0047]-[0048]: teaches instructions for receiving vibrational movement data captured by the accelerometers, position error signaling (PES) based on “ algorithm data received from internal accelerometers located inside HDD”, provides a clear teaching of using accelerometers within a storage device to receive movement information); and
the movement information to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range (Fig. 4; [0006]-[0008], [0059], [0062], [0067]-[0069], [Claim 1], [Claim 11], & [Claim 15]: provides the system instructions for evaluating movement data against a predefined threshold, further, teaches correlating PES (a measure of movement) to fan dynamics and throughput rates, the method checks if a “critical parameter of the PES exceeds a pre-defined threshold”, teaches using movement information to determine if performance is within a predetermined range, figure further illustrates Steps 480 & 485, evaluates vibration/movement against thresholds)
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
to draw a first amount of power and release a first amount of thermal energy;
receive temperature information;
receive power information;
However, Merrow, further teaches:
to draw a first amount of power and release a first amount of thermal energy (Fig. 3B; [Abstract], [0008]-[0009], [0011], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0084], [0112], [0141], [0148]-[0149] & [Claim 14]: discloses a test algorithm where “power drawn by the storage device 600 will be dissipated as heat and increase the temperature…”);
receive temperature information ([0003], [0015]-[0016], [0018], [0120]-[0122] & [0146]-[0149]: discloses receiving data from a thermocouple/temperature sensor);
receive power information ([0018], [0083]-[0085], [0129] & [0148]-[0149]: discloses test electronics measuring a power draw);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate and modify the computer system of Kwon to further include receiving and evaluating temperature and power sensor information as taught by Merrow. The motivation would be to expand the system’s diagnostic capabilities to provide a multi-variable performance map that evaluates thermal and electrical limitations with vibrational metrics, according to known methods. In order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining to create a more comprehensive testing system and method for monitoring the real-time performance of a data storage simulation device, using a combination of sensor data for measuring movement/vibration and its impact on performance via an accelerometer. Combining the instructions and methods would easily create a system that causes a processor to perform all the steps in the claim, measuring vibration and its impact on performance using accelerometers into the existing system of Merrow (testing, temperature and thermal monitoring), to use all three data inputs (temperature, power, movement/ performance) to determine if a simulation device is operating within a predetermined acceptable range, where the problem of vibration affecting hard drive performance is a common issue, discussed in both prior arts, therefore, adding a sensor to detect movement or vibration and using that data for a more comprehensive performance analysis, as taught by Kwon, to actively control the temperature and power of a device under test, while simultaneously monitoring its performance with accelerometers to evaluate its behavior under varied conditions, would be a logical step to create a more robust testing system (KSR).
Kwon, in combination with Merrow, are silent in regard to:
for causing a processor set to perform the following computer operations in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot:
cause a power load in the data storage simulation device;
from one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device;
from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device; and
use the temperature information, the power information, to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range,
wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning data storage drives therein.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
for causing a processor set to perform the following computer operations ([0004] & [0016]-[0018] : teaches a system executing slot testing code stored in memory and executed by a controller/processor) in response to a data storage simulation device being inserted into a drive slot (Fig. 2; [Abstract], [0004], [0011]-[0012], [0015], [0019] & [0026]: teaches a system executing test operations on simulation devices positioned in the array’s slots):
cause a power load in the data storage simulation device ([0004], [0012], [0019], [0021]-[0022], [0030], [0032] & [0034]-[0035]: teaches the system transmitting commands to the device to adjust its resistor load to produce a thermal load);
from one or more temperature sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0004], [0012], [0019], [0021]-[0022], [0032] & [0034]-[0035]: teaches the system receiving measurements from the temperature sensors);
from one or more current sensors in the data storage simulation device ([0019], [0021]-[0022], [0032] & [0034]-[0035]: teaches monitoring the power load in watts via a current sensor); and
use the temperature information, the power information to determine whether performance of the data storage simulation device is inside a predetermined range ([0032], [0034]-[0035]: provides the system instructions for evaluating the array’s performance against the simulated thermal/power data for errors/failures),
wherein the data storage simulation device does not include any functioning data storage drives therein ([0011]-[0012], [0015]-[0016], [0021]-[0023] & [0032]: teaches the testing devices manipulated by the system completely lack storage elements).
It is recognized that the citations and evidence provided above are derived from potentially different embodiments of a single reference. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to employ combinations and sub-combinations of these complementary embodiments and otherwise motivate experimentation and optimization, by modifying the combined computer system of Kwon and Merrow to apply its multi-variable diagnostic testing algorithms onto a data storage simulation device lacking functioning storage elements, as taught by Yardley, to include capturing movement information via accelerometers and evaluating it against a predetermined range as taught by Kwon, and to substitute the functioning storage device with a data storage simulation device lacking functioning storage elements as taught by Yardley. The motivation for this modification would be to allow the computing hardware to safely, cost-effectively stress-test the storage array’s environmental limits (e.g., thermal, power, and vibrational) without risking damage or component destruction to expensive, fully functioning data storage drives or requiring costly installation of actual memory cells for load generation, and yield predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Kwon, teaches:
The CS of claim 17 (Fig. 2; [0006], [0016]-[0023], [0028], [0033], [0048], [0053] & [Claim 15]: discloses an “information handling system (IHS)” with a “host system 102”, figure illustrates “Disk Controller 202” and “Serve Processor 214”), wherein the program instructions are for causing the processor set to further perform the following computer operations (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0017], [0020], [0027], [0030], [0033], [0049], [0053], [0068] & [Claim 15]: instructions are stored in memory and executed by a processor to perform operations, figure further illustrates details the operations performed, system operates in response to HDDs 132 being placed and configured in a chassis (slots), Steps 404 and 405, tests the “functionality” of a real storage device, equivalent of a “simulation device” for testing purposes):
is inside the predetermined range, indicate the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are verified ([0006]-[0008], [0031], [0053], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1], [Claim 11] & [Claim 15]: teaches instructions to indicate a mechanical design modification if a critical parameter exceeds a threshold, for a HDD is “below a pre-defined threshold”, method also checks if a generated performance map meets “predefined tolerances”, this teaches using performance data to determine if a device meets a specification, which is equivalent to being “inside the predetermined range”, indicating that the test parameters are ”verified” after meeting a predefined tolerance).
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device
However, Merrow, further teaches:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device ([0003], [0018], [0083]-[0085], [0128]-[0130], [0141], & [0148]-[0149]: tests the “functionality” of a real storage device, equivalent of a “simulation device” for testing purposes)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the response to determining the performance of the data storage simulation device, of Merrow to Kwon, in order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining, to adapt the test system from Kwon to apply to the testing system of Merrow, the instructions would cause the processor to perform the power and thermal tests described in Merrow, after determining that the device’s performance is within the “predetermined range” as defined by pre-defined tolerances of Kwon and the collection requirements of Merrow, would be obvious for the program to “indicate” that the corresponding power and thermal parameters are verified, would an expected outcome of an automated verification process, where combining the disclosed concepts would create a more robust testing method, that yields predictable results (KSR). Alternatively, could integrate the testing system of Yardley, with Kwon and Merrow, to determine the performance of the data storage simulation device remains inside the predetermined acceptable range (i.e., does not trigger errors or exceeds the pre-defined thresholds), where the system would verify that the storage slot successfully handled the applied amount of power and thermal energy, as taught by Yardley ([0016]-[0018] & [0034]-[0035]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Kwon, teaches:
The CS of claim 17 (Fig. 2; [0006], [0016]-[0023], [0028], [0033], [0048], [0053] & [Claim 15]), wherein the program instructions are for causing the processor set to further perform the following computer operations (Fig. 4; [0006], [0016]-[0020], [0022], [0027], [0030]-[0031], [0033], [0046], [0048]-[0049], [0053], [0068] & [Claim 15]):
is not inside the predetermined range (Fig. 6; [Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0049], [0067]-[0069] & [Claim 1]: teaches system instructions that evaluate if performance exceeds a threshold):
indicate the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy are not verified (Fig. 4; [Abstract], [0006]-[0008], [0049], [0067]-[0069], & [Claim 1]: teaches the system identifying an error/failure under a specific load indicates that the is unverified/unsafe, programs the system to output the need for a mechanical design change if a “critical parameter…exceeds a predefined threshold…”, Step 490 “Indicate Design and/or Configurations”, teaches core concept of indicating a problem (e.g., a modification is needed) when a performance parameter is outside a tolerance); and
Merrow, in combination with Kwon, are silent in regard to:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device
store the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory.
However, Yardley, further teaches:
in response to determining that the performance of the data storage simulation device ([0034]-0035]: teaches the system evaluating if the introduced load causes errors/failures (i.e., performance falls outside the acceptable range))
store the first amount of power and/or the first amount of thermal energy in memory ([0016] & [0034]: teaches the system storing the power and temperature measurements in memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computer testing system of Kwon, as integrated with Merrow and Yardley, to program the system to indicate when a specific thermal/power load is not verified and store those specific load amounts in the system’s memory. The motivation for this modification, according to known methods, would be to maintain an automated, accurate, persistent system log of the exact physical stress conditions that cause system failures. Storing the unverified load data in memory allows hardware validation engineers to pinpoint the thermal and electrical limitations of the chassis subsystems and power delivery subsystems, enabling targeted mechanical design modifications, suggested by Kwon, and ensuring safe operating thresholds of the storage array are documented, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
verification process, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Kwon, teaches:
The CS of claim 17 (Fig. 4; [0016]-[0023], [0028], [0033], [0048], [0053] & [Claim 15]), from a host system to the data storage simulation device (Fig. 1; [0005]-[0006], [0008], [0016]-[0031], [0057], [0059], [0062], [0068]-[0069], & [Claim 1]: discloses a “host system 102” that is communicatively coupled to a “HDD array 130” and a “fan system 120”, hos system 102 includes a “processor 104” and a “mass storage device 110”, provides teaching of a host system communicating with storage devices, where it uses actual data storage devices (HDDs 132) whose performance is being tested and optimized).
Kwon, is silent in regard to:
wherein the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy includes sending power, ground, and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals
However, Merrow, further teaches:
wherein the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy includes sending power, ground (Figs. 12, 13, 23, & 24; [Abstract], [0008]-[0009], [0011], [0015], [0018]-[0019], [0083]-[0085], [0107]-[0112], [0122], [0128], [0141], [0148]-[0149], [Claim 14]-[Claim 15], & [Claim 17]: figures illustrate the resistive heaters 487/706 which are the “power load” that draws current (power) to release thermal energy), and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals ([0017]-[0018], [0083]-[0085], [0101], [0107]-[0108], [0119], [0121]-[0122], [0128]-[0131], [0144], [Claim 17], [Claim 19])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the causing of the power load to draw the first amount of power and release the first amount of thermal energy includes sending power, ground, and Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals, of Merrow to Kwon, in order to improve the storage device testing system, by combining the fundamental concept of a host system (test electronics) delivering power to a device (conductive heating assembly) to cause it to draw current and generate a precise amount of thermal energy, using a communication loop where the host receives sensor data and uses it to control the power delivery of Merrow, where Kwon proves a host system within a data storage environment (storage devices), monitoring device performing and controlling other system components (e.g., fans), combining with Kwon’s modern data storage testing, using standard, well-known, efficient serial communication protocols like I2C, that would provide communication between a host processor/microcontroller and peripheral chips (e.g., temperature sensors, power controllers, fan controllers), modifying the system of Merrow to use I2C signals for the communication and control, from a host to peripheral components, such as a storage device or a heating assembly, where a test system causes a processor to send power, ground, and I2C signals from a host to a data storage simulation device to cause a power load and release thermal energy, using a known technique to optimize a known system, creating a more robust testing method, yielding predictable results (KSR). Alternatively, can implement the low-speed system management communication bus of the computer system of Yardley ([0015], [0019] & [0021]-[0022]), utilizing Inter-Integrated Circuit (I2C) signals.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGO NAVARRO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 March 12, 2026
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 March 12, 2026