DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-13, 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2022/0344171 to Varghese et al. (Varghese) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2014/0107998 to Vukkadala et al. (Vukkadala) and US Patent Application Publication 2021/0264076 to Yamamoto et al. (Yamamoto).
Claims 1, 9 and 17
With regard to identifying, …, a profile of the out-of-plane deformation of the substrate; Varghese teaches performing front side metrology to parse out topography on a wafer (Fig. 3, step 301; par. 32).
With regard to characterizing a respective one of a plurality of elemental deformation shapes of the substrate; Varghese teaches a process to parse out and filter various orders of topography including 1st order bow correction information (pars. 32, 33).
With regard to identifying, based on at least a subset of the plurality of polynomial coefficients, one or more characteristics of a stress-compensation layer (SCL) for the substrate; Varghese teaches using correction information to determine stress/thickness of the film and deposition of film to the second side of the substrate (pars. 32, 33).
With regard to causing the SCL to be deposited on the substrate; Varghese teaches deposition of the stress compensation film (Fig. 3, step 302; par. 33).
With regard to performing the non-uniform stress-mitigation irradiation of the SCL using the identified settings, wherein the non-uniform stress-mitigation irradiation is performed using at least first settings for a first region of the SCL and second settings for a second region of the SCL; Varghese teaches performing an ion implant to the film (Fig. 3, step 306; pars. 34, 35).
Varghese does not teach using optical inspection data to identify the out-of-plane deformation and performing a polynomial decomposition of the identified profile to determine a plurality of polynomial coefficients.
Vukkadala teaches an optical image system to obtain a wafer shape image (par. 60). Vukkadala teaches processing polynomials with varying coefficients to determine sample wafer shapes including Zernike polynomials (pars 9, 33, 34, 49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the stress modulation, as taught by Varghese, to include optical measurement and processing a Zernike polynomial, as taught by Vukkadala, because more predictions of distortions would have been more accurate and efficient (Vukkadala, pars. 9, 54).
Varghese does not teach performing a plurality of statistical simulations to identify settings for a non-uniform stress-mitigation irradiation of the SCL, wherein performing the plurality of statistical simulations comprises sampling from one or more statistical distributions associated with previously performed stress-mitigation irradiations.
Yamamoto teaches simulation of process parameters and using process parameters and physical data for the simulation (pars. 91-93, 89, 131). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the stress modulation, as taught by Varghese, to include simulation of process parameters, as taught by Yamamoto, because then the amount of electricity and gas used would have been reduced (Yamamoto, pars. 112).
With regard to a memory; and a processing device communicatively coupled to the memory, as recited in claim 9, or a computing device as recited in claim 17, Varghese teaches a processor and memory (Fig. 5B, processor 552, memory 554; par. 42).
With regard to one or more processing chambers to process a substrate, as recited in claim 17, Varghese teaches a processing chamber (Fig. 5A, process chamber; par. 38).
Claims 2 and 10
Varghese teaches that the plurality of elemental deformation shapes of the substrate comprises a paraboloid deformation of the substrate and a saddle deformation of the substrate (pars. 25, 27, bowing).
Claims 3 and 11
Varghese does not teach that the polynomial decomposition of the identified profile comprises decomposition of the identified profile over Zernike polynomials. Vukkadala teaches Zernike polynomials (par. 49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the stress modulation, as taught by Varghese, to include optical measurement and processing a Zernike polynomial, as taught by Vukkadala, because more predictions of distortions would have been more accurate and efficient (Vukkadala, pars. 9, 54).
Claims 4, 12 and 18
Varghese teaches that the one or more characteristics of the SCL comprise one or more of: a material of the SCL, or a thickness of the SCL (par. 32, thickness).
Claims 5, 13 and 19
Varghese teaches that the identified settings comprise one or more of:
a type of particles of a stress-mitigation beam used for the non-uniform stress-mitigation irradiation of the SCL,
an energy of the particles of the stress-mitigation beam, or
an angle of incidence of the particles of the stress-mitigation beam on the SCL (par. 38, medium or high current ion implanter corresponds to an energy of the particles).
Claims 7, 15 and 20
Varghese teaches that the non-uniform stress-mitigation irradiation of the SCL comprises an ion implantation, and wherein the one or more statistical distributions comprise at least one of:
a distribution of depths of the ion implantation for one or more types of ions and/or one or more energies of the ions, or
a distribution of a number of generated vacancies for one or more types of ions and/or one or more energies of the ions (par. 31, depth).
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varghese in view of Vukkadala and Yamamoto.
Claims 8 and 16
Varghese, Vukkadala and Yamamoto teach all the limitations of claim 7 upon which claim 8 depends and claim 15 upon which claim 16 depends. Varghese, Vukkadala and Yamamoto do not teach that one or more of the distribution of depths or the distribution of the number of generated vacancies depend on an angle of incidence of the ions on the SCL. The Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known that depth of implantation is related to the angle of incidence of the ions and to control the depth by varying the angle of incidence. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the stress modulation, as taught by Varghese, to include distribution of depths that depend on an angle of incidence, because then the distribution of depths would have been controlled in a well known manner to more closely compensate for deformation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3, 4 and 16 of copending Application No. 18/431,860 in view of Yamamoto.
The claims of the present application correspond to the claims of the ‘860 Application as shown in the following chart.
Claims in the current application
18/431,860 corresponding claim
1
3
2
4
3
3
4
3
5
3
9
16
The claims of the ‘860 application include all the limitations of the current application except for performing a plurality of statistical simulations to identify settings for a non-uniform stress-mitigation irradiation of the SCL, wherein performing the plurality of statistical simulations comprises sampling from one or more statistical distributions associated with previously performed stress-mitigation irradiations.
Yamamoto teaches simulation of process parameters and using process parameters and physical data for the simulation (pars. 91-93, 89, 131). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claims of the present application, to include simulation of process parameters, as taught by Yamamoto, because then the amount of electricity and gas used would have been reduced (Yamamoto, pars. 112).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-5, 9-13 and 17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 11, 12, 17 and 20 of copending Application No. 18/431,909 in view of Yamamoto.
The claims of the present application correspond to the claims of the ‘909 application as shown in the following chart.
Claims in the current application
18/431,909 corresponding claims
1
1
2
1
3
2
4
7
5
8
9
11
10
11
11
12
12
17
13
17
17
20
The claims of the ‘909 application include all the limitations of the current application except for performing a plurality of statistical simulations to identify settings for a non-uniform stress-mitigation irradiation of the SCL, wherein performing the plurality of statistical simulations comprises sampling from one or more statistical distributions associated with previously performed stress-mitigation irradiations.
Yamamoto teaches simulation of process parameters and using process parameters and physical data for the simulation (pars. 91-93, 89, 131). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claims of the present application, to include simulation of process parameters, as taught by Yamamoto, because then the amount of electricity and gas used would have been reduced (Yamamoto, pars. 112).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MANUEL L BARBEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857