DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 01/05/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 10, 19 have been amended. Claim 6 and 15 have been cancelled. No claim has been added. Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on 01/05/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-12, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (US Pub 2017/0053542 A1) in view of Hajj et al. (US Pub 2021/0356288 A1).
As to claim 1, Wilson discloses a wallpaper display method (Wilson, Abstract, “watch faces” corresponds to wall paper.), comprising:
displaying a target wallpaper, wherein the target wallpaper comprises a scenario and an element (Wilson, abstract, “exercise-based watch faces and complications provide indications of time and affordances representing applications (e.g., a workout application or a weather application).” Fig. 10, Fig. 11a-c, Fig. 14A to 14U, ¶0272, “customizable context-specific user interfaces” ¶0329, “Whereas the context-specific user interface described in reference to FIG. 8 provides the user worldwide, customizable geographical information about day/night conditions, a context-specific user interface that provides the user customizable information about moon phases and other lunar features is illustrated in FIG. 9.” ¶0331, ¶0367-0369);
obtaining a target parameter of an electronic device (Wilson, ¶0248, “Activity sensors 520 can include one or more of any desired type of sensor, such as GPS sensor 532, accelerometer 534, directional sensor 540 (e.g., compass), gyroscope 536, motion sensor 538, other sensor(s) 541, and/or a combination thereof, all of which can be operatively connected to I/O section 514. While not shown, other sensor(s) 541 can include any of a pedometer, a passive infrared sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a microwave sensor, a tomographic motion detector, a camera, a biometric sensor, a light sensor, a timer, or the like.” ¶0250, “GPS sensor 532 can be used to determine a user's location and movement, as well as a displacement of the user's motion. Accelerometer 534, directional sensor 540, and gyroscope 536 can further generate activity data that can be used to determine whether a user of device 500 is engaging in an activity, is inactive, or is performing a gesture. Device 500 can further include a timer that can be used, for example, to add time dimensions to various attributes of the detected physical activity, such as a duration of a user's physical activity or inactivity, time(s) of a day when the activity is detected or not detected, etc.”); and
updating the scenario or the element in the target wallpaper when the target parameter changes (Wilson, ¶0250, “GPS sensor 532 can be used to determine a user's location and movement, as well as a displacement of the user's motion. Accelerometer 534, directional sensor 540, and gyroscope 536 can further generate activity data that can be used to determine whether a user of device 500 is engaging in an activity, is inactive, or is performing a gesture. Device 500 can further include a timer that can be used, for example, to add time dimensions to various attributes of the detected physical activity, such as a duration of a user's physical activity or inactivity, time(s) of a day when the activity is detected or not detected, etc.” ¶0370, “the color of the first and/or the second portion(s) can optionally indicate daytime (e.g., with a warm or bright color) or nighttime (e.g., with a dark or cool color). In some embodiments, the first and second portions can optionally be the same color, which can optionally be representative of the current light conditions. In these embodiments, the user may still be able to tell the current light conditions through the sinusoidal wave, optional horizon line, and/or optional appearance of the sun affordance (e.g., filled, half-filled, or hollow). In some embodiments, the sinusoidal wave can optionally include two or more colors, and these colors can optionally indicate the daytime and nighttime portions (e.g., parts of the wave in the daytime portion can optionally be one color, and parts of the wave in the nighttime portion can optionally be another). Moreover, the two portions can optionally be of any shape (not limited to rectangular). For example, the daytime portion can optionally appear as an illuminated circle that encompasses the sinusoidal wave, with the nighttime portion appearing all around the circle”), wherein
the target parameter comprises at least one of system time, weather information, steps, battery level information, or a running state of an application of the electronic device (Wilson, ¶0329, “Whereas the context-specific user interface described in reference to FIG. 8 provides the user worldwide, customizable geographical information about day/night conditions, a context-specific user interface that provides the user customizable information about moon phases and other lunar features is illustrated in FIG. 9.” ¶0317, “The device can optionally update the Earth to reflect global-scale by obtaining data from a weather service or external server, such as The Weather Channel, Accuweather, The National Weather Service, Yahoo!™ Weather, Weather Underground, the United States Naval Observatory, or the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.” ¶0128, “a power status indicator (e.g., a light-emitting diode (LED)) and any other components associated with the generation” ¶0938, “However, the appearance of 5712 indicates to the user what type of workout routine is begun upon detecting the user input. In this case, affordance 5712 indicates the workout routine is a user favorite routine, as depicted by the heart shape. In response to detecting the user input, device 5700 displays user interface screen 5720, which displays one or more workout parameters, as well as affordance 5722, which indicates the workout routine that is currently begun (in this case, the user's favorite run).”).
wherein the wallpaper display method further comprises:
determining the type of the application when the application is run, and displaying an identifier corresponding to the type of the application, wherein the identifier is adjacent to or at least partially overlaps the element (Wilson, Fig. 18A-B, ¶0266, “an active application, which is currently displayed on a display screen of the device that the application is being used on; a background application (or background processes), which is not currently displayed, but one or more processes for the application are being processed by one or more processors” ¶0272, “Complications can optionally provide different types of information to a user, such as data obtained from an application, and the information conveyed to a user by a complication is also customizable, as described below.” ¶0575, “the affordance representing the complication on the clock face can optionally display a set of information from the corresponding application.” ¶0577, “Screen 1802 includes clock face 1804 and affordances 1806 and 1808, which are displayed as complications. Affordances 1806 and 1808 represent applications and include a set of information obtained from the corresponding application. In this example, affordance 1806 represents a weather application and displays weather conditions obtained from the weather application. Affordance 1808 represents a calendar application and displays the current date obtained from the calendar application. Affordance 1806 and affordance 1808 are updated in accordance with data from the corresponding application.”), wherein:
the application comprises: a music application, a navigation application, a shared bicycle application, or a taxi taking application (Wilson, Fig. 1A, Fig. 4A, ¶0144, “to applications that provide location-based services such as weather widgets, local yellow page widgets, and map/navigation widgets” ¶0240, “icon 422 for video and music player module 152 is labeled “Music” or “Music Player.””), and
Wilson does not explicitly disclose the identifier corresponding to the type of the application comprises: a headset, a sound box, a navigation arrow, a bicycle, or a car.
Hajj teaches the identifier corresponding to the type of the application comprises: a headset, a sound box, a navigation arrow, a bicycle, or a car (Hajj, Fig. 6D, Fig. 10E-F, ¶0203, “an indication 610e of safety characteristics of one or more segments of the route associated with the currently selected mode of transportation (e.g., bicycle), and a selectable option 610g that, when selected, causes the electronic device 500 to begin providing navigation directions while the user travels along the route.” ¶0319, ¶0333, “displays an indication of the U-turn that includes an image of an arrow in a U-turn shape” Fig. 10G and Fig. 10H).
Wilson and Hajj are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to image display. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson with the features of “the identifier corresponding to the type of the application comprises: a headset, a sound box, a navigation arrow, a bicycle, or a car” as taught by Hajj. The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses the target parameter comprises a first parameter and a second parameter (Wilson, Fig. 14L, Fig. 18A and B), and the updating the scenario or the element in the target wallpaper when the target parameter changes comprises:
updating the scenario in the target wallpaper when the first parameter changes, wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of system time, weather information, or steps (Wilson, ¶0577, “Device 1800 displays user interface screen 1802. Screen 1802 includes clock face 1804 and affordances 1806 and 1808, which are displayed as complications. Affordances 1806 and 1808 represent applications and include a set of information obtained from the corresponding application. In this example, affordance 1806 represents a weather application and displays weather conditions obtained from the weather application. Affordance 1808 represents a calendar application and displays the current date obtained from the calendar application. Affordance 1806 and affordance 1808 are updated in accordance with data from the corresponding application. For example, affordance 1806 is updated to display current weather conditions obtained from the weather application. Affordance 1808 is updated to display the current date obtained from the calendar application. For example, these complications can optionally be application widgets updated based on application data.” ¶0485, “as shown in FIG. 14L, user interface screen 15602 includes character user interface object 15604 with umbrella 15606, as well as raindrops 15608. In some embodiments, device 14000 can optionally display a user interface object to reflect the designated weather condition. In some embodiments, the character user interface object can optionally be animated to react to the user interface object reflective of a designated weather condition.”), and
updating the element in the target wallpaper when the second parameter changes, wherein the second parameter comprises at least one of system time, steps, battery level information, or a running state of an application of the electronic device (Wilson, ¶0577, “Device 1800 displays user interface screen 1802. Screen 1802 includes clock face 1804 and affordances 1806 and 1808, which are displayed as complications. Affordances 1806 and 1808 represent applications and include a set of information obtained from the corresponding application. In this example, affordance 1806 represents a weather application and displays weather conditions obtained from the weather application. Affordance 1808 represents a calendar application and displays the current date obtained from the calendar application. Affordance 1806 and affordance 1808 are updated in accordance with data from the corresponding application. For example, affordance 1806 is updated to display current weather conditions obtained from the weather application. Affordance 1808 is updated to display the current date obtained from the calendar application. For example, these complications can optionally be application widgets updated based on application data.”).
As to claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses the element is a human-shaped element (Wilson, Fig. 14B to Fig. 14R),
the second parameter comprises steps and a running state of an application of the electronic device (Wilson, ¶0932, “A workout routine can optionally include any routine that includes one or more parameters of a user workout, including but not limited to duration (e.g., elapsed time); number repetitions of a physical activity (e.g., weightlifting, circuit training, swinging a golf club or tennis racket, jumping rope, laps, etc.); time(s) of a day when the user performs physical activity; amount of Calories burned by a user of the device while performing physical activity; distance travelled by a user of the device while performing physical activity (e.g., running, jogging, walking, swimming, etc.); steps taken by a user of the device while performing physical activity; elevation climbed by a user of the device while performing physical activity; highest/lowest/average velocity of a user of the device while performing physical activity; highest/lowest/average heart rate of a user of the device while performing physical activity; highest/lowest/average body temperature of a user of the device while performing physical activity; or the like. In some embodiments, a workout routine can optionally be based on one or more of these workout parameters, or any combination of these workout parameters.”), and the updating the element in the target wallpaper when the second parameter changes comprises:
obtaining change information of steps and a running state of a first application when steps and the running state of the first application change (Wilson, Fig. 57A-B, Fig. 58, Fig. 59-fig. 60. ¶0934, “one or more of these affordances can optionally be updated (e.g., in designated intervals, or continuously) to reflect a user's progress in one or more workout parameters. Exemplary affordances can optionally include, without limitation, a timer, lap or repetition counter, pedometer or other distance indicator, heart rate monitor, calorie tracker, speed indicator, and so forth. One or more of these affordances can optionally be updated using data obtained by one or more of activity sensors 520, e.g., GPS sensor 532, accelerometer 534, directional sensor 540 (e.g., compass), gyroscope 536, motion sensor 538, and/or other sensor(s) 541 (e.g., a biometric sensor).” ¶0946, “Based on activity data generated by the activity sensor (e.g., 520), device 5700 detects an indication of user physical activity. In order to detect an indication of user physical activity, device 5700, or any of the devices described herein, can optionally include one or more processors (e.g., 516) that can be configured to process activity data (e.g., from activity sensor(s) 520) to determine if the physical activity data represents a physical activity or a gesture being performed by the user, where a physical activity can generally refer to any bodily motion that can enhance or maintain physical fitness and overall health and wellness.” ¶0947, “identify the type or intensity of physical activity represented by the activity data, such as whether the detected activity is standing, bicycling, jogging, walking, running, swimming, jumping, going up stairs, a rapid movement (such as from wrestling or other martial arts), or the like.” “The physical activity threshold can be represented as a distance traveled, a speed, a number of Calories burned, a number of steps taken, any one or more of these attributes calculated per unit time, or the like.”); and
updating a posture of the human-shaped element based on the change information of steps and the running state of the first application (Wilson, ¶0472, “the character can optionally adopt a posture, assume a facial expression, or use its limbs for a function other than indicating time, such as conveying a meaning related to the event and/or the condition.” ¶0488, “a device (such as device 14000) displaying a character user interface object indicating time can optionally receive data indicating user activity. For example, the device can optionally include a user activity monitor (such as a workout monitor), an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a motion sensor, and/or a combination thereof. The device can optionally determine whether the data indicating user activity is received outside of a threshold interval after a previous user activity. For example, the device can optionally determine whether a threshold period of time has elapsed since the last data indicating user activity (e.g., the last user workout). If the device determines that the data indicating user activity is received outside of the threshold interval after a previous user activity, the device can optionally animate the character user interface object to reflect inactivity. For example, the character can optionally change an expression and/or posture to represent boredom, a sedentary or recumbent posture, a sullen or apathetic appearance, and so forth.” ¶0492.), wherein
the first application is a sports application, and the posture of the human-shaped element comprises a standing posture, a sitting posture, a lying posture, or a flying posture (Wilson, Fig. 14N, Fig. 14R, ¶0490, “Device 14000 can optionally determine whether the user activity is current user activity, and, if so, animate character user interface object 15804 to represent exercise. For example, user interface screen 15802 includes character user interface object 15804 and barbell 15806. In some embodiments, device 14000 can optionally animate the character user interface object to depict an activity related to exercise, such as motion, running, weight lifting, swimming, bicycling, pushups, and/or sweat, heavy breathing, or any other signs of physical exertion.” ¶0492, “animate the character user interface object to indicate fatigue.” “animate character user interface object 15904 to shift position, portray physical effort, and the like.” ¶0965, “Ben's updated avatar or profile picture 5808 indicates a workout by displaying a graphical indication of exercise, such as a picture of Ben running, or a graphical representation of a runner.”).
As to claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses the target parameter comprises system time (Wilson, ¶0371), and the updating the scenario or the element in the target wallpaper when the target parameter changes comprises:
updating a display parameter of the scenario or the element in a first manner when the system time changes and the changed system time is in a first time period (Wilson, ¶0371, “In some embodiments, device 1100 can optionally have a location sensor (e.g., GPS sensor 532 and/or GPS module 135). In these embodiments, device 1100 can optionally obtain a current location of the device from the location sensor and indicate daytime and nighttime hours at the current location at the current time through the ratio of the displayed first and second portions. That is to say, the size of the daytime and nighttime portions of the display can optionally be adjusted, relative to daytime hours at the current location and date.”); and
updating a display parameter of the scenario or the element in a second manner when the system time changes and the changed system time is in a second time period (Wilson, ¶0371, “if the current location is near the Arctic Circle during summer, the daytime portion can optionally include all or nearly all of the screen, such that all or nearly all of the displayed sinusoidal wave is within the daytime portion. As another example, if the user were to travel latitudinally across the globe, the position of affordance 1110, 1122, or 1132 (for example) would not change, but the ratio of daytime: nighttime portions and relative amount of the sinusoidal wave within each would be adjusted to reflect the current location. This provides a more realistic depiction of the time of day to the user, thus enhancing the user interface.”), wherein
the display parameter comprises at least one of dominant hue, contrast, saturation, brightness, or luminance (Wilson, ¶0370, “the color of the first and/or the second portion(s) can optionally indicate daytime (e.g., with a warm or bright color) or nighttime (e.g., with a dark or cool color). In some embodiments, the first and second portions can optionally be the same color, which can optionally be representative of the current light conditions. In these embodiments, the user may still be able to tell the current light conditions through the sinusoidal wave, optional horizon line, and/or optional appearance of the sun affordance (e.g., filled, half-filled, or hollow). In some embodiments, the sinusoidal wave can optionally include two or more colors, and these colors can optionally indicate the daytime and nighttime portions (e.g., parts of the wave in the daytime portion can optionally be one color, and parts of the wave in the nighttime portion can optionally be another). Moreover, the two portions can optionally be of any shape (not limited to rectangular). For example, the daytime portion can optionally appear as an illuminated circle that encompasses the sinusoidal wave, with the nighttime portion appearing all around the circle.” ¶0583, “a displayed complication that is not updated in response to detecting the movement of the rotatable input mechanism can optionally be visually distinguished, such as by changing a hue, saturation, and/or lightness of the displayed complication.”).
As to claim 8, claim 7 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses before the updating a display parameter of the scenario or the element in a first manner or updating a display parameter of the scenario or the element in a second manner, the method further comprises:
determining, based on positioning information of the electronic device or a third application, sunrise time and sunset time corresponding to a location of a user (Wilson, ¶0367-0370. ¶0371, “In some embodiments, device 1100 can optionally have a location sensor (e.g., GPS sensor 532 and/or GPS module 135). In these embodiments, device 1100 can optionally obtain a current location of the device from the location sensor and indicate daytime and nighttime hours at the current location at the current time through the ratio of the displayed first and second portions. That is to say, the size of the daytime and nighttime portions of the display can optionally be adjusted, relative to daytime hours at the current location and date.”); and
determining the first time period and the second time period based on the sunrise time and the sunset time, wherein the third application is a weather application (Wilson, ¶0705, ¶0484-0485. ¶0515, ¶0526, ¶0771, “on the display unit (e.g., display unit 5102), of the character user interface object to announce the hour on the hour for one or more hours. In some embodiments, the first data indicates current or forecasted weather; the condition corresponds to one or more designated weather conditions; determining whether the event meets the condition comprises determining whether the current or forecasted weather is one of the one or more designated weather conditions; and enabling update (e.g., with update enabling unit 5114), on the display unit (e.g., display unit 5102), of the displayed character user interface object comprises enabling change (e.g., with change enabling unit 5124), on the display unit (e.g., display unit 5102), of the visual aspect of the character user interface object to reflect the current or forecasted weather.”).
As to claim 9, claim 2 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses the first parameter comprises weather information, and the updating the scenario in the target wallpaper when the first parameter changes comprises: obtaining target weather when the weather information changes; and updating a display effect of the scenario in the target wallpaper based on the target weather (Wilson, Fig. 14L, ¶0484, “Device 14000 can optionally receive data indicating current or forecasted weather. To receive data indicating current or forecasted weather, device 14000 can optionally retrieve weather information from an external server.”. ¶0485, “Device 14000 can optionally determine whether the current or forecasted weather corresponds to one or more designated weather conditions. Designated weather conditions can optionally be system-designated and can optionally include favorable weather conditions such as sunshine or inclement weather conditions such as rain, thunderstorms, wind, snow, and so forth. If device 14000 determines that the current or forecasted weather corresponds to one or more designated weather conditions, device 14000 can optionally update the character user interface object to reflect the current or forecasted weather.” ¶0771, “on the display unit (e.g., display unit 5102), of the character user interface object to announce the hour on the hour for one or more hours. In some embodiments, the first data indicates current or forecasted weather; the condition corresponds to one or more designated weather conditions; determining whether the event meets the condition comprises determining whether the current or forecasted weather is one of the one or more designated weather conditions; and enabling update (e.g., with update enabling unit 5114), on the display unit (e.g., display unit 5102), of the displayed character user interface object comprises enabling change (e.g., with change enabling unit 5124), on the display unit (e.g., display unit 5102), of the visual aspect of the character user interface object to reflect the current or forecasted weather.”).
As to claim 10, the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses an electronic device, comprising a processor; and a memory having a computer program or an instruction stored thereon, wherein the computer program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising: displaying a target wallpaper, wherein the target wallpaper comprises a scenario and an element; obtaining a target parameter of the electronic device; and updating the scenario or the element in the target wallpaper when the target parameter changes, wherein the target parameter comprises at least one of system time, weather information, steps, battery level information, or a running state of an application of the electronic device, wherein the operations further comprise: determining the type of the application when the application is run, and displaying an identifier corresponding to the type of the application, wherein the identifier is adjacent to or at least partially overlaps the element, wherein: the application comprises: a music application, a navigation application, a shared bicycle application, or a taxi taking application, and the identifier corresponding to the type of the application comprises: a headset, a sound box, a navigation arrow, a bicycle, or a car. (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 11, claim 10 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses the target parameter comprises a first parameter and a second parameter, and the updating the scenario or the element in the target wallpaper when the target parameter changes comprises: updating the scenario in the target wallpaper when the first parameter changes, wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of system time, weather information, or steps, and updating the element in the target wallpaper when the second parameter changes, wherein the second parameter comprises at least one of system time, steps, battery level information, or a running state of an application of the electronic device (See claim 2 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses the element is a human-shaped element, the second parameter comprises steps and a running state of an application of the electronic device, and the updating the element in the target wallpaper when the second parameter changes comprises: obtaining change information of steps and a running state of a first application when steps and the running state of the first application change; and updating a posture of the human-shaped element based on the change information of steps and the running state of the first application, wherein the first application is a sports application, and the posture of the human-shaped element comprises a standing posture, a sitting posture, a lying posture, or a flying posture (See claim 3 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 16, claim 10 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses the target parameter comprises system time, and the updating the scenario or the element in the target wallpaper when the target parameter changes comprises: updating a display parameter of the scenario or the element in a first manner when the system time changes and the changed system time is in a first time period; and updating a display parameter of the scenario or the element in a second manner when the system time changes and the changed system time is in a second time period, wherein the display parameter comprises at least one of dominant hue, contrast, saturation, brightness, or luminance (See claim 7 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 17, claim 16 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses before the updating a display parameter of the scenario or the element in a first manner or updating a display parameter of the scenario or the element in a second manner, the operations further comprise: determining, based on positioning information of the electronic device or a third application, sunrise time and sunset time corresponding to a location of a user; and determining the first time period and the second time period based on the sunrise time and the sunset time, wherein the third application is a weather application (See claim 8 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 18, claim 11 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses the first parameter comprises weather information, and the updating the scenario in the target wallpaper when the first parameter changes comprises: obtaining target weather when the weather information changes; and updating a display effect of the scenario in the target wallpaper based on the target weather (See claim 9 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 19, the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, storing a computer program or an instruction that, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising: displaying a target wallpaper, wherein the target wallpaper comprises a scenario and an element; obtaining a target parameter of an electronic device; and updating the scenario or the element in the target wallpaper when the target parameter changes, wherein the target parameter comprises at least one of system time, weather information, steps, battery level information, or a running state of an application of the electronic device, wherein the operations further comprise: determining the type of the application when the application is run, and displaying an identifier corresponding to the type of the application, wherein the identifier is adjacent to or at least partially overlaps the element, wherein: the application comprises: a music application, a navigation application, a shared bicycle application, or a taxi taking application, and the identifier corresponding to the type of the application comprises: a headset, a sound box, a navigation arrow, a bicycle, or a car. (See claim 1 for detailed analysis.).
As to claim 20, claim 19 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Hajj discloses the target parameter comprises a first parameter and a second parameter, and the updating the scenario or the element in the target wallpaper when the target parameter changes comprises: updating the scenario in the target wallpaper when the first parameter changes, wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of system time, weather information, or steps, and updating the element in the target wallpaper when the second parameter changes, wherein the second parameter comprises at least one of system time, steps, battery level information, or a running state of an application of the electronic device (See claim 2 for detailed analysis.).
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (US Pub 2017/0053542 A1) in view of Hajj et al. (US Pub 2021/0356288 A1) and Liu (US Pub 2023/0072463 A1).
As to claim 4, claim 3 is incorporated and Wilson discloses the updating a posture of the human-shaped element based on the change information of steps and the running state of the first application (Wilson, Fig. 14B to Fig. 14R, ¶0932, “A workout routine can optionally include any routine that includes one or more parameters of a user workout, including but not limited to duration (e.g., elapsed time); number repetitions of a physical activity (e.g., weightlifting, circuit training, swinging a golf club or tennis racket, jumping rope, laps, etc.); time(s) of a day when the user performs physical activity; amount of Calories burned by a user of the device while performing physical activity; distance travelled by a user of the device while performing physical activity (e.g., running, jogging, walking, swimming, etc.); steps taken by a user of the device while performing physical activity; elevation climbed by a user of the device while performing physical activity; highest/lowest/average velocity of a user of the device while performing physical activity; highest/lowest/average heart rate of a user of the device while performing physical activity; highest/lowest/average body temperature of a user of the device while performing physical activity; or the like. In some embodiments, a workout routine can optionally be based on one or more of these workout parameters, or any combination of these workout parameters.”) comprises:
updating the posture of the human-shaped element to the standing posture when steps change within first time (Wilson, ¶0934, “one or more of these affordances can optionally be updated (e.g., in designated intervals, or continuously) to reflect a user's progress in one or more workout parameters. Exemplary affordances can optionally include, without limitation, a timer, lap or repetition counter, pedometer or other distance indicator, heart rate monitor, calorie tracker, speed indicator, and so forth. One or more of these affordances can optionally be updated using data obtained by one or more of activity sensors 520, e.g., GPS sensor 532, accelerometer 534, directional sensor 540 (e.g., compass), gyroscope 536, motion sensor 538, and/or other sensor(s) 541 (e.g., a biometric sensor).” ¶0946, “Based on activity data generated by the activity sensor (e.g., 520), device 5700 detects an indication of user physical activity. In order to detect an indication of user physical activity, device 5700, or any of the devices described herein, can optionally include one or more processors (e.g., 516) that can be configured to process activity data (e.g., from activity sensor(s) 520) to determine if the physical activity data represents a physical activity or a gesture being performed by the user, where a physical activity can generally refer to any bodily motion that can enhance or maintain physical fitness and overall health and wellness.” ¶0947, “identify the type or intensity of physical activity represented by the activity data, such as whether the detected activity is standing, bicycling, jogging, walking, running, swimming, jumping, going up stairs, a rapid movement (such as from wrestling or other martial arts), or the like.” “The physical activity threshold can be represented as a distance traveled, a speed, a number of Calories burned, a number of steps taken, any one or more of these attributes calculated per unit time, or the like.” ¶0490, “Device 14000 can optionally receive data indicating user activity. For example, the device can optionally include a user activity monitor (such as a workout monitor), an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a motion sensor, and/or a combination thereof. Device 14000 can optionally determine whether the user activity is current user activity, and, if so, animate character user interface object 15804 to represent exercise. For example, user interface screen 15802 includes character user interface object 15804 and barbell 15806. In some embodiments, device 14000 can optionally animate the character user interface object to depict an activity related to exercise, such as motion, running, weight lifting, swimming, bicycling, pushups, and/or sweat, heavy breathing, or any other signs of physical exertion. In some embodiments, the activity monitor can optionally include options for the user to indicate which activity they are going to begin. In these cases the character appearance can optionally be changed to reflect the selected activity option.”);
updating the posture of the human-shaped element to the sitting posture when steps remain unchanged within second time (Wilson, ¶0472, “the character can optionally adopt a posture, assume a facial expression, or use its limbs for a function other than indicating time, such as conveying a meaning related to the event and/or the condition.” ¶0488, “a device (such as device 14000) displaying a character user interface object indicating time can optionally receive data indicating user activity. For example, the device can optionally include a user activity monitor (such as a workout monitor), an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a motion sensor, and/or a combination thereof. The device can optionally determine whether the data indicating user activity is received outside of a threshold interval after a previous user activity. For example, the device can optionally determine whether a threshold period of time has elapsed since the last data indicating user activity (e.g., the last user workout). If the device determines that the data indicating user activity is received outside of the threshold interval after a previous user activity, the device can optionally animate the character user interface object to reflect inactivity. For example, the character can optionally change an expression and/or posture to represent boredom, a sedentary or recumbent posture, a sullen or apathetic appearance, and so forth.” ¶0492.);
updating the posture of the human-shaped element to the lying posture when time in which steps remain unchanged is greater than or equal to third time (Wilson, ¶0488, “a device (such as device 14000) displaying a character user interface object indicating time can optionally receive data indicating user activity. For example, the device can optionally include a user activity monitor (such as a workout monitor), an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a motion sensor, and/or a combination thereof. The device can optionally determine whether the data indicating user activity is received outside of a threshold interval after a previous user activity. For example, the device can optionally determine whether a threshold period of time has elapsed since the last data indicating user activity (e.g., the last user workout). If the device determines that the data indicating user activity is received outside of the threshold interval after a previous user activity, the device can optionally animate the character user interface object to reflect inactivity. For example, the character can optionally change an expression and/or posture to represent boredom, a sedentary or recumbent posture, a sullen or apathetic appearance, and so forth.” ¶0492.); and
Wilson does not explicitly discloses updating the posture of the human-shaped element to the flying state when the first application is run.
However, “flying state” is an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art.
Wilson teaches “an active application” “a background application” (¶0266) and “this context-specific user interface is not limited by the particular animated user interface object. The animated sequences can optionally be specific to the displayed objects” (¶0408).
Liu teaches “updating the posture of the human-shaped element to the flying state when the first application is run.” (Liu, ¶0031, “The activities of the first virtual object include, but are not limited to: at least one of adjusting body postures, crawling, walking, running, riding, flying, jumping, driving, picking, shooting, attacking, and throwing. For example, the first virtual object is a first virtual character, such as a simulated character role or an animation character role.”).
Wilson and Liu are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to animation character. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson with the features of “updating the posture of the human-shaped element to the flying state when the first application is run” as taught by Liu. The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claim 13, claim 12 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Liu discloses the updating a posture of the human-shaped element based on the change information of steps and the running state of the first application comprises: updating the posture of the human-shaped element to the standing posture when steps change within first time; updating the posture of the human-shaped element to the sitting posture when steps remain unchanged within second time; updating the posture of the human-shaped element to the lying posture when time in which steps remain unchanged is greater than or equal to third time; and updating the posture of the human-shaped element to the flying state when the first application is run (See claim 4 for detailed analysis.).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (US Pub 2017/0053542 A1) in view of Hajj et al. (US Pub 2021/0356288 A1) and Wu (CN 106982296 A).
As to claim 5, claim 2 is incorporated and Wilson discloses the element is a human-shaped element (Wilson, Fig. 14B to Fig. 14R), the second parameter comprises battery level information, and the updating the element in the target wallpaper when the second parameter changes (Wilson, ¶0217, “Battery status indicator”) comprises:
Wilson does not disclose updating a display effect of the human-shaped element based on battery level information of the electronic device when the electronic device is in a charging state.
Wu teaches updating a display effect of the human-shaped element based on battery level information of the electronic device when the electronic device is in a charging state (Wu, ¶0114, “the current battery power of the mobile terminal is obtained from the background data in real time. When the power of the mobile terminal is lower than the preset power, the animated character is controlled to make a decadent and powerless expression, and at the same time, the health index of the animated character is controlled to decline, and the current The state of low battery will send an early warning to the user to remind the user to charge. When the user makes the current power of the mobile terminal equal to or higher than the preset power through the charging operation, the animated character is controlled to return to normal expressions (for example, calm), and at the same time, the health index of the animated character is controlled to display Upward trend.”).
Wilson and Wu are considered to be analogous art because all pertain to animation character. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wilson with the features of “updating a display effect of the human-shaped element based on battery level information of the electronic device when the electronic device is in a charging state” as taught by Wu. The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claim 14, claim 11 is incorporated and the combination of Wilson and Wu discloses the element is a human-shaped element, the second parameter comprises battery level information, and the updating the element in the target wallpaper when the second parameter changes comprises: updating a display effect of the human-shaped element based on battery level information of the electronic device when the electronic device is in a charging state (See claim 5 for detailed analysis.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613