Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (U. S. Patent 6,872,583).
As for claim 1, Wu discloses (see Figs. 2A, 2B, 3A and 3B; col. 3, line 1—col. 4, line 20) a capacitance measurement method for a capacitive device (114), comprising:
providing a wafer (205), wherein the wafer is formed with the capacitive device (114), and the wafer (205) is provided with a set of calibration test pads (dummy pads 122, 123) and a set of test pads (pads 112, 113);
applying a test signal (using probe card 230) to the set of calibration test pads (122, 123) through a first test path to measure a first capacitance between two calibration test pads (122, 123) in the set of calibration test pads (see col. 3, lines 40-50);
applying the test signal (using the probe card 230) to the set of test pads (112, 113) through a second test path to measure a second capacitance between two test pads in the set of test pads (see col. 3, line 63—col. 4, line 9), wherein the capacitive device (114) is coupled between the two test pads (112, 113); and
obtaining a capacitance of the capacitive device (114) based on a difference between the first
capacitance and the second capacitance (i.e., by subtract the parasitic capacitance or zeroing-out the effect of the parasitic capacitance, see col. 3, line 1—col. 4, line 9).
wherein a connection line between a center point of a first calibration test pad (122)of the two calibration test pads and a center point of a first test pad (112) of the two test pads is a first connection line, a connection line between a center point of a second calibration test pad (123) of the two calibration test pads and a center point of a second test pad (113) of the two test pads is a second connection line, the first connection line and the second connection line are parallel with each other, and
a distance between the center point of the first calibration test pad (122)of the two calibration test pads and the center point of the first test pad (112) of the two test pads is equal to a distance between the center point of the second calibration test pad (123) of the two calibration test pads and the center point of the second test pad (113) of the two test pads (see Figs. 2A, 2B and 3A, 3B, wherein the dummy structure 120 is identical to the test structure 110; col. 3, lines 29—40).
As for claim 2, Wu discloses the capacitance measurement method according to claim 1, further comprising:
measuring a voltage value between the two calibration test pads (122, 123) and a current value flowing between the two calibration test pads (122, 123) based on the test signal, and calculating the first capacitance based on a time variation rate of the voltage value and the current value; and
measuring a voltage value between the two test pads (112, 113) and a current value flowing between the two test pads (112, 113) based on the test signal, and calculating the second capacitance based on a time variation rate of the voltage value and the current value (col. 3, line 1—col. 4, line 9).
As for claim 4, Wu discloses the capacitance measurement method according to claim 1, a distance between respective center points of the two calibration test pads (122, 123) in the set of calibration test pads is equal to a distance between respective center points of the two test pads (112, 113) in the set of test pads (see Figs. 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B wherein the dummy structure 120 is identical to the test structure 110; col. 3, lines 29—40).
As for claim 5, Wu discloses the capacitance measurement method according to claim 1, wherein a size of each of the two calibration test pads in the set of calibration test pads (122, 123) is the same as a size of each of the two test pads in the set of test pads (112, 113) (see col. 3, lines 29-40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (U. S. Patent 6,872,583).
As for claims 7, 12 and 13, Wu discloses (see Figs. 2A, 2B, 3A and 3B; col. 3, line 1—col. 4, line 20) a capacitance measurement method for a capacitive device (114), comprising:
providing a wafer (205), wherein the wafer is formed with the capacitive device (114), and the wafer (205) is provided with a set of calibration test pads (122, 123) and a set of test pads (112, 113);
providing a test probe card (probe card 230);
applying a test signal (by using the probe card 230) to the set of calibration test pads (122, 123) to make the test probe card (230) be coupled to the set of calibration test pads (122, 123), so as to measure a first capacitance between the two calibration test pads in the set of calibration test pads (see col. 3, lines 40-50);
applying the test signal (by using the probe card 230) to the set of test pads (112, 113) to make the test probe card (230) be coupled to the set of test pads, so as to measure a second capacitance between the two test pads in the set of test pads (see col. 3, line 63—col. 4, line 9), wherein the capacitive device (114) is coupled between the two test pads (112, 113);
obtaining a capacitance of the capacitive device based on a difference between the first
capacitance and the second capacitance (i.e., by subtract the parasitic capacitance or zeroing-out the effect of the parasitic capacitance, see col. 3, line 1—col. 4, line 9);
wherein a distance between respective center points of the two calibration test pads (122, 123) in the set of calibration test pads is equal to a distance between respective center points of the two test pads (112, 113) in the set of test pads (see Figs. 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B wherein the dummy structure 120 is identical to the test structure 110; col. 3, lines 29—40).
Still referring to claims 7, 12 and 13, Wu does not explicitly disclose using a switch device provided on the test probe card, for selectively applying the test signal to either the set of calibration test pads or to the set of test pads; wherein the switch device is a relay switch or a transistor switch.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to disclose using a conventional switch device, such as a relay switch or a transistor switch, to apply the test signal to either the set of calibration test pads or the set of test pads, for the purpose of automatically and selectively connecting and applying the test signals to the dummy test structure or the test structure in Wu, or the probe card having a plurality of probes can be selectively coupled to all of the dummy and test pads for simultaneously measuring all the capacitance measurements (see col. 4, lines 15-21).
As for claim 8, Wu discloses the capacitance measurement method according to claim 7, further comprising: measuring a voltage value between the two calibration test pads (122, 123) and a current value flowing between the two calibration test pads (122, 123) based on the test signal, and calculating the first capacitance based on a time variation rate of the voltage value and the current value; and
measuring a voltage value between the two test pads (112, 113) and a current value flowing between the two test pads (112, 113) based on the test signal, and calculating the second capacitance based on a time variation rate of the voltage value and the current value (col. 3, line 1—col. 4, line 9).
As for claim 10, Wu discloses the capacitance measurement method according to claim 7, wherein a size of each of the two calibration test pads in the set of calibration test pads (122, 123) is the same as a size of each of the two test pads in the set of test pads (112, 113) (see col. 3, lines 29-40).
As for claim 11, Wu discloses the capacitance measurement method according to claim 7, wherein providing the test probe card (230) further comprises:
providing a first set of test probes and a second set of test probes on the test probe card (col. 4, lines 18-21);
switching to the first set of test probes by operating the switch device so that the first set of test probes (232, 233) is coupled to the set of calibration test pads (122, 123); and
switching to the second set of test probes by operating the switch device so that the second
set of test probes (232, 233) is coupled to the set of test pads (112, 113).
As for claims 6 and 14, Wu discloses the capacitance measurement method according to claims 1 and 7, wherein the capacitive device (114, transistor) is tested.
Wu does not explicitly disclose that the capacitive device tested is a deep trench capacitor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to disclose that the capacitive device is a deep trench capacitor, for the purpose of accurately testing the deep trench capacitor, or any other desired types of capacitive device by cancelling out the effect of the parasitic capacitance in the capacitive measurement result (see Wu, col. 2, lines 48-67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Wu fails to teach a distance between the center point of one test pad and one corresponding dummy test pad is equal to the distance between the center point of another test pad and another corresponding dummy test pad, the examiner asserts that it is clear from Fig. 2A/2B that the two distance are equal to each other.
Wu’s Fig. 2A is reproduced below.
It is clearly shown in Fig. 2A and in Wu’s specification that the test structure 110 and the dummy test structure 120 have identical structure, and:
the distance between the two dummy/calibration test pads (122 and 123) is equal to the distance between the two test pads (112 and 113); and
a distance between the center point of the first dummy/calibration test pad (122) and the center point of the first test pad (112) is equal to a distance between the center point of the second dummy/calibration test pad (123) and the center point of the second test pad (113).
Therefore, by teaching the test structure 110 and the dummy test structure 120 have identical structure, Wu not only discloses that the distance between the two test pads (112 and 113) is equal to the distance between the two dummy/calibration test pads (122 and 123). It also discloses as shown in Fig. 2A that the distance between the center point of the first dummy/calibration test pad (122) and the center point of the first test pad (112) is equal to the distance between the two test pads (112 and 113) plus the distance between pads 113 and 122. And the distance between the center point of the second dummy/calibration test pad (123) and the center point of the second test pad (113) is equal to the distance between the two dummy/calibration test pads (122 and 123) plus the same distance between pads 113 and 122.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMY HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858