DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in respond to the amendment filed on 12/17/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 1, the recitation “the first and second transistors” recited on line 4 lacks antecedent basis. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-7 and 27-28 are indefinite because they depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 16-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang (US 2022/0397607).
For claim 1, Figure 13 of Kang teaches a circuit comprising: a master latch (100 except for 145) configured to receive a data signal (D) and a first timing signal (M3CK) having a first phase and to generate a master latch output signal (M3) based on the data signal (D) and the first timing signal (M3CK); wherein the first (MP174) and second (MP163 inside “130,160”, see Figure 14) transistors of the master latch are configured to receive the first timing signal (M3CK), and each of the first (MP174) and second (MP163 inside “130,160”, see Figure 14) transistors includes a source/drain terminal connected to an operating voltage node (VDD); and a slave latch (230, 241, 300) coupled to the master latch (100 except 145), the slave latch (230, 241, 300) configured to receive the master latch output signal (M3) and a second timing signal (nclk) having a second phase, to store digital data (QI) based on the master latch output signal (M3), and to generate a flip flop output signal (QN) based on the master latch output signal (M3).
For claim 2, Figure 13 of Kang teaches a transmission gate (220) coupled to the master latch (100 except 145) and the slave latch (230, 241, 300), the transmission gate (220) configured to transfer the master latch output signal (M3) from the master latch (100 except 145) to the slave latch (230, 241, 300).
For claim 3, Figure 13 of Kang teaches wherein the master latch (100 except 145) does not receive the second timing signal (nclk).
For claim 4, Figure 13 of Kang teaches wherein the master latch (100 except 145) is a single phase master latch (100 except 145) and the first timing signal (M3CK) is a single timing signal (M3CK) having a single phase.
For claim 5, Figure 13 of Kang teaches wherein the master latch (100 except 145) is further configured to receive a serial input signal (SI).
For claim 6, Figure 13 of Kang teaches wherein the first timing signal (M3CK) is a doubled inverted clock signal (M3CK is generated from nclk through 512 and 145).
For claim 7, Figure 13 (and also see Figures 14 for 145, 130,160) of Kang teaches wherein the master latch (100 except for 145) is a PMOS single phase master latch (100 except for 145).
For claim 16, Figure 13 of Kang teaches a circuit which perform a method of storing data comprising: receiving a data signal (D) and a first timing signal (M3CK, bclk) having a first phase at a master latch (100 except for 145), wherein the first timing signal (M3CK, or bclk) is received by first and second transistors (MP174 in Figure 13 and MP163 inside “130,160” in Figure 14) of the master latch, and each of the first and second transistors (MP174 in Figure 13 and MP163 inside “130,160” in Figure 14) includes a source/drain terminal connected to an operating voltage node (VDD); generating a master latch output signal (M3) based on the data signal (D) and the first timing signal ((M3CK, or bclk); receiving the master latch output signal (M3) and a second timing signal (nclk) having a second phase at a slave latch (230, 241, 300), wherein the second timing signal (nclk) is not received at the master latch (100 except for 145) ; storing digital data (QI) in the slave latch (230, 241, 300) based on the master latch output signal (M3); and generating a flip flop output signal (QN) based on the master latch output signal (M3).
For claim 19, Figure 13 of Kang teaches receiving the first timing signal (bclk) at the slave latch (230, 241, 300).
For claim 18, Figure 13 of Kang teaches wherein the first timing signal (M3CK, or bclk) is a doubled inverted clock signal (M3CK is generated from nclk through 512 and 145; while bclk is doubled inverted of 511-512).
For claim 19, Figure 13 of Kang teaches wherein the second timing signal (nclk) is an inverted clock signal (inverted clock signal CK).
For claim 20, Figure 13 (and also see Figures 14) of Kang teaches wherein the master latch (100 except for 145) includes a plurality of transistors (see Figures 13-14).
For claim 21, Figure 13 of Kang teaches a circuit comprising: a master latch (100 except for 145) configured to receive a data signal (D) and a first timing signal (M3CK) having to generate a master latch output signal (M3) based on the data signal (D) and the first timing signal (M3CK); wherein first (MP174) and second (MP163 inside “130,160”, see Figure 14) transistors of the master latch are configured to receive the first timing signal (M3CK), and each of the first (MP174) and second (MP163 inside “130,160”, see Figure 14) transistors includes a source/drain terminal connected to an operating voltage node (VDD); and a slave latch (230, 241, 300) coupled to the master latch (100 except 145), the slave latch (230, 241, 300) configured to receive the master latch output signal (M3) and a second timing signal (nclk) to generate a flip flop output signal (QN) based on the master latch output signal (M3).
For claims 22 and 27, Figure 13 of Kang teaches wherein the master latch (100 except 145) comprises: a clock gating circuit (160, MN174-MP174, 176) comprising a plurality of clock gating transistors (MN174-MP174, MP163, also see Figure 14), the clock gating circuit (160, , MN174-MP174, 176) configured to receive the first timing signal (M3CK) and the data signal (D) and to generate a clock gating output signal (output of 160, M2) based on the first timing signal (M3CK) and the data signal (D); and a combinational logic circuit (130) coupled to the clock gating circuit (160, MN174-MP174, 176), the combinational logic circuit (130) configured to receive the clock gating output signal (output 160, M3CK) and the first timing signal (M3CK, see Figure 14 for 130,160).
For claim 23, Figure 13 of Kang teaches wherein the clock gating circuit (160, MN174-MP174, 176) receives the first timing signal (M3CK) at a PMOS transistors (MP174, or MP163 in Figure 14).
For claim 24, Figure 13 of Kang teaches wherein the combinational logic circuit (130) receives the clock gating output signal (output of 160) at a PMOS transistor and an NMOS transistor (PMOS and NMOS inside NOR 130).
For claim 25, Figure 13 of Kang teaches wherein the master latch (100 except 145) is a single phase master latch (100 except 145) and the first timing signal (M3CK) is a single timing signal (M3CK) having a single phase.
For claim 26, Figure 13 of Kang teaches wherein the first timing signal (M3CK) is a doubled inverted clock signal (M3CK is generated from nclk through 512 and 145).
For claim 28, Figure 13 (and also see Figures 14) of Kang teaches wherein the first (MP174) and second (MP163 inside “130,160”, see Figure 14) transistors of the master latch are both PMOS transistors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/17/25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Long Nguyen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2842