Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. More specifically, the limitations in (i) independent claim 21, lines 12-14 of “wherein the handle directly engages a lower surface of the second locking element such that pulling the handle causes the second locking element to pivot upwardly out of engagement with the first locking element”, and (ii) independent claims 39 and 40 of “wherein the second portion of the handle directly engages a lower surface of the second locking element such that pulling the handle causes the second locking element to pivot upwardly out of engagement with the first locking element” were not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-33, and 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20110169389 to Jeffries et al (hereinafter Jeffries) in view of USP 8317278 to Enos and USP 6547289 to Greenheck et al (hereinafter Greenheck).
Jeffries discloses (Claim 21). A drawer release comprising (Figs. 1-6): a drawer slide 530,570; and a drawer coupled to the drawer slide 530,570; a second locking element 540,545 coupled to the drawer; and a handle 10 coupled to the drawer, wherein a pulling motion applied to the handle 10 causes the second locking element 540 to pivot relative to the drawer to move the drawer release between a first orientation in which the second locking element 540 prevents sliding movement of the drawer relative to the drawer slide and a second orientation in which the second locking element allows sliding movement of the drawer relative to the drawer slide, and a pushing motion applied to the handle does not move the drawer release between the first orientation and the second orientation (as can be seen in the below annotated Fig. 3A, a pushing motion applied to the handle 200 would move pin 310 upward and away from lever surface 550 of lever 540; therefore, does not move the drawer release between the first orientation and the second orientation);
(Claim 22). The drawer release recited in claim 21, wherein the handle 10 includes (Fig. 1) a third locking element 310,315 that engages a portion of the second locking element 540 as the drawer release moves between the first and second orientations; (Claim 23). The drawer release recited in claim 22, wherein (such as shown in Figs. 1-2C) a first portion 100 of the handle includes a channel 140, a second portion 200 of the handle 10 having a first end rotatably positioned in the channel and an opposite second end that engages the second locking element 540; (Claim 24). The drawer release recited in claim 23, wherein the second end defines the third locking element 310,315; (Claim 25). The drawer release recited in claim 24, wherein the third locking element 310,315 engages a portion of the second locking element 540 as the drawer release moves between the first and second orientations; (Claim 26). The drawer release recited in claim 23, wherein the second end engages a portion of the second locking element 540 as the drawer release moves between the first and second orientations; (Claim 27). The drawer release recited in claim 21, wherein the handle 10 includes a third locking element 310,315 that moves downwardly to move the drawer release from the first orientation to the second orientation; (Claim 28). The drawer release recited in claim 21, wherein the handle 10 includes a third locking element 310,315 that engages a top surface 550 (Figs. 3A-B) of a portion of the second locking element 540 and pushes the portion of the second locking element downwardly to move the drawer release from the first orientation to the second orientation; (Claim 29). The drawer release recited in claim 21, wherein the drawer slide defines a channel, the drawer including a rail 533 coupled to the side of the a frame of the drawer, the rail being positioned in the channel, the second locking element 540 being coupled to the rail 533; (Claim 30). The drawer release recited in claim 21, wherein the drawer slide includes opposite inner and outer surfaces, the inner surface defining a channel, the drawer including a rail 533 coupled to the side of the a frame of the drawer, the rail 533 being positioned in the channel; (Claim 32). The drawer release recited in claim 21, wherein the drawer release is biased to the first orientation; (Claim 33). The drawer release recited in claim 21, wherein the handle includes a third locking element 310 and the drawer release is biased to the first orientation by a spring 320 that engages the third locking element 310; (Claim 38). The drawer release recited in claim 21, wherein the second locking element is a lever; (Claim 39). A drawer release comprising (Figs. 1-6): a member 531; and a drawer coupled to the member; a second locking element 540 coupled to the drawer; and a handle 10 coupled to the drawer, the handle 10 comprising a first portion 100 and a second portion 200, wherein pulling the second portion 200 causes the second locking element 540 to pivot relative to the drawer to move the drawer release between a first orientation in which the second locking element prevents sliding movement of the drawer relative to the member and a second orientation in which the second locking element allows sliding movement of the drawer relative to the member, and a pushing motion applied to the handle does not move the drawer release between the first orientation and the second orientation (as can be seen in the below annotated Fig. 3A, a pushing motion applied to the handle 200 would move pin 310 upward and away from lever surface 550 of lever 540; therefore, does not move the drawer release between the first orientation and the second orientation); (Claim 40). A drawer release comprising (Figs. 1-6): a member; and a drawer coupled to the member; a locking element 540 coupled to the drawer; and a handle 10 coupled to the drawer, the handle 10 comprising a first portion 100 and a second portion 200, wherein pulling the second portion 200 causes the locking element 540 to pivot relative to the drawer to move the drawer release between a first orientation in which the locking element prevents sliding of the drawer relative to the member and a second orientation in which the locking element allows sliding movement of the drawer relative to the member, and a pushing motion applied to the handle does not move the drawer release between the first orientation and the second orientation (as can be seen in the below annotated Fig. 3A, a pushing motion applied to the handle 200 would move pin 310 upward and away from lever surface 550 of lever 540; therefore, does not move the drawer release between the first orientation and the second orientation).
The differences being that Jeffries fails to clearly disclose the limitations in (i) claims 21, 39, 40 of the first drawer slide/member 531 including a first locking element/flange, the second locking element 540 engages the first locking element to prevent sliding movement of the drawer relative to the drawer slide and a second orientation in which the second locking element is spaced apart from the first locking element to allow sliding movement of the drawer relative to the drawer slide; (ii) claims 21, 39, and 40 of wherein the handle/the second portion of the handle directly engages a lower surface (instead of the upper surface) of the second locking element such that pulling the handle causes the second locking element to pivot upwardly out of engagement with the first locking element; (iii) claim 30 of the first locking element including a flange that extends into the channel; (iv) claim 31; (v) claim 38 of the first locking element is a flange.
Regarding (i), (iii), and (v), Enos discloses a drawer release comprising: a drawer slide 30 including a first locking element 34; a drawer coupled to the drawer slide; a second locking element 61 coupled to the drawer; a handle 40, wherein a pulling motion applied to the handle 40 causes the second locking element 61 to pivot relative to the drawer to move the drawer release between a first orientation in which the second locking element 61 engages the first locking element 34 to prevent sliding movement of the drawer relative to the drawer slide and a second orientation in which the second locking element 61 is spaced apart from the first locking element 34 to allow sliding movement of the drawer relative to the drawer slide; wherein the drawer slide includes opposite inner and outer surfaces, the inner surface defining a channel, the drawer including a rail 10 coupled to the side of the a frame of the drawer, the rail 10 being positioned in the channel, the first locking element 34 including a flange that extends into the channel.
Regarding (ii), Greenheck discloses a drawer release comprising: a drawer mounting frame 14,14A including a first locking element 66,66A; and a drawer 12 coupled to the drawer mounting frame 14,14A; a second locking element 46,46A coupled to the drawer 12; a handle 10,10A coupled to the drawer, the handle comprising a first portion 16 and a second portion 36,36A, wherein a pulling motion applied to the handle causes the second locking element to pivot relative to the drawer to move the drawer release between a first orientation in which the second locking element engages the first locking element to prevent sliding movement of the drawer relative to the drawer slide and a second orientation in which the second locking element is spaced apart from the first locking element to allow sliding movement of the drawer relative to the drawer slide, wherein the handle/the second portion 36,36A of the handle directly engages either an upper surface (Figs. 1-6) or a lower surface (Figs. 7-8) of the second locking element such that pulling the handle causes the second locking element to pivot upwardly out of engagement with the first locking element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Enos and Greenheck, to modify Jeffries to include the limitations in (i) claims 21, 39, 40 of the first drawer slide/member 531 including a first locking element/flange, the second locking element 540 engages the first locking element to prevent sliding movement of the drawer relative to the drawer slide and a second orientation in which the second locking element is spaced apart from the first locking element to allow sliding movement of the drawer relative to the drawer slide; (ii) claims 21, 39, and 40 of wherein the handle/the second portion of the handle directly engages a lower surface (instead of the upper surface) of the second locking element such that pulling the handle causes the second locking element to pivot upwardly out of engagement with the first locking element; (iii) claim 30 of the first locking element including a flange that extends into the channel; (v) claim 38 of the first locking element is a flange with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the drawer release.
Regarding (iv) claim 31, Jeffries, as modified in view of Enos and Greenheck, would include wherein the inner surface defines a top surface of the flange and the outer surface defines an opposite bottom surface of the flange. It would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeffries to include the limitations in claim 31 of wherein the outer surface defines a top surface of the flange and the inner surface defines an opposite bottom surface of the flange with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the drawer release, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Claim(s) 34-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeffries, as modified, as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of USP 7896452 to Chang.
Jeffries, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations recited in the above listed claims.
Regarding claims 34-35 and 37, Chang discloses a drawer release comprising: a first drawer slide; a second drawer slide; a locking element coupled to the second drawer slide; the locking element includes a first lever 30 and a second lever 20 that is coupled to the first lever 30; wherein the first lever 30 is coupled to the second lever 20 by a wire 31; wherein rotation of the first lever 30 causes the second lever 20 to rotate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Chang, to modify Jeffries, as modified, to include the limitations in claim 34 of wherein the second locking element includes a first lever and a second lever that is coupled to the first lever; claim 35 of wherein the first lever is coupled to the second lever by a wire; and claim 37 of wherein rotation of the first lever causes the second lever to rotate with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the drawer release.
Regarding claim 36, it is inherent that Jeffries, as modified, meets the limitations recited therein of wherein the third second locking element engages the first lever and the second lever engages the first locking element when the drawer release is in the first orientation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument on pages 9-10 that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the prior art of record, i.e. Greenheck, clearly teaches the idea of the handle/the second portion 36,36A of the handle directly engages either an upper surface (Figs. 1-6) or a lower surface (Figs. 7-8) of the second locking element such that pulling the handle causes the second locking element to pivot upwardly out of engagement with the first locking element. Therefore, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Enos and Greenheck, to modify Jeffries to include the limitations in (ii) claims 21, 39, and 40 of wherein the handle/the second portion of the handle directly engages a lower surface (instead of the upper surface) of the second locking element such that pulling the handle causes the second locking element to pivot upwardly out of engagement with the first locking element with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the drawer release.
Conclusion
HVT
July 24, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637