DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: the RCE filed 7/21/26. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered.
Claim(s) status: 1, 3-11, 13-16 pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "under the word line" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the first word line" in lines 2-3 and “the second word line” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shikata et al 2017/0337969 ‒hereinafter Shikata) in view of Ray et al. (US 2021/0050054 ‒hereinafter Ray).
Regarding claim 1, Shikata discloses a memory device comprising:
a first memory cell (any target memory cell transistor MT0-MT7; fig. 3, para 0050) configured to store multi-bit data (“a multi-level cell (MLC) scheme of storing data of 2 bits or more in each memory cell” para 0048) with a k-value threshold voltage level (Vth; para 0064), where k is an integer of 2 or larger (k = 4 threshold voltages; fig. 4)); and
a sequencer (17; fig. 2) configured to execute a write operation (para 0054) having a loop process (fig. 6, 7) including a program operation (1st/2nd phase programming; fig. 6) and a verify operation (S11/S17; fig. 6), wherein
the program operation includes a first program process (S10; fig. 6) and a second program process (S16; fig. 6), and
the sequencer (17) is further configured to cause the first memory cell (i.e. the targeted memory cell coupled to WLsel) to store data (i.e. any data of data states “A-C”; fig. 4) by either the first program process (S10) or the second program process (S17) according to data to be written (the memory cell is set to be written corresponds to a selected BL; fig. 7) into the first memory cell in the write operation (1st phase stores “A” data, 2nd phase stores data other than “A”, which is verified after programming; fig. 6, 7),
the first memory cell has a first factor (any factor enabling an increase in threshold voltage to the “A” data state; fig. 4 para 0058, 0085) in storing the data (“A” data; fig. 4) written by the first program operation (S10; fig. 6), and the first memory cell has a second factor (any factor enabling an increase in threshold voltage to remaining data states other than “A” data, i.e. “B-C” data; fig. 4 para 0058, 0085) different from the first factor (“A” data) in storing data written by the second program operation (S16; fig. 6).
Shikata does not expressly disclose a first S-factor, a second S-factor.
Ray discloses a first S-factor (i.e. high subthreshold slope; para 0066), a second S-factor (i.e. low subthreshold slope; para 0066) (further, “subthreshold slope of a memory cell can be defined as a change in control gate voltage per one decade (dec.) of change in the value of current, e.g., in units of mV/dec,” which different program processes are performed based on the different subthreshold slopes, i.e. different S-factors; figs. 9B-9C, 10A-10E para 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is modifiable as taught by Ray for the purpose of grouping memory cells and optimizing data accessing schemes for the groups to reduce widening of threshold voltage distributions (Abstract, para 0056 of Ray), which is common and well known in the prior art to secure the integrity of data storage.
Regarding claim 5, Shikata discloses the memory device, wherein the k-value threshold voltage level includes first to k-th threshold voltage levels (k = 4 value, i.e. 1st to 4th threshold voltages; fig. 4), and the sequencer is further configured to, in the write operation, in a case of storing the data in the first memory cell by the first program process (S10; fig. 6), write the memory cell at an n-th threshold voltage level (i.e. 2nd threshold voltage level; fig. 4), wherein n is an even number and an integer of 2 or larger and k or smaller (n = 2), and in a case of storing the data in the first memory cell by the second program process (S16; fig. 6), write the memory cell at an m-th threshold voltage level (i.e. 3rd threshold voltage level; fig. 4), where m is an odd number and an integer of 3 or larger and k or smaller (m = 3).
Regarding claim 6, Shikata discloses the memory device, wherein: the verify operation includes a first verify read (S11; fig. 6, further first verify read corresponds to verify in 1st phase; fig. 7) and a second verify read (S17; fig. 6, further second verify read corresponds to verify in 2nd phase; fig. 7), the first verify read being associated with a write of data corresponding to the n-th threshold voltage level (i.e. 2nd threshold voltage level; fig. 4) and the second verify read being associated with a write of data corresponding to an (n+1)-th threshold voltage level (i.e. 3rd threshold voltage level; fig. 4), and the sequencer is further configured to collectively execute the first verify read and the second verify read using the same verify voltage (i.e. BV/CV in the first and second verify reads are the same verify voltage; fig. 7).
Claim(s) 3-4, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shikata et al 2017/0337969 ‒hereinafter Shikata) in view of Ray et al. (US 2021/0050054 ‒hereinafter Ray), and further in view of Kamata et al. (US 2020/0135271 ‒hereinafter Kamata).
Regarding claim 3, Shikata discloses the memory device, wherein the sequencer is further configured to use a first sense time in reading the data written (in a read operation, a sense time at which signal STB is asserted corresponding to verify; fig. 7, para 0081, 0096) by the first program process (S10; fig. 6) from the first memory cell, and to use a second sense time in reading the data written (in the read operation, another sense time at which signal STB is asserted corresponding to verify; fig. 7, para 0081, 0096) by the second program process (S16; fig. 6) from the first memory cell.
Shikata does not expressly disclose a second sense time different from the first sense time
Kamata discloses a second sense time (T15-T16; fig. 8) different (i.e. performed at different sense times; fig. 8) from the first sense time (T12-T13; fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is further modifiable as taught by Kamata for the purpose of achieving accurate readout results while reducing readout latency (para 0120 of Kamata), which predicts the commonly understood advantage of efficiently performing data accessing schemes.
Regarding claim 4, Shikata discloses the memory device, further comprising: a sense amplifier (SAU; fig. 5) connected to the first memory cell (i.e. the targeted memory cell coupled to BL) and having a sense node (SEN; fig. 5).
Shikata does not expressly disclose wherein each of the first sense time and the second sense time is associated with a time during which a read voltage is applied to the first memory cell from electrical connection between the sense node and the first memory cell to electrical disconnection between the sense node and the first memory cell, and the first sense time is different from the second sense time.
Kamata discloses wherein each of the first sense time and the second sense time is associated with a time (SENSE PERIOD; fig. 8) during which a read voltage (VA/VC; fig. 8) is applied to the first memory cell (i.e. via selected word line WL; fig. 8) from electrical connection between the sense node (SEN; fig. 6) and the first memory cell (i.e. via bit line BL; fig. 6) (para 0103) to electrical disconnection between the sense node (SEN) and the first memory cell (i.e. via bit line BL) (para 0114), and the first sense time (T12-T13; fig. 8) is different (i.e. performed at different sense times; fig. 8) from the second sense time (T15-T16; fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is further modifiable as taught by Kamata for the purpose of achieving accurate readout results while reducing readout latency (para 0120 of Kamata), which predicts the commonly understood advantage of efficiently performing data accessing schemes.
Regarding claim 7, Shikata, in an embodiment, discloses the memory device, wherein in the verify operation, the sequencer executes a verify read (para 0165-0166) in each of a case where the first memory cell is a target (i.e. memory cell targeted for first programming; para 0091) of the first program process (S10; fig. 6) and a case where the first memory cell is a target (i.e. memory cell targeted for second programming; para 0100) of the second program process (S16; fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is modifiable as taught for the purpose of facilitating data accessing schemes by providing optimal threshold voltage distributions which improves the reliability of data storage (para 0168-0171 of Shikata).
Kamata discloses using a first sense time (T12-T13; fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is further modifiable as taught by Kamata for the purpose of achieving accurate readout results while reducing readout latency (para 0120 of Kamata), which predicts the commonly understood advantage of efficiently performing data accessing schemes.
Regarding claim 8, Shikata, in an embodiment, discloses the memory device, wherein in the verify operation, the sequencer is configured to: execute a verify read (para 0165-0166) in a case where the first memory cell is a target (i.e. memory cell targeted for first programming; para 0091) of the first program process (S10; fig. 6); and execute a verify read (para 0165-0166) in a case where the first memory cell is a target (i.e. memory cell targeted for second programming; para 0100) of the second program process (S16; fig. 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is modifiable as taught for the purpose of facilitating data accessing schemes by providing optimal threshold voltage distributions which improves the reliability of data storage (para 0168-0171 of Shikata).
Shikata does not expressly disclose using the first sense time; using a second sense time.
Kamata discloses using a first sense time (T12-T13; fig. 8); using a second sense time (T15-T16; fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is further modifiable as taught by Kamata for the purpose of achieving accurate readout results while reducing readout latency (para 0120 of Kamata), which predicts the commonly understood advantage of efficiently performing data accessing schemes.
Regarding claim 9, Shikata discloses the memory device, further comprising: a sense amplifier (SAU; fig. 5) connected to the first memory cell (i.e. the targeted memory cell coupled to BL), the sense amplifier having a sense node (SEN; fig. 5).
Shikata does not expressly disclose wherein: each of the first sense time and the second sense time is associated with a first time, the first time is associated with a time during which a read voltage is applied to the first memory cell from electrical connection between the sense node and the first memory cell to electrical disconnection between the sense node and the first memory cell, and the first sense time is different from the second sense time.
Kamata discloses wherein each of the first sense time and the second sense time is associated with a first time (TIME; fig. 8), the first time is associated with a time (SENSE PERIOD; fig. 8) during which a read voltage (VA/VC; fig. 8) is applied to the first memory cell (i.e. via selected word line WL; fig. 8) from electrical connection between the sense node (SEN; fig. 6) and the first memory cell (i.e. via bit line BL; fig. 6) (para 0103) to electrical disconnection between the sense node (SEN) and the first memory cell (i.e. via bit line BL) (para 0114), and the first sense time (T12-T13; fig. 8) is different (i.e. performed at different sense times; fig. 8) from the second sense time (T15-T16; fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is further modifiable as taught by Kamata for the purpose of achieving accurate readout results while reducing readout latency (para 0120 of Kamata), which predicts the commonly understood advantage of efficiently performing data accessing schemes.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shikata et al 2017/0337969 ‒hereinafter Shikata) in view of Ray et al. (US 2021/0050054 ‒hereinafter Ray), and further in view of Joe (US 2023/0145681).
Regarding claim 10, Shikata discloses the memory device, further comprising: a second memory cell and a third memory cell that are connected in series with the first memory cell and are adjacent to the first memory cell (fig. 3), wherein the sequencer is further configured to: in the first program process (S10; fig. 6) for the first memory cell, apply a program voltage (Vpgm; fig. 7) to the first memory cell, apply a first voltage (Vpass; fig. 7) to the second memory cell (i.e. coupled to WLusel; fig. 7), and in the second program process (S16; fig. 6) for the first memory cell, apply the program voltage to the first memory cell (Vpgm (+ΔVpgm2); fig. 7), and apply the third voltage (Vpass (+ΔVpass2); fig. 7) to the third memory cell (i.e. coupled to WLusel; fig. 7).
Shikata does not expressly disclose apply a third voltage to the third memory cell, apply a fourth voltage lower than the first voltage to the second memory cell.
Joe discloses apply a third voltage (V1/V2; fig. 15) to the third memory cell (i.e. coupled to WLn+1/WLn-1; fig. 15-16), apply a fourth voltage lower (V3/V4; fig. 15-16) than the first voltage to the second memory cell (i.e. coupled to WLn+1/WLn-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is further modifiable as taught by Joe for the purpose of facilitating data accessing schemes by controlling biasing to word lines to reduce program disturbances that may otherwise hinder a complex operating system (para 0004 of Joe).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shikata et al 2017/0337969 ‒hereinafter Shikata) in view of Ray et al. (US 2021/0050054 ‒hereinafter Ray), and further in view of Dutta et al. (US 2014/0160848 ‒hereinafter Dutta).
Regarding claim 11, Shikata discloses a memory device comprising:
a memory cell (any target memory cell transistor MT0-MT7; fig. 3, para 0050) configured to store multi-bit data (“a multi-level cell (MLC) scheme of storing data of 2 bits or more in each memory cell” para 0048) with a k-value threshold voltage level (Vth; para 0064), where k is an integer of 2 or greater (k = 4 threshold voltages; fig. 4);
a select transistor (ST1/ST2; fig. 3) connected to the memory cell (i.e. target memory cell);
a bit line connected (any target bit line BL0-BL(L-1); fig. 3) to the select transistor (ST1/ST2); and
a sequencer (17; fig. 2) configured to: execute a write operation (para 0054) having a first program operation (S10; fig. 6, 7) and a loop process (2nd phase; fig. 6, 7), the loop process including a second program operation (S15; fig. 6) and a verify operation (S17; fig. 6),
in the first program operation (S10) in which the memory cell is a program target (i.e. memory cell targeted for first programming; para 0091), applying a first program voltage (Vpgm applied to WLsel; fig. 7) to the memory cell (i.e. the targeted memory cell coupled to WLsel),
in the second program operation (S15) in which the memory cell is a program target (i.e. memory cell targeted for second programming; para 0100), applying a second program voltage (Vpgm+ΔVpgm2; fig. 7) to the memory cell (i.e. the targeted memory cell coupled to WLsel), and
in the write operation, execute the first program operation (S10) with the memory cell (i.e. the targeted memory cell coupled to WLsel) set to be written (the memory cell is set to be written corresponds to a selected BL; fig. 7) or be write-inhibited (the memory cell is set to be write-inhibited corresponds to an inhibited BLinh; fig. 7) according to data to be written in the memory cell (i.e. any data of data states “A-C”; fig. 4), and store the data in the memory cell by the loop process (the loop process, i.e. 2nd phase, stores data other than “A”, which is verified after programming; fig. 6, 7),
the first memory cell has a first factor (any factor enabling an increase in threshold voltage to the “A” data state; fig. 4 para 0058, 0085) in storing the data (“A” data; fig. 4) written by the first program operation (S10; fig. 6), and the first memory cell has a second factor (any factor enabling an increase in threshold voltage to remaining data states other than “A” data, i.e. “B-C” data; fig. 4 para 0058, 0085) different from the first factor (“A” data) in storing data written by the second program operation (S16; fig. 6).
Shikata does not expressly disclose a first S-factor, a second S-factor, apply a first voltage to the select transistor while applying a first program voltage; apply a second voltage lower than the first voltage to the select transistor while applying a second program voltage.
Ray discloses a first S-factor (i.e. high subthreshold slope; para 0066), a second S-factor (i.e. low subthreshold slope; para 0066) (further, “subthreshold slope of a memory cell can be defined as a change in control gate voltage per one decade (dec.) of change in the value of current, e.g., in units of mV/dec,” which different program processes are performed based on the different subthreshold slopes, i.e. different S-factors; figs. 9B-9C, 10A-10E para 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is modifiable as taught by Ray for the purpose of grouping memory cells and optimizing data accessing schemes for the groups to reduce widening of threshold voltage distributions (Abstract, para 0056 of Ray), which is common and well known in the prior art to secure the integrity of data storage.
Dutta discloses apply (820; fig. 8) a first voltage to the select transistor (Vgs is applied to a select transistor; para 0090) while applying a first program voltage (programming voltage pulse Vpgm; para 0091); apply (836; fig. 8) a second voltage lower than the first voltage (a lower Vgs is applied to the select transistor; para 0098) to the select transistor while applying a second program voltage (a stepped up programming pulse Vpgm; para 0099).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is further modifiable as taught by Dutta for the purpose of preventing unintentional biasing of select transistors, which facilitates data accessing schemes and reduces disturbances that may otherwise hinder a complex operating system (para 0047 of Dutta).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shikata et al 2017/0337969 ‒hereinafter Shikata) in view of Ray et al. (US 2021/0050054 ‒hereinafter Ray), in view of Dutta et al. (US 2014/0160848 ‒hereinafter Dutta), and further in view of Harari et al. (US 2008/0116509 ‒hereinafter Harari).
Regarding claim 13, Shikata, as modified, does not expressly disclose the memory device, wherein: the memory cell has a first floating gate portion and a second floating gate portion, the first program operation is a program operation for the second floating gate portion, and the second program operation is a program operation for the first floating gate portion.
Harari discloses wherein the memory cell has a first floating gate portion and a second floating gate portion (i.e. dual floating gate; para 0018), the first program operation is a program operation for the second floating gate portion, and the second program operation is a program operation for the first floating gate portion (“Two or more such charge levels, and thus two or more different threshold levels, are defined for programming into each of the two charge storage regions of each memory cell” para 0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is further modifiable as taught by Harari for the purpose of facilitating data accessing schemes by extending a lifetime of the memory device (para 0017 of Herari), which predicts the commonly understood advantage of having a robust and high endurance device.
Regarding claim 14, Shikata, as modified, does not expressly disclose the memory device, wherein: in the first program operation, electrons are injected into the second floating gate portion using hot electrons, and in the second program operation, electrons are injected into the first floating gate portion using a Fowler-Nordheim (FN) tunnel current.
Herari, in an embodiment, discloses wherein in the first program operation (para 0108), electrons are injected into the second floating gate portion (charge storage portion; para 0107) using hot electrons (hot-electron injection; para 0107), and in the second program operation (para 0108), electrons are injected into the first floating gate portion (another charge storage region; para 0107) using a Fowler-Nordheim (FN) tunnel current (Fowler-Nordhein tunneling; para 0107).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that the device of Shikata is further modifiable as taught by Harari for the purpose of facilitating data accessing schemes by extending a lifetime of the memory device (para 0017 of Herari), which predicts the commonly understood advantage of having a robust and high endurance device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed invention having the following limitation, in combination with the remaining claimed limitations.
With respect to dependent claim 15 (and dependent claim(s) 17 therefrom), the prior art fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitations, namely the memory cell has the first S-factor by trapping electrons substantially only in the first floating gate portion, and in the second program operation, the memory cell has the second S-factor by trapping electrons in both the first floating gate portion and the second floating gate portion.
With respect to dependent claim 16, the prior art fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitations, namely in the first program process, the memory cell has the first S-factor by trapping electrons in both the first storage unit and the second storage unit, and in the second program process, the memory cell has the second S-factor by trapping electrons substantially only in the first storage unit.
The allowable claims are supported in at least fig. 8-9 of the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/UYEN SMET/
[AltContent: arrow] Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824