DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that claims 5, 13, and 16 claims “a processed amount”. However, the specification does not mention a processed amount. Paragraphs [0016] and [0043] from the specification does mention “etched amounts” which is defined as the depths of a hole formed in the substrate or the material film ([0016]). Therefore, as best understood and interpreted, “processed amounts” as claimed in claims 5, 13, and 16 are the depths of a hole formed in the substrate or the material film M.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 15-17 of claim 1 appears to be incomplete. It would appear that lines 15-17 of claim 1 should instead recite “…an operation part configured to compare a measured spectrum waveform obtained from an interference spectrum of the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the light beam is radiated to the substrate with each…”.
In expressions 1 and 2 of claim 2, the maximum correlation value γj (τ) is shown as rj (τ) in both equations of expressions 1 and 2. rj (τ) should be corrected to γj (τ).
In claim 14, the maximum correlation value is recited in line 7 as being variable γrj (τ). However, in the specification, paragraph [0030] describes a correlation value to be expressed as γj (τ). Therefore, it would appear that γrj (τ) should be expressed as γj (τ), as described in the specification.
In expressions 1 and 2 of claim 14, the maximum correlation value γj (τ) is shown as rj (τ) in both equations of expression 1 and 2. rj (τ) should be corrected to γj (τ).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2006/0176490 A1) in view of Chauhan (US 2022/0316863 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki teaches a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus comprising:
a stage (Fig. 5: lower electrode 340 functions as a stage on which the wafer Tw is placed [0128]) configured to support a substrate (Fig. 5: wafer Tw) with a material film (silicon oxide film from [0127]) on a first face (Fig. 1: surface S2) from a second face side (Fig. 1: surface S1) of the substrate opposite to the first face (Fig. 5: surfaces S1 and S2 are opposite of each other;
a light source (Fig. 5: SLD 210) configured to generate a light beam;
an optical system (Fig. 5: elements 210, 220, and 344 are configured to radiate the measurement light to the wafer Tw [0133]) configured to radiate the light beam to the substrate from the second face side (shown in Fig. 5);
a detector (Fig. 5: PD 250) configured to detect a reflected light beam reflected from the substrate ([0127]: light is reflected at the two end surfaces S1 and S2 and measured by PD 250) or the material film;
a storage part (memory 440 from [0112-0113] and [0134-0135]) configured to store therein a plurality of reference spectrum waveforms respectively generated in advance for a plurality of shape parameters of the substrate or the material film with regard to the reflected light beam ([0112-0113]: Reference data is stored in the memory to be referenced with later measurements. This reference data could be reference spectrum waveforms.).
Suzuki appears to be silent to an operation part configured to compare a measured spectrum waveform obtained from an interference spectrum of the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the light beam is radiated to the substrate with each of the reference spectrum waveforms to obtain a similar reference spectrum waveform that is one of the reference spectrum waveforms which is similar to the measured spectrum waveform.
Chauhan, related to a method for measuring the thickness of film on a wafer, does teach an operation part (optical film-thickness measuring device from [0005]) configured to compare a measured spectrum waveform obtained from an interference spectrum of the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the light beam is radiated to the substrate with each of the reference spectrum waveforms to obtain a similar reference spectrum waveform that is one of the reference spectrum waveforms which is similar to the measured spectrum waveform (shown in Fig. 23 and described in [0005]: “The optical film-thickness measuring device measures an intensity of the reflected light from the workpiece with a spectrometer during polishing of the workpiece, and generates a spectrum of the reflected light…The optical film-thickness measuring device compares the spectrum of the reflected light with multiple reference spectra, and determines one reference spectrum having a shape closest to that of the spectrum of the reflected light. Specifically, the optical film-thickness measuring device calculates a difference between the spectrum of the reflected light and each reference spectrum, and determines the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference. The optical film-thickness measuring device then determines a film thickness associated with the determined reference spectrum.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki to incorporate an operation part configured to compare a measured spectrum waveform obtained from an interference spectrum of the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the light beam is radiated to the substrate with each of the reference spectrum waveforms to obtain a similar reference spectrum waveform that is one of the reference spectrum waveforms which is similar to the measured spectrum waveform, as disclosed by Chauhan. Chauhan discloses that the above-mentioned process is a conventional method of determining film thickness from a spectrum of measured reflected light ([0005] from Chauhan). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods (comparing a measured spectrum of reflected light with a reference spectrum and then determining which reference spectrum best fits the measured spectrum of reflected light) to yield predictable results (for measuring film thickness on a substrate) (MPEP 2143 (I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki modified by Chauhan teaches the apparatus of Claim 1.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan further teaches that the operation part (Chauhan, optical film-thickness measuring device from [0005]) calculates with regard to a light intensity I(x) of the measured spectrum waveform (Chauhan, [0005]: Optical film-thickness measuring device measures intensity of reflected light from a workpiece and generates a spectrum of the reflected light.) and a light intensity Tj(X) of the each of the reference spectrum waveforms (Chauhan, reference spectra from [0005]) and determines one of the reference spectrum waveforms which provides a maximum correlation value Yj(τ) as the similar reference spectrum waveform (Chauhan, [0005]: “The optical film-thickness measuring device compares the spectrum of the reflected light with multiple reference spectra, and determines one reference spectrum having a shape closest to that of the spectrum of the reflected light. Specifically, the optical film-thickness measuring device calculates a difference between the spectrum of the reflected light and each reference spectrum, and determines the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference.”),
where x is an optical path length of the light beam (Suzuki, Abstract: Optical path length of the measurement light is measured based upon interference waveforms.), T is a relative shift amount of wavelength between the measured spectrum waveform and the each of the reference spectrum waveforms (Chauhan, [0005]: “The spectrum is expressed as a graph showing a relationship between the intensity of the reflected light and wavelength of the reflected light. The optical film-thickness measuring device compares the spectrum of the reflected light with multiple reference spectra, and determines one reference spectrum having a shape closest to that of the spectrum of the reflected light. Specifically, the optical film-thickness measuring device calculates a difference between the spectrum of the reflected light and each reference spectrum, and determines the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference.” Therefore, for the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference to be determined, the calculation would necessarily need to account for the relative shift amount of wavelength between the measured spectrum waveform and each of the reference spectrum waveforms so that the wavelength range matches between the measured spectrum and the reference spectrum.), and j is an identifier of the reference spectrum waveforms (Chauhan, [0005]: “The optical film-thickness measuring device compares the spectrum of the reflected light with multiple reference spectra, and determines one reference spectrum having a shape closest to that of the spectrum of the reflected light. Specifically, the optical film-thickness measuring device calculates a difference between the spectrum of the reflected light and each reference spectrum, and determines the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference.”).
Suzuki modified by Chauhan (for claim 1) appears to be silent to expression 1 or expression 2 which are shown below, however, Chauhan describes in [0005] that “…the optical film-thickness measuring device calculates a difference between the spectrum of the reflected light and each reference spectrum, and determines the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference”, and the variables associated with calculating the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference are disclosed by Suzuki (optical path length) and Chauhan (relative shift amount of wavelength and j as an identifier of the reference spectrum waveforms). See rejection above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan (for claim 1) to incorporate expression 1 and expression 2 (as shown above) as disclosed by Suzuki modified by Chauhan. The advantage of the above expressions is that a reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference could be calculated which is then used to determine a film thickness ([0005] from Chauhan) and temperature of a substrate could be measured from optical path length (Abstract from Suzuki), where film thickness and temperature of a substrate are important variables to be measured in semiconductor manufacturing.
Regarding Claim 11, Suzuki modified by Chauhan teaches the apparatus of Claim 1.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan further teaches that the shape parameters are any of thicknesses of the substrate (Suzuki, [0002]: Thickness of a wafer is measured.) or the material film, depths of a hole formed in the substrate or the material film, and diameters of the hole.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2006/0176490 A1) in view of Chauhan (US 2022/0316863 A1) and Lee (US 2017/0370783 A1), and further in view of Tatsunari (US 2004/0023403 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki modified by Chauhan teaches the apparatus of Claim 2.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan further teaches that the operation part (Chauhan, optical film-thickness measuring device from [0005]) calculates a temperature of the substrate (Suzuki, Abstract and [0002]) or the material film.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan appears silent to the operation part being configured to calculate a temperature of the substrate or the material film based on the relative shift amount τ between the measured spectrum waveform and the similar reference spectrum waveform.
Lee, related to a non-contact system for measuring temperature, does teach that the operation part is configured to calculate a temperature of the substrate or the material film based on the relative shift amount τ ([0037]: “An example of the correlation between the shift in wavelength and change in temperature change is shown in FIG. 9. Knowing an ambient or baseline temperature, the controller 74 can then determine a current temperature value using the change in temperature as indicated by the shift in the wavelength of the detected light.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan so that the operation part is configured to calculate a temperature of the substrate or the material film based on the relative shift amount τ, as disclosed by Lee. The above-mentioned process has the advantage of being able to determine a current temperature value based on a change in optical properties of light reflected by a temperature sensing member ([0037] from Lee).
Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Lee appears to be silent to calculating a temperature of the substrate or the material film from the measured spectrum waveform and the similar reference spectrum waveform.
Tatsunari, related to measuring temperature of a film during semiconductor processing, does teach calculating a temperature of the substrate or the material film ([0021]: Temperature at which a film has grown can be calculated) from the measured spectrum waveform and the similar reference spectrum waveform ([0021]: “ A plurality of reference infrared-absorption spectra may be prepared in advance in accordance with film-growing temperature, and in the step (b), the reference infrared-absorption spectra and the infrared absorption spectrum of the film may be compared with each other, thereby calculating the temperature at which the film has been grown. Then, the temperature at which the film has been grown can be calculated easily.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan and Lee to incorporate calculating a temperature of the substrate or the material film from the measured spectrum waveform and the similar reference spectrum waveform, as disclosed by Tatsunari. The method mentioned-above has the advantage of allowing in-line non-destruction of the temperature at which a film has been grown without causing any deterioration in productive, which enables conditions determined for a film-growing apparatus to be controlled ([0030] and [0129] from Tatsunari).
Regarding Claim 4, Suzuki modified by Chauhan teaches the apparatus of Claim 2.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan further teaches that the storage part (Chauhan, memory 49a from [0061]) is configured to store reference spectrum waveforms of the substrate or the material film in advance (Chauhan, [0097]: “The representative spectrum is determined before calculation of the similarity and the determined representative spectrum is stored in the memory 49a.”); and
the operation part is configured to calculate a temperature of the substrate (Suzuki, Abstract and [0002]) or the material film.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan appears to be silent to the storage part is configured to store a relational expression between a shift amount of wavelength and a temperature change amount, and
the operation part is configured to calculate a temperature of the substrate or the material film from the relative shift amount T between the measured spectrum waveform and the similar reference spectrum waveform by using the relational expression.
Lee, related to a non-contact system for measuring temperature, does teach that the storage part (devices described in [0038]) is configured to store a relational expression between a shift amount of wavelength and a temperature change amount (Fig. 9 shows a graph correlating the relationship of wavelength shift vs. temperature change [0037-0038]) of a material, and
the operation part is configured to calculate a temperature of a material from the relative shift amount T ([0037]: “An example of the correlation between the shift in wavelength and change in temperature change is shown in FIG. 9. Knowing an ambient or baseline temperature, the controller 74 can then determine a current temperature value using the change in temperature as indicated by the shift in the wavelength of the detected light.”) using the relational expression.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan so the storage part is configured to store a relational expression between a shift amount of wavelength and a temperature change amount, and the operation part is configured to calculate a temperature of the substrate or the material film from the relative shift amount τ using the relational expression, as disclosed by Lee. The above-mentioned process has the advantage of being able to determine a current temperature value based on a change in optical properties of light reflected by a temperature sensing member ([0037] from Lee).
Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Lee appears to be silent to calculating a temperature of the substrate or the material film from the measured spectrum waveform and the similar reference spectrum waveform.
Tatsunari, related to measuring temperature of a film during semiconductor processing, does teach calculating a temperature of the substrate or the material film ([0021]: Temperature at which a film has grown can be calculated) from the measured spectrum waveform and the similar reference spectrum waveform ([0021]: “ A plurality of reference infrared-absorption spectra may be prepared in advance in accordance with film-growing temperature, and in the step (b), the reference infrared-absorption spectra and the infrared absorption spectrum of the film may be compared with each other, thereby calculating the temperature at which the film has been grown. Then, the temperature at which the film has been grown can be calculated easily.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan and Lee to incorporate calculating a temperature of the substrate or the material film from the measured spectrum waveform and the similar reference spectrum waveform, as disclosed by Tatsunari. The method mentioned-above has the advantage of allowing in-line non-destruction of the temperature at which a film has been grown without causing any deterioration in productive, which enables conditions determined for a film-growing apparatus to be controlled ([0030] and [0129] from Tatsunari).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2006/0176490 A1) in view of Chauhan (US 2022/0316863 A1) and further in view of Nagasawa (US 20230215710 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Suzuki modified by Chauhan teaches the apparatus of Claim 1.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan further teaches that the operation part (Chauhan, optical film-thickness measuring device from [0005]) is configured to calculate a film thickness on or in the substrate or the material film based on one of the shape parameters which corresponds to the similar reference spectrum waveform (Chauhan, [0005]).
Suzuki modified by Chauhan appears to be silent to the operation part is configured to calculate a processed amount on or in the substrate or the material film based on one of the shape parameters which corresponds to the similar reference spectrum waveform.
Nagasawa, related to detecting film thickness during semiconductor processing, does teach that the operation part (Figs. 1 and 2: film thickness and depth determiner 21) is configured to calculate a processed amount (depth/etching amount from [0050-0054] and [0058]) on or in the substrate or the material film based on one of the shape parameters (depth/etching amount from [0050-0054] and [0058]) which corresponds to the similar reference spectrum waveform ([0052-0054]: “The data to be compared is recorded and stored in advance in a storage of the database unit 30 communicably connected to the comparator 31.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan so that the operation part is configured to calculate a processed amount on or in the substrate or the material film based on one of the shape parameters which corresponds to the similar reference spectrum waveform, as disclosed by Nagasawa. Depth/etching amount is an important parameter to be monitored in semiconductor processing, therefore, it would be advantageous to be able to accurately measure the depth/etching amount to better optimize the final processed shape in the etching process ([0004-0005] from Nagasawa).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2006/0176490 A1) in view of Chauhan (US 2022/0316863 A1) and further in view of Kobayshi (US 2017/0190020 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Suzuki modified by Chauhan teaches the apparatus of Claim 1.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan further teaches the operation part (Chauhan, optical film-thickness measuring device from [0005]).
Suzuki modified by Chauhan appears to be silent to the operation part interpolates another reference spectrum waveform between the shape parameters based on the reference spectrum waveforms for the shape parameters.
Kobayashi, related to measuring film thickness, does teach that the operation part interpolates another reference spectrum waveform between the shape parameters (film thickness from [0102-0104]) based on the reference spectrum waveforms for the shape parameters ([0102-0104]: “] A reference spectrum when the polishing table 3 is making an N-th revolution is corrected as follows. First, a film thickness at a point A on the hypothetical line at the N-th revolution is determined. Then, a point B on the estimation line at which the film thickness is equal to the film thickness at the point A is determined. Generally, the point B lies between the N1-th revolution and an N2 (=N1+1)-th revolution which are adjacent to each other. Accordingly, a spectrum corresponding to the point B is determined by interpolation based on reference spectra corresponding to the N1-th revolution and the N2-th revolution.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan so that the operation part interpolates another reference spectrum waveform between the shape parameters based on the reference spectrum waveforms for the shape parameters, as disclosed by Kobayashi. The advantage of the above-mentioned process is that a corrected reference spectrum can be determined ([0102] from Kobayashi).
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2006/0176490 A1) in view of Chauhan (US 2022/0316863 A1) and further in view of Tatsunari (US 2004/0023403 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Suzuki teaches a semiconductor manufacturing method using a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus that includes a light source (Fig. 5: SLD 210) generating a light beam,
an optical system (Fig. 5: elements 210, 220, and 344 are configured to radiate the measurement light to the wafer Tw [0133]) radiating the light beam to a substrate (Fig. 5: wafer Tw) with a material film (silicon oxide film from [0127]) on a first face (Fig. 5: surface S2) from a second face side (Fig. 5: surface S1) of the substrate opposite to the first face (shown in Fig. 5), and
a detector (Fig. 5: PD 250) detecting a reflected light beam reflected from the substrate ([0127]: light is reflected at the two end surfaces S1 and S2 and measured by PD 250) or the material film, the method comprising:
measuring a measured spectrum waveform of the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the light beam is radiated to the substrate from the second face side (shown in Fig. 5 and described in [0126-0127]); and
calculating a temperature of the substrate ([0002]: Temperature of wafer can be measured.) or the material film or a processed amount on or in the substrate or the material film based on the spectrum waveform (Interference waveforms from Abstract).
Suzuki appears to be silent to generating a plurality of reference spectrum waveforms for a plurality of shape parameters of the substrate or the material film with regard to the reflected light beam in advance;
comparing a measured spectrum waveform with each of the reference spectrum waveforms to obtain a similar reference spectrum waveform that is one of the reference spectrum waveforms which is similar to the measured spectrum waveform, and
calculating a temperature of the substrate of the material film or a processed amount on or in the substrate or the material film based on the similar reference spectrum waveform.
Chauhan, related to a method for measuring the thickness of film on a wafer, does teach generating a plurality of reference spectrum waveforms for a plurality of shape parameters of the substrate or the material film with regard to the reflected light beam in advance ([0005-0006]: A reference spectrum associated with film thickness would need to be prepared in advance to be able to be used as a comparison to measured spectrums.);
comparing a measured spectrum waveform with each of the reference spectrum waveforms to obtain a similar reference spectrum waveform that is one of the reference spectrum waveforms which is similar to the measured spectrum waveform (shown in Fig. 23 and described in [0005]: “The optical film-thickness measuring device measures an intensity of the reflected light from the workpiece with a spectrometer during polishing of the workpiece, and generates a spectrum of the reflected light…The optical film-thickness measuring device compares the spectrum of the reflected light with multiple reference spectra, and determines one reference spectrum having a shape closest to that of the spectrum of the reflected light. Specifically, the optical film-thickness measuring device calculates a difference between the spectrum of the reflected light and each reference spectrum, and determines the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference. The optical film-thickness measuring device then determines a film thickness associated with the determined reference spectrum.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki to incorporate generating a plurality of reference spectrum waveforms for a plurality of shape parameters of the substrate or the material film with regard to the reflected light beam in advance;
comparing a measured spectrum waveform of the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the light beam is radiated to the substrate from the second face side with each of the reference spectrum waveforms to obtain a similar reference spectrum waveform that is one of the reference spectrum waveforms which is similar to the measured spectrum waveform, as disclosed by Chauhan. Chauhan discloses that the above-mentioned process is a conventional method of determining film thickness from a spectrum of measured reflected light ([0005] from Chauhan). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods (comparing a measured spectrum of reflected light with a reference spectrum and then determining which reference spectrum best fits the measured spectrum of reflected light) to yield predictable results (for measuring film thickness on a substrate) (MPEP 2143 (I)(A)).
Suzuki modified by Chauhan appears to be silent to calculating a temperature of the substrate of the material film or a processed amount on or in the substrate or the material film based on the similar reference spectrum waveform.
Tatsunari, related to measuring temperature of a film during semiconductor processing, does teach calculating a temperature of the substrate or the material film ([0021]: Temperature at which a film has grown can be calculated) or a processed amount on or in the substrate or the material film based on the similar reference spectrum waveform ([0021]: “ A plurality of reference infrared-absorption spectra may be prepared in advance in accordance with film-growing temperature, and in the step (b), the reference infrared-absorption spectra and the infrared absorption spectrum of the film may be compared with each other, thereby calculating the temperature at which the film has been grown. Then, the temperature at which the film has been grown can be calculated easily.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan so that calculating a temperature of the substrate or the material film or a processed amount on or in the substrate or the material film is based on the similar reference spectrum waveform, as disclosed by Tatsunari. The method mentioned-above has the advantage of allowing in-line non-destruction of the temperature at which a film has been grown without causing any deterioration in productive, which enables conditions determined for a film-growing apparatus to be controlled ([0030] and [0129] from Tatsunari).
Regarding Claim 19, Suzuki modified by Chauhan teaches the method of claim 13.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan further teaches that the shape parameters are any of thicknesses of the substrate (Suzuki, [0002]: Thickness of a wafer is measured.) or the material film, depths of a hole formed in the substrate or the material film, and diameters of the hole.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2006/0176490 A1) in view of Chauhan (US 2022/0316863 A1) and Tatsunari (US 2004/0023403 A1), and further in view of Lee (US 2017/0370783 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Tatsunari teaches the method of claim 13.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Tatsunari further teaches that obtaining the similar reference spectrum waveform (Chauhan, reference spectrum from [0005]) includes calculating with regard to a light intensity I(x) of the measured spectrum waveform (Chauhan, [0005]: Device measures intensity of reflected light from a workpiece and generates a spectrum of the reflected light.) and a light intensity Tj(X) of the each of the reference spectrum waveforms (Chauhan, reference spectra from [0005]) and determining one of the reference spectrum waveforms which provides a maximum correlation value Yj(τ) as the similar reference spectrum waveform (Chauhan, [0005]: “The optical film-thickness measuring device compares the spectrum of the reflected light with multiple reference spectra, and determines one reference spectrum having a shape closest to that of the spectrum of the reflected light. Specifically, the optical film-thickness measuring device calculates a difference between the spectrum of the reflected light and each reference spectrum, and determines the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference.”),
where x is an optical path length of the light beam (Suzuki, Abstract: Optical path length of the measurement light is measured based upon interference waveforms.), τ is a relative shift amount of wavelength between the measured spectrum waveform and the each of the reference spectrum waveforms (Chauhan, [0005]: “The spectrum is expressed as a graph showing a relationship between the intensity of the reflected light and wavelength of the reflected light. The optical film-thickness measuring device compares the spectrum of the reflected light with multiple reference spectra, and determines one reference spectrum having a shape closest to that of the spectrum of the reflected light. Specifically, the optical film-thickness measuring device calculates a difference between the spectrum of the reflected light and each reference spectrum, and determines the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference.” Therefore, for the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference to be determined, the calculation would necessarily need to account for the relative shift amount of wavelength between the measured spectrum waveform and each of the reference spectrum waveforms so that the wavelength range matches between the measured spectrum and the reference spectrum.), and j is an identifier of the reference spectrum waveforms (Chauhan, [0005]: “The optical film-thickness measuring device compares the spectrum of the reflected light with multiple reference spectra, and determines one reference spectrum having a shape closest to that of the spectrum of the reflected light. Specifically, the optical film-thickness measuring device calculates a difference between the spectrum of the reflected light and each reference spectrum, and determines the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference.”).
Suzuki modified by Chauhan (for claim 1) appears to be silent to expression 1 or expression 2 which are shown below, however, Chauhan describes in [0005] that “…the optical film-thickness measuring device calculates a difference between the spectrum of the reflected light and each reference spectrum, and determines the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference”, and the variables associated with calculating the reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference are disclosed by Suzuki (optical path length) and Chauhan (relative shift amount of wavelength and j as an identifier of the reference spectrum waveforms). See rejection above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan (for claim 1) to incorporate expression 1 and expression 2 (as shown above) as disclosed by Suzuki modified by Chauhan. The advantage of the above expressions is that a reference spectrum having the smallest calculated difference could be calculated which is then used to determine a film thickness ([0005] from Chauhan) and temperature of a substrate could be measured from optical path length (Abstract from Suzuki), where film thickness and temperature of a substrate are important variables to be measured in semiconductor manufacturing.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan appears to be silent to the method comprises calculating the temperature of the substrate or the material film based on the relative shift amount τ between the measured spectrum waveform and the similar reference spectrum waveform.
Lee, related to a non-contact system for measuring temperature, does teach that calculating a temperature of the substrate or the material film based on the relative shift amount τ ([0037]: “An example of the correlation between the shift in wavelength and change in temperature change is shown in FIG. 9. Knowing an ambient or baseline temperature, the controller 74 can then determine a current temperature value using the change in temperature as indicated by the shift in the wavelength of the detected light.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan so that the operation part is configured to calculate a temperature of the substrate or the material film based on the relative shift amount τ, as disclosed by Lee. The above-mentioned process has the advantage of being able to determine a current temperature value based on a change in optical properties of light reflected by a temperature sensing member ([0037] from Lee).
Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Lee appears to be silent to calculating a temperature of the substrate or the material film from the measured spectrum waveform and the similar reference spectrum waveform.
Tatsunari, related to measuring temperature of a film during semiconductor processing, does teach calculating a temperature of the substrate or the material film ([0021]: Temperature at which a film has grown can be calculated) from the measured spectrum waveform and the similar reference spectrum waveform ([0021]: “ A plurality of reference infrared-absorption spectra may be prepared in advance in accordance with film-growing temperature, and in the step (b), the reference infrared-absorption spectra and the infrared absorption spectrum of the film may be compared with each other, thereby calculating the temperature at which the film has been grown. Then, the temperature at which the film has been grown can be calculated easily.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan and Lee to incorporate calculating a temperature of the substrate or the material film from the measured spectrum waveform and the similar reference spectrum waveform, as disclosed by Tatsunari. The method mentioned-above has the advantage of allowing in-line non-destruction of the temperature at which a film has been grown without causing any deterioration in productive, which enables conditions determined for a film-growing apparatus to be controlled ([0030] and [0129] from Tatsunari).
Regarding Claim 15, Suzuki modified by Chauhan, Lee, and Tatsunari teaches the method of claim 14.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan, Lee, and Tatsunari further teaches preparing a relational expression between a shift amount of wavelength and a temperature change amount of the substrate or the material film (Lee, shown in Fig. 9 and described in [0037]) in advance with regard to the reference spectrum waveforms (Chauhan, reference spectrums from [0005]), wherein the calculating the temperature of the substrate or the material film is performed by using the relative shift amount τ and the relational expression (Lee, [0037]: “An example of the correlation between the shift in wavelength and change in temperature change is shown in FIG. 9. Knowing an ambient or baseline temperature, the controller 74 can then determine a current temperature value using the change in temperature as indicated by the shift in the wavelength of the detected light.”).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2006/0176490 A1) in view of Chauhan (US 2022/0316863 A1) and Tatsunari (US 2004/0023403 A1), and further in view of Nagasawa (US 20230215710 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Tatsunari teaches the apparatus of method of claim 13.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Tatsunari further teaches calculating the film thickness on or in the substrate or the material film is performed based on one of the shape parameters which corresponds to the similar reference spectrum waveform (Chauhan, [0005]).
Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Tatsunari appears to be silent calculating the processed amount on or in the substrate or the material film is performed based on one of the shape parameters which corresponds to the similar reference spectrum waveform.
Nagasawa, related to detecting film thickness during semiconductor processing, does teach calculating the processed amount (depth/etching amount from [0050-0054] and [0058]) on or in the substrate or the material film is performed based on one of the shape parameters (depth/etching amount from [0050-0054] and [0058]) which corresponds to the similar reference spectrum waveform ([0052-0054]: “The data to be compared is recorded and stored in advance in a storage of the database unit 30 communicably connected to the comparator 31.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan and Tatsunari so that calculating the processed amount on or in the substrate or the material film is performed based on one of the shape parameters which corresponds to the similar reference spectrum waveform, as disclosed by Nagasawa. Depth/etching amount is an important parameter to be monitored in semiconductor processing, therefore, it would be advantageous to be able to accurately measure the depth/etching amount to better optimize the final processed shape in the etching process ([0004-0005] from Nagasawa).
Regarding Claim 17, Suzuki modified by Chauhan, Tatsunari, and Nagasawa teaches the method of Claim 16.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan, Tatsunari, and Nagasawa further teaches that the processed amount (Nagasawa, etching amount/depth from [0050-0058]) on or in the substrate or the material film is a processed depth of a hole formed in the substrate or the material film (Nagasawa, Abstract, [0050-0058]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2006/0176490 A1) in view of Chauhan (US 2022/0316863 A1) and Tatsunari (US 2004/0023403 A1), and further in view of Kobayshi (US 2017/0190020 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Tatsunari teaches the method of claim 13.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Tatsunari appears to be silent interpolating another reference spectrum waveform between the shape parameters based on the reference spectrum waveforms for the shape parameters.
Kobayashi, related to measuring film thickness, does teach interpolating another reference spectrum waveform between the shape parameters (film thickness from [0102-0104]) based on the reference spectrum waveforms for the shape parameters ([0102-0104]: “] A reference spectrum when the polishing table 3 is making an N-th revolution is corrected as follows. First, a film thickness at a point A on the hypothetical line at the N-th revolution is determined. Then, a point B on the estimation line at which the film thickness is equal to the film thickness at the point A is determined. Generally, the point B lies between the N1-th revolution and an N2 (=N1+1)-th revolution which are adjacent to each other. Accordingly, a spectrum corresponding to the point B is determined by interpolation based on reference spectra corresponding to the N1-th revolution and the N2-th revolution.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki combined with Chauhan and Tatsunari to incorporate interpolating another reference spectrum waveform between the shape parameters based on the reference spectrum waveforms for the shape parameters, as disclosed by Kobayashi. The advantage of the above-mentioned process is that a corrected reference spectrum can be determined ([0102] from Kobayashi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki modified by Chauhan teaches the apparatus of Claim 1.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan appears to be silent to the light source includes a first light source configured to generate a first light beam with a first wavelength and a second light source configured to generate a second light beam with a second wavelength different from the first wavelength.
Moslehi (US 5,474,381 A), related to an apparatus and method for measuring the temperature of a semiconductor wafer, does teach that the light source (Fig. 4: light source 102) includes a first light source configured to generate a first light beam with a first wavelength (Fig. 4: laser 104 which has wavelength 850 nm (Col. 8, ll. 66-67 to Col. 9, ll. 1-2: “In one embodiment of sensor 100, the wavelengths of laser 104 and laser 106 have been selected to be 850 nm and 820 nm, respectively, for silicon wafer temperature measurements.”)) and a second light source (Fig. 4: laser 106) configured to generate a second light beam with a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (Fig. 4: laser 106 which has wavelength 820 nm (Col. 8, ll. 66-67 to Col. 9, ll. 1-2: “In one embodiment of sensor 100, the wavelengths of laser 104 and laser 106 have been selected to be 850 nm and 820 nm, respectively, for silicon wafer temperature measurements.”)).
Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Moslehi does not teach that the reference spectrum waveforms are generated by linking a plurality of first reference spectrum waveforms generated in advance for the shape parameters of the substrate or the material film with regard to the reflected light beam of the first light beam and a plurality of second reference spectrum waveforms generated in advance for the shape parameters of the substrate or the material film with regard to the reflected light beam of the second light beam together for each substrate or material film having a same shape parameter, and
the measured spectrum waveform is generated by linking a first measured spectrum waveform based on the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the first light beam is radiated to the substrate and a second measured spectrum waveform based on the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the second light beam is radiated to the substrate together.
At best, Chauhan, teaches in Fig. 23 that the reference spectrum waveforms are generated over a wavelength range rather than just from a first light beam with a first wavelength and a second light source with a second light beam and a second wavelength that is different from the first wavelength, for shape parameters (film thickness) of the material film with regard to reflected light beam ([0005]).
Therefore, as to Claim 6, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus the reference spectrum waveforms are generated by linking a plurality of first reference spectrum waveforms generated in advance for the shape parameters of the substrate or the material film with regard to the reflected light beam of the first light beam and a plurality of second reference spectrum waveforms generated in advance for the shape parameters of the substrate or the material film with regard to the reflected light beam of the second light beam together for each substrate or material film having a same shape parameter, and
the measured spectrum waveform is generated by linking a first measured spectrum waveform based on the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the first light beam is radiated to the substrate and a second measured spectrum waveform based on the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the second light beam is radiated to the substrate together, in combination with the rest of the limitations in Claim 6.
Claims 7-10 would be allowed by virtue of their dependence on claim 6.
Regarding Claim 18, Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Tatsunari teaches the method of claim 13.
Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Tatsunari appears to be silent to the light source includes a first light source configured to generate a first light beam with a first wavelength and a second light source configured to generate a second light beam with a second wavelength different from the first wavelength.
Moslehi (US 5,474,381 A), related to an apparatus and method for measuring semiconductor wafer temperature, does teach that the light source (Fig. 4: light source 102) includes a first light source configured to generate a first light beam with a first wavelength (Fig. 4: laser 104 which has wavelength 850 nm (Col. 8, ll. 66-67 to Col. 9, ll. 1-2: “In one embodiment of sensor 100, the wavelengths of laser 104 and laser 106 have been selected to be 850 nm and 820 nm, respectively, for silicon wafer temperature measurements.”)) and a second light source configured to generate a second light beam with a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (Fig. 4: laser 106 which has wavelength 820 nm (Col. 8, ll. 66-67 to Col. 9, ll. 1-2: “In one embodiment of sensor 100, the wavelengths of laser 104 and laser 106 have been selected to be 850 nm and 820 nm, respectively, for silicon wafer temperature measurements.”)).
Suzuki modified by Chauhan and Moslehi does not teach the reference spectrum waveforms are generated by linking a plurality of first reference spectrum waveforms generated in advance for the shape parameters of the substrate or the material film with regard to the reflected light beam of the first light beam and a plurality of second reference spectrum waveforms generated in advance for the shape parameters of the substrate or the material film with regard to the reflected light beam of the second light beam together for each substrate or material film having a same shape parameter, and
the measured spectrum waveform is generated by linking a first measured spectrum waveform based on the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the first light beam is radiated to the substrate and a second measured spectrum waveform based on the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the second light beam is radiated to the substrate together.
At best, Chauhan, teaches in Fig. 23 that the reference spectrum waveforms are generated over a wavelength range rather than just from a first light beam with a first wavelength and a second light source with a second light beam and a second wavelength that is different from the first wavelength, for shape parameters (film thickness) of the material film with regard to reflected light beam ([0005]).
Therefore, as to Claim 18, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a semiconductor manufacturing device method, the method comprising where the reference spectrum waveforms are generated by linking a plurality of first reference spectrum waveforms generated in advance for the shape parameters of the substrate or the material film with regard to the reflected light beam of the first light beam and a plurality of second reference spectrum waveforms generated in advance for the shape parameters of the substrate or the material film with regard to the reflected light beam of the second light beam together for each substrate or material film having a same shape parameter, and
the measured spectrum waveform is generated by linking a first measured spectrum waveform based on the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the first light beam is radiated to the substrate and a second measured spectrum waveform based on the reflected light beam measured by the detector when the second light beam is radiated to the substrate together, in combination with the rest of the limitations in Claim 18.
Conclusion
/JUDY DAO TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877