Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/2/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,894,288. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Pat ‘288 anticipates the claim limitation set forth on 2/5/2024.
With respect to Claim 1, Pat ‘288 discloses a two-phase immersion cooling system, comprising: a tank configured to contain a coolant liquid and one or more printed circuit boards having semiconductor die (Claim 1, lines 17-20); and a one-way pressure relief valve (Claim 1, line 28), coupled to the tank, having an open position and a closed position (Claim 1), the valve being configured to remain in the closed position and only move from the closed position towards the open position when A) a pressure difference across the valve generates a net force directed towards the open position (Claim 1, lines 33-67) and B) the pressure difference is greater than a pressure threshold of the valve, wherein: the pressure threshold of the valve ranges from about 0.5 pounds per square inch (psi) to about 2 psi (Claim 2); and when the valve is at the open position or between the open position and the closed position, the valve is configured to allow a fluid to flow through the valve at a rate ranging from about 0 cubic feet per minute (cfm) to about 2000 cfm (Claim 2).
With respect to Claim 2, claims 1 & 2 of Pat ‘288 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the passage has a diameter ranging from about 2 inches to about 6 inches (Claim 3).
With respect to Claim 3, claims 1 & 2 of Pat ‘288 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the spring has a diameter ranging from about 1.5 inches to about 1.7 inches (Claim 3).
With respect to Claim 4, claims 1 & 2 of Pat ‘288 discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the valve comprises: a valve body defining a passage; a poppet assembly coupled to the valve body and movable between and including the closed position and the open position, the poppet assembly comprising: a poppet to seal the passage at the closed position; and a spring, disposed between the valve body and the poppet assembly, to apply a spring force to the poppet assembly to keep the poppet assembly at the closed position, the pressure threshold corresponding to the spring force (Claim 1, lines 50-67).
With respect to Claim 5, claim 1 of Pat ‘288 discloses the system of claim 4, wherein: the valve further comprises: a guide plate, coupled to the valve body, having a guide plate opening; and the poppet assembly further comprises: a guide rod, securely coupled to the poppet and movable through the guide plate opening, to laterally constrain the poppet.
Dependent claims 6-12 are rejected under claims 1-9 of Pat ‘288.
With respect to Claim 13, claim 1 of Pat ‘288 discloses A two-phase immersion cooling system, comprising: a tank configured to contain a coolant liquid and one or more printed circuit boards having semiconductor die (Claim 1); and a one-way pressure relief valve coupled to the tank, the valve comprising: a valve body defining a passage; a guide plate, coupled to the valve body, having a guide plate opening; a poppet assembly coupled to the valve body and movable between and including a closed position and an open position, the poppet assembly comprising: a poppet to seal the passage at the closed position; and a guide rod, securely coupled to the poppet and movable through the guide plate opening, to laterally constrain the poppet; and a spring, disposed between the valve body and the poppet assembly, to apply a spring force to the poppet assembly to keep the poppet assembly at the closed position unless a pressure difference across the poppet generates a net force that opposes the spring force and is greater than or equal to a pressure threshold corresponding to the spring force (Claim 1, lines 30-67).
With respect to Claim 14, claim 1 of Pat ‘288 discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the pressure threshold ranges from about 0.5 pounds per square inch (psi) to about 2 psi (Claim 2).
With respect to Claim 15, claim 1 of Pat ‘288 discloses the system of claim 13, wherein when the poppet assembly is at the open position or between the open position and the closed position, the valve is configured to allow a fluid to flow through the valve at a rate ranging from about 0 cubic feet per minute (cfm) to about 2000 cfm (Claim 2).
With respect to Claim 16, claim 1 of Pat ‘288 discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the passage has a diameter ranging from about 2 inches to about 6 inches (Claim 3).
With respect to Claim 17, claim 1 of Pat ‘288 discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the spring has a diameter ranging from about 1.5 inches to about 1.7 inches (Claim 3).
With respect to Claim 18, claim 1 of Pat ‘288 discloses a two-phase immersion cooling system, comprising: a tank configured to contain a coolant liquid and one or more printed circuit boards having semiconductor die; and a one-way pressure relief valve, coupled to the tank, having an open position and a closed position, the valve being configured to remain in the closed position and only move from the closed position towards the open position when A) a pressure difference across the valve generates a net force directed towards the open position (Claim 1) and B) the pressure difference is greater than a pressure threshold of the valve, wherein: the pressure threshold of the valve ranges from about 0.5 pounds per square inch (psi) to about 2 psi (Claim 2, Col. 31, lines 2-3); and the valve defines a passage for a fluid to flow through the valve at the open position or between the open position and the closed position, the passage having a diameter ranging from about 2 inches to about 6 inches (Claim 3, Col. 31, line 10-11).
With respect to Claim 19, claims 1, 2, and 3 of Pat ‘288 discloses the system of claim 18, wherein: when the valve is at the open position or between the open position and the closed position, the valve is configured to allow a fluid to flow through the valve at a rate ranging from about 0 cubic feet per minute (cfm) to about 2000 cfm (Claim 2, Col. 31, lines 4-8); and the spring has a diameter ranging from about 1.5 inches to about 1.7 inches (Claim 3, Col. 31, lines 12-13).
With respect to Claim 20, claims 1, 2, and 3 of Pat ‘288 discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the valve comprises: a valve body defining a passage; a guide plate, coupled to the valve body, having a guide plate opening; a poppet assembly coupled to the valve body and movable between and including the closed position and the open position, the poppet assembly comprising: a poppet to seal the passage at the closed position; and a guide rod, securely coupled to the poppet and movable through the guide plate opening, to laterally constrain the poppet; and a spring, disposed between the valve body and the poppet assembly, to apply a spring force to the poppet assembly to keep the poppet assembly at the closed position, the pressure threshold corresponding to the spring force (Claim 1, Col. 30, lines 55-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIN (U.S 2023/0027917) in view of Enright (U.S 2020/0093038 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Lin discloses a two-phase immersion cooling system (Fig.1), comprising: a tank (Fig.1, #20) configured to contain a coolant liquid (Fig.1, #30) and one or more printed circuit boards having semiconductor die (Fig.1, #E); and a one-way pressure relief valve (Fig.1, #61), coupled to the tank (Fig.1), having an open position and a closed position (Paragraph [0030], #61 has an open and closed position), the valve being configured to remain in the closed position and only move from the closed position towards the open position when A) a pressure difference across the valve generates a net force directed towards the open position (Fig.1, #61 and paragraph [0031], discloses when a pressure across the valve generates enough pressure to force #61 to open) B) the pressure difference is greater than a pressure threshold of the valve (Paragraph [0031], when pressure exceeds a first upper limit) wherein; and when the valve is at the open position or between the open position and the closed position, the valve is configured to allow a fluid to flow through the valve at a rate ranging from about 0 cubic feet per minute (cfm) to about 2000 cfm (Fig.1, disclose a fluid to flow through #61 at a rate ranging from 0 to 2000 CFM, see paragraph [0030]).
Lin does disclose a pressure threshold of the valve to have limits (see paragraph [0014-0015 & 0031]).
Lin fails to explicitly disclose: The pressure threshold of the valve ranges from about 0.5 pounds per square inch (psi) to about 2 psi.
However, Enright discloses: The pressure threshold of the valve ranges from about 0.5 pounds per square inch (psi) to about 2 psi (Paragraph [0036 & 0059], which discloses the immersion tank includes pressure valves which have a threshold of 2 or below, as such the office notes that with the combination of Lin in view of Enright, the two phase immersion system comprising a pressure valve having a threshold (as taught by Lin) would be modified to have a threshold of about 2 or less PSI (as taught by Enright) to ensure the components are being properly cooled).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the two phase immersion system comprising a pressure valve having a threshold (as taught by Lin) would be modified to have a threshold of about 2 or less PSI (as taught by Enright) to ensure the components are being properly cooled. By maintaining a pressure of 2 PSI or less, would reduce the boiling point of the coolant which would benefit of increase cooling which allows for more electricity to be passed through the components of said system (Enright, Paragraph [0039-0038]).
In regards to Claim 8, Lin in view of Enright discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the valve is configured to be an outlet valve (Lin Fig.1, #61 is an outlet valve by releasing pressure).
In regards to Claim 9, Lin in view of Enright discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the valve is configured to be an inlet valve (Lin, Fig.1, #61 has an inlet to receive access vapor/gas).
In regards to Claim 10, Lin in view of Enright discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the valve is a first valve (Lin, Fig.1, #61); the system further comprises: a second valve (Lin, Fig.1, #63) identical to the first valve (Lin, Fig.1, paragraphs [030 & 0036], discloses both valves being similar); and the first valve is configured to be an outlet valve (Lin, Fig.1, #61 is an outlet valve releasing vapor) and the second valve is configured to be an inlet valve (Lin , Fig.1, #63 is configured to be an inlet valve to introduce air (pressure) within the tank).
In regards to Claim 11, Lin in view of Enright discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising: a bellows assembly (Enright, Fig.10c, #517), comprising: a container (Enright, Fig.10c, #517 contains a container) defining a container volume configured to contain a mixture of air and coolant vapor from the tank volume; and a venting tube to fluidically couple the container to the tank (Enright, paragraph [0151], which discloses a tube connected to #517 for venting access fluid mixture to reduce pressure within the tank).
In regards to Claim 12, Lin in view of Enright discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the valve is directly coupled to the bellows assembly (Enright, Fig.10c and paragraph [0036 & 0246-47], disclose valves can directly connected to the bellows assembly to further reduce any pressure differential).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to Claim 2, no prior art fairly suggests or discloses “wherein the passage has a diameter ranging from about 2 inches to about 6 inches”.
In regards to Claim 3, no prior art fairly suggests or discloses “ wherein the spring has a diameter ranging from about 1.5 inches to about 1.7 inches”.
In regards to Claim 4, no prior art fairly suggests or discloses “a valve body defining a passage; a poppet assembly coupled to the valve body and movable between and including the closed position and the open position, the poppet assembly comprising: a poppet to seal the passage at the closed position; and a spring, disposed between the valve body and the poppet assembly, to apply a spring force to the poppet assembly to keep the poppet assembly at the closed position, the pressure threshold corresponding to the spring force”.
Dependent claim 5 is allowably by virtue of it dependency from claim 4.
In regards to Claim 6, no prior art fairly suggests or discloses “further comprising: an adsorbent chamber coupled to and disposed between the tank and the valve”.
Dependent claim 7 is allowably by virtue of it dependency from claim 6.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to the independent claim 13, no prior art fairly suggests or discloses “a valve body defining a passage; a guide plate, coupled to the valve body, having a guide plate opening; a poppet assembly coupled to the valve body and movable between and including a closed position and an open position, the poppet assembly comprising: a poppet to seal the passage at the closed position; and a guide rod, securely coupled to the poppet and movable through the guide plate opening, to laterally constrain the poppet; and a spring, disposed between the valve body and the poppet assembly, to apply a spring force to the poppet assembly to keep the poppet assembly at the closed position unless a pressure difference across the poppet generates a net force that opposes the spring force and is greater than or equal to a pressure threshold corresponding to the spring force”, in conjunction with the remaining elements.
Dependent claims 14-17 are allowably by virtue of their dependency from claim 13.
In regards to Claim 18, no prior art fairly suggests or discloses “the passage having a diameter ranging from about 2 inches to about 6 inches”, in conjunction with the remaining elements.
Dependent claims 19-20 are allowably by virtue of their dependency from claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (U.S Patent 11,589,483) - Discloses a two phase cooling system, comprising: a tank defining a tank volume configured to contain one or more printed circuit boards having semiconductor die that generate heat; coolant liquid, disposed within the tank volume, configured to immerse the one or more printed circuit boards and remove the heat from the respective semiconductor die via vaporization thereby producing coolant vapor; and a valve assembly coupled to the tank, the valve assembly comprising: a pressure relief valve.
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835