DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 10, & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stoia et al. (Pub No. US 2020/0407072 A1).
Regarding claim 7
Stoia teaches a hypersonic vehicle, (See paragraphs 0002, 0017 & figure 1, ref # 102) comprising: an electrical power management system, (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 100) comprising: a primary electrical system; (See paragraph 0025) an auxiliary electrical system; (See figure 2, ref # 180) and a turbine generator, (See paragraph 0020 & figure 2, ref # 150) wherein the primary electrical system (See paragraph 0025) is configured to exert a primary electrical load on the turbine generator, (See paragraph 0025 & figure 2, ref # 150) and wherein the auxiliary electrical system (See figure 2, ref # 180) is configured to exert a governing electrical load on the turbine generator. (See paragraph 0025 & figure 2, ref # 150)
Regarding claim 10
Stoia teaches further comprising a fuselage, (See figure 1, ref # 104) wherein the turbine generator (See figure 2, ref # 150) is mounted within the fuselage. (See figures 1 & 2, ref # 104)
Regarding claim 18
Stoia teaches wherein the primary electrical system (See paragraph 0025) is electrically connected to an actuator control system. (See paragraph 0015 & figure 2, ref # 200; the turbine generator is producing the electricity more efficiently than batteries or fuel cells would (See paragraph 0015) and therefore the actuators and the controller would be getting their power from the turbine generator since that is what is generating the electricity)
Regarding claim 19
Stoia teaches wherein the primary electrical system (See paragraph 0025) is electrically connected to a flight management system. (See figure 2, ref # 200)
Regarding claim 20
Stoia teaches wherein the primary electrical system (See paragraph 0025) is electrically connected to an instrumentation system. (See figure 2, ref # 202)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 are allowed.
Claims 8, 9, & 11-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “an auxiliary electrical system including a plasma device; and wherein the auxiliary electrical system is configured to exert a governing electrical load on the turbine generator via the plasma device” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein the auxiliary electrical system is configured to increase the governing electrical load on the turbine generator when the primary electrical load is decreased” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein the auxiliary electrical system is configured to decrease the governing electrical load on the turbine generator when the primary electrical load is increased” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 11,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein the auxiliary electrical system includes a plasma device disposed along or beneath the exterior surface” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 17,
The prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed “wherein the auxiliary electrical system includes at least one plasma device positioned within the engine inlet section, upstream from the engine inlet section, or the exhaust nozzle section” in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference Dierksmeier (Pub No. US 2019/0234308 A1) discloses a hypersonic vehicle, a fuselage, an electrical power management system, a primary electrical system, a turbine generator, an actuator control system, a flight management system, and an instrumentation system.
The reference Lee et al. (US Patent No. 7,766,599 B2) discloses an aircraft, an electrical power management system, a primary electrical system, a turbine engine, and a plasma device.
The reference Suttie (Pub No. US 2008/0179947 A1) discloses an aircraft, an electrical power management system, a main engine, an electrical system, a plurality of loads, a flight management system, an instrumentation system, an actuator control system, an auxiliary controller, and the auxiliary system controlled based on a maximum load.
The reference Waite et al. (Pub No. US 2009/0152942 A1) discloses an aircraft, an electrical power management system, a primary electrical system, and an auxiliary electrical system.
/RODNEY A BONNETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647