DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yue et al. (US 20240422721 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yue, in view of Huang et al. (US 20180323925 A1), hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claim 1:
Yue discloses a user equipment (anchor UE in Fig.9) comprising:
at least one processor (processor, element 2004 in Fig.20); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (memory, element 2006 in Fig.20 and [0338]),
cause the user equipment to determine a sidelink response time value from a plurality of sidelink response time values configured for the user equipment and a target user equipment (determining/ measuring Rx-Tx timing difference between responding and requesting user equipments {UEs}, e.g., sidelink {SL} UE and target UE [0226], wherein Rx-Tx timing measurements are multiple [0247]); and
transmit a positioning reference signal to the target user equipment based at least partly on at least one positioning reference signal transmission parameter associated with the selected sidelink response time value (perform transmit {TX} transmissions {to target UE} -- by using timing gap, e.g., response time value [0330] wherein Tx transmissions is UL position reference signal {UL PRS} [0382]-- based on SL resource allocation signaling [0034] including SL PRS resource identifier (ID), SL PRS frequency domain, e.g., PRS transmission parameter [0041]).
Yue does not further disclose the response time value can be configured for the user equipment and target user equipment and the user equipment can select one of them.
Huang, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the response time value can be configured for the user equipment and target user equipment (delay value {K2} can be configured for UEs [0062]) and UE can select one of them for PRS transmission (determining the delay value in the set of configured delay values in transmitting uplink communications based on received grant [0063]).
Also, Huang further teaches the base station provides uplink resource grants to a plurality of UEs and/ or indicates the delay value to a plurality of UEs [0047].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to implement the feature of transmitting reference signals based on RS transmission parameters included in a resource grant, according to the response time value – into the transmission method between two sidelink UEs; thus enhancing the determination of when to transmit uplink wireless communications, e.g., PRS, based on uplink grant and delay value – Huang [0006], and improving the ranging accuracy of UEs and performance of UE positioning -- Yue [0085].
Regarding claim 2:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 1, and –
Yue further discloses the at least one positioning reference signal transmission parameter includes at least one of a positioning reference signal sequence for the positioning reference signal, a positioning reference signal sequence for a positioning reference signal identifier, frequency resources for transmitting the positioning reference signal, time resources for transmitting the positioning reference signal (symbols configured for PRS transmission, [0192]) , or frequency offset information (or frequency offset configured for PRS, [0192])
Regarding claim 3:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 1, and –
Yue further discloses the at least one positioning reference signal transmission parameter is a resource pool used to transmit the positioning reference signal to the target user equipment (transmission of a SL Pos RS in a resource pool to target UE [0024 and 0044]).
Regarding claim 4:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 1, and –
Yue does not, while Huang further teaches selecting transmission time of the positioning reference signal according to the selected sidelink response time value (RS uplink communications are to be transmitted based on delay value [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to transmit PRS according to the selected sidelink response time value; thus efficiently transmitting PRS on the determined slot corresponding to the delay value – Huang [0028]
.
Regarding claim 5:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 1, and –
Yue further discloses the at least one positioning reference signal transmission parameter is associated with a parameter identifier (PRS with SL PRS resource identifier [0041]).
In addition, Huang teaches the sidelink response time value is associated with the at least one positioning reference signal transmission parameter via a mapping between the sidelink response time value and the parameter identifier (when delay value is 0, corresponding uplink communications is transmitted in same slot, e.g., PRS transmission parameter, being configured for receiving uplink grant [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to map the sidelink response time value and the parameter identifier; thus improving the quality of PRS transmissions.
Regarding claim 6:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 5, and –
Yue further discloses the at least one positioning reference signal transmission parameter includes at least one of a positioning reference signal sequence for the positioning reference signal (PRS sequence ID [0405]) or frequency resources for transmitting the positioning reference signal (PRS frequency domain allocation [0041]).
Regarding claim 7:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 5, and –
Yue does not, while Huang further teaches the sidelink response time value is mapped to the parameter identifier via a mapping table (when delay value is 0, corresponding uplink communications is transmitted in same slot, e.g., PRS transmission parameter, being configured for receiving uplink grant, and when delay value is greater than 0 , a subsequent slot from the slot for receiving the uplink grant is configured for transmitting the corresponding uplink communications [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to map the sidelink response time value to the parameter identifier via a mapping table; thus allowing UE to quickly filter the information displayed in a mapping table to locate the desired content.
Regarding claim 8:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 1, and –
Yue further discloses the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to receive a positioning reference signal from the target user equipment prior to selecting the sidelink response time value (UE receives DR PRS and measures UE Rx-Tx time difference [0222]), wherein the sidelink response time value indicates a time difference between receipt of the positioning reference signal from the target user equipment and transmission of the positioning reference signal to the target user equipment (where Rx-Tx time difference is difference between the time that a radio node {UE} receives positioning signal from other node and the time that this radio node {UE} transmits positioning signal subsequently [0222]).
Regarding claim 10:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 1, and –
Yue further discloses the transmission of the positioning reference signal to the target user equipment based at least partly on the at least one positioning reference signal transmission parameter indicates the sidelink response time value to the target user equipment without explicit transmission of the sidelink response time value to the target user equipment (responding UE may also send simply SL Pos-RS without a responding message, e.g., without explicit transmission [0241]).
Regarding claim 11:
Claim 11 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 1 above, except that claim 11 is recited in a method claim format.
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 1 above, except that claim 12 is recited from the perspective of a target UE, and wherein Yue [in claim 12] also discloses a user equipment (target UE in Fig.9) comprising:
at least one processor (processor, element 2004 in Fig.20); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (memory, element 2006 in Fig.20 and [0338]), cause the user equipment to identify at least one positioning reference signal transmission parameter associated with the received positioning reference signal (determining slot to receive SL Pos-RS [0026]), and
determine, based on the at least one positioning reference signal transmission parameter, a sidelink response time value for transmission of the received positioning reference signal by the anchor user equipment (and determine slot to receive a timing measurement report from anchor UE [0026]);
the sidelink response time value being for determining position information for the user equipment (with Rx-Tx measurement report from anchor UE, target UE computes its location [0310]).
Regarding claim 13:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 12, and –
Yue further discloses the position information includes at least one of an absolute position, a relative position, or ranging information for the user equipment (positioning includes relative positioning, ranging, and absolute positioning [0083]).
Regarding claims 14-15:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 12, and –
Claims 14-15 are rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claims 2-3 above, except that claims 14-15 are recited from the perspective of a target UE.
Regarding claim 16:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 12, and –
Claim 16 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 5 above, except that Huang [in claim 16] also discloses the user equipment determines the sidelink response time value based on the parameter identifier (UE determines delay value in terms of specified number of slots [0063-0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to determine the sidelink response time value based on the parameter identifier; thus enabling UE to transmit uplink communications in a specific symbol/ slot based on the delay value – Huang [0028].
Regarding claims 17-18:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 16.
Claims 17-18 are rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claims 7, 6 above, respectively, except that claims 17-18 are recited from the perspective of a target user equipment.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 discloses all limitations of claim 12, and –
Claim 19 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 8 above, except that claim 19 is recited from the perspective of a target user equipment.
Regarding claim 20:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 16.
Claim 20 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 10 above, except that claim 20 is recited from the perspective of a target user equipment.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yue in view of Huang, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ren (US 20220330198 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ren.
Regarding claim 9:
Yue in view of Huang discloses all limitations of claim 8, and –
Yue in view Huang does not further teaches the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to select the sidelink response time value from the plurality of sidelink response time values based on at least one of sidelink channel characteristics between the user equipment and the target user equipment, positioning requirements for the target user equipment , or priority information associated with positioning reference signal transmissions from at least one of the user equipment or the target user equipment.
Ren, from the same field of endeavor, teaches selecting the sidelink response time value from the plurality of sidelink response time values based on at least one of sidelink channel characteristics between the user equipment and the target user equipment (selecting transmitting time difference 2 with quality indication RS received power {RSRP 2}, e.g, channel characteristics, that is larger than RSRP 1 of UE receiving-transmitting time difference 1 [0282], wherein RSs/ PRSs are transmitted between two devices {UE and BS, or UE and another UE} [0123], positioning requirements for the target user equipment , or priority information associated with positioning reference signal transmissions from at least one of the user equipment or the target user equipment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to map to select the sidelink response time value from the plurality of sidelink response time values based on at least one of sidelink channel characteristics between the user equipment and the target user equipment ; thus improving the performance of the entire system by configuring resources based on the quality indication of the positioning measurement value – Ren [0144]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Duan (US-20250008472-A1 [0078, 0133]),
Ghimire (US-20250030590-A1 [0474-0476]), and
Liu (US-20240323899-A1 [0085, 0094]), and
Wang (US-20250039835-A1 [0085, 0094]),
are all cited to show that transmitting PRS based on PRS transmission parameters included in a resource grant, according to the response time value, between two sidelink UEs – would enhance the determination of when to transmit uplink wireless communications and improve performance of UE positioning -- similar to the claimed invention.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CAMQUYEN THAI whose telephone number is (571) 270-7245. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 9:00am-5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and videoconferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A. Abaza, can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/C.Q.T./
/AYMAN A ABAZA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465