DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 10: “within a module pair” should be amended to recite “the module pair” as a module pair is already introduced in line 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10-11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ito (US 20250172775 A1).
As to Claim 1, Ito discloses:
A cage structure (portion of cage 100; see Fig. 1) comprising:
a first end (end connected to 200) and a second end (end away from 200), the first end adapted to be coupled to a vertical line card 200 such that the second end of the cage structure is laterally displaced from the first end (cage 100 connected to circuit board 200; first and second ends are laterally displaced), the cage structure 100 having:
a top edge (see Fig. below);
a bottom edge extending between the first and second ends (see defined top and bottom edges in attached Fig. below; top and bottom edged are between first and second ends),
a middle edge (defined in Fig. below) between the top and bottom edges (middle edge is between defined top and bottom edges), the middle edge having a first middle surface 112M facing the top edge and a second middle surface 112H facing the bottom edge (112M faces defined top edge and 112H faces defined bottom edge), the first middle surface 112M adapted to accommodate a first pluggable module 410 within a module pair and the second middle surface 112H adapted to accommodate a second pluggable module 410 within the module pair (one module 410 disposed between 112M and top edge, module 410 disposed between 112H and bottom edge; Par. 0085 “First ports P1 are spaces in which the optical modules 410 are accommodated”); and
at least two vertically aligned cavities (P1(P)) extending between the first end and the second end and between the top edge and the bottom edge (cavities P1 (P) extend between first and second ends and top and bottom edges, see Fig. below), each of the top edge and the bottom edge adapted to accommodate a riding heatsink 420 (heat sinks 420 accommodated above defined top edge and below defined bottom edge).
As to Claim 2, Ito discloses:
wherein the top edge comprises a top external surface on a perimeter of the cage structure and a top internal surface facing the first middle surface (defined top edge has external surface facing top P2 (P) and bottom surface facing 112M of defined middle surface), and wherein the bottom edge comprises a bottom internal surface facing the second middle surface (internal surface of defined bottom edge faces 112H of defined middle edge) and a bottom external surface on the perimeter of the cage structure (defined bottom edge has a surface facing perimeter of defined cage structure).
As to Claim 3, Ito discloses:
wherein the at least two vertically aligned cavities comprise a first cavity between the top internal surface and the first middle surface and a second cavity between the second middle surface and the bottom internal surface (see Fig. below; cavities are defined by inner surface of top edge and 112M of middle edge and between 112H of middle edge and inner surface of bottom edge).
As to Claim 4, Ito discloses:
wherein a first riding heatsink 420 resides on the top external surface and a second riding heatsink 420 resides on the bottom external surface (first heatsink disposed on top surface of defined top edge; second heatsink disposed on bottom surface of defined bottom edge).
As to Claim 5, Ito discloses:
A cage assembly (100, see Fig. 1), comprising:
a cage structure (portion of cage 100) having a first end (end connected to 200) and a second end (end away from 200), the first end adapted to be coupled to a vertical line card 200 such that the second end of the cage structure is laterally displaced from the first end (cage 100 connected to circuit board 200; first and second ends are laterally displaced), the cage structure 100 having:
a top edge (see Fig. below);
a bottom edge extending between the first and second ends (see defined top and bottom edges in attached Fig. below; top and bottom edged are between first and second ends);
a middle edge (defined in Fig. below) between the top and bottom edges (middle edge is between defined top and bottom edges), the middle edge having a first middle surface 112M facing the top edge and a second middle surface 112H facing the bottom edge (112M faces defined top edge and 112H faces defined bottom edge); and
at least two vertically aligned cavities (P1(P)) extending between the first end and the second end and between the top edge and the bottom edge (cavities P1 (P) extend between first and second ends and top and bottom edges, see Fig. below);
a first riding heatsink 420 positioned on the top edge of the cage structure (420 in Fig. below on defined top edge);
a second riding heatsink 420 positioned on the bottom edge of the cage structure (420 in Fig. below defined bottom edge); and
a module pair 410 encased within the cage structure, wherein the module pair comprises two vertically aligned pluggable modules respectively residing within the at least two vertically aligned cavities of the cage structure (Par. 0085 “First ports P1 are spaces in which the optical modules 410 are accommodated”), wherein one of the pluggable modules 410 is positioned on the first middle surface 112M of the middle edge and the other of the pluggable modules 410 is positioned on the second middle surface 112H of the middle edge (one module 410 disposed between 112M and top edge, module 410 disposed between 112H and bottom edge).
As to Claim 6, Ito discloses:
wherein the top edge comprises a top external surface on a perimeter of the cage structure and a top internal surface facing the first middle surface (defined top edge has external surface facing top P2 (P) and bottom surface facing 112M of defined middle surface), and wherein the bottom edge comprises a bottom internal surface facing the second middle surface (internal surface of defined bottom edge faces 112H of defined middle edge) and a bottom external surface on the perimeter of the cage structure (defined bottom edge has a surface facing perimeter of defined cage structure).
As to Claim 10, Ito discloses:
wherein the first riding heatsink (420 above top edge, see Fig. in rejection of claim 5 above) has a first thickness and the second riding heatsink (420 below bottom edge) has a second thickness different from the first thickness (each heat sink 420 has a protruding part on the bottom face, therefore providing a varied thickness throughout the entire heat sink 420; the thickness of the heat sink 420 at the protruding part of the first heat sink is different than the thickness of the second heat sink at a location that is not the protruding part; Par. 0105 “the heat sink 420 accommodated in the second port P2 (in detail, a protruding part provided on the bottom face of the heat sink 420) enters the first port P1 via the through-opening 112Hb and then comes into contact with the optical module 410 accommodated in the first port P1”).
As to Claim 11, Ito discloses:
A system for cooling a vertical line card comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (circuit board 200; see Fig. 1);
an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) mountable on the PCB 200 on a vertical line card such that the ASIC and the PCB 200 both extend along a vertical plane (Par. 0075 “ASICs (not illustrated) are mounted on the back face 202 of the circuit board 200”); and
a cage assembly (portion of 100 highlighted below) mountable on the vertical line card 200, wherein the cage assembly comprises:
a cage structure comprising:
two riding heatsinks 420 connected to opposing external surfaces of the cage structure (420 in Fig. below on defined top edge and below defined bottom edge); and
a middle edge (defined in Fig. below) between opposing external surfaces (defined middle edge between external surfaces, e.g., top side of top edge and bottom side of bottom edge), the middle edge having a first middle surface 112M facing the one of the opposing external surfaces and a second middle surface 112H facing the other of the opposing external surfaces (112M faces top external surface, 112H faces bottom external surface); and
a first module pair 410 comprising two vertically aligned pluggable modules (Par. 0085 “First ports P1 are spaces in which the optical modules 410 are accommodated”; 410 are aligned vertically), wherein one of the pluggable modules 410 is positioned on the first middle surface 112M of the middle edge and the other of the pluggable modules 410 is positioned on the second middle surface 112H of the middle edge (one module 410 disposed between 112M and top edge, module 410 disposed between 112H and bottom edge).
As to Claim 15, Ito discloses:
wherein each pluggable module 410 comprises an optical connector on an end of each pluggable module, the optical connector configured to establish a data path between the pluggable module 410 and traces of the PCB 200 (Par. 0076 “An optical module 410 is electrically connected to each connector 300. Specifically, a module-adapting board included in the optical module 410 is inserted into a slot of the connector 300 along the depth direction D1 and comes into contact with a plurality of terminals (contact pins) of the connector 300. Accordingly, the optical module 410 is electrically connected to the ASIC via the connector 300 and the circuit board 200”).
As to Claim 16, Ito discloses:
further comprising at least one second module pair laterally adjacent to the first module pair (defined pair in Fig. below is laterally adjacent first pair, however, other pairs of modules can also be defined as laterally adjacent).
As to Claim 17, Ito discloses:
wherein the cage assembly (portion of cage 100 comprising highlighted modules 410 in rejection of claim 11 above) is positioned relative to a first edge of the ASIC (although ASICs are not shown on back face 202 of circuit board 200, highlighted portion of cage 100 is positioned relative to a first edge), and a second cage assembly (any other portion of cage housing a pair of modules defined as second cage assembly) is positioned relative to a second opposing edge of the ASIC (any other portion of cage housing a pair of modules is at least positioned relative to an opposing edge of the ASIC on back face 202 of circuit board 200).
As to Claim 18, Ito discloses:
wherein the cage assembly comprises at least two vertically aligned cavities P1 sized to accommodate the first module pair (Par. 0084 “First ports P1 are spaces in which the optical modules 410 are accommodated”).
As to Claim 19, Ito discloses:
wherein the cage assembly comprises at least two additionally vertically aligned cavities positioned laterally adjacent to the at least two vertically aligned cavities (see Fig. below; additional vertically aligned ports are laterally adjacent the two vertically aligned ports).
As to Claim 20, Ito discloses:
wherein the cage assembly comprises four pairs of vertically aligned cavities, the cavities forming a 2 x 4 configuration (see Fig. below; cage 100 comprises a 2 x 4 configuration of vertically aligned ports).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 20250172775 A1) as applied to claims 6 and 11 above, and further in view of Little (US 10555437 B2).
As to Claim 7, Ito does not disclose:
wherein a top one of the pluggable modules comprises a first internal heatsink between the top internal surface and the first middle surface, the first internal heatsink facing the top internal surface of the cage structure.
However, Little discloses:
wherein a top one of the pluggable modules (600; see Fig. 19; wherein 600 corresponds to 410 in the first cavity of Ito) comprises a first internal heatsink (618 on upper part 612; col. 5, Lines 30-32 “Both of the upper part 612 and the lower part 614 have their own heat sinks or heat sink structures 618 located on the corresponding exterior surfaces”), the first internal heatsink 618 facing the top internal surface of the cage structure (618 on upper part 612 faces the inner surface of the top of main case 512; see Figs. 26A-B; wherein inner surface of the top of 512 corresponds to inner surface of defined top edge of Ito);
in order to improve heat transfer (col. 2, Lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ito as further suggested by Little (e.g., providing the heat sink of Little to the top of the module in the first cavity of Ito) providing:
wherein a top one of the pluggable modules comprises a first internal heatsink between the top internal surface and the first middle surface, the first internal heatsink facing the top internal surface of the cage structure;
in order to improve heat transfer.
As to Claim 8, the obvious modification of Ito in view of Little does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a bottom one of the pluggable modules comprises a second internal heatsink between the second middle surface and the bottom internal surface, the second internal heatsink facing the bottom internal surface of the cage structure.
However, Little further discloses:
wherein a bottom one of the pluggable modules (600; see Fig. 19; wherein 600 corresponds to 410 in the second cavity of Ito) comprises a second internal heatsink (618 on lower part 614; col. 5, Lines 30-32 “Both of the upper part 612 and the lower part 614 have their own heat sinks or heat sink structures 618 located on the corresponding exterior surfaces”), the second internal heatsink 618 facing the bottom internal surface of the cage structure (618 on lower part 614 faces the inner surface of the bottom of main case 512; see Figs. 26A-B; wherein inner surface of the bottom of 512 corresponds to inner surface of defined bottom edge of Ito);
in order to improve heat transfer (col. 2, Lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ito in view of Little as further suggested by Little (e.g., providing the heat sink of Little to the bottom of the module in the second cavity of Ito) providing:
wherein a bottom one of the pluggable modules comprises a second internal heatsink between the second middle surface and the bottom internal surface, the second internal heatsink facing the bottom internal surface of the cage structure;
in order to improve heat transfer.
As to Claim 9, the obvious modification of Ito in view of Little discloses:
wherein the first and second internal heatsinks (heat sinks 618 on top and bottom of 600 of Little; corresponding to 410 of Ito) are parallel to the first and second riding heatsinks (heat sinks 420 of Ito; heat sinks 618 of Little and 420 of Ito in combination are parallel as both heat sinks extend in a horizontal direction, e.g., the insertion direction of the modules).
As to Claim 12, Ito does not disclose:
wherein each pluggable module comprises an internal heatsink parallel to the two riding heatsinks, and wherein the internal heatsinks of the two pluggable modules face at least one of a top edge and a bottom edge of the cage structure.
However, Little discloses:
wherein each pluggable module (600; see Fig. 19; wherein 600 corresponds to each 410 in the first cavity and second cavity of Ito) comprises an internal heatsink (618 on upper part 612 and lower part 614; col. 5, Lines 30-32 “Both of the upper part 612 and the lower part 614 have their own heat sinks or heat sink structures 618 located on the corresponding exterior surfaces”) parallel to the two riding heatsinks (618 on top and bottom are parallel to the insertion direction of the module and therefore parallel to 420 of Ito), and wherein the internal heatsinks 618 of the two pluggable modules 600 face at least one of a top edge (618 on upper side faces top of 512; see Figs. 26A-B) and a bottom edge of the cage structure (618 on lower side faces bottom of 512; wherein top and bottom sides of 512 correspond to top and bottom edges of Ito);
in order to improve heat transfer (col. 2, Lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ito as further suggested by Little (e.g., providing the heat sinks of Little to the top and bottom of the modules in the first and second cavities of Ito) providing:
wherein each pluggable module comprises an internal heatsink parallel to the two riding heatsinks, and wherein the internal heatsinks of the two pluggable modules face at least one of a top edge and a bottom edge of the cage structure;
in order to improve heat transfer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 13-14, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the apparatus in the dependent claim 13, and at least in part, because claim 13 recites the limitations: -
“wherein the PCB comprises a first internal heatsink cutout between the top internal surface and the first middle surface and a second internal heatsink cutout between the second middle surface and the bottom internal surface.”
Hemp (US 20230305247 A1) and Friend (US 20250212352 A1) discloses ventilation holes in a vertical PCB, but do not disclose the configuration of a middle surface and first and second heat sinks.
Sharf (US 10178804 B2) discloses a heat spreader for a plug-in module (see previous PTO-892, 10/01/2025).
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claim 13, are believed to render said claims 13 and all claims dependent therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amended claims limitations have been fully addressed in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835