DETAILED ACTION
This Office action regarding Application No. 18/432,698 to Tajima et al. assigned to Semiconductor Energy Laboratory Co., Ltd., filed 02/05/2024 and published as U.S. PG Publication 2024/0178456 on 05/30/2024 is in response to applicants’ arguments/remarks and claims amendment filed on 01/21/2026. Applicants’ response is given full consideration.
Amendments of the Claims
In the response filed on 01/21/2026 applicant has amended the claims of the application. Claim 1 has been amended, where the limitation “…a plurality of positive electrode current collectors, a plurality of negative electrode current collectors…” have been amended to instead recite “…a first positive electrode current collector, a second positive electrode current collector, a first negative electrode current collector, a second electrode current collector…”
The amended claim 1 also recites the new limitation of the negative electrode active material layer on one side but not on the other side, and the uncoated surfaces of the first negative electrode current collector and second negative electrode current collector face each other.
The limitation, “…where the separator comprises first to fifth region… ” has been amended by deleting “first to fifth regions”, and instead recite three different regions, “…where the separator comprises a region between the first positive electrode current collector and the first negative electrode current collector: a region between the first negative electrode current collector and the second positive electrode current collector; and a region between the second positive electrode current collector and the second negative electrode current collector”.
The claim has also been amended by deleting the limitation, “…each of the plurality of positive electrode current collectors and the plurality of the negative electrode current collectors…” are bound …, and replaced by the new limitation, “…wherein the first positive electrode current collector, the second positive electrode current collector, the first negative electrode current collector, and the second negative electrode current collector are bound by a binding material.”.
Claim 2 has also been similarly amended by deleting the limitation, “…a plurality of positive electrode current collectors, a plurality of negative electrode current collectors, …” and instead reciting a new limitation, “… a first positive electrode current collector, a second positive electrode…”.
The limitation “first to ninth regions” have also been deleted and replaced by “ a region between the first positive electrode current collector and the first negative electrode current collector; a region between the first negative electrode current collector and the second positive electrode current collector; a region between the second positive electrode current collector and the second negative electrode current collector; and a region surrounding the first positive electrode current collector, the second positive electrode current collector, the first negative electrode current collector, and the second negative electrode current collector”.
New claim 9 and 10, which recite the particulars of the positive electrode active material have been added.
The status of the claims stand as follows:
Current amended 1-2, 4,
Original 3, 5-6,
Canceled 7-8
10.4 New 9-10
Claims 1-6, 9-10 are currently pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/04/2025 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered by the examiner. A duly initialed and signed copy is attached herewith. Accordingly, information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by Examiner.
Withdrawal of Objection to the Drawings
The objection to the drawings for failing to show the separator regions, first region through ninth region previously recited in claim 1 and 2 has been overcome by the amendment of claim 1 and 2, which no longer recites the first to fifth region in claim 1, and first to ninth region in claims 2. Therefore, the objection to the drawings in hereby withdrawn.
Withdrawal of Objection to the Claims
The objection to claim 2 for reciting the limitation “one end of the second positive electrode current collector” two times in the same limitation has been overcome by the amendment of the claim, which does not recite the limitation. Therefore, the objection to claim 2 has been withdrawn.
Withdrawal of Claim Rejection
The rejections of Claim 1-4, 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2015/0068069) in view of Naoi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2008/0280208) has been overcome by the amendment of claim 1 and 2.
The rejection of the dependent claims 5-6, 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2015/0068069) in view of Naoi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2008/0280208) as applied to claim 1 and 2, and further in view of Iwama et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2012/0135285) have also been overcome for the same reason.
Upon further consideration and search the claims are now rejected under 103 over Tran et al. (U.S. PG Pub. 2015/0068069) in view of newly applied reference of Okazaki et al. (U.S. PG Pub.2009/0029259), and previously applied reference of Naoi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2008/0280208).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2015/0068069) in view of Okazaki et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2009/0029259) and Naoi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2008/0280208)
Regarding Claim 1 and 2 Tran discloses a glasses device comprising battery built into a spectacle frame to power various sensors or communication device built in spectacles (Tran paragraph 0094, 0350), considered equivalent to the electronic device, but Tran is silent about any of the limitations of the secondary battery having the claimed features.
Okazaki discloses a battery (Okazaki Title, Abstract, paragraph 0012) and the battery is a secondary battery (Okazaki paragraph 0044) used in an electric device and provide highly reliable devices (Okazaki paragraph 0205) that can provide power to an electronic device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the battery disclosed by Okazaki would provide the necessary power for such glasses as disclosed by Tran (Tran paragraph 0094, 0350) since this would be the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 IC).
Okazaki discloses the battery comprises a first positive electrode 3 comprising a first positive electrode current collector 1a and a second positive electrode current collector 2a (Okazaki Fig. 1, paragraph 0046), a first negative electrode 6 comprising a first negative electrode current collector 4a, a second negative electrode current collector 5a and a separator 7 (Okazaki Fig. 1, paragraph 0047).
The first negative electrode current collector 4a comprise a negative electrode active material later 4b on a first surface, and does not comprise a negative electrode active material on a second surface (Okazaki Fig. 1, 10, 11 paragraph 0046).
The second negative electrode current collector 5a does not comprise a negative electrode active material layer on the first surface, and comprise a negative electrode active material layer 5b on a second surface opposite the first surface (Okazaki Fig. 1, 10, 11, paragraph 0047).
The second surface of the first negative electrode current collector 4a (that does not contain active material layer) faces the first surface of the second negative electrode current collector 5a (that does not contain active material layer) (Okazaki Fig. 1, 10, 11, paragraph 0048).
Okazaki also discloses the separator 7 comprise a region between positive electrode 3 and the negative electrode 6 (Okazaki Fig. 1) such that the separator comprise a region between the first positive electrode current collector and the first negative electrode current collector, a region between the first negative electrode current collector and the second positive electrode current collector, and a region between the second positive electrode current collector and the second negative electrode current collector (Okazaki Fig. 1). Okazaki also discloses the separator comprise a region surrounding the first positive electrode current collector, the second positive electrode current collector, the first negative electrode current collector, and the second negative electrode current collector (Okazaki Fig. 1).
Okazaki is silent about the first positive electrode current collector, the second positive electrode current collector, the first negative electrode current collector and the second negative electrode current collector are bound by a binding material. Naoi discloses an electrochemical lithium ion battery (Naoi paragraph 0008, 0013, 0047), comprising a first cathode and second cathode, a first anode and second anode comprising current collectors and a separator (Naoi paragraph 0068), and a fastening tape to hold the electrode assembly including the electrodes and the separator in position (Naoi paragraph 0066). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person or ordinary skill in the art to have modified the electrode assembly of Okazaki by the fastening tape of Naoi to fix and hold the electrode assembly, including the current collectors, in place as taught by Naoi (Naoi paragraph 0066). Such a modification is the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 IC).
Okazaki Fig. 1
Okazaki Fig. 1
Okazaki Fig. 1
Regarding claim 3 and 4 since the fastening tape and the separator do not hermitically seal the electrode assembly (Naoi Fig. 3), it would be capable to release any gas generated in the electrolyte (Naoi paragraph 0008, 0017) to the outside.
Regarding claim 5 and 6 Okazaki discloses the nonaqueous electrolyte can include vinylene carbonate (Okazaki paragraph 0146) disclosed among other organic carbonate solvents. Choosing vinylene carbonate from among the other carbonate compounds would have been obvious to try by a person of ordinary skill in the art since it constitutes choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; (MPEP 2143 I E).
Regarding claim 9 and 10 Okazaki discloses the battery comprises first positive electrode 3 comprising a first positive electrode current collector 1a and a second positive electrode current collector 2a (Okazaki Fig. 1, paragraph 0046); the first positive electrode current collector 1a comprise a positive electrode active material layer 1b on a first surface and does not comprise a positive electrode active material layer on a second surface opposite the first surface (Okazaki Fig. 1), wherein the second positive electrode current collector 2a does not comprise a positive electrode active material layer on a first surface and comprise a positive electrode active material on a second surface opposite to the first surface, and the second surface of the first positive electrode current collector faces the first surface of the second positive electrode current collector (Okazaki Fig. 1).
Okazaki Fig. 1
Okazaki Fig. 1
Response to Argument
In the response filed 01/21/2026 applicant has amended claim 1 and 2 and the claims no longer recite plurality of positive electrode current collectors and plurality of negative electrode current collectors, which have been changed into first and second positive electrode current collectors, and first and second negative electrodes current collectors. Furthermore, the separator having first to fifth regions (claim 1) and first to ninth regions (claim 2) have been deleted from the claims, which now recite three separator comprise three regions (claim 1) and four region (claim 2).
As presented above in this Office action the amendments of the claims overcomes the previously presented rejection of claim 1-4, 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2015/0068069) in view of Naoi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2008/0280208). Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. The rejection of claim 7 and 8 has also been rendered moot by the cancelation of the claims.
Upon further consideration and search the claims are now rejected under 103 over the combined teaching of previously applied reference of Tran et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2015/0068069) in view of the newly applied reference of Okazaki et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2009/0029259) and the previously applied reference of Naoi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2008/0280208). While the reference of Tran discloses the electronic device, the reference of Okazaki as presented above in this Office action discloses the particulars and limitations of the secondary battery. Thus, the combined teaching of the Tran et al., Okazaki et al. and Naoi et al. renders the claimed invention obvious as presented above in this Office action.
This rejection is made final necessitated by the amendment of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR M KEKIA/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722