DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 5/13/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Lopez et al., (Lopez) US 2026/0026137.
Regarding claim 1, Lopez shows in FIG. 1, and discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising: a light-emitting structure (100)(abstract) comprising a plurality of light-emitting units (101a, 101b)[0037], wherein an insulating structure (114)[0071] is disposed between adjacent two light-emitting units (101a,101b); and a light-control layer (122), disposed on a side of the light-emitting structure, comprising a plurality of light-control regions regularly disposed and a substrate structure (124) disposed between adjacent two light-control regions, one light-control region (122) corresponding to at least one light- emitting unit, wherein the substrate structure (124) comprises a growth substrate layer structure and an etching stop layer (126) structure stacked along a direction away from the light-emitting structure.
Regarding claim 12, Lopez shows in FIG. 1, and discloses a semiconductor structure having a driving circuit (904) [0094], wherein the driving circuit is connected with the semiconductor structure to drive the semiconductor structure to emit light [0094].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez as applied to claims 1,12, and further in view of Charles US 2021/0119075.
Regarding claims 3,4, Lopez discloses a device having a growth substrate (124) and etching stop (126) having a thickness.
Lopez differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein a thickness of the growth substrate layer structure is less than or equal to 50 m; wherein a thickness of the etching stop layer structure is 10-100 nm.
Charles discloses a device wherein a thickness of the growth substrate layer structure is less than or equal to 50 m [0063]; wherein a thickness of the etching stop layer structure is 10-100 nm.
Charles is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Lopez. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Charles in the device of Lopez to help reduce degradation [0009].
As for the thickness of the growth substrate layer structure is less than or equal to 50 m; wherein a thickness of the etching stop layer structure is 10-100 nm, Applicant did not show criticality of the particular thickness. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range or optimum value, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2,5-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/MARC-ANTHONY ARMAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813