DETAILED ACTION
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim is indefinite for failing to particularly claim the invention. The claim recites creating graphite and an interface in the substrate. However, it is unclear as to the means to create the graphite. The claims which claim 9 depends do not recite or require any form of carbon to be present in the wafer. It is therefore unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art as to meets and bounds of the claims and the inclusion of graphite.
Claim(s) 1 to 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Nishibayashi et al (2017/0233889).
The Nishibayashi et al reference teaches a method of forming a wafer which can consist of diamond, note entire reference. The reference numbers are to figure 1. The reference teaches a method comprising creating a damaged layer (2) in a seed wafer (1) at a depth from a seed wafer upper surface. Then forming a crystalline structure (3) on the seed wafer upper surface; and applying light (4) from a laser to the damaged layer (2) to separate the formed crystalline structure (3) from the seed wafer. This forms a wafer (3+1a). Nishibayashi et al also teaches, example 1 para [0076]-[0121]) a method of forming a diamond wafer (3+1a), the method comprising creating a damaged layer (2) in a seed wafer (1) at a depth from a seed wafer upper surface, wherein the seed wafer comprises a diamond crystalline structure. Then employing a laser to the damage area and forming a new wafer by separation as the damage area.
With regards to claim 2, the Nishibayashi et al reference teaches using ion implantation to create the damage layer, note examples.
With regards to claim 3, the Nishibayashi et al reference teaches using ion implantation using helium to create the damage layer, note para 0091.
With regards to claim 4, the Nishibayashi et al reference teaches using ion implantation using hydrogen atoms to create the damage layer, note example.
With regards to claim 5, the Nishibayashi et al reference teaches using ion implantation using carbon to create the damage layer, note para 0091.
With regards to claim 6, the Nishibayashi et al reference teaches epitaxial growth of the layer note examples.
With regards to claim 7, the Nishibayashi et al reference teaches chemical vapor deposition of the layer note examples.
With regards to claim 14, the Nishibayashi et al reference teaches using a diamond wafer and growing diamonds, note entire reference.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishibayashi et al (2017/0233889).
The Nishibayashi et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the growth temperature being high enough to anneal. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine though routine experimentation the optimum, operable growth temperature range in the Nishibayashi et al reference in order to remove damage in the wafer so as to have a more uniform growth front creating a better diamond layer.
Claim(s) 9 and 15 to 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishibayashi et al (2017/0233889).
The Nishibayashi et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the growth temperature being high enough to graphitize the damage layer. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine though routine experimentation the optimum, operable growth temperature range in the Nishibayashi et al reference to form graphite from the damage layer in order to aid in the removal of the grown layer.
Claim(s) 10 to 12 and 18 to 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishibayashi et al (2017/0233889).
The Nishibayashi et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the removal of remnants of the damage layer from the final wafer by polishing or etching. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine though routine experimentation the optimum, operable means to cleanup a final wafer in the Nishibayashi et al reference in order to prepare the wafer for further processing. Noting that both polishing and etching method to cleanup and remove impurities from a wafer are well known in the art.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishibayashi et al (2017/0233889).
The Nishibayashi et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the reuse of the seed wafer. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine though routine experimentation the optimum, operable to reuse the seed wafer in the Nishibayashi et al reference in order to grow more diamond wafers with similar lattices and orientations.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in diamond manufacture.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714