DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made that the information disclosure statement has been received and considered by the examiner. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Drawings
There are no objections or rejections to the drawings.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “The semiconductor package of claim 12, wherein the second thickness is 1 to 3 times the first thickness.”. It is unclear what is meant by 1 to 3 times the first thickness. Claim 13 depends on claim 12 which requires that the dummy chip has a second thickness which is greater than the first thickness. If the second thickness is greater than the first thickness, then the limitations of claim 13 are in conflict with those of claim 12 which states that the second thickness can be 1 times the first thickness. That would be equivalent, not greater than. One of ordinary skill in the relevant art would not know what structures/steps are covered by the limitation. For these reasons, the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by You et al. (US Patent Application Publication No 2021/0167040) hereinafter referred to as You.
Per Claim 1 You discloses a semiconductor package device, (see figures 6A-C) comprising
a first semiconductor chip (320);
a plurality of second semiconductor chips (310) on the first semiconductor chip; The examiner notes that the term "on" includes "directly on" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween) and "indirectly on" (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed therebetween) and
a dummy chip (220) on the plurality of second semiconductor chips,
wherein each of the plurality of second semiconductor chips has a same first width (as shown in figure 6C), and
wherein the dummy chip (220) has a second width which is smaller than the first width (as shown in figure 6C).
Per Claim 6 You discloses the device of claim 1 (see figures 6A-C) including where the dummy chip (220) comprises a silicon substrate. [0029]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You.
Per Claim 12-13 You discloses a semiconductor package device, (figs 6A-C) comprising
a first semiconductor chip (320);
a plurality of second semiconductor chips (310) on the first semiconductor chip; and
a dummy chip (220) on the plurality of second semiconductor chips,
wherein each of the plurality of second semiconductor chips has a same first thickness (as shown in figure 6C), and
wherein the dummy chip (220) has a second thickness (as shown in figure 6C).
You does not teach where the dummy chip has a second thickness which is greater than the first thickness.
Notwithstanding, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the relative thicknesses through routine experimentation and optimization. Applicant has not disclosed that the relative thicknesses are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another dimension. Indeed, it has been held that mere dimensional limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See also MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Per Claim 14 You teaches the device of claim 12 (see figures 6A-C) including where each of the plurality of second semiconductor chips (310) has a same first width (as shown in figure 6C), and wherein the dummy chip (220) has a second width which is smaller than the first width (as shown in figure 6C).
Per Claim 15 You teaches the device of claim 14 (see figures 6A-C) including where the second width is 0.1 to 0.9 times the first width. (as shown in figure 6C)
Per Claim 16 You teaches the device of claim 12 (see figures 6A-C) including where the dummy chip comprises a silicon substrate. [0039]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-11 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 20 is allowed.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/Jami Valentine Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818