Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 02/08/2024, 02/09/2024 and 12/03/2025 have been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because reference sign “202C” has been use in the drawings (Fig 6), however specification does not mention it. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “202C” has been in the drawings (Fig 6), however disclosure does not mention it.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following unintelligible content informalities:
● In Claim 3, Line 5, “electronic rack mount module” should be changed to read - - electronic rack mount - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2, 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao (US 11,711,908).
Regarding Claim 1, Gao (In Fig 8) discloses a system (1), comprising:
at least one slot-mountable rack mount module (507), (Col 20, II. 51-53), each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module (507) shaped and sized to be mountable into a given rack mount slot (server slots, Col 20, II. 41-43) of an electronics rack mount (500), the electronics rack mount (500) having multiple rack mount slots (server slots, Col 20, II. 41-43) including each of said given rack mount slot (server slots, Col 20, II. 41-43), each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module (507) comprising:
at least one vessel (2a) containing at least one material (cooling liquid, 1, II. 33-35), wherein the at least one material (cooling liquid, 1, II. 33-35) is configured to absorb heat from within the electronics rack mount (500) based at least on at least one of (a) at least one phase change (Col 14, II. 22-28) of at least one of the at least one material (cooling liquid, 1, II. 33-35) or (b) at least one endothermic reaction of one or more of the at least one material.
Regarding Claim 2, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Gao (In Fig 8) further discloses wherein the system (1) further comprising the electronics rack mount (500), wherein each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module (507) is mounted into said given rack mount slot (server slots, Col 20, II. 41-43) of the electronics rack mount (500), (Fig 8).
Regarding Claim 7, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Gao (In Fig 8) further discloses wherein each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module (507) further comprises at least one processor (processors, Col 22, II. 16-25) and at least one sensor (29), (Col 21, II. 63-67).
Regarding Claim 8, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Gao (In Fig 8) further discloses wherein the at least one material (cooling liquid, 1, II. 33-35) is configured to absorb the heat from within the electronics rack mount (500) based at least on (a) the at least one phase change (Col 14, II. 22-28) of the at least one of the at least one material (cooling liquid, 1, II. 33-35).
Regarding Claim 10, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 8, however Gao (In Fig 8) further discloses wherein the at least one phase change comprises at least one of a solid-to-liquid phase change, a liquid-to-gas phase change (¶ 14, II. 22-28), or a solid-to-gas phase change.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Rice et al (US 2014/0014303).
Regarding Claim 3, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however where Gao (In Fig 8) further discloses wherein the electronics rack mount (500) includes at least one electronics rack mount module (507) mounted within the electronics rack mount (500), (Fig 8), each of the at least one adjacent electronics rack mount module (507) being adjacent to one or two of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module (507), (Fig 8), however Gao does not disclose wherein there is thermally conductive grease between each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module and at least one adjacent electronics rack mount module of the at least one electronics rack mount module.
Instead, Rice (In Figs 1, 8) teaches wherein there is thermally conductive grease (141, ¶ 68, II. 6-11) between each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module (110) and at least one adjacent electronics rack mount module (110) of the at least one electronics rack mount module (105).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Rice with a thermally conductive grease between each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module and at least one adjacent electronics rack mount module of the at least one electronics rack mount to benefit from removing heat, which otherwise could come at a great cost in terms of speed, efficiency, and expense (Rice ¶ 4, II. 4-8).
Regarding Claim 9, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim, however Gao does not discloses wherein the at least one material comprises at least one of: at least one hydrocarbon, at least one non-Paraffin organic, at least one hydrated salt, at least one metallic glass, and/or dry ice.
Instead, Rice (In Figs 1, 8) teaches wherein the at least one material (¶ 95, II. 1-3) comprises at least one of: at least one hydrocarbon (¶ 95, II. 1-3), at least one non-Paraffin organic, at least one hydrated salt, at least one metallic glass, and/or dry ice.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Rice with the at least one material comprises at least one of: at least one hydrocarbon to benefit from removing heat, which otherwise could come at a great cost in terms of speed, efficiency, and expense (Rice ¶ 4, II. 4-8).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Gao (US 2021/0066768, “Tianyi”).
Regarding Claim 4, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Gao does not disclose wherein the system further comprising a vehicle, the vehicle comprising the electronics rack mount.
Instead, Tianyi (In Fig 6) teaches wherein the system (900) further comprising a vehicle (vehicle, ¶ 22, II. 5-12), the vehicle comprising the electronics rack mount (900), (Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Tianyi with the system further comprising a vehicle, the vehicle comprising the electronics rack mount to benefit from providing a self-activating and fast thermal management system avoiding thermal overshoot, which negatively impact battery performance and battery lifetime, and evenly cool cells in order to maintain battery performance of the vehicle (Tianyi ¶ 5, II. 1-10).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Haynes (US 4,828,207).
Regarding Claim 5, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Gao does not disclose wherein the system further comprising a space suit, the space suit comprising the electronics rack mount.
Instead, Haynes (In Fig 14) teaches wherein the system (31) further comprising a space suit (12), the space suit (12) comprising the electronics rack mount (13), (Col 1, II. 43-49), (Fig 14).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Hynes with the system further comprising a space suit, the space suit comprising the electronics rack mount to benefit from not using vehicle life supporting system or suit servicing panel to be attached to each suit so that suit oxygen supplies and batteries will not be used while the crew members are going through the procedures prior to exiting air lock into the vacuum of space (Haynes Col 1, II. 49-55).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Ong Kong Chye (US 2021/0385974).
Regarding Claim 6, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Gao does not disclose wherein each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module includes thermally conductive pins configured to connect to a backplane of the electronics rack mount.
Instead, Ong Kong Chye (In Fig 2D) teaches wherein each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module (218a-218m) includes thermally conductive pins (backplane connectors, ¶ 35, II. 4-10) configured to connect to a backplane (216) of the electronics rack mount (200), (Fig 2D).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Ong Kong Chye with each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module including thermally conductive pins configured to connect to a backplane of the electronics rack mount to benefit from higher capacity cooling systems to remove heat from the electronic components (Ong Kong Chye ¶ 3, II. 14-18).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Samadiani et al (US 2016/0085277).
Regarding Claim 11, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 8, however Gao does not disclose wherein each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module further comprises a valve or a seal configured to be (a) in a closed state at first pressure of the vessel such that at least one material is sealed within the vessel at the first pressure and (b) in an at least partially open state at a second pressure such that at least some of the at least one material exits the vessel.
Instead, Samadiani (In Figs 1, 5) teaches wherein each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module (500) further comprises a valve (544) or a seal configured to be (a) in a closed state at first pressure of the vessel (332) such that at least one material (548) is sealed within the vessel (332) at the first pressure and (b) in an at least partially open state at a second pressure such that at least some of the at least one material (548) exits the vessel (332), (¶ 138, II. 10-15, ¶ 140, II. 1-12, ), (Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Samadiani with each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module further comprising a valve or a seal configured to be (a) in a closed state at first pressure of the vessel such that at least one material being sealed within the vessel at the first pressure and (b) in an at least partially open state at a second pressure such that at least some of the at least one material being exited the vessel to benefit from cooling the electronic devices, which otherwise the failure of devices due to overheating could come at a grate cost in terms of speed, efficiency, and expense (Samadiani ¶ 4, II. 1-8).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Samadiani and further in view of Heydari (US 2022/0338377).
Regarding Claim 12, Gao in view of Samadiani discloses the limitations of Claim 11, however Gao as modified does not disclose wherein, when the valve or seal is in the at least partially open state at the second pressure, the at least some of the at least one material exits the vessel through a tube to a location outside of the electronics rack mount.
Instead, Heydari (In Fig 3) teaches wherein, when the valve (310C) or seal is in the at least partially open state at the second pressure, the at least some of the at least one material (two-phase fluid, ¶ 70, II. 8-12) exits the vessel (210A-210D) through a tube (312) to a location outside of the electronics rack mount (302), (¶ 88, II. 1-9), (Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Samadiani and further with Heydar with when the valve or seal being in the at least partially open state at the second pressure, the at least some of the at least one material being exited the vessel through a tube to a location outside of the electronics rack mount to benefit from efficient heat absorption at appropriate pressures (Hydari ¶ 88, II. 1-9).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Campbell et al (US 9,622,379).
Regarding Claim 13, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 8, however Gao does not disclose wherein each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module further comprises a fill port configured to receive the at least one material and/or an additional amount of the at least one material.
Instead, Campbell (In Figs 2A-2B and 3A) teaches wherein each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module (245) further comprises a fill port (241) configured to receive the at least one material (dielectric liquid, Col 1, II. 40-43) and/or an additional amount of the at least one material (dielectric liquid, Col 1, II. 40-43), (), (Fig 3A).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Campbell with each of the at least one slot-mountable rack mount module further comprises a fill port configured to receive the at least one material and/or an additional amount of the at least one material to benefit from providing an electronic rack which may offer significant energy efficiency and higher performance cooling benefits (Campbell Col 4, II. 54-60).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Meneboo et al (US 2022/0322570).
Regarding Claim 14, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 8, however Gao does not disclose wherein the at least one material comprises at least one wax, wherein the at least one material is shaped in a lattice pattern at a time of installation in the electronics rack mount.
Instead, Meneboo (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the at least one material (wax, ¶ 18, II. 1-2) comprises at least one wax (wax, ¶ 18, II. 1-2), wherein the at least one material (wax, ¶ 18, II. 1-2) is shaped in a lattice pattern at a time of installation in the electronics rack mount (rack, ¶ 43 II. 6-8), (paraffin wax has hydrocarbon chains of Lattice crystal pattern), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Meneboo with at least one material comprising at least one wax, wherein the at least one material being shaped in a lattice pattern at a time of installation in the electronics rack mount to benefit from promoting heat dissipation, efficiently collect and conduct thermal energy away from heat-generating components (meneboo ¶ 3, II. 8-12).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Manousakis et al (US 2021/0410319).
Regarding Claim 15, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Gao does not disclose wherein the at least one material is at least two materials, wherein the at least two materials are configured to absorb heat from within the electronics rack mount based at least on (b) the at least one endothermic reaction of two or more of the at least two materials.
Instead, Manousakis (In Figs 1-4 and 7-10) teaches wherein the at least one material (554) is at least two materials (542/554), wherein the at least two materials (542/554) are configured to absorb heat from within the electronics rack mount (server rack, ¶ 41 II. 1-6) based at least on (b) the at least one endothermic reaction (¶ 5, II. 8-10) of two or more of the at least two materials (542/554), (Fig 7-1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Manousakis with the at least one material being at least two materials, wherein the at least two materials being configured to absorb heat from within the electronics rack mount based at least on (b) the at least one endothermic reaction of two or more of the at least two materials to benefit from efficiently removing heat from the computing devices (Manousakis ¶ 20, II. 11-16).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Manousakis and further in view of Leung et al (US 2023/0303901).
Regarding Claim 16, Gao in view of Mansousakis discloses the limitations of Claim 15, however Gao as modified does not disclose wherein the two or more of the at least two materials are separated at a time of installation in the electronics rack mount, wherein the two or more of the at least two materials comprise (a) ammonium nitrate calcium and/or ammonium nitrate and (b) water.
Instead Manousakis (In Figs 1-4 and 7-10) further teaches wherein the two or more of the at least two materials (542/554) are separated at a time of installation in the electronics rack mount (server rack, ¶ 41 II. 1-6), (Fig 7-1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Manousakis with the two or more of the at least two materials being separated at a time of installation in the electronics rack mount to benefit from efficiently removing heat from the computing devices (Manousakis ¶ 20, II. 11-16), however Gao as modified does not disclose wherein the two or more of the at least two materials comprise (a) ammonium nitrate calcium and/or ammonium nitrate and (b) water.
Instead, Leung (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the two or more of the at least two materials (water/ ammonium nitrate) comprise (a) ammonium nitrate calcium and/or ammonium nitrate (¶ 53, II. 1-12) and (b) water (¶ 57, II. 7-11).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Manousakis and further with Leung with the two or more of the at least two materials comprising (a) ammonium nitrate calcium and/or ammonium nitrate and (b) water to benefit from providing a cooling fluids with increased thermal conductivity and heat of vaporization while reducing fluid density and maintaining the advantages of the fluid being non-flammable, having high electrical stability, low dielectric constant (Leung 6, II. 1-6).
Regarding Claim 17, Gao in view of Mansousakis and further in view of Leung discloses the limitations of Claim 16, however Gao as modified does not disclose wherein the at least two materials are at least three materials, wherein the at least three materials include at least one additional material, wherein the two or more of the at least three materials are separated by the at least one additional material at the time of installation in the electronics rack mount.
Instead, Manousakis (In Figs 1-4 and 7-10) further teaches wherein the at least two materials (542/554) are at least three materials (542/554/catalyst, ¶ 61, II. 1-13), wherein the at least three materials (catalyst, ¶ 61, II. 1-13) include at least one additional material (catalyst, ¶ 61, II. 1-13), wherein the two or more of the at least three materials (542/554/catalyst, ¶ 61, II. 1-13) are separated by the at least one additional material (556) at the time of installation in the electronics rack mount (server rack, ¶ 41 II. 1-6), (Fig 7-1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Manousakis with the at least two materials being at least three materials, wherein the at least three materials including at least one additional material, wherein the two or more of the at least three materials being separated by the at least one additional material at the time of installation in the electronics rack mount to benefit from efficiently removing heat from the computing devices (Manousakis ¶ 20, II. 11-16).
Regarding Claim 18, Gao in view of Mansousakis and further in view of Leung discloses the limitations of Claim 17, however Gao as modified does not disclose wherein the at least one additional material allows the two or more of the at least three materials to react based at least on at least one stimulus experienced by the at least one additional material.
Instead Manousakis (In Figs 1-4 and 7-10) further teaches wherein the at least one additional material (catalyst, ¶ 61, II. 1-13) allows the two or more of the at least three materials (542/554/catalyst, ¶ 61, II. 1-13) to react based at least on at least one stimulus experienced by the at least one additional material (catalyst, ¶ 61, II. 1-13), (Fig 7-1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Manousakis with the at least one additional material allowing the two or more of the at least three materials to react based at least on at least one stimulus experienced by the at least one additional material to benefit from efficiently removing heat from the computing devices (Manousakis ¶ 20, II. 11-16).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Leung and further in view of Dai et al (US 2014/0166245).
Regarding Claim 19, Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Gao disclose wherein the at least one material is at least two materials, wherein the at least two materials include at least one porous material and the at least one of the at least two materials, wherein the at least two materials are configured to absorb the heat from within the electronics rack mount based at least on (a) the at least one phase change of the at least one of the at least two materials, wherein the at least one phase change comprises at least one liquid-to-gas phase change of the at least one of the at least two materials.
Instead, Leung (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the at least one material is at least two materials (water/aluminum nitrate), (¶ 53, II. 1-12, ¶ 57, II. 7-11), wherein the at least two materials (water/ ammonium nitrate) are configured to absorb the heat from within the electronics rack mount (¶ 28, II. 14-15) based at least on (a) the at least one phase change of the at least one (water) of the at least two materials (water/ ammonium nitrate), wherein the at least one phase change comprises at least one liquid-to-gas phase change of the at least one of the at least two materials (¶ 20, II. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Leung with the at least one material being at least two materials, the at least two materials being configured to absorb the heat from within the electronics rack mount based at least on (a) the at least one phase change of the at least one of the at least two materials, and the at least one phase change comprises at least one liquid-to-gas phase change of the at least one of the at least two materials to benefit from providing a cooling fluids with increased thermal conductivity and heat of vaporization while reducing fluid density and maintaining the advantages of the fluid being non-flammable, having high electrical stability, low dielectric constant (Leung 6, II. 1-6), however Gao as modified does not disclose wherein the at least two materials include at least one porous material and the at least one of the at least two materials.
Instead, Dai (In Fig 4) teaches wherein the at least two materials (water/alcohol/paraffin), (¶ 27, II. 1-6) include at least one porous material (16) and the at least one of the at least two materials (water/alcohol/paraffin).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Leung and further with Dai with the at least two materials include at least one porous material and the at least one of the at least two materials to benefit from efficiently transferring heat from electronic components, maintaining safe operating conditions and assuring CPUs function properly and reliably (Dai ¶ 4, II. 3-6).
Regarding Claim 20, Gao in view of Leung and further I view of Dai discloses the limitations of Claim 19, however where Gao (In Fig 8) further discloses wherein the vessel (2a) is unsealed (Fig 8), however Gao as modified does not disclose wherein the at least one of the at least two materials comprises at least one of water, at least one salt, glycol, at least one hydrocarbon oil, or at least one alcohol.
Instead Leung (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the at least one of the at least two materials (water/aluminum nitrate), (¶ 53, II. 1-12, ¶ 57, II. 7-11) comprises at least one of water (¶ 57, II. 7-11), at least one salt, glycol, at least one hydrocarbon oil, or at least one alcohol.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Gao with Leung the at least one of the at least two materials comprising at least one of water, at least one salt, glycol, at least one hydrocarbon oil, or at least one alcohol to benefit from providing a cooling fluids with increased thermal conductivity and heat of vaporization while reducing fluid density and maintaining the advantages of the fluid being non-flammable, having high electrical stability, low dielectric constant (Leung 6, II. 1-6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; System and Method for Phase-Change Cooling of an Electronic Rack US 2022/0287207, Vapor Chamber with Boiling-Enhanced Multi-Wick Structure US 2006/0196640, Control of Thermal Energy Transfer for Phase Change Material in Data Center US 2016/0338230, Liquid Cooling System having no Disconnect-able Fluidic Connections Between a Fluid Inlet and Fluid Outlet US 2025/0234488. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835