DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Subspecies I (FIG. 8A, claims 1-10, 13, and 15-18) in the reply filed on 6/8/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 11, 12, 14, 19, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/8/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 thru 10, 13, and 15 thru 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In line 8 of claim 1, the applicant states a “a plurality of circuit structures”, but in line 5,
the applicant states “a plurality of unit pixel regions”; however, it is unclear (see, for example, FIG.3) whether the plurality of circuit structures 320 and the plurality of unit pixel regions 100/200 are the same structure. In paragraph [0044], the applicant states the unit pixel may include a photoelectric conversion region 100 and a circuit region 200, but the plurality of circuit structures 320 are part of the photoelectric conversion region 100, and, therefore, part of the plurality of unit pixel regions, and therefore, it is unclear whether the plurality of circuit structures 320 are actually distinct from the unit pixel regions 100/200 as stated in the claim. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
In lines 12-13 of claim 1, the applicant states “a first isolation structure disposed between adjacent unit pixel regions of the plurality of unit pixel region in the substrate,”; however, it appears (see, for example, FIG. 8A) the first isolation structure 336b’/336a’ is disposed in the circuit region 200 and photoelectric conversion region 100, and not disposed between adjacent unit pixel regions 100/200. Further, the term “first isolation structure” is not used in applicant’s specification, and is arbitrarily defined by the Examiner as any region that has an isolation structure, but what actual structure (see, for example, in FIG. 8A) the applicant is referring to is unclear. The same applies to claim 16. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
In lines 16-17 of claim 1, the applicant states “a plurality of second isolation structures located on two opposite sides of the plurality of circuit structures”; however, it appears (see, for example, FIG. 8A) the plurality of second isolation structures 336b’/336a’ are not located on two opposite sides of the plurality of circuit structures 200. Further, the term “second isolation structures” is not used in applicant’s specification, and is arbitrarily defined by the Examiner as regions that have isolation structures, but what actual structure (see, for example, in FIG. 8A) the applicant is referring to is unclear. The same applies to claim 16 which states “a second isolation structure”. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In view of the 112 rejection above, claim(s) 1 thru 3, 13, and 15 thru 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong et al. US 2020/0111821 A1. Hong discloses (see, for example, FIG. 2, and 1) an image sensing device comprising: a substrate 1 structured to extend in a first direction (i.e. x-direction) and a second direction (y-direction) perpendicular to the first direction and configured to include a first surface 1b and a second surface 1a opposite to the first surface; a plurality of unit pixel regions UP1/UP2 supported by the substrate 1 and configured to generate signal carriers through conversion of incident light; a plurality of circuit structures PD1 supported by the substrate 1 and arranged to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction and configured to generate a current in the substrate 1 and capture the signal carriers carried by the current; a first isolation structure STI disposed between adjacent unit pixel regions of the plurality of unit pixel regions UP1/UP2 in the substrate 1, and configured to extend vertically in a depth direction of the substrate while extending in the second direction; and a plurality of second isolation structures DTI located on two opposite sides of the plurality of circuit structures PD1 in the second direction within the substrate 1, and arranged to extend obliquely in a depth direction in the substrate while extending in the first direction. Regarding the limitation “a plurality of second isolation structures … arranged to extend obliquely in a depth direction”, Hong discloses (see, for example, paragraph [0026]) the plurality of second isolation structures DTI has a width that decreases as if approaches the second surface 1a from the first surface 1b.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Hong discloses the second isolation
structures DTI include: a first sloped isolation structure 9/7 extending obliquely from one side of the plurality of circuit structures PD1 in a first diagonal direction; and a second sloped isolation structure 9/7 extending obliquely from opposite sides of the plurality of circuit structures PD1 in a second diagonal direction symmetrical to the first diagonal direction.
Regarding claim 3, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Hong discloses the second isolation structures 9/7 are arranged to be inclined such that a spacing between the first sloped isolation structure 9/7 and the second sloped isolation structure 9/7 tapers from the first surface 1b toward the second surface 1a.
Regarding claim 13, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Hong discloses the first sloped isolation structure 9/7 and the second sloped isolation structure 9/7 extend in the first direction while uniformly maintaining a spacing between the first sloped isolation structure 9/7 and the second sloped isolation structure 9/7 within a unit pixel.
Regarding claim 15, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Hong discloses the first isolation structure 9/7 extends vertically from the first surface 1b toward the second surface 1a to overlap the circuit structures PD1.
Regarding claim 16, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Hong discloses an image sensing device comprising: a substrate 1 extending in a first direction (i.e. x-direction) and a second direction (y-direction) perpendicular to the first direction and including a first surface 1b and a second surface 1a opposite to the first surface 1b; a plurality of circuit structures FD1 arranged to be spaced apart from each other in the first direction on the second surface 1a of the substrate 1, and configured to generate a current in the substrate and capture the signal carriers moving by the current; first pixel transistors TG1 disposed at one side of the plurality of circuit structures FD1 in the second direction on the second surface 1a of the substrate 1; second pixel transistors TG1 disposed at opposite sides of the plurality of circuit structures FD1 in the second direction on the second surface 1a of the substrate 1; a first isolation structure STI/9/7 disposed obliquely in a depth direction of the substrate 1 within the substrate 1, and configured to cover the first pixel transistors TG1 to prevent incident light received through the first surface 1b from flowing into the first pixel transistors TG1; and a second isolation structure STI/9/7 disposed obliquely in the depth direction of the substrate 1 within the substrate 1, and configured to cover the second pixel transistors TG1 to prevent incident light received through the first surface 1b from flowing into the second pixel transistors TG1.
Regarding claim 17, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Hong discloses the first isolation structure STI/9/7 and the second isolation structure STI/9/7 are formed such that: a width of a photoelectric conversion region PD1/1 in which the signal carriers are formed through conversion of the incident light tapers from the first surface 1b toward the second surface 1a; and a width of a circuit region PD1/1 located under the first TG1 and second pixel transistors TG1 tapers from the first surface 1b toward the second surface 1a.
Regarding claim 18, see, for example, FIG. 2 wherein Hong discloses each of the first isolation structure STI/9/7 and the second isolation structure STI/9/7 includes: a first sloped isolation structure 9/7 extending obliquely in a first diagonal direction from the first surface 1b toward the second surface 1a; and a second sloped isolation structure STI in contact with the first sloped isolation structure 9/7 on the first surface 1b and extending obliquely in a second diagonal direction symmetrical to the first diagonal direction from the first surface 1b toward the second surface 1a.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
July 3, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815