DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 11-14, 17, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al. (US 2021/0013143).
In regards to claim 1, Lu ‘143 discloses
A capacitor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (160 – fig. 1-2 & 10; [0147]);
a stack structure comprising at least one first dielectric layer (12 – fig. 2; [0120]) and at least one second dielectric layer (11 – fig. 2; [0120]) alternately disposed on the semiconductor substrate, wherein there is a trench in the at least one first dielectric layer, the at least one second dielectric layer, and the semiconductor substrate (seen in fig. 1-2. 10, & 17), and the trench has at least one recess (seen in fig. 1-2, 10, & 17) on at least one sidewall of the at least one first dielectric layer,
a capacitor (122/124/150 – fig. 7; [0136] & [0269]) disposed on a surface of the trench; and
a third dielectric layer (123 – fig. 7; [0136] & [0269]) disposed between the capacitor and the semiconductor substrate and between the capacitor and the stack structure, wherein
the trench does not have a recess on at least one sidewall of the at least one second dielectric layer (fig. 1-2, 10, & 17),
the at least one first dielectric layer or the at least one second dielectric layer is in direct contact with the semiconductor substrate (fig. 1-2, 10, & 17), and
the at least one first dielectric layer is in direct contact with the at least one second dielectric layer (fig. 1-2, 10, & 17),
a bottom surface of the at least one first dielectric layer located on one side of the trench has the same height as a bottom surface of the at least one first dielectric layer located on another side of the trench (fig. 1-2, 10, & 17), and
a material of one of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer comprises silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, or silicon nitride carbide ([0120]).
In regards to claim 3, Lu ‘143 discloses
The capacitor structure according to claim 1, wherein the trench does not have a recess on a sidewall of the semiconductor substrate (fig. 10).
In regards to claim 4, Lu ‘143 discloses
The capacitor structure according to claim 1, wherein a sidewall of the semiconductor substrate exposed by the trench is a flat surface (fig. 10).
In regards to claim 6, Lu ‘143 discloses
The capacitor structure according to claim 1, wherein at least one sidewall of the at least one second dielectric layer exposed by the trench is a flat surface (fig. 10).
In regards to claim 8, Lu ‘143 discloses
The capacitor structure according to claim 1, discloses wherein the second dielectric layer closest to the semiconductor substrate is located between the first dielectric layer closest to the semiconductor substrate and the semiconductor substrate (fig. 1-2 & 10).
In regards to claim 9, Lu ‘143 discloses
The capacitor structure according to claim 1, wherein the capacitor is further disposed on a top surface of the stack structure (fig. 7).
In regards to claim 11, Lu ‘143 discloses
A manufacturing method of a capacitor structure, comprising:
providing a semiconductor substrate (160 – fig. 1-2 & 10; [0147]);
forming a stack structure, wherein the stack structure comprises at least one first dielectric layer (12 – fig. 2; [0120]) and at least one second dielectric layer (11 – fig. 2; [0120]) alternately disposed on the semiconductor substrate; forming a trench in the at least one first dielectric layer, the at least one second dielectric layer, and the semiconductor substrate (seen in fig. 1-2. 10, & 17), and the trench has at least one recess (seen in fig. 1-2, 10, & 17) on at least one sidewall of the at least one first dielectric layer,
forming a capacitor (122/124/150 – fig. 7; [0136] & [0269]) on a surface of the trench,
forming a third dielectric layer (123 – fig. 7; [0136] & [0269]) between the capacitor and the semiconductor substrate and between the capacitor and the stack structure, wherein
the trench does not have a recess on at least one sidewall of the at least one second dielectric layer (fig. 1-2, 10, & 17),
the at least one first dielectric layer or the at least one second dielectric layer is in direct contact with the semiconductor substrate (fig. 1-2, 10, & 17), and
the at least one first dielectric layer is in direct contact with the at least one second dielectric layer (fig. 1-2, 10, & 17),
a bottom surface of the at least one first dielectric layer located on one side of the trench has the same height as a bottom surface of the at least one first dielectric layer located on another side of the trench (fig. 1-2, 10, & 17), and
a material of one of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer comprises silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, or silicon nitride carbide ([0120]).
In regards to claim 12, Lu ‘143 discloses
The capacitor structure according to claim 11, wherein the method for forming the trench comprises: forming a patterned photoresist layer ([0207]) on the stack structure; and
using the patterned photoresist layer as a mask to remove a part of the stack structure and a part of the semiconductor substrate to form the trench ([0207]).
In regards to claim 13, Lu ‘143 discloses
The capacitor structure according to claim 12, wherein the method for removing the part of the stack structure and the part of the semiconductor substrate comprises dry etching ([0207]).
In regards to claim 14, Lu ‘143 discloses
The capacitor structure according to claim 12, further comprising: removing the patterned photoresist layer after forming the trench ([0207]).
In regards to claim 17, Lu ‘143 discloses
The capacitor structure according to claim 11, wherein the capacitor is further disposed on a top surface of the stack structure (fig. 7).
In regards to claim 20, Lu ‘143 discloses
The capacitor structure according to claim 11, wherein the second dielectric layer closest to the semiconductor substrate is located between the first dielectric layer closest to the semiconductor substrate and the semiconductor substrate (fig. 1-2 & 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu ‘143 in view of Chi et al. (US 5,976,945).
In regards to claim 2,
Lu ‘143 fails to disclose wherein a cross-sectional contour of the at least one recess comprises a curved surface.
Chi ‘945 discloses wherein a cross-sectional contour of the at least one recess comprises a curved surface (fig. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a recesses of Lu ‘143 to have curved surfaces as taught by Chi ‘945 to allow for an increased surface area.
In regards to claim 15,
Lu ‘143 fails to disclose explicitly wherein the method of forming the at least one recess comprises: performing an isotropic etching process on the at least one first dielectric layer to form the at least one recess.
Chi ‘945 discloses wherein the method of forming the at least one recess comprises: performing an isotropic etching process on the at least one first dielectric layer to form the at least one recess (C3:L32-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a recesses of Lu ‘143 using an isotropic method to obtain recesses that have curved surfaces as taught by Chi ‘945 to allow for an increased surface area.
In regards to claim 16,
Lu ‘143 as modified by Chi ‘945 further discloses wherein the isotropic etching process comprises a dry etching process or a wet etching process (C3:L32-35 of Chi ‘945).
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-14, & 17-19is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo (US 2023/0063050) in view of Kao et al. (US 2023/0019688).
In regards to claim 1,
Kuo ‘050 discloses a capacitor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (8 – fig. 1; [0021]);
wherein there is a trench (fig. 2; [0023]) in the semiconductor substrate, and
a capacitor (30 – fig. 2; [0032]) disposed on a surface of the trench; and
a third dielectric layer (6 – fig. 2; [0031] of Kuo ‘050) disposed between the capacitor and the semiconductor substrate and between the capacitor and the stack structure. Kuo ‘050 fails to discloses a stack structure comprising at least one first dielectric layer and at least one second dielectric layer alternately disposed on the semiconductor substrate, wherein there is a trench in the at least one first dielectric layer and the at least one second dielectric layer, and the trench has at least one recess on at least one sidewall of the at least one first dielectric layer, wherein the trench does not have a recess on at least one sidewall of the at least one second dielectric layer, the at least one first dielectric layer or the at least one second dielectric layer is in direct contact with the semiconductor substrate, and the at least one first dielectric layer is in direct contact with the at least one second dielectric layer, a bottom surface of the at least one first dielectric layer located on one side of the trench has the same height as a bottom surface of the at least one first dielectric layer located on another side of the trench, and a material of one of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer comprises silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, or silicon nitride carbide.
Kao ‘688 discloses capacitor structure, comprising:
a substrate (202– fig. 9; [0050]);
a stack structure comprising at least one first dielectric layer (302L – fig. 3; [0053-0054]) and at least one second dielectric layer (304L – fig. 3; [0053-0054]) alternately disposed on the substrate, wherein there is a trench (fig. 4-5) in the at least one first dielectric layer and the at least one second dielectric layer, and the trench has at least one recess on at least one sidewall of the at least one first dielectric layer (fig. 5); and
a capacitor (fig. 9; [0066]) disposed on a surface of the trench, wherein
the trench does not have a recess on at least one sidewall of the at least one second dielectric layer (fig. 4-5),
the at least one first dielectric layer or the at least one second dielectric layer is in direct contact with the substrate (fig. 3), and
the at least one first dielectric layer is in direct contact with the at least one second dielectric layer (fig. 3),
a bottom surface of the at least one first dielectric layer located on one side of the trench has the same height as a bottom surface of the at least one first dielectric layer located on another side of the trench (fig. 4), and
a material of one of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer comprises silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, or silicon nitride carbide ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a stack with trench and recess as taught by Kao ‘688 with the trench of Kuo ‘050 to obtain a capacitor with a greater capacitance density.
In regards to claim 3,
Kuo ‘050 as modified by Kao ‘688 further discloses wherein the trench does not have a recess on a sidewall of the semiconductor substrate (fig. 1 of Kuo ‘050).
In regards to claim 4,
Kuo ‘050 as modified by Kao ‘688 further discloses wherein a sidewall of the semiconductor substrate exposed by the trench is a flat surface (fig. 1 of Kuo ‘050).
In regards to claim 6,
Kuo ‘050 as modified by Kao ‘688 further discloses wherein at least one sidewall of the at least one second dielectric layer exposed by the trench is a flat surface (fig. 4-5 of Kao ‘688).
In regards to claim 7,
Kuo ‘050 as modified by Kao ‘688further discloses wherein the first dielectric layer closest to the semiconductor substrate is located between the second dielectric layer closest to the semiconductor substrate and the semiconductor substrate (fig. 3 of Kao ‘688).
In regards to claim 9,
Kuo ‘050 as modified by Kao ‘688 further discloses wherein the capacitor is further disposed on a top surface of the stack structure (fig. 2 of Kuo ‘050).
In regards to claim 10,
Kuo ‘050 as modified by Kao ‘688 further discloses further comprising: a fourth dielectric layer (34 – fig. 2; [0031] of Kuo ‘050) disposed on the capacitor and filled in the trench.
In regards to claim 11,
Kuo ‘050 discloses a manufacturing method of a capacitor structure, comprising:
providing a semiconductor substrate (8 – fig. 1; [0021]);
forming a trench in the semiconductor substrate (fig. 2; [0023]); and
forming a capacitor (30 – fig. 2; [0032]) on a surface of the trench,
forming a third dielectric layer (6 – fig. 2; [0031]) between the capacitor and the semiconductor substrate and between the capacitor and the stack structure. Kuo ‘050 fails to disclose forming a stack structure, wherein the stack structure comprises at least one first dielectric layer and at least one second dielectric layer alternately disposed on the semiconductor substrate; forming a trench in the at least one first dielectric layer, the at least one second dielectric layer, wherein the trench has at least one recess on at least one sidewall of the at least one first dielectric layer; wherein the trench does not have a recess on at least one sidewall of the at least one second dielectric layer, wherein the trench does not have a recess on at least one sidewall of the at least one second dielectric layer, the at least one first dielectric layer or the at least one second dielectric layer is indirect contact with the semiconductor substrate, and the at least one first dielectric layer is in direct contact with the at least one second dielectric layer a bottom surface of the at least one first dielectric layer located on one side of the trench has the same height as a bottom surface of the at least one first dielectric layer located on another side of the trench, and a material of one of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer comprises silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, or silicon nitride carbide.
Kao ‘688 discloses a manufacturing method of a capacitor structure, comprising:
providing a substrate (202– fig. 9; [0050]);
forming a stack structure, wherein the stack structure comprises at least one first dielectric layer (302L – fig. 3; [0053-0054]) and at least one second dielectric layer (304L – fig. 3; [0053-0054]) alternately disposed on the substrate;
forming a trench (fig. 4-5) in the at least one first dielectric layer and the at least one second dielectric layer, wherein the trench has at least one recess on at least one sidewall of the at least one first dielectric layer (fig. 5); and
forming a capacitor (fig. 9; [0066]) on a surface of the trench, wherein
the trench does not have a recess on at least one sidewall of the at least one second dielectric layer (fig. 4-5),
the at least one first dielectric layer or the at least one second dielectric layer is indirect contact with the semiconductor substrate (fig. 3), and
the at least one first dielectric layer is in direct contact with the at least one second dielectric layer (fig. 3),
a bottom surface of the at least one first dielectric layer located on one side of the trench has the same height as a bottom surface of the at least one first dielectric layer located on another side of the trench (fig. 4), and
a material of one of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer comprises silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, or silicon nitride carbide ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a stack with trench and recess as taught by Kao ‘688 with the trench of Kuo ‘050 to obtain a capacitor with a greater capacitance density.
In regards to claim 12,
Kuo ‘050 as modified by Kao ‘688 further discloses wherein the method for forming the trench comprises: forming a patterned photoresist layer ([0056-0057] of Kao ‘688) on the stack structure; and
using the patterned photoresist layer as a mask to remove a part of the stack structure and a part of the semiconductor substrate to form the trench ([0056-0057] of Kao ‘688).
In regards to claim 13,
Kuo ‘050 as modified by Shue ‘735 further discloses wherein the method for removing the part of the stack structure and the part of the semiconductor substrate comprises dry etching ([0056-0057] of Kao ‘688).
In regards to claim 14,
Kuo ‘050 as modified by Shue ‘735 further discloses further comprising: removing the patterned photoresist layer after forming the trench ([0057] of Kao ‘688).
In regards to claim 17,
Kuo ‘050 as modified by Kao ‘688 further discloses wherein the capacitor is further formed on a top surface of the stack structure (fig. 2 of Kuo ‘050).
In regards to claim 18,
Kuo ‘050 as modified by Kao ‘688 further discloses further comprising: forming a fourth dielectric layer (34 – fig. 2; [0031] of Kuo ‘050) on the capacitor, wherein the fourth dielectric layer is filled in the trench.
In regards to claim 19,
Kuo ‘050 as modified by Kao ‘688 further discloses wherein the first dielectric layer closest to the semiconductor substrate is located between the second dielectric layer closest to the semiconductor substrate and the semiconductor substrate (fig. 3 of Kao ‘688).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0206696 – fig. 1 US 10,510,877 – fig. 2
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848