DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on November 21, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 8 and 14 are amended. Claims 4, 10 and 11 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-9 and 12-20 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 8 and 14 recite “wherein the lubricant reservoir is integral and monolithic with the bearing compartment housing;”. Applicant states support for the amendments can be found in paragraphs ([0049-0052]). However, the term monolithic is not in the written description. Figure 5 is shown as an exemplary lubrication system 10 with lubricant dispenser 80. Figure 5 is a schematic diagram showing lubricant reservoir 82 in schematic form positioned outside of bearing compartment housing 32. Examiner finds no support for one skilled in the relevant art for a lubricant reservoir being integral and monolithic with the bearing compartment housing.
Claims 1, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 8 and 14 recite “wherein the lubricant reservoir is integral and monolithic with the bearing compartment housing;”. It is unclear how the lubricant reservoir is monolithic with the bearing compartment housing. Where in the bearing compartment is the lubricant reservoir located? What structure creates the reservoir? How does the reservoir receive lubricant?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bastian, U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0047281 in view of Olsen et al., U.S Patent Publication 2016/0069211.
As per claim 1, Bastian discloses a lubrication system (abstract) comprising:
a bearing compartment housing defining a bearing compartment housing interior having a bearing compartment housing interior surface and a bearing compartment housing exterior having a bearing compartment housing exterior surface (para [003] (bearings supporting a shaft in a turbine engine are housed in a bearing compartment housing having an interior surface and an exterior surface);
a shaft (near bearings 1, 3) (figs. 1, 2) supported by bearings (1, 3) located within the bearing compartment housing;
a lubricant dispenser (155, 180, 150, 120, 160, 145) [compressed air supply, compressed air supply line, air check valve, reserve tank, one-way valve, supply line] in operative communication with the bearing compartment housing interior, the lubricant dispenser configured to contain at least one lubricant; at least one dispensing feature (135, 145) fluidly coupled to the lubricant reservoir (120) (paras [0016, 0017]) (fig. 2).
Bastian does not disclose the lubricant dispenser comprises: a lubricant reservoir fluidly coupled with the bearing compartment housing interior wherein the lubricant reservoir is integral and monolithic with the bearing compartment housing.
However, Olsen et al. in their Bearing Compartment with Integrated Fluid Lines invention teach the use of a bearing compartment (52) with an integral and monolithic lubricant reservoir (54) [integral passages] (figs. 2, 3) formed in bearing compartment walls (56) to supply lubricant to bearing assemblies (58, 60) (para [0013]). Figs. 2 and 3 also show a dispensing feature (76) [supply outlets] coupled to the reservoir (54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bastian with an integral and monolithic reservoir with fluidly coupled outlets in the bearing compartment, as taught by Olsen et al., for the purpose of simplifying repair and maintenance tasks on a turbine module by reducing steps to remove/install a remote reservoir and accompanying external lines (para [0013]).
As per claim 2, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses the at least one dispensing feature (76) is selected from the group comprising nozzles (part of supply outlets 76), orifices, slits, and weep holes.
As per claim 3, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses the at least one dispensing feature (76) is configured to dispense the lubricant responsive to bearing operational conditions (para [0014]).
As per claim 5, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses the lubricant dispenser (155, 180, 150, 54 (Olsen), 160, 145) comprises a pressurizer (155) in operative communication with a lubricant reservoir (54) and dispensing features (76) fluidly coupled to the lubricant reservoir (54).
As per claim 6, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses the pressurizer (155) is selected from the group comprising a bladder that contains a compressed gas (155), a gas generator, a start cartridge configured to generate an energized gas, and a bleed air source.
As per claim 7, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses a flow control valve (150) in operative communication with at least one of a lubricant reservoir (54), tubing (part of 76), a dispensing feature (76), and a pressurizer (155), the flow control valve (150) configured to control a flow of the lubricant for deployment to the bearings (1, 3).
As per claim 8, Bastian discloses a lubrication system (abstract) comprising:
a gas turbine engine having a gas turbine engine housing, the gas turbine engine housing having a forward portion opposite an aft portion (para [0003]);
a shaft (near bearings 1, 3) (figs. 1, 2) mounted within the gas turbine engine housing, the shaft having an axis (bearings supporting a shaft in a turbine engine are housed in a bearing compartment housing);
a bearing compartment housing defining a bearing compartment housing interior having a bearing compartment housing interior surface and a bearing compartment housing exterior having a bearing compartment housing exterior surface (bearings supporting a shaft in a turbine engine are housed in a bearing compartment housing having an interior surface and an exterior surface);
the shaft supported by bearings (1, 3) located within the bearing compartment housing;
a lubricant dispenser (155, 180, 150, 120, 160, 145) in operative communication with the bearing compartment housing interior, the lubricant dispenser (155, 180, 150, 120, 160, 145) configured to dispense at least one lubricant; wherein the lubricant dispenser comprises:
a lubricant reservoir (120) fluidly coupled with the bearing compartment housing interior, the lubricant reservoir (120) configured to contain the lubricant;
at least one dispensing feature (135, 145) fluidly coupled to the lubricant reservoir (120); wherein the dispensing feature is selected from the group comprising nozzles (part of supply lines 135, 145), orifices, slits, and weep holes;
wherein the lubricant dispenser comprises a pressurizer (155) [compressed air supply] in operative communication with a lubricant reservoir (120) and dispensing features (near 135, 145) fluidly coupled to the lubricant reservoir (120), wherein the pressurizer (155) is configured to pressurize the lubricant relative to the bearing housing compartment housing interior; wherein the pressurizer is selected from the group comprising a gas generator, a start cartridge configured to generate an energized gas, and a bleed air source (155) (compressed air supply 155 is considered a bleed air source as both are pressurized sources of air).
Bastian does not disclose the lubricant reservoir is integral and monolithic with the bearing compartment housing and passageways formed integrally with the bearing compartment housing; the passageways configured to transport the at least one lubricant from the lubricant reservoir to the bearing compartment housing interior. However, Olsen et al. in their Bearing Compartment with Integrated Fluid Lines invention teach the use of a bearing compartment (52) with an integral and monolithic lubricant reservoir (54) [integral passages] (figs. 2, 3) formed in bearing compartment walls (56) to supply lubricant to bearing assemblies (58, 60) (para [0013]). Figs. 2 and 3 also show a passageways (76) [supply outlets] coupled to the reservoir (54) and bearing compartment housing interior.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bastian with an integral and monolithic reservoir and passageways formed integrally in the bearing compartment, as taught by Olsen et al., for the purpose of simplifying repair and maintenance tasks on a turbine module by reducing steps to remove/install a remote reservoir and accompanying external lines (para [0013]).
As per claim 9, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses the at least one dispensing feature (76) is configured to dispense the lubricant responsive to bearing operational conditions (para [0014]).
As per claim 12, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses a flow control valve (150) in operative communication with at least one of a lubricant reservoir (120), tubing (135, 145), a dispensing feature (135, 145), and a pressurizer (155), the flow control valve (150) configured to control a flow of the lubricant for deployment to the bearings (1, 3).
As per claim 13, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses a controller in operative communication with any of the flow control valve (150), the pressurizer, the dispensing feature within the lubricant dispenser (para [0013] discloses a sensor determines if a main supply line pressure 115 is above a predetermined normal threshold. Examiner interprets that since sensors only sense, not actuate, actuation of flow control valve (150) is performed in conjunction with a controller).
As per claim 14, all limitations have been examined with respect to the apparatus in claims 1 and 2. The process steps taught/disclosed in claim 14 can clearly perform on the apparatus of claims 1 and 2. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as claims 1 and 2 above.
As per claim 15, all limitations have been examined with respect to the apparatus in claim 3. The process steps taught/disclosed in claim 15 can clearly perform on the apparatus of claim 3. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9 above.
As per claim 16, all limitations have been examined with respect to the apparatus in claim 8. The process steps taught/disclosed in claim 16 can clearly perform on the apparatus of claim 8. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8 above.
As per claim 17, all limitations have been examined with respect to the apparatus in claim 8. The process steps taught/disclosed in claim 17 can clearly perform on the apparatus of claim 8. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8 above.
As per claim 18, all limitations have been examined with respect to the apparatus in claim 12. The process steps taught/disclosed in claim 18 can clearly perform on the apparatus of claim 12. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 12 above.
As per claim 19, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses dispensing the at least one lubricant from the dispensing feature (76) by use of at least one of gravitational forces, mechanical momentum, centrifugal forces and fluid pressure forces (Examiner interprets nozzles connected to outlets (76). Fluid pressure forces responsible for expelling lubricant from the nozzles).
As per claim 20, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses forming a dispensing feature (76);
locating the dispensing feature (76) such that the at least one lubricant is delivered onto the at least one bearing (1, 3);
tailoring the dispensing feature to dispense the at least one lubricant at varying rates (para [0018] “desired flow rate may be determined”); and
tailoring the dispensing feature to dispense the at least one lubricant at varying locations radially and/or axially along the interior surface relative to the at least one bearing (1, 3). The dispensing feature dispenses lubricant to varying locations (bearing 1 and bearing 3) located axially along an interior surface (fig. 2). Per claim 2, nozzles are interpreted to be part of dispensing feature (76).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument based on the new interpretation of Olsen et al. necessitated by the amendments.
/M.K.B/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619