DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed April 13, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8 and 14 are amended. Therefore, claims 1-3, 5-9 and 12-20 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 8 and 14 recite “wherein the lubricant reservoir is integral with the bearing compartment housing, the term integral being defined as created from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components;”. Applicant states support for the amendments can be found in paragraphs ([0048-0052]). Figure 5 is shown as an exemplary lubrication system 10 with lubricant dispenser 80. Figure 5 is a schematic diagram showing lubricant reservoir 82 in schematic form positioned outside of bearing compartment housing 32. Paragraph [0049] recites “The lubricant reservoir 82 can be formed integral with the bearing compartment housing 33…”. The Specification does not give any additional definition of the term “integral” including defined as created from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components as recited in amended claims 1, 8 and 14. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand integral to have the standard definition as found in online versions of American Heritage, Collins and Dictionary.com to be a complete unit; a whole, formed of constituent parts; united or formed as a unit with another part.
Examiner finds no support for one of ordinary skill in the art for “a lubricant reservoir is integral with the bearing compartment housing, the term integral defined as created from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components;”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bastian, U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0047281 in view of Olsen et al., U.S Patent Publication 2016/0069211.
As per claim 1, Bastian discloses a lubrication system (abstract) comprising:
a bearing compartment housing defining a bearing compartment housing interior having a bearing compartment housing interior surface and a bearing compartment housing exterior having a bearing compartment housing exterior surface (para [003] (bearings supporting a shaft in a turbine engine are housed in a bearing compartment housing having an interior surface and an exterior surface);
a shaft (near bearings 1, 3) (figs. 1, 2) supported by bearings (1, 3) located within the bearing compartment housing;
a lubricant dispenser (155, 180, 150, 120, 160, 145) [compressed air supply, compressed air supply line, air check valve, reserve tank, one-way valve, supply line] in operative communication with the bearing compartment housing interior, the lubricant dispenser configured to contain at least one lubricant; at least one dispensing feature (135, 145) fluidly coupled to the lubricant reservoir (120) (paras [0016, 0017]) (fig. 2).
Bastian does not disclose the lubricant dispenser comprises: a lubricant reservoir fluidly coupled with the bearing compartment housing interior wherein the lubricant reservoir is integral with the bearing compartment housing, the term integral being defined as created from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components.
However, Olsen et al. in their Bearing Compartment with Integrated Fluid Lines invention teach the use of a bearing compartment (52) with an integral lubricant reservoir (54) [integral passages] (figs. 2, 3) formed in bearing compartment walls (56) to supply lubricant to bearing assemblies (58, 60) (para [0013]). Figs. 2 and 3 also show a dispensing feature (76) [supply outlets] coupled to the reservoir (54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bastian with an integral reservoir with fluidly coupled outlets in the bearing compartment, as taught by Olsen et al., for the purpose of simplifying repair and maintenance tasks on a turbine module by reducing steps to remove/install a remote reservoir and accompanying external lines (para [0013]).
As per claim 2, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses the at least one dispensing feature (76) is selected from the group comprising nozzles (part of supply outlets 76), orifices, slits, and weep holes.
As per claim 3, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses the at least one dispensing feature (76) is configured to dispense the lubricant responsive to bearing operational conditions (para [0014]).
As per claim 5, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses the lubricant dispenser (155, 180, 150, 54 (Olsen), 160, 145) comprises a pressurizer (155) in operative communication with a lubricant reservoir (54) and dispensing features (76) fluidly coupled to the lubricant reservoir (54).
As per claim 6, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses the pressurizer (155) is selected from the group comprising a bladder that contains a compressed gas (155), a gas generator, a start cartridge configured to generate an energized gas, and a bleed air source.
As per claim 7, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses a flow control valve (150) in operative communication with at least one of a lubricant reservoir (54), tubing (part of 76), a dispensing feature (76), and a pressurizer (155), the flow control valve (150) configured to control a flow of the lubricant for deployment to the bearings (1, 3).
As per claim 8, Bastian discloses a lubrication system (abstract) comprising:
a gas turbine engine having a gas turbine engine housing, the gas turbine engine housing having a forward portion opposite an aft portion (para [0003]);
a shaft (near bearings 1, 3) (figs. 1, 2) mounted within the gas turbine engine housing, the shaft having an axis (bearings supporting a shaft in a turbine engine are housed in a bearing compartment housing);
a bearing compartment housing defining a bearing compartment housing interior having a bearing compartment housing interior surface and a bearing compartment housing exterior having a bearing compartment housing exterior surface (bearings supporting a shaft in a turbine engine are housed in a bearing compartment housing having an interior surface and an exterior surface);
the shaft supported by bearings (1, 3) located within the bearing compartment housing;
a lubricant dispenser (155, 180, 150, 120, 160, 145) in operative communication with the bearing compartment housing interior, the lubricant dispenser (155, 180, 150, 120, 160, 145) configured to dispense at least one lubricant; wherein the lubricant dispenser comprises:
a lubricant reservoir (120) fluidly coupled with the bearing compartment housing interior, the lubricant reservoir (120) configured to contain the lubricant;
at least one dispensing feature (135, 145) fluidly coupled to the lubricant reservoir (120); wherein the dispensing feature is selected from the group comprising nozzles (part of supply lines 135, 145), orifices, slits, and weep holes;
wherein the lubricant dispenser comprises a pressurizer (155) [compressed air supply] in operative communication with a lubricant reservoir (120) and dispensing features (near 135, 145) fluidly coupled to the lubricant reservoir (120), wherein the pressurizer (155) is configured to pressurize the lubricant relative to the bearing housing compartment housing interior; wherein the pressurizer is selected from the group comprising a gas generator, a start cartridge configured to generate an energized gas, and a bleed air source (155) (compressed air supply 155 is considered a bleed air source as both are pressurized sources of air).
Bastian does not disclose the lubricant reservoir is integral with the bearing compartment housing, wherein integral is defined as created from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components; and passageways formed integrally with the bearing compartment housing; the passageways configured to transport the at least one lubricant from the lubricant reservoir to the bearing compartment housing interior. However, Olsen et al. in their Bearing Compartment with Integrated Fluid Lines invention teach the use of a bearing compartment (52) with an integral lubricant reservoir (54) [integral passages] (figs. 2, 3) formed in bearing compartment walls (56) to supply lubricant to bearing assemblies (58, 60) (para [0013]). Figs. 2 and 3 also show a passageways (76) [supply outlets] coupled to the reservoir (54) and bearing compartment housing interior.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Bastian with an integral reservoir and passageways formed integrally in the bearing compartment, as taught by Olsen et al., for the purpose of simplifying repair and maintenance tasks on a turbine module by reducing steps to remove/install a remote reservoir and accompanying external lines (para [0013]).
As per claim 9, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses the at least one dispensing feature (76) is configured to dispense the lubricant responsive to bearing operational conditions (para [0014]).
As per claim 12, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses a flow control valve (150) in operative communication with at least one of a lubricant reservoir (120), tubing (135, 145), a dispensing feature (135, 145), and a pressurizer (155), the flow control valve (150) configured to control a flow of the lubricant for deployment to the bearings (1, 3).
As per claim 13, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses a controller in operative communication with any of the flow control valve (150), the pressurizer, the dispensing feature within the lubricant dispenser (para [0013] discloses a sensor determines if a main supply line pressure 115 is above a predetermined normal threshold. Examiner interprets that since sensors only sense, not actuate, actuation of flow control valve (150) is performed in conjunction with a controller).
As per claim 14, all limitations have been examined with respect to the apparatus in claims 1 and 2. The process steps taught/disclosed in claim 14 can clearly perform on the apparatus of claims 1 and 2. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as claims 1 and 2 above.
As per claim 15, all limitations have been examined with respect to the apparatus in claim 3. The process steps taught/disclosed in claim 15 can clearly perform on the apparatus of claim 3. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9 above.
As per claim 16, all limitations have been examined with respect to the apparatus in claim 8. The process steps taught/disclosed in claim 16 can clearly perform on the apparatus of claim 8. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8 above.
As per claim 17, all limitations have been examined with respect to the apparatus in claim 8. The process steps taught/disclosed in claim 17 can clearly perform on the apparatus of claim 8. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8 above.
As per claim 18, all limitations have been examined with respect to the apparatus in claim 12. The process steps taught/disclosed in claim 18 can clearly perform on the apparatus of claim 12. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 12 above.
As per claim 19, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses dispensing the at least one lubricant from the dispensing feature (76) by use of at least one of gravitational forces, mechanical momentum, centrifugal forces and fluid pressure forces (Examiner interprets nozzles connected to outlets (76). Fluid pressure forces responsible for expelling lubricant from the nozzles).
As per claim 20, Bastian and Olsen et al. as set forth above, Bastian as modified, discloses forming a dispensing feature (76);
locating the dispensing feature (76) such that the at least one lubricant is delivered onto the at least one bearing (1, 3);
tailoring the dispensing feature to dispense the at least one lubricant at varying rates (para [0018] “desired flow rate may be determined”); and
tailoring the dispensing feature to dispense the at least one lubricant at varying locations radially and/or axially along the interior surface relative to the at least one bearing (1, 3). The dispensing feature dispenses lubricant to varying locations (bearing 1 and bearing 3) located axially along an interior surface (fig. 2). Per claim 2, nozzles are interpreted to be part of dispensing feature (76).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. First, beginning on page 9 of the Remarks Applicant argues “the disclosure reasonably conveys to the artisan that the inventor has possession at the time of the later claimed subject matter...”. That an artisan, or one of ordinary skill in the art would understand “the lubricant reservoir 82 can be formed integral with the bearing compartment housing 33…” to mean the term integral means created from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above under the 112(a) rejection, the common understanding of integral is a complete unit; a whole, formed of constituent parts; united or formed as a unit with another part. The recited definition of integral in claims 1, 8 and 14 more closely resembles the Dictionary.com definition of monolithic: cast as a single piece; formed or composed of material without joints or seams; consisting of or constituting a single unit.
Next, on page 16 of the Remarks Applicant argues the integral passages 54 of Olsen are erroneously asserted to be the same as the claimed lubricant reservoir, but are merely supply passages and not the actual lubricant reservoir located in the engine oil system. Again, examiner respectfully disagrees. Olsen, fig. 3, discloses supply pipes 88 leading to an integral passage 54 located in bearing compartment wall 56. The integral passage functions as a reservoir or manifold connected to supply pipes 88. The integral passage 54 allows lubricant to collect to then supply outlets 76. It would have been obvious to add this feature to Bastian as described above in the rejection of claim 1 to reduce external lines by having the reservoir/manifold feature formed integrally into the bearing compartment wall.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.K.B/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619