DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 04/29/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9 and 21-25 are pending of which claim 1 is independent and amended.
The IDS(s) submitted on 05/03/2024 and 08/16/2024 is being considered.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al (US 20240048327 A1, All citations from the nonprovisional document is fully supported by the provisional document on 63/394567 which priority is relied on.) in view of Liu et al (US20250203629 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Khoshnevisan discloses a first apparatus (i.e. Figs. 2 and 6 UE 115 is the first apparatus and its component shown in Fig. 10 as detailed in paragraph 203) comprising: one or more processors (i.e. Fig. 10 Processor 1040); and one or more memories (i.e. Fig. 10 Memory 1030) storing instructions (i.e. Fig. 10 code 1035) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first apparatus(i.e. UE 115) to: obtain, via downlink control information (DCI) comprising a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set indicator field (In paragraph 0006 it is stated that a quantity of one or more SRI (Sounding Reference Signal Resource Indicator ) fields included in downlink control information, and a quantity of one or more TPMI fields included in the downlink control information, where the set of multiple SRS resource sets are configured for codebook usage. See paragraph 5 too), a codepoint value (See Fig. 6 UE 115 receives DCI message in 610 and contains codepoint. Per Khoshnevisan ’s paragraph 61 it details for codebook based PUSCH transmissions, the DCI message may indicate a codepoint via an SRS resource set indicator field and a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) field may indicate information associated with a quantity of PUSCH ports can be selected from a set of ports associated with an indicated SRS resource.) , wherein the codepoint value (See Table 10 codepoint column 1) wherein the codepoint value is a two-bit value (paragraph 136 indicates 2 bits (first SRI field) 2 bits (second SRI field) and see Tables 10 and 12 with codepoint of 2 bits providing 4 different values) indicates selection of a transmission mode (i.e. per paragraph 115 last sentence the UE 115 may interpret the codepoints 245 indicated by DCI in accordance with Table 10. Per Table 10 for each codepoint a transmission mode is identified in the 2nd column as a single panel/s-TRP transmission mode and multi-panel/multi-TRP mode/TDM transmission mode in an identical manner to Applicant’s disclosure.) and one or multiple maximum ranks (See Table 10 where each codepoint has a corresponding TPMI and rank and the rank can take maximum value. Note rank is a quantity of layers per paragraph 10. Per Table 12 for codepoint 00 the maximum rank X1 and is different from codepoint 01 with the maximum rank 2) associated respectively with one or more antenna panels each having two antenna ports (See each Panel 320 in Fig. 3 has 2 antenna ports 315 ) ;
and determine at least one table entry for precoding based on the codepoint value.(Based on the last sentence of paragraph 115 for Table 10 and the last sentence of paragraph 130 for Table 12 clearly indicates that UE 115 can retrieve transmission mode (i.e. S-TRP and M-TRP) and TPMI and rank in a similar fashion as disclosed by Applicant’s published specification in paragraphs 92 and 93. See Khoshnevisan ‘s paragraphs 13, 15, 17, 18 and 20 indicating in various forms that the mapping indicates that a first TPMI field indicates a first rank value less than or equal to the first maximum rank value and indicates a first quantity of ports less than the first maximum number of ports value associated with the first SRS resource if a first codepoint associated with the first SRS resource set may be included in an SRS resource set indicator field of the downlink control information message )wherein the at least one table entry maps precoding information and number of layers fields in the DCI to a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) for physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission. (See Tables 10 and 12 where each codepoint entry links or maps precoding TPMI to r number of layers for PUSCH transmission as entry in the last columns of Tables 10 and 12)
Khoshnevisan fails to disclose wherein the codepoint value indicates selection of a transmission mode from one of: (i) a single-panel transmission mode using a first antenna panel associated with a first SRS resource set, (ii) a single-panel transmission mode using a second antenna panel associated with a second SRS resource set, (iii) a two-panel spatial division multiplexing (SDM) transmission mode toward a single transmission-reception point (TRP), or (iv) a two-panel SDM transmission mode toward
two TRPs.
Liu, in the same endeavor, discloses wherein the codepoint value (see Fig. 1 Column 1 SRSI field taking the values of 00, 01, 10 and 11) indicates selection of a transmission mode from one of: (i) a single-panel transmission mode using a first antenna panel associated with a first SRS resource set (See paragraphs 10 indicating a codepoint value of ’00’ is representing single panel transmission with a first resource set using a first antenna panel – see paragraphs 49 and 58), (ii) a single-panel transmission mode using a second antenna panel associated with a second SRS resource set, (i.e. See paragraphs 10. 15 and 106 indicating a codepoint of ‘01’ is representing single panel transmission with a second resource set using a second antenna panel – see paragraphs 49 and 58-60) (iii) a two-panel spatial division multiplexing (SDM) transmission mode toward a single transmission-reception point (TRP), or (iv) a two-panel SDM transmission mode toward two TRPs. (See paragraphs 10, 15 and 106 SRSI codepoint ’10’ or ‘11’ indicate a multi-panel transmission to multiple TRPs using SDM scheme 1 and SDM Scheme 2 as shown in Fig. 1 Columns 1 and 2 , the third entry and last two entries of Fig. 1)
In view of the above, having Khoshnevisan’s technique to switch between single panel and multi-panel with codepoint values in DCI and then given the well- established teaching of Liu’s dynamic switching between single TRP and multi TRP based PUSCH schemes, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Khoshnevisan’s technique to switch between single panel and multi-panel with codepoint values in DCI as taught by Liu’s dynamic switching between single TRP and multi TRP based PUSCH schemes, since Liu states in paragraph 8 that the modification results in allowing the UE to dynamically switch between single-TRP and multi-TRP based PUSCH schemes.
Regarding claim 2, Khoshnevisan modified by Liu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, Khoshnevisan further discloses wherein the codepoint value comprises one of the following (Khoshnevisan discloses all limitations based in Tables 10 and 12): a codepoint value which indicates a maximum rank associated with a single table entry, and a first single-panel transmission mode (Table 10 – codepoint 00 and is a single table entry associated with a maximum rank X and a first single-panel transmission mode with s-TRP mode with TRP1 with first SRS set. Note a single TRP is a single panel transmission mode per paragraph 62 (multiple panels = STxMP) and per paragraph 61 “…panel information and may indicate whether a transmission is a single transmission and reception point (TRP, such as sTRP) transmission or a multi-TRP (mTRP) transmission, and may be indicated or conveyed via an indication of one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resources.) ; a codepoint value which indicates a maximum rank associated with a single table entry, and a second single-panel transmission mode(Table 10 – codepoint 01 and is a single table entry associated with a maximum rank X and a first single-panel transmission mode with s-TRP mode with TRP2 with 2nd SRS resource set); a codepoint value which indicates multiple maximum ranks associated with multiple table entries respectively, and a first multi-panel transmission mode (i.e. Table 10 – Codepoint 10 – is linked to two multiple table entries – one for TRP1 and another for TRP2 which is a first multi-panel transmission to TRP1 and TRP2 and maximum rank X); or a codepoint value which indicates multiple maximum ranks associated with multiple table entries respectively , and a second multi-panel transmission mode. (Table 10 Codepoint 11 - is linked to two multiple table entries – one for TRP1 and another for TRP2 which is a second multi-panel transmission to TRP1 and TRP2 and maximum rank X). [See Table 12 where similar mapping can occur and paragraph 130 and paragraph 115 with respect to table 10)
Regarding claim 3, Khoshnevisan modified by Liu discloses the apparatus of claim 2 as set forth above, Khoshnevisan further discloses wherein: the codepoint value indicating the first single-panel transmission mode is a two-bit value of 00 (i.e. Table 10 first entry and Table 12 first entry with codepoint 00); the codepoint value indicating the second single-panel transmission mode is a two-bit value of 01(i.e. Table 10 first entry and Table 12 first entry with codepoint 01); the codepoint value indicating the first multi-panel transmission mode is a two-bit value of 10 (i.e. Table 10 first entry and Table 12 first entry with codepoint 10); and the codepoint value indicating the second multi-panel transmission mode is a two-bit value of 11. (i.e. Table 10 first entry and Table 12 first entry with codepoint 11)
Regarding claim 5 Khoshnevisan modified by Liu discloses the apparatus of claim 2 as set forth above, Khoshnevisan further discloses wherein: the maximum rank associated with the single table entry comprises a maximum rank over one (See paragraph 62 where maximum rank/layer can be one or more than one. See Tables 10 and 12 r ranks); and the multiple maximum ranks associated with the multiple table entries comprise at least one of a maximum rank of one or a maximum rank over one. (See paragraph 62 where maximum rank/layer can be one or more than one. See Tables 10 and 12 r ranks)
Regarding claim 9, Khoshnevisan modified by Liu discloses the apparatus of claim 1, Khoshnevisan further discloses wherein the first apparatus is further configured to: transmit capability information of the first apparatus, wherein the capability information indicates at least one of the following: a simultaneous multi-panel transmission capability, or respective transmission capabilities for multiple antenna panels. (per paragraphs 11, 33 and 153 the first apparatus UE 115 transmits a UE capability report information associated with the maximum quantity of ports the UE may be capable of supporting when the uplink shared channel message may be associated with the single SRS resource set, or when the uplink shared channel message may be associated with multiple SRS resource sets, or both. Single SRS resource set per Tables 10 and 12 maps to single multiple panel transmission and multiple SRS resource sets maps to multiple panel transmission)
Regarding claim 7, Khoshnevisan modified by Liu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, Khoshnevisan further discloses wherein the first apparatus is further configured to: determine a transmit precoding matrix identity, TPMI, based on the at least one table entry. .(Based on the last sentence of paragraph 115 for Table 10 and the last sentence of paragraph 130 for Table 12 clearly indicates that UE 115 can retrieve transmission mode (i.e. S-TRP and M-TRP) and TPMI and rank in a similar fashion as disclosed by Applicant’s published specification in paragraphs 92 and 93. See Khoshnevisan ‘s paragraphs 13, 15, 17, 18 and 20 indicating in various forms that the mapping indicates that a first TPMI field indicates a first rank value less than or equal to the first maximum rank value and indicates a first quantity of ports less than the first maximum number of ports value associated with the first SRS resource if a first codepoint associated with the first SRS resource set may be included in an SRS resource set indicator field of the downlink control information message. See paragraphs 5 and 6 stating “… receiving one or more control messages that indicate: a quantity of a set of multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets configured at the UE, a quantity of one or more SRS resource indicator (SRI) fields included in downlink control information, and a quantity of one or more TPMI fields included in the downlink control information, where the set of multiple SRS resource sets are configured for codebook usage, and a set of multiple maximum rank values and a set of one or more maximum number of ports values that are associated with uplink shared channel transmissions from the UE,)
Regarding claim 8, Khoshnevisan modified by Liu discloses the apparatus of claim 7 as set forth above, Khoshnevisan further discloses, wherein the first apparatus is further configured to: perform a transmission over an uplink shared channel based on the TPMI. (See Tables 16 and 17 and paragraph 141 and 142 where PUSC transmission occurs based on TPMI index)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474