DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 02/06/2024..
Claims 1-20 are pending of which claims 1, 10, and 14 are independent.
The IDS(s) submitted on 05/03/2024 and 08/16/2024 is being considered.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et al (US 20240048327 A1, All citations from the nonprovisional document is fully supported by the provisional document on 63/394567 which priority is relied on.).
Examiner’s Note: It is the position of the examiner that Khoshnevisan discloses the claimed invention as well as the disclosed invention as set forth in the rejection below. The tables and mechanism used by both Applicant and Khoshnevisan are identical.
Regarding claim 1, Khoshnevisan discloses a first apparatus (i.e. Figs. 2 and 6 UE 115 is the first apparatus and its component shown in Fig. 10 as detailed in paragraph 203) comprising: one or more processors (i.e. Fig. 10 Processor 1040); and one or more memories (i.e. Fig. 10 Memory 1030) storing instructions (i.e. Fig. 10 code 1035) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first apparatus(i.e. UE 115) to: obtain a codepoint value (See Fig. 6 UE 115 receives DCI message in 610 and contains codepoint. Per Khoshnevisan ’s paragraph 61 it details for codebook based PUSCH transmissions, the DCI message may indicate a codepoint via an SRS resource set indicator field and a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) field may indicate information associated with a quantity of PUSCH ports can be selected from a set of ports associated with an indicated SRS resource.) , wherein the codepoint value (See Table 10 codepoint column 1) indicates selection of a transmission mode (i.e. per paragraph 115 last sentence the UE 115 may interpret the codepoints 245 indicated by DCI in accordance with Table 10. Per Table 10 for each codepoint a transmission mode is identified in the 2nd column as a single panel/s-TRP transmission mode and multi-panel/multi-TRP mode/TDM transmission mode in an identical manner to Applicant’s disclosure ) and one or multiple maximum ranks (See Table 10 where each codepoint has a corresponding TPMI and rank and the rank can take maximum value. Note rank is a quantity of layers per paragraph 101.), and at least a maximum rank of a first codepoint value (Per Table 12 for codepoint 00 the maximum rank X1 and is different from codepoint 01 with the maximum rank 2) is different from a maximum rank of a second codepoint value(Per Table 12 for codepoint 00 the maximum rank X1 and is different from codepoint 01 with the maximum rank 2); and determine at least one table entry for precoding based on the codepoint value.(Based on the last sentence of paragraph 115 for Table 10 and the last sentence of paragraph 130 for Table 12 clearly indicates that UE 115 can retrieve transmission mode (i.e. S-TRP and M-TRP) and TPMI and rank in a similar fashion as disclosed by Applicant’s published specification in paragraphs 92 and 93. See Khoshnevisan ‘s paragraphs 13, 15, 17, 18 and 20 indicating in various forms that the mapping indicates that a first TPMI field indicates a first rank value less than or equal to the first maximum rank value and indicates a first quantity of ports less than the first maximum number of ports value associated with the first SRS resource if a first codepoint associated with the first SRS resource set may be included in an SRS resource set indicator field of the downlink control information message )
Regarding claim 10, Khoshnevisan discloses a second apparatus (Fig. 2 a network entity 105 via a TRP 205-a or a TRP 205-b, or both is the second apparatus. See also in Fig. 6 Network Entity 105 comprising TRP 205-a and TRP 205-b) comprising (Fig. 14 shows the details of the second apparatus/network entity 105 per paragraph 245) :
one or more processors (i.e. Processor 1435 of Fig. 14 ); and one or more memories (Fig. 14 memory 1425) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the second apparatus to:
determine a codepoint value for a first apparatus (See paragraph 61 where first apparatus is UE 115 and the network entity is determining a codepoint and transmits it to UE 115 and in paragraph 61 it is stated “For example, for CB-based PUSCH transmissions, the DCI message may indicate a codepoint via an SRS resource set indicator field and a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) field may indicate information associated with a quantity of PUSCH ports can be selected from a set of ports associated with an indicated SRS resource. The UE may use the TPMI field to select how many layers and a precoder to use for the PUSCH message.), wherein the codepoint value (See Table 10 codepoint column 1) indicates selection of a transmission mode (i.e. per paragraph 115 last sentence the UE 115 may interpret the codepoints 245 indicated by DCI in accordance with Table 10. Per Table 10 for each codepoint a transmission mode is identified in the 2nd column as a single panel/s-TRP transmission mode and multi-panel/multi-TRP mode/TDM transmission mode in an identical manner to Applicant’s disclosure ) and one or multiple maximum ranks (See Table 10 where each codepoint has a corresponding TPMI and rank and the rank can take maximum value. Note rank is a quantity of layers per paragraph 101.), and at least a maximum rank of a first codepoint value (Per Table 12 for codepoint 00 the maximum rank X1 and is different from codepoint 01 with the maximum rank 2) is different from a maximum rank of a second codepoint value(Per Table 12 for codepoint 00 the maximum rank X1 and is different from codepoint 01 with the maximum rank 2); and
transmit the codepoint value to the first apparatus. (Per paragraphs 35, 37, 61 and Fig. 6 step 610 – the Scheduling DCI message containing the codepoint is transmitted to UE 115/first apparatus from second apparatus/network entity 105 comprising TRPs 205-a and 205-b)
Regarding claim 14, Khoshnevisan discloses a method (Figs. 1-16 with emphasis on Figs. 2 and 6) comprising:
obtaining, at a first apparatus (i.e. Figs. 2 and 6 UE 115 is the first apparatus and its component shown in Fig. 10 as detailed in paragraph 203), a codepoint value (See Fig. 6 UE 115 receives DCI message in 610 and contains codepoint. Per Khoshnevisan ’s paragraph 61 it details for codebook based PUSCH transmissions, the DCI message may indicate a codepoint via an SRS resource set indicator field and a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) field may indicate information associated with a quantity of PUSCH ports can be selected from a set of ports associated with an indicated SRS resource.) , wherein the codepoint value (See Table 10 codepoint column 1) indicates selection of a transmission mode (i.e. per paragraph 115 last sentence the UE 115 may interpret the codepoints 245 indicated by DCI in accordance with Table 10. Per Table 10 for each codepoint a transmission mode is identified in the 2nd column as a single panel/s-TRP transmission mode and multi-panel/multi-TRP mode/TDM transmission mode in an identical manner to Applicant’s disclosure ) and one or multiple maximum ranks (See Table 10 where each codepoint has a corresponding TPMI and rank and the rank can take maximum value. Note rank is a quantity of layers per paragraph 101.), and at least a maximum rank of a first codepoint value (Per Table 12 for codepoint 00 the maximum rank X1 and is different from codepoint 01 with the maximum rank 2) is different from a maximum rank of a second codepoint value(Per Table 12 for codepoint 00 the maximum rank X1 and is different from codepoint 01 with the maximum rank 2); and
determining at least one table entry for precoding based on the codepoint value.(Based on the last sentence of paragraph 115 for Table 10 and the last sentence of paragraph 130 for Table 12 clearly indicates that UE 115 can retrieve transmission mode (i.e. S-TRP and M-TRP) and TPMI and rank in a similar fashion as disclosed by Applicant’s published specification in paragraphs 92 and 93. See Khoshnevisan ‘s paragraphs 13, 15, 17, 18 and 20 indicating in various forms that the mapping indicates that a first TPMI field indicates a first rank value less than or equal to the first maximum rank value and indicates a first quantity of ports less than the first maximum number of ports value associated with the first SRS resource if a first codepoint associated with the first SRS resource set may be included in an SRS resource set indicator field of the downlink control information message )
Regarding claim 2, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the codepoint value comprises one of the following (Khoshnevisan discloses all limitations based in Tables 10 and 12): a codepoint value which indicates a maximum rank associated with a single table entry, and a first single-panel transmission mode (Table 10 – codepoint 00 and is a single table entry associated with a maximum rank X and a first single-panel transmission mode with s-TRP mode with TRP1 with first SRS set. Note a single TRP is a single panel transmission mode per paragraph 62 (multiple panels = STxMP) and per paragraph 61 “…panel information and may indicate whether a transmission is a single transmission and reception point (TRP, such as sTRP) transmission or a multi-TRP (mTRP) transmission, and may be indicated or conveyed via an indication of one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resources.) ; a codepoint value which indicates a maximum rank associated with a single table entry, and a second single-panel transmission mode(Table 10 – codepoint 01 and is a single table entry associated with a maximum rank X and a first single-panel transmission mode with s-TRP mode with TRP2 with 2nd SRS resource set); a codepoint value which indicates multiple maximum ranks associated with multiple table entries respectively, and a first multi-panel transmission mode (i.e. Table 10 – Codepoint 10 – is linked to two multiple table entries – one for TRP1 and another for TRP2 which is a first multi-panel transmission to TRP1 and TRP2 and maximum rank X); or a codepoint value which indicates multiple maximum ranks associated with multiple table entries respectively , and a second multi-panel transmission mode. (Table 10 Codepoint 11 - is linked to two multiple table entries – one for TRP1 and another for TRP2 which is a second multi-panel transmission to TRP1 and TRP2 and maximum rank X). [See Table 12 where similar mapping can occur and paragraph 130 and paragraph 115 with respect to table 10)
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 2 as set forth above, wherein: the codepoint value indicating the first single-panel transmission mode is a two-bit value of 00 (i.e. Table 10 first entry and Table 12 first entry with codepoint 00); the codepoint value indicating the second single-panel transmission mode is a two-bit value of 01(i.e. Table 10 first entry and Table 12 first entry with codepoint 01); the codepoint value indicating the first multi-panel transmission mode is a two-bit value of 10 (i.e. Table 10 first entry and Table 12 first entry with codepoint 10); and the codepoint value indicating the second multi-panel transmission mode is a two-bit value of 11. (i.e. Table 10 first entry and Table 12 first entry with codepoint 11)
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 2 as set forth above, wherein the first single-panel transmission mode is determined according to a sounding reference signal, SRS, resource identity, SRI, of a first SRS resource set (See Table 10 Codepoint 00 indicating 1st SRS Resource set for the first single-panel transmission mode being s-TRP); the second single-panel transmission mode is determined according to a SRI of a second SRS resource set(See Table 10 Codepoint 01 indicating 2nd SRS Resource set for the first single-panel transmission mode being s-TRP); the first multi-panel transmission mode is determined according to respective SRIs of the first and second SRS resource sets, precoding information, and a number of layers (See Table 10 Codepoint 10 with TDM mode of multi-panel first transmission mode according to respective SRIs of the first and second SRS resource sets, precoding information, and a number of layers) ; and the second multi-panel transmission mode is determined according to respective SRIs of the first and second SRS resource sets, precoding information, and a number of layers. (See Table 10 Codepoint 11 with TDM mode of multi-panel first transmission mode according to respective SRIs of the first and second SRS resource sets, precoding information, and a number of layers) (See Table 12 too for similar entries)
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 2 as set forth above, wherein: the maximum rank associated with the single table entry comprises a maximum rank over one (See paragraph 62 where maximum rank/layer can be one or more than one. See Tables 10 and 12 r ranks); and the multiple maximum ranks associated with the multiple table entries comprise at least one of a maximum rank of one or a maximum rank over one. (See paragraph 62 where maximum rank/layer can be one or more than one. See Tables 10 and 12 r ranks)
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 6 as set forth above, wherein the codepoint value is obtained in a downlink control information, DCI, or a media access control, MAC, control element, CE. (See Fig. 6 UE 115 receives DCI message in 610 and contains codepoint. Per Khoshnevisan ’s paragraph 61 it details for codebook based PUSCH transmissions, the DCI message may indicate a codepoint via an SRS resource set indicator field and a transmit precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) field may indicate information associated with a quantity of PUSCH ports can be selected from a set of ports associated with an indicated SRS resource.)
Regarding claim 9, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first apparatus is further configured to: transmit capability information of the first apparatus, wherein the capability information indicates at least one of the following: a simultaneous multi-panel transmission capability, or respective transmission capabilities for multiple antenna panels. (per paragraphs 11, 33 and 153 the first apparatus UE 115 transmits a UE capability report information associated with the maximum quantity of ports the UE may be capable of supporting when the uplink shared channel message may be associated with the single SRS resource set, or when the uplink shared channel message may be associated with multiple SRS resource sets, or both. Single SRS resource set per Tables 10 and 12 maps to single multiple panel transmission and multiple SRS resource sets maps to multiple panel transmission)
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Khoshnevisan discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein the first apparatus is further configured to: determine a transmit precoding matrix identity, TPMI, based on the at least one table entry. .(Based on the last sentence of paragraph 115 for Table 10 and the last sentence of paragraph 130 for Table 12 clearly indicates that UE 115 can retrieve transmission mode (i.e. S-TRP and M-TRP) and TPMI and rank in a similar fashion as disclosed by Applicant’s published specification in paragraphs 92 and 93. See Khoshnevisan ‘s paragraphs 13, 15, 17, 18 and 20 indicating in various forms that the mapping indicates that a first TPMI field indicates a first rank value less than or equal to the first maximum rank value and indicates a first quantity of ports less than the first maximum number of ports value associated with the first SRS resource if a first codepoint associated with the first SRS resource set may be included in an SRS resource set indicator field of the downlink control information message. See paragraphs 5 and 6 stating “… receiving one or more control messages that indicate: a quantity of a set of multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets configured at the UE, a quantity of one or more SRS resource indicator (SRI) fields included in downlink control information, and a quantity of one or more TPMI fields included in the downlink control information, where the set of multiple SRS resource sets are configured for codebook usage, and a set of multiple maximum rank values and a set of one or more maximum number of ports values that are associated with uplink shared channel transmissions from the UE,)
Regarding claim 20, Khoshnevisan discloses the method of claim 14 as set forth above, determining a transmit precoding matrix identity, TPMI, based on the at least one table entry; (The Codepoint can be used to determine a TPMI from Tables 10 or 12. In paragraph 5 the same concept is taught as “… A method for wireless communication at a UE is described. The method may include receiving one or more control messages that indicate: a quantity of a set of multiple sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets configured at the UE, a quantity of one or more SRS resource indicator (SRI) fields included in downlink control information, and a quantity of one or more TPMI fields included in the downlink control information, where the set of multiple SRS resource sets are configured for codebook usage, and a set of multiple maximum rank values and a set of one or more maximum number of ports values that are associated with uplink shared channel transmissions from the UE, where a quantity of the set of multiple maximum rank values and configured values of the set of one or more maximum number of ports values indicates a mapping between a content of the one or more TPMI fields and a quantity of ports associated with at least one SRS resource from the set of multiple SRS resource sets, receiving a downlink control information message that schedules an uplink shared channel message, the downlink control information message including the one or more SRI fields and the one or more TPMI fields,..” ) and
performing a transmission over an uplink shared channel based on the TPMI. (In Paragraph 5 the limitation is further taught verbatim by stating “…and transmitting the uplink shared channel message in accordance with the mapping between the content of the one or more TPMI fields and the quantity of ports associated with the at least one SRS resource from the set of multiple SRS resource sets.”)
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474