DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabinovich et al (US 20210392296 A1), and further in view of Wang et al (Wang, Jingying, et al. "Fully automatic blendshape generation for stylized characters." 2023 IEEE Conference Virtual Reality and 3D User Interfaces (VR). IEEE, March, 2023.).
RE claim 1, Rabinovich teaches A computer implemented method (abstract, Fig 1), comprising:
joining a video conference involving a plurality of participants (abstract, Figs 1, 5, [0060]);
determining an expression parameter vector from a video of a participant of the plurality of participants during the video conference (Fig 7, [0088], [0183], [0158]);
generating a virtual character customized for the participant from a virtual character face model by at least applying the expression parameter vector and by incorporating a virtual character neutral face model customized for the participant, and the virtual character neutral face model customized for the participant describing a neutral face of the virtual character customized for the participant (abstract, Figs 1, 7, 15, [0074], [0088], [0102]-[0111], [0375]-[0377], [0141]-[0142], [0154], [0158], [0183]-[0188], [0264], [0417]-[0420] etc. wherein the customized 3D avatar model is created using the neutral 3DMM template model and mapping the determined shape, pose and expression parameters); and
rendering the virtual character customized for the participant in a video stream of the participant (abstract, Fig 1, [0060], [0074]-[0076]).
Rabinovich is silent RE: to a set of virtual character expressions customized for the participant each of the set of virtual character expressions customized for the participant describing a facial expression of the virtual character customized for the participant.
However Wang teaches in abstract, Figs 1-2, 7, page 349 col 1 to expression transfer for stylized characters with different topologies in real time.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Rabinovich a system and method of to a set of virtual character expressions customized for the participant, initial 3D model as suggested by Wang, to expression transfer for stylized characters with different topologies in real time and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
Claim 8 recites limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 1 and therefore rejected under the same rationale. In addition Rabinovich teaches A system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium; and a processor communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium ([0009]).
Claim 15 recites limitations similar in scope with limitations of claim 1 and therefore rejected under the same rationale. In addition Rabinovich teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising processor-executable instructions ([0008]).
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabinovich as modified by Wang, and further in view of Bouaziz et al (US 20140362091 A1).
RE claim 2, Rabinovich as modified by Wang teaches wherein the virtual character neutral face model is generated before a start of the video conference, and wherein generating the virtual character neutral face model comprises: extracting a facial feature vector from an image of the participant (Rabinovich [0178], [0375]-[0378], Wang Fig 1, page 348 col 1-2).
Rabinovich as modified by Wang is silent RE and combining a set of virtual character face bases according to the facial feature vector to generate the virtual character neutral face model. However Bouaziz teaches in Figs 1-3, [0022], [0060] to generate the neutral character face model.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Rabinovich as modified by Wang a system and method of combining a set of virtual character face bases according to the facial feature vector to generate the virtual character neutral face model, as suggested by Bouaziz, in order to effectively generate the neutral character face model and thereby increasing system effectiveness and user experience.
RE claim 3, Rabinovich as modified by Wang and Bouaziz teaches wherein the virtual character neutral face model customized for the participant comprises a base neutral model and one or more accessory models (Rabinovich [0258], [0818]).
RE claim 4, Rabinovich as modified by Wang and Bouaziz teaches wherein the set of virtual character expressions customized for the participant are generated by combining a set of virtual character expression bases based on the facial feature vector for the participant (Rabinovich [0178], [0375]- [0378], Wang abstract, Figs 1-2, 7, page 349 col 1).
RE claim 5, Rabinovich as modified by Wang and Bouaziz teaches wherein the set of virtual character face bases are generated by applying a deformation transfer to the virtual character face model, a human base face, and a set of human face bases (Rabinovich [0178], [0375]- [0378], [0418], Bouaziz Figs 1-4, [0023], Wang abstract, Figs 1-2, 7, page 349 col 1).
RE claim 6, Rabinovich as modified by Wang and Bouaziz teaches wherein the set of virtual character expression bases comprises a subset of expression bases for each virtual character face base in the set of virtual character face bases (Wang abstract, Figs 1-2, 7, page 349 col 1, Bouaziz Figs 1-4, [0023]).
RE claim 7, Rabinovich as modified by Wang and Bouaziz teaches wherein a k-th virtual character expression base in a subset of expression bases for a j-th virtual character face base is generated by applying the deformation transfer to the virtual character face model incorporated with the j-th virtual character face base, the human base face incorporated with a j-th human face base, and the human base face incorporated with the j-th human face base and a k-th human expression base of a set of human expression bases (Rabinovich [0178], [0375]- [0378], [0418], Bouaziz Figs 1-4, [0023], [0061]. Wang abstract, Figs 1-2, 7, page 349 col 1).
Claims 9-14 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations of claims 2-7 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 16-20 recite limitations similar in scope with limitations of claims 2-6 and therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see attached 892).
/Sultana M Zalalee/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614