DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to the Applicants' file on 2/6/24. In virtue of this filing, claims 1-20 are currently presented in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/6/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 &1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 6, “the matching network”, should be changed to ---the impedance matching network---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Instant application No:18/433,899.
1. A system comprising: an impedance matching network configured to operably couple to a plasma chamber; a sensor; and a control circuit configured to carry out the operations of: storing one or more reference values for a parameter related to a semiconductor processing tool, the matching network and the plasma chamber forming part of the semiconductor processing tool; determining a current value for the parameter based on a signal received from the sensor; and determining a characteristic of the plasma chamber based on a comparison of the current value for the parameter and the one or more reference values for the parameter.
2. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more reference values are a valid range of values,
and the comparison of the current value and the one or more reference values comprises a
determination whether the current value is outside the valid range of values.
3. The system of claim 1 wherein the sensor is positioned at an output of the matching network.
4. The system of claim 1 wherein the sensor is positioned internal to the matching network.
5. The system of claim 1 wherein the sensor is positioned at an input of the plasma chamber.
6. The system of claim 1 wherein the parameter is a load impedance at an RF output of the
matching network.
7. The system of claim 1 wherein the parameter is a voltage, a current, or a phase angle.
8. The system of claim 1 wherein the one or more reference values are based on values
determined over a prior period of time of operation.
9. The system of claim 1 wherein the control circuit forms part of the matching network.
10. The system of claim 1 wherein the control circuit is further configured to provide a visual or
audible indication of the determined characteristic of the plasma chamber, or to cause an action to address the determined characteristic.
11. A method of determining a plasma chamber characteristic, the method comprising: storing one or more reference values for a parameter related to a semiconductor processing tool, the semiconductor processing tool comprising the plasma chamber and a matching network;
determining a current value for the parameter based on a signal received from a sensor
coupled to the tool; and determining a characteristic of the plasma chamber based on a comparison of the current value for the parameter and the one or more reference values for the parameter.
12. The method of claim 11 wherein the one or more reference values are a valid range of values,
and the comparison of the current value and the one or more reference values comprises a
determination whether the current value is outside the valid range of values.
13. The method of claim 11 wherein the sensor is positioned at an output of the matching
network.
14. The method of claim 11 wherein the sensor is positioned internal to the matching network.
15. The method of claim 11 wherein the sensor is positioned at an input of the plasma chamber.
16. The method of claim 11 wherein the parameter is a load impedance at an RF output of the
matching network.
17. The method of claim 11 wherein the parameter is a voltage, a current, or a phase angle.
18. The method of claim 11 wherein the one or more reference values are based on values
determined over a prior period of time of operation.
19. The method of claim 11 wherein the control circuit forms part of the matching network.
2
Attorney Docket No. RENO-080-US-CIP-CON
20. A semiconductor processing tool comprising:
a plasma chamber configured to deposit a material onto a substrate or etch a material
from the substrate; and
an impedance matching network operably coupled to the plasma chamber;
a sensor; and
a control circuit configured to carry out the operations of:
storing one or more reference values for a parameter related to the semiconductor
processing tool;
determining a current value for the parameter based on a signal received from the
sensor; and
determining a characteristic of the plasma chamber based on a comparison of the
current value for the parameter and the one or more reference values for the
parameter.
Patent No: 12334307.
1. A system comprising: a radio frequency (RF) source configured to provide RF power; an RF impedance matching circuit comprising: an RF input configured to receive the RF power from the RF source; an RF output configured to operably couple to a plasma chamber; at least one variable reactance element; and a sensor operably coupled to a component of the matching circuit; and a control circuit operably coupled to the RF source and to the matching circuit, the control circuit configured to: receive a signal from the sensor indicative of a parameter value; and upon determining the parameter value meets a first predetermined condition, transmit a control signal to the RF source causing the RF source to carry out a power control scheme, the power control scheme causing the RF source to reduce or maintain the RF power without turning off the RF power.
2. The system of claim 1 wherein the component of the matching circuit is an electronically variable capacitor, a fixed capacitor, an inductor, or a diode.
3. The system of claim 1 wherein the sensor is positioned at the RF input or the RF output of the matching circuit.
4. The system of claim 1 wherein the parameter value is a voltage value, current value, a value indicative of reflected power, or a temperature value associated with the component of the matching circuit.
5. The system of claim 1: further comprising an interlock for shutting down the system or the plasma chamber upon meeting an interlock condition; wherein the interlock condition is separate and distinct from the first predetermined condition.
6. The system of claim 1 wherein neither the determination that the parameter value has met the first predetermined condition nor the transmission of the control signal causes the plasma chamber to discontinue its operation.
7. The system of claim 1 wherein the determination the parameter value meets the first predetermined condition comprises: determining the parameter value is outside a predetermined range of values; determining the parameter value is within a predetermined range of values; determining the parameter value is at or below a predetermined value; or determining the parameter value is at or above a predetermined value.
8. The system of claim 1 wherein the control circuit is further configured to: repeat the step of receiving a signal from the sensor indicative of a parameter value to receive a new parameter value; and upon determining the new parameter value meets a second predetermined condition, transmit a second control signal to the RF generator to cause the RF source to discontinue the power control scheme.
9. The system of claim 1 wherein the RF source and the matching circuit are positioned within a shared enclosure.
10. The system of claim 1 wherein the control circuit comprises more than one more control circuit in electrical communication.
11. An apparatus for fabricating a semiconductor comprising: a plasma chamber configured to deposit a material onto a substrate or etch a material from the substrate; an RF source configured to provide RF power; an RF impedance matching circuit positioned between the plasma chamber and the RF source, the matching circuit comprising: at least one variable reactance element; and a sensor operably coupled to a component of the matching circuit; and a control circuit operably coupled to the RF source and to the matching circuit, the control circuit configured to: receive a signal from the sensor indicative of a parameter value; and upon determining the parameter value meets a first predetermined condition, transmit a control signal to the RF source causing the RF source to carry out a power control scheme, the power control scheme causing the RF source to reduce or maintain the RF power without turning off the RF power.
12. The apparatus of claim 11 wherein the component of the matching circuit is an electronically variable capacitor, a fixed capacitor, an inductor, or a diode.
13. The apparatus of claim 11 wherein the sensor is positioned at the RF input or the RF output of the matching circuit.
14. The apparatus of claim 11 wherein the parameter value is a voltage value, current value, a value indicative of reflected power, or a temperature value associated with the component of the matching circuit.
15. The apparatus of claim 11: further comprising an interlock for shutting down the system or the plasma chamber upon meeting an interlock condition; wherein the interlock condition is separate and distinct from the first predetermined condition.
16. The apparatus of claim 11 wherein neither the determination that the parameter value has met the first predetermined condition nor the transmission of the control signal causes the plasma chamber to discontinue its operation.
17. A method of controlling power to an RF impedance matching circuit, the method comprising: coupling a system to a plasma chamber, the system comprising: an RF source; and an RF impedance matching circuit comprising: an RF input operably coupled to the RF source; an RF output configured to operably couple to a plasma chamber; at least one variable reactance element; and a sensor operably coupled to a component of the matching circuit; the RF source providing RF power to the matching circuit; receiving a signal from the sensor indicative of a parameter value; and upon determining the parameter value meets a first predetermined condition, transmitting a control signal to the RF source causing the RF source to carry out a power control scheme, the power control scheme causing the RF source to reduce or maintain the RF power without turning off the RF power.
18. The method of claim 17 wherein the component of the matching circuit is an electronically variable capacitor, a fixed capacitor, an inductor, or a diode.
19. The method of claim 17 wherein the parameter value is a voltage value, current value, a value indicative of reflected power, or a temperature value associated with the component of the matching circuit.
20. The method of claim 17 further comprising: repeating the step of receiving a signal from the sensor indicative of a parameter value to receive a new parameter value; and upon determining the new parameter value meets a second predetermined condition, transmitting a second control signal to the RF generator to cause the RF source to discontinue the power control scheme.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12334307 in view of Ulrich (US Patent No: 10,679,824).
All limitations of claim 1 of instant application are similar all limitations of claims 1 and 7 of Patent (307) application above except for a semiconductor processing tool.
Ulrich discloses in claim 20 that, a semiconductor processing tool comprising: a plasma chamber configured to deposit a material onto a substrate or etch a material from the substrate; and an impedance matching circuit operably coupled to the plasma chamber, matching circuit comprising: an input configured to operably couple to an RF source; an output configured to operably couple to the plasma chamber.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Ulrich into the system of Patent above
et al., to deposit a material onto the substrate.
Limitations of claim 2 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 7 of Patent application above.
Limitations of claim 3 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 3 of Patent application above.
Limitations of claim 4 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 3 of Patent application above.
Limitations of claim 5 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 3 of Patent application above.
Limitations of claim 6 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 1 of Patent application above.
Limitations of claim 7 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 4 of Patent application above.
Limitations of claim 8 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 4 of Patent application above.
Limitations of claim 9 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 1 of Patent application above.
Limitations of claim 10 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 1 of Patent application above.
All limitations of claim 11 of instant application are similar all limitations of claims 1 and 7 of Patent (307) application above except for a semiconductor processing tool.
Ulrich discloses in claim 20 that, a semiconductor processing tool comprising: a plasma chamber configured to deposit a material onto a substrate or etch a material from the substrate; and an impedance matching circuit operably coupled to the plasma chamber, matching circuit comprising: an input configured to operably couple to an RF source; an output configured to operably couple to the plasma chamber.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Ulrich into the system of Patent above
Limitations of claim 12 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 19 of Patent application above.
Limitations of claims 13-15, Patent application above disclose all limitations recited in claim 11, except for wherein the sensor is positioned at an output of the matching network and wherein the sensor is positioned internal to the matching network, wherein the sensor is positioned at an input of the plasma chamber. However, claim 11 of Patent above disclose the sensor operably coupled to a component of the matching circuit.
The limitations are not of patentable merits since it is directed to a manner of operating the control device which does not differentiate apparatus claim from the prior art. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Limitations of claim 16 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 17 of Patent application above.
Limitations of claim 17 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 19 of Patent application above.
Limitations of claim 18 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 19 of Patent application above.
Limitations of claim 19 of the instant application are similar limitations of claim 17 of Patent application above.
All limitations of claim 20 of instant application are similar all limitations of claims 11 and 14 of Patent (307) application above except for a semiconductor processing tool.
Ulrich discloses in claim 20 that, a semiconductor processing tool comprising: a plasma chamber configured to deposit a material onto a substrate or etch a material from the substrate; and an impedance matching circuit operably coupled to the plasma chamber, matching circuit comprising: an input configured to operably couple to an RF source; an output configured to operably couple to the plasma chamber.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Ulrich into the system of Patent above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato (US Pub. No: 2017/0125218).
With respect to claim 1, Sato discloses a system comprising: an impedance matching network (17) configured to operably couple to a plasma chamber (12); a sensor(voltage sensor(44)); and a control circuit (the capacitance adjustment systems 18, 33 may include actuators, such as motors, which are controlled by the controllers 19, 34,46) configured to carry out the operations of: a memory (62) for storing one or more reference values for a parameter related to a semiconductor processing tool(paragraph [40] for the system controller 46 may compare outputs of the channels of the voltage sensor 44 and/or a representative value derived based on the outputs of the channels to one or more set point values), the matching network (17) and the plasma chamber (12) forming part of the semiconductor processing tool; determining a current value for the parameter based on a signal received from the sensor(44); and determining a characteristic of the plasma chamber (12) based on a comparison of the current value for the parameter and the one or more reference values for the parameter. Paragraphs [32-40].
With respect to claim 11, Sato disclose a method of determining a plasma chamber characteristic, the method comprising: a memory (62) for storing one or more reference values for a parameter related to a semiconductor processing tool(paragraph [40]), the semiconductor processing tool comprising the plasma chamber(12) and a matching network(17); determining a current value for the parameter based on a signal received from a sensor (44) coupled to the tool; and determining a characteristic of the plasma chamber based on a comparison of the current value for the parameter and the one or more reference values for the parameter. Paragraphs [32-39].
With respect to claim 20, Sato disclose a semiconductor processing tool comprising:
a plasma chamber (12) configured to deposit a material onto a substrate or etch a material
from the substrate; and an impedance matching network(17) operably coupled to the plasma chamber(12); a sensor(44); and a control circuit (19, 34,46)configured to carry out the operations of: a memory(62) for storing one or more reference values for a parameter related to the semiconductor processing tool; determining a current value for the parameter based on a signal received from the sensor(44)(paragraph [40]); and determining a characteristic of the plasma chamber based on a comparison of the current value for the parameter and the one or more reference values for the parameter. Paragraphs [32-39].
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicants' disclosure. See prior arts/references listed on the PTO-892 form attached.
Inquiry
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Taningco Alexander H can be reached on 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Minh Tran/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845