Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jensen et al. (9620400), hereinafter referred to as “Jensen”.
Regarding claim 1, Jenson discloses a substrate comprising a substrate center (Jensen: figures 1 and 5), a power source and communication interface (Jensen: figure 63), at least three position units, wherein each of the at least three position units comprise (Jensen: figure 6, items 107a, 105a, and 144), an illumination source configured to generate illumination (Jensen: figure 6, item 112), a line sensor configured to generate a plurality of line images based on the illumiation, wherein the line sensor is aligned to the substrate center (Jensen: figure 6; column 6, lines 6-36), and a controller comprising a memory maintaining program instructions (Jensen: figures 5-6), one or more processors configured to execute the program instructions causing the processors to (Jensen: figures 5-6), receive the plurality of line images and determine a substrate-to-chuck offset between the substrate center and a chuck center based on the plurality of line images (Jensen: column 3, lines 37-55; column 6, lines 6-36; column 7, lines 34-60).
Regarding claim 3, Jensen discloses determine a substrate-to-ring offset based on the plurality of line images (Jensen: figures 1 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Jensen discloses the substrate is a round substrate (Jensen: figures 1A-1C).
Regarding claim 5, Jensen discloses the substrate comprises at least one of: quartz, glass, silicon, silicon nitride, car fiber stabilized epoxy matrices, or a combination thereof (Jensen: claim 18).
Regarding claim 6, Jensen discloses one or more additional sensors, wherein the sensors are configured to generate sensor readings, wherein the controller is configured to detect a presence of a chuck based on the sensor readings (Jensen: figures 5-6).
Regarding claim 7, Jensen discloses the additional sensor comprise at least one of a temperature sensor (Jensen: column 14, lines 37-65).
Regarding claim 8, Jensen discloses in response to the one or more sensor readings satisfying a trigger threshold, the processors cause the illumination source to generate the illumination and case the line sensor to generate the line images (Jensen: figures 5-7).
Regarding claim 9, Jensen discloses a diffusive region disposed below the illumination source (Jensen: figures 2, 5, and 8).
Regarding claim 15, Jensen discloses each of the three position units comprise a cylindrical lens, wherein the line sensor is imaged by the cylindrical lens (Jensen: figures 1, 3, and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11, 13-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen et al. (9620400), hereinafter referred to as “Jensen” in view of Kosugi (20090009739).
Regarding claim 10, note the examiners rejection for claim 1, and in addition, claim 10 differs from claim 1 in that claim 10 further requires a collimator. Kosugi teaches that prior art measuring systems suffer from detection errors (Kosugi: paragraph 0010). To help alleviate this problem, Kosugi discloses the use of collimator (Kosugi: paragraph 0035). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the effective filing date of the invention, to take the apparatus disclosed by Jensen and add the lens taught by Kosugi in order to help reduce the number of detection errors.
Regarding claim 11, Kosugi discloses the collimator comprises a collimated hole array (Kosugi: figures 2, 7, and 10).
Regarding claim 13, Kosugi discloses the collimator is near field to the sensor (Kosugi: figures 2, 7, and 10).
Regarding claim 14, Kosugi discloses the one or more reflectors are defined in a bottom surface of the substrate (Kosugi: figures 1-3, 7, and 10).
Regarding claim 17, although not disclosed, it would have been obvious for the position units to comprise an optical unit comprising a beam splitter, absorber, objective lens, condenser lens (Official Notice). Doing so would have been obvious as these are known pieces of an optical unit in order for the unit to operate properly.
Regarding claim 18, although not disclosed, it would have been obvious for the lens to be a meta lens (Official Notice). Doing so would have been obvious in order to properly image an object.
Regarding claims 26-27, note the examiners rejection for claims 1 and 3-4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 12, 16, and 19-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
20210193493 06/2021 Frost
20210131256 06/2021 Cherala
10782242 09/2020 Muhr
100048477 08/2018 Putman
/Dave Czekaj/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2487