DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 20th January, 2026. Claims 1, 4, 9, 15-17, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain rejected in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claims 1, 15, and 20 filed on 20th January, 2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, regarding that the prior art does not teach the limitation(s): "generate a plurality of cross-directional curves along a second axis based on cross-directional surface smoothing of elevation data across a set of the plurality of lane ribbons at a plurality of defined intervals along the set of the plurality of lane ribbons" and "compute a set of smoothing values based at least on a displacement in elevation between at least one curve of the plurality of cross-directional curves and individual vertices of the topological mesh of interconnected vertices" have been fully considered, but are moot because of new grounds for rejection. It has now been taught by the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris.
Regarding arguments to Claims 2-14 and 16-19, they directly/indirectly depend on independent Claims 1, 15, and 20 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than independent Claims 1, 15, and 20. The limitations in those claims, in conjunction with combination, was previously established as explained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirwani (US 20130328863 A1), in view of Apostoleris et al. ("Skew Superelevation Edge Rounding Design Improving Riding Comfort on Freeways"), hereinafter referenced as Apostoleris.
Regarding Claim 1, Pirwani discloses a system comprising one or more processors to (Pirwani, [0118]: teaches a road surface generation system that includes a processor):
generate a road surface map based on connecting two or more individual representations of adjacent sections of a roadway surface represented by road data (Pirwani, [0025]: teaches a roadway network <read on road surface map> including road network data <read on road data>, which further includes grade separate crossing; [0027]: teaches grade separated crossing (GSC) 110 being a junction of three roads <read on connecting two or more representations of adjacent sections of roadway surface>, where "as a junction is the end (or start) of a road segment, GSC 110 marks an edge of six road segments"),
the road surface map comprising a topological mesh of interconnected vertices (Pirwani, [0018]: teaches the roadway network <read on road surface map> being a collection of road segments (polylines) and junctions that describe the topology of the polylines <read on topological mesh> and the junctions; [0086]: teaches finding the signed curvature at the vertices of a polyline <read on interconnected vertices>, where these parameters control the banking effect of the road surface);
generate a plurality of lane ribbons based on smoothing, with respect to elevation, the road data along a first axis (Pirwani, [0092]: teaches a model height function <read on first axis> being computed <read on with respect to elevation> at the start/end junctions of the road segments <read on lane ribbons>, which creates a smooth, aesthetically pleasing and plausible effect, where "the height function is a cubic Hermite spline");
[[generate a plurality of cross-directional curves along a second axis based on cross-directional surface smoothing of elevation data across a set of the plurality of lane ribbons at a plurality of defined intervals along the set of the plurality of lane ribbons;]]
[[compute a set of smoothing values based at least on a displacement in elevation between at least one curve of the plurality of cross-directional curves and individual vertices of the topological mesh of interconnected vertices; and]]
generate a simulated road surface within a simulated environment [[based on applying the set of smoothing values to the road surface map]] (Pirwani, FIG. 6 teaches constructing road surfaces <read on simulated road surface> from polygons; [0093]: teaches enabling an expression of the road surface as ribbons in 3D space <read on simulated environment>).
However, Pirwani does not expressly disclose
generate a plurality of cross-directional curves along a second axis based on cross-directional surface smoothing of elevation data across a set of the plurality of lane ribbons at a plurality of defined intervals along the set of the plurality of lane ribbons;
compute a set of smoothing values based at least on a displacement in elevation between at least one curve of the plurality of cross-directional curves and individual vertices of the topological mesh of interconnected vertices; and
generate a simulated road surface within a simulated environment based on applying the set of smoothing values to the road surface map.
Apostoleris discloses
generate a plurality of cross-directional curves along a second axis based on cross-directional surface smoothing of elevation data across a set of the plurality of lane ribbons at a plurality of defined intervals along the set of the plurality of lane ribbons (Apostoleris, FIG. 5 teaches a plurality of cross-sections <read on cross-directional curves> that runs parallel to the directional pavement width <read on second axis>, and defines a superelevation on a road segment <read on set of lane ribbons>, where a curved area <read on smoothing of elevation data> is applied to the connected cross-sections to smooth out the superelevation portions; [Investigation Aim]: teaches a roundup of skew superelevation areas being constructed in five strips, 1.0 meters wide <read on defined intervals> as shown in FIG. 4);
compute a set of smoothing values based at least on a displacement in elevation between at least one curve of the plurality of cross-directional curves and individual vertices of the topological mesh of interconnected vertices (Apostoleris, [Evaluation of the Influence of the Skew Superelevation Curved Length]: teaches the simulation software introducing skew superelevation edge geometry for various vertical rounding cases <read on displacement in elevation> as a way to assess the potential of reducing a critical area length of a rounded edge <read on computed smoothing values>, where the vertical rounding cases are for lengths between 0 meters to 5 meters for skewed superelevation cases of road segments <read on displacement between cross-directional curves>; Note: it should be noted that the road segments with skewed superelevation cases with and without curves are being interpreted as 3D models/meshes <read on topological mesh>, which includes vertices); and
generate a simulated road surface within a simulated environment based on applying the set of smoothing values to the road surface map (Apostoleris, FIG. 5 teaches a curved area being applied onto superelevation portions <read on applying smoothing values> of the road <read on road surface map>, which smooths out the road segment).
Apostoleris is analogous art with respect to Pirwani because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely generating curved road models. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to generate virtual road segments of skewed superelevation that are then curved to smooth out critical areas as taught by Apostoleris into the teaching of Pirwani. The suggestion for doing so would allow for adjustable skewed superelevation cases based on driving simulations of varying vehicles, thereby collecting useful data for the most optimal smoothing curve that results in the safest road segment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Apostoleris with Pirwani.
Regarding Claim 15, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in one or more processors. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Pirwani discloses one or more processors comprising processing circuitry to (Pirwani, [0118]: teaches a road surface generation system that includes a processor with appropriate control circuitry):…
Thus, Claim 15 is met by Pirwani according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the system corresponds to one or more processors.
Regarding Claim 20, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in a method. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Pirwani discloses a method (Pirwani, [0094]: teaches a method "for generating polygons of a road surface for a road network area that includes a plurality of junctions") comprising:…
Thus, Claim 20 is met by Pirwani according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the system corresponds to a method.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system of Claim 1. Pirwani does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 2; however, Apostoleris discloses wherein
for at least a first segment of the roadway surface, the first axis is aligned with a direction of vehicle travel associated with the roadway surface (Apostoleris, FIG. 5 teaches a road segment <read on first segment> that includes a plurality of cross-sections that run parallel to the directional pavement and perpendicular to the length of the skew superelevation runoff <read on first axis being aligned with vehicle travel direction>), and
the second axis is aligned perpendicularly to the first axis (Apostoleris, FIG. 5 teaches a plurality of cross-sections that runs parallel to the directional pavement width <read on second axis>, which is perpendicular to the length of skew superelevation runoff <read on first axis>).
Apostoleris is analogous art with respect to Pirwani because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely generating curved road models. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to generate virtual road segments of skewed superelevation that are then curved to smooth out critical areas as taught by Apostoleris into the teaching of Pirwani. The suggestion for doing so would allow for adjustable skewed superelevation cases based on driving simulations of varying vehicles, thereby collecting useful data for the most optimal smoothing curve that results in the safest road segment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Apostoleris with Pirwani.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system of Claim 1. Additionally, Pirwani further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to generate at least one of the plurality of lane ribbons or the plurality of cross-directional curves by
executing a smoothing algorithm based on at least one of:bin smoothing, kernel smoothing, simple moving average, local weighted regression, or parabola fitting (Pirwani, [0092]: teaches a model height function <read on smoothing algorithm> being computed at the start/end junctions of the road segments <read on generating lane ribbons>, which creates a smooth, aesthetically pleasing and plausible effect, where "the height function is a cubic Hermite spline"; Note: it should be noted that cubic Hermite splines can represent parabolas <read on parabola fitting>).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system of Claim 1. Additionally, Pirwani further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to:
connect at least one roadway intersection within the simulated environment with the simulated road surface (Pirwani, [0022]: teaches connecting road inter-connections <read on roadway intersection> together) based at least on
aligning an elevation of the road surface map with a baseline intersection surface generated from connecting individual representations of adjacent sections of the at least one roadway intersection (Pirwani, [0022]: teaches "the 3D road surface can obtained based on sampling a local coordinate frames (e.g., as defined by yaw, pitch, and roll), heights at various locations along the height function (e.g., a "lifted" spline), and road widths," where "this sampling can be done at discrete intervals along the height function <read on aligning elevation with baseline intersection surface> (e.g., at discrete points of the centerline) and points derived from the sampled points (e.g., points determined to be on the edge of the road) can be connected together to yield a surface <read on connecting individual representations of adjacent sections>").
Regarding Claims 11 and 18, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system and the one or more processors of Claims 1 and 15 respectively. Additionally, Pirwani further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to
generate the plurality of lane ribbons based at least on connecting one or more roadway intersections (Pirwani, [0092]: teaches a model height function being computed at the start/end junctions <read on roadway intersections> of the road segments <read on generating lane ribbons>, which creates a smooth, aesthetically pleasing and plausible effect, where "the height function is a cubic Hermite spline").
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system of Claim 11. Additionally, Pirwani further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to:
adjust at least one value of the one or more smoothing values for the simulated road surface (Pirwani, [0091]: teaches adjusting a yaw vector value of a polyline at point p) based on
blending one or more surface elevations of the simulated road surface with one or more surface elevations of the one or more roadway intersections determined by an intersection smoothing process (Pirwani, [0092]: teaches a model height function being computed at the start/end junctions of the road segments <read on surface elevations of roadway intersections>, which creates a smooth, aesthetically pleasing and plausible effect <read on blending surface elevations using an intersection smoothing process>, where "the height function is a cubic Hermite spline").
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system of Claim 11. Additionally, Pirwani further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to:
compute one or more surface elevations of the one or more roadway intersections using an intersection smoothing process based at least on one or more surface elevations of the simulated road surface (Pirwani, FIG. 6 teaches determining the height values of road segments at junctions, where for each road segment, the height function is calculated <read on computing surface elevations>, which defines the change in height of the road segment <read on simulated road surface> between junctions, where the yaw vector is then calculated using a 2D vector between the non-junction location and a successive location, where the height values at the non-junction location and successive location are calculated; [0092]: teaches a model height function being computed at the start/end junctions of the road segments <read on surface elevations of roadway intersections>, which creates a smooth, aesthetically pleasing and plausible effect <read on using an intersection smoothing process>, where "the height function is a cubic Hermite spline").
Regarding Claims 14 and 19, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system and the one or more processors of Claims 1 and 15 respectively. Additionally, Pirwani further discloses wherein the one or more processors are comprised in at least one of:
a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;a system for performing simulation operations;a system for performing digital twin operations;a system for performing light transport simulation;a system for performing collaborative content creation for three-dimensional assets;a system for generating or presenting at least one of virtual reality content, augmented reality content, or mixed reality content;a system for performing deep learning operations;a system for performing real-time streaming;a system implemented using an edge device;a system implemented using a robot;a system for performing conversational AI operations;a system for generating synthetic data;a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs);a system implemented at least partially in a data center;a system for performing generative AI operations;a system implemented at least partially using a language model; ora system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (Pirwani, [0081]: teaches the system generating polygons to simulate a plausible flow of the road surface <read on generating synthetic data>).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the one or more processors of Claim 15. Additionally, Pirwani further discloses wherein the road surface map comprises
a topological mesh of interconnected vertices (Pirwani, [0018]: teaches the roadway network <read on road surface map> being a collection of road segments (polylines) and junctions that describe the topology of the polylines <read on topological mesh> and the junctions; [0086]: teaches finding the signed curvature at the vertices of a polyline <read on interconnected vertices>, where these parameters control the banking effect of the road surface), wherein
[[the processing circuitry is further to compute the set of smoothing values based at least on a displacement between the plurality of cross-directional curves and individual vertices of the topological mesh of interconnected vertices.]]
However, Pirwani does not expressly disclose
the processing circuitry is further to compute the set of smoothing values based at least on a displacement between the plurality of cross-directional curves and individual vertices of the topological mesh of interconnected vertices.
Apostoleris discloses
the processing circuitry is further to compute the set of smoothing values based at least on a displacement between the plurality of cross-directional curves and individual vertices of the topological mesh of interconnected vertices (Apostoleris, [Evaluation of the Influence of the Skew Superelevation Curved Length]: teaches the simulation software introducing skew superelevation edge geometry for various vertical rounding cases <read on displacement in elevation> as a way to assess the potential of reducing a critical area length of a rounded edge <read on computed smoothing values>, where the vertical rounding cases are for lengths between 0 meters to 5 meters for skewed superelevation cases of road segments <read on displacement between cross-directional curves>; Note: it should be noted that the road segments with skewed superelevation cases with and without curves are being interpreted as 3D models/meshes <read on topological mesh>, which includes vertices).
Apostoleris is analogous art with respect to Pirwani because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely generating curved road models. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to generate virtual road segments of skewed superelevation that are then curved to smooth out critical areas as taught by Apostoleris into the teaching of Pirwani. The suggestion for doing so would allow for adjustable skewed superelevation cases based on driving simulations of varying vehicles, thereby collecting useful data for the most optimal smoothing curve that results in the safest road segment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Apostoleris with Pirwani.
Claims 3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirwani (US 20130328863 A1), in view of Apostoleris et al. ("Skew Superelevation Edge Rounding Design Improving Riding Comfort on Freeways"), hereinafter referenced as Apostoleris as applied to Claim 1 above respectively, and further in view of Giurgiu et al. (US 20200398856 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Giurgiu.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system of Claim 1. The combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 3; however, Giurgiu discloses wherein
the road data is derived at least based on LIDAR data representing the roadway surface (Giurgiu, [0099]: teaches "HD mapping data records 1111 are created from high-resolution 3D mesh or point-cloud data generated, for instance, from LIDAR-equipped vehicles," where "the 3D mesh or point-cloud data are processed to create 3D representations of a street or geographic environment at centimeter-level accuracy for storage in the HD mapping data records 1111").
Giurgiu is analogous art with respect to Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely generating 3D map data. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement high-resolution 3D meshes from dense point-cloud LIDAR data as taught by Giurgiu into the teaching of Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris. The suggestion for doing so would allow the road generation system to generate a more accurate representation of the roadway surface, including superelevation cases, thereby allowing for safer roads through experimentation of driving simulations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Giurgiu with Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system of Claim 1. The combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 6; however, Giurgiu discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to
store individual smoothing values as correction data correlated to at least one of the individual vertices of the topological mesh (Giurgiu, [0061]: teaches the output module 407 keeping <read on storing> only the smooth-fitted curvatures <read on smoothing values as correction data> when the difference between consecutive values for consecutive intervals <read on correction data correlating to vertices of topological mesh> are larger than a certain threshold T; Note: it should be noted that the smooth-fitted road curvatures are from their corresponding road slices, which are being interpreted as a correlation between correction data and vertices as the road segments are divided into road slices; in addition, the smoothing values and correction data are being interpreted as identical terms).
Giurgiu is analogous art with respect to Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely generating 3D map data. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement smooth-fitted curvatures to roadways as taught by Giurgiu into the teaching of Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris. The suggestion for doing so would allow the road generation system to utilize smooth-fitted curvatures on superelevation sections of road segments, thereby allowing for safer roads through experimentation of driving simulations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Giurgiu with Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system of Claim 1. The combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 7; however, Giurgiu discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to:
generate the plurality of lane ribbons further based at least on alighting a lane boundary between neighboring lane ribbons (Giurgiu, [0073]: teaches "the curvature module 405 determines a plurality of transitions between a plurality of road segments that form the intersection," where "the plurality of transitions represents a possible path through the intersection identified based on an originating road segment and an ending road segment of the intersection"; [0073]: further teaches segmenting the road segments into road slices, where the road curvature is calculated for an interval of length L across the intersection for all relevant transitions, which includes connected roads <read on neighboring lane ribbons>; [0074]: teaches road slices/segments being linked to each other to form a connected intersection, where the road slices/segments are adjacent to each other <read on neighboring lane ribbons>; FIG. 8 teaches dashed vertical lines that indicate the edges <read on alighting lane boundary> of road slice 801).
Giurgiu is analogous art with respect to Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely generating 3D map data. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement high-resolution 3D meshes from dense point-cloud LIDAR data as taught by Giurgiu into the teaching of Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris. The suggestion for doing so would allow the road generation system to generate a more accurate representation of the roadway surface, including superelevation cases, thereby allowing for safer roads through experimentation of driving simulations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Giurgiu with Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system of Claim 1. The combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 8; however, Giurgiu discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to:
generate one or more supplemental lane ribbons based on overlapping representations of the roadway surface from the road data (Giurgiu, [0058]: teaches dividing road segments into road slices <read on generating supplemental lane ribbons>, where "for each slice 601a-601d, location traces (e.g., GPS traces) contained within the segment defined by: “X meters before slice” + “L meters slice” + “X meters after slice” are collected" and "consecutive “virtual segments” overlap over a 2× distance ensuring curvature smoothness at the connection point of two road slices <read on overlapping representations of roadway surface> (e.g., between slices 601b and 601c)" as shown in FIG. 6); and
adjust the set of smoothing values based on the one or more supplemental lane ribbons (Giurgiu, [0060]: teaches a curvature module 405 calculating the heading and the curvature of the road for each given road slice <read on supplemental lane ribbons>, where the curvature module 405 defines "the curvature of the interval L as either the mean, median, most probable value, and/or the like of all the curvature values in that interval <read on adjusting set of smoothing values>").
Giurgiu is analogous art with respect to Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely generating 3D map data. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement smooth-fitted curvatures to roadways as taught by Giurgiu into the teaching of Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris. The suggestion for doing so would allow the road generation system to utilize smooth-fitted curvatures on superelevation sections of road segments, thereby allowing for safer roads through experimentation of driving simulations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Giurgiu with Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris.
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirwani (US 20130328863 A1), in view of Apostoleris et al. ("Skew Superelevation Edge Rounding Design Improving Riding Comfort on Freeways"), hereinafter referenced as Apostoleris as applied to Claims 1 and 16 above respectively, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN 103871102 A, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Wang.
Regarding Claims 4 and 17, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system and the one or more processors of Claims 1 and 16 respectively. The combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 4 and 17; however, Wang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to compute the set of smoothing values based at least on:
a first set of correction components computed based at least on one or more displacements between the individual vertices and one or more lane ribbons of the plurality of lane ribbons (Wang, [0045]: teaches correcting the elevation of bisecting points with abnormal slope values to obtain a set of connecting lines <read on first set of correction components> with smaller slope changes <read on displacements between vertices>; [0036]: teaches dividing the road surface into patches <read on lane ribbons> to obtain bisection points); and
a second set of correction components computed based at least on one or more displacements between one or more lane ribbons of the plurality of lane ribbons and one or more curves of the plurality of cross-directional curves (Wang, [0045]: teaches correcting the elevation of bisecting points with abnormal slope values to obtain a set of connecting lines <read on second set of correction components> with smaller slope changes <read on displacements between vertices>; [0036]: teaches dividing the road surface into patches <read on lane ribbons> to obtain bisection points; [0037]: teaches a step distance of narrower, curved roads <read on cross-directional curves> are shortened to ensure the accuracy of modeling details).
Wang is analogous art with respect to Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely generating 3D road segments from obtained map data. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement a bisection point selection system based on road attributes, such as the length, width, and elevation points as taught by Wang into the teaching of Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system divide the road into patches, smooth out elevation irregularities, and render a more accurate, final 3D representation of the road. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wang with Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirwani (US 20130328863 A1), in view of Apostoleris et al. ("Skew Superelevation Edge Rounding Design Improving Riding Comfort on Freeways"), hereinafter referenced as Apostoleris as applied to Claim 1 above respectively, and further in view of Shalev-Shwartz et al. (US 20230202473 A1, previously cited), hereinafter referenced as Shalev.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris discloses the system of Claim 1. The combination of Pirwani and Apostoleris does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claim 5; however, Shalev discloses wherein the one or more processors are further to
generate the simulated road surface based on projecting the individual vertices from the road surface map using the set of smoothing values to define one or more elevations for the simulated road surface (Shalev, [0150]: teaches processing unit 110 modelling a road elevation by analyzing position and motion cues present on a road surface; [0150]: further teaches the processing unit 110 creating a projection of detected segments <read on projecting individual vertices from road surface map> from an image plane onto a real-world plane, where "the projection may be characterized using a 3rd-degree polynomial having coefficients <read on set of smoothing values> corresponding to physical properties such as the position, slope <read on define elevations for simulated road surface>, curvature, and curvature derivative of the detected road").
Shalev is analogous art with respect to Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely generating HD maps for autonomous driving simulations. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to generate projections of detected road segments as taught by Shalev into the teaching of Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to determine changes in the road surface that affects the position of the vehicle, thereby allowing the system to analyze both position and motion cues that are present on the improved, generated road surface, resulting in safer driving. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shalev with Pirwani, in view of Apostoleris.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Foster et al. (US 20230140569 A1) discloses updating a digital map based on roadway data, which includes superelevation roads;
Morcom et al. (US 20200182627 A1) discloses constructing a coordinate system relative to a vehicle traveling along a path and generating path segments;
Ryu (US 20250199182 A1) discloses identifying full and partial line segments based on coordinate systems;
Sithiravel et al. (US 20210089791 A1) discloses detecting roadway edges and non-stationary objects and generating a map by determining B-splines that correspond to first roadway lanes; and
Wang et al. ("High-Fidelity Roadway Modeling and Simulation") discloses generating 3D roads from 2D road data.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614