DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (jp 2007176790).
The Song reference teaches a seed substrate for nitride crystal growth, note entire translation. There is a base substrate, fig 1, no 10. On the base substrate is grown an intermediate layer, which is porous and includes a gallium nitride crystal, note fig 1,no 11. There is a cover layer grown on the intermediate layer, the cover layer also being a group III nitride. The cover layer is not porous. The difference between the instant claim and the prior art is the carrier concentrations and surface roughness. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable doping amounts in the layers and surface roughness of the cover layer in the Sung reference in order to grow the base layers of the desired device and uniform lop layer.
With regards to claim 2, the Sung reference teaches the intermediate layer to be thicker then 100nm, note translation page 3.
Claim(s) 3 to 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (jp 2007176790).
The Song reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differ from the instant claims in the void lengths and direction. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable void lengths and direction in the intermediate layer in the Song reference in order to aid in the removal of the cover layer in later processing.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (jp 2007176790) in view of Oshima et al (Jap J appl Phys)
The Song reference is reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the base diameter and cover layer thickness. However, the Oshima et al reference teaches GaN formation on a base substrate of 2 inches diameter (instant claim 7) and the top layer thickness less than 2 um of GaN, note page 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Song reference by the teachings of the Oshima et al reference to have the dimensions of 2 inch diameter substrate and top thickness in order to grow the desired wafers for use in further processing.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (jp 2007176790) in view of Oshima et al (Jap J appl Phys)
The Song and Oshima references reference are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the regrowth layer. It is noted, that the Song reference does teach further grow can be performed. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable layers after peeling including a regrowth layer in the combined references in order to have a thicker freestanding layer. It is noted, that this claim is considered to be a product by process claim and treated in such a manner.
Claims 9 to 13 stand allowable over the art of record as the prior art does not teach nor render obvious the instantly claimed method of growing and separating a GaN layer with the specific of when in the process the intermediate layer is made porous.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714