Detailed Action
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-14), without traverse, in the reply filed on 6/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harada (JP 2020188184, machine-translation provided)
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 6 of Harada discloses a wavelength converter (40) for a shaped surface luminance light-emitting diode (LED) die (20) that produces a peak luminance in a region of the LED die when powered on, the wavelength converter comprising: a body of a wavelength converting material having a width, a length, and a height, wherein a cross-section of the body in the length direction has a shape such that, when the wavelength converter is installed over the LED die, the height of the body is larger adjacent the region of the LED die that produces the peak luminance.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 6 of Harada discloses a shaped surface luminance light-emitting diode (LED) comprising: an LED die (20) that produces a peak luminance in a region of the LED die when powered on; and a wavelength converter (40), over the LED die, wherein the wavelength converter comprises a body of a wavelength converting material having a width, a length, and a height, wherein a cross-section of the body in the length direction has a shape such that, when the wavelength converter is installed over the LED die, the height of the body is larger adjacent the region of the LED die that produces the peak luminance.
Claims 1-4 and 8-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ando (JP 7267836, machine-translation provided)
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 6 of Ando discloses a wavelength converter (40) for a shaped surface luminance light-emitting diode (LED) die (20) that produces a peak luminance in a region of the LED die when powered on, the wavelength converter comprising: a body of a wavelength converting material having a width, a length, and a height, wherein a cross-section of the body in the length direction has a shape such that, when the wavelength converter is installed over the LED die, the height of the body is larger adjacent the region of the LED die that produces the peak luminance.
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 6 of Ando discloses the shape of the cross-section of the body in the length direction is an asymmetric truncated pyramid.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 6 of Ando discloses the body has four side surfaces and a top surface, wherein each of the four sides surfaces is separated from two adjacent ones of the four side surfaces by one of four edges, wherein each of the four edges has a curved shape, and wherein two of the four edges that are adjacent the region of the LED die that produces the peak luminance, when the wavelength converter is installed over the LED die, have a smaller slope than two of the four edges that are not adjacent the region of the LED die that produces the peak luminance.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 6 of Ando discloses the body has two side surfaces separated from one another by a top surface, and wherein the shape of the cross-section of the body in the length direction is such that one of the two side surfaces that is adjacent the region of the LED die that produces the peak luminance when the wavelength converter is installed over the LED die has a smaller slope than the other one of the two sides surfaces that is not adjacent the region of the LED die that produces the peak luminance.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 6 of Ando discloses a shaped surface luminance light-emitting diode (LED) comprising: an LED die (20) that produces a peak luminance in a region of the LED die when powered on; and a wavelength converter (40) , over the LED die, wherein the wavelength converter comprises a body of a wavelength converting material having a width, a length, and a height, wherein a cross-section of the body in the length direction has a shape such that, when the wavelength converter is installed over the LED die, the height of the body is larger adjacent the region of the LED die that produces the peak luminance.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 6 of Ando discloses the shape of the cross-section of the body in the length direction is an asymmetric truncated pyramid.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 6 of Ando discloses the body has four side surfaces and a top surface, wherein each of the four sides surfaces is separated from two adjacent ones of the four side surfaces by one of four edges, wherein each of the four edges has a curved shape, and wherein two of the four edges that are adjacent the region of the LED die that produces the peak luminance, when the wavelength converter is installed over the LED die, have a smaller slope than two of the four edges that are not adjacent the region of the LED die that produces the peak luminance.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 6 of Ando discloses the body has two side surfaces separated from one another by a top surface, and wherein the shape of the cross-section of the body in the length direction is such that one of the two side surfaces that is adjacent the region of the LED die that produces the peak luminance when the wavelength converter is installed over the LED die has a smaller slope than the other one of the two sides surfaces that is not adjacent the region of the LED die that produces the peak luminance.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada, in view of Son (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0193670).
Regarding Claim 2
Harada discloses Claim 1.
Harada is silent with respect to “the shape of the cross-section of the body in the length direction is an asymmetric truncated pyramid”.
FIG. 2 of Son discloses a similar wavelength converter, wherein the shape of the cross-section of the body in the length direction is an asymmetric truncated pyramid [0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Harada, as taught by Son. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Harada in the above manner for purpose of reducing color variation according to the viewing angle ([0012] of Son).
Claims 5 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada, in view of Butler (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0205619).
Regarding Claim 5
Harada discloses Claim 1.
Harada is silent with respect to “the body has a wedge shape”.
FIG. 2 of Butler discloses a similar wavelength converter, wherein the body has a wedge shape [0019].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Harada, as taught by Butler. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Harada in the above manner for purpose of increasing overall package volume and operational complexity ([0003] of Butler).
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 2 of Butler discloses the body has a wedge shape [0019].
Claims 6, 7, 13 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando, in view of Byrnes (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0082263).
Regarding Claim 6
Ando discloses Claim 1, wherein the wavelength converting material is phosphor.
Ando is silent with respect to “the wavelength converting material is one of a ceramic phosphor, phosphor in silicone, or phosphor in glass”.
FIG. 4 of Byrnes discloses a similar wavelength converter (409), wherein the wavelength converting material is one of a ceramic phosphor, phosphor in silicone, or phosphor in glass [0084].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Ando, as taught by Byrnes. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Ando in the above manner for purpose of enable to production of lighting devices that can generate high luminance at relatively high power levels ([0003] of Byrnes).
Regarding Claim 7
Byrnes discloses the body is a platelet [0084].
Regarding Claim 13
Byrnes discloses the wavelength converting material is one of a ceramic phosphor, phosphor in silicone, or phosphor in glass [0084].
Regarding Claim 14
Byrnes discloses the body is a platelet [0084].
Pertinent Art
US 20110018016 discloses a wavelength converting element has an asymmetric shape relative to LED. 20050146879 discloses a wavelength converting element having a shape of truncated pyramid.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897