Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application
This communication is the first action on the merits
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on *** and reviewed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nassim(US Pat. No. US 11784478 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Nassim teaches a mounting bracket assembly comprising: a mounting frame(702) comprising: a mounting frame first side, a mounting frame second side contiguous with the mounting frame first side, a mounting frame third side contiguous with the mounting frame second side, a mounting frame fourth side contiguous with the mounting frame third side and the mounting frame first side(702 has four sides, see Fig. 7), a face surface extending along the mounting frame second side and the mounting frame fourth side(702 has a face surface extending along the second and fourth side, see Fig. 7), a plurality of mounting channels extending along the mounting frame comprising a first mounting channel, a second mounting channel, a third mounting channel, and a fourth mounting channel(702 has 4 mounting channels see fastener opening 740 in Fig. 7), and a first receiving channel located on the face surface, the first receiving channel extending along a first axis, and a second receiving channel located on the face surface, the second receiving channel extending along a second axis parallel the first axis(the two receiving channels extend along two axes that are parallel to one another and located on the face surface, see Fig. 7 below); and a faceplate comprising: a faceplate base(704), a first guide channel extending along the first axis, the first guide channel configured to be coupled to the first receiving channel, and a second guide channel extending along the second axis, the second guide channel configured to be coupled to the second receiving channel(the first guide channel extends along the same first axis as the first receiving channel, the second guide channel extends along the same second axis as the second receiving channel, both are configured to be coupled with their respective receiving channel, see Fig. 7 below).
Regarding claim 10, Nassim teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 1, wherein the first guide channel further comprises: a first guide channel first portion; a first guide channel second portion(first guide channel has two portions, see Fig. 7); and a slot that is continuous with at least one of the first guide channel first portion and the first guide channel second portion (the inside area of the hollow 704 defines a slot that is continuous between the first guide channel first and second portions).
Regarding claim 11, Nassim teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 1, wherein the second guide channel further comprises: a second guide channel first portion; a second guide channel second portion(second guide channel has two portions, see Fig. 7); and a slot that is continuous with at least one of the second guide channel first portion and the second guide channel second portion(the inside area of the hollow 704 defines a slot that is continuous between the second guide channel first and second portions).
Regarding claim 12, Nassim teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 1, wherein the first receiving channel further comprises: a first receiving channel first portion; a first receiving channel second portion(first receiving channel has two portions, see Fig. 7); and a slot that is continuous with at least one of the first receiving channel first portion and the first receiving channel second portion(the area between the two fastener openings 740 defines a slot that is continuous between the first receiving channel two portions).
Regarding claim 13, Nassim teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 1, wherein the second receiving channel further comprises: a second receiving channel first portion; a second receiving channel second portion(second receiving channel has two portions, see Fig. 7); and a slot that is continuous with at least one of the second receiving channel first portion and the second receiving channel second portion(the area between the two fastener openings 740 defines a slot that is continuous between the first receiving channel two portions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pat. No. US 20220271521 A1) in view of Zambelli(US Pat. No. US 7726617 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Oh teaches a mounting bracket assembly comprising: a mounting frame comprising: a mounting frame first side, a mounting frame second side contiguous with the mounting frame first side, a mounting frame third side contiguous with the mounting frame second side, a mounting frame fourth side contiguous with the mounting frame third side and the mounting frame first side(see Fig.5 above), a face surface extending along the mounting frame second side and the mounting frame fourth side(there is a face surface extending along the second and fourth side around the edge), a plurality of mounting channels extending along the mounting frame comprising a first mounting channel, a second mounting channel, a third mounting channel, and a fourth mounting channel (see 502A,B,C,D) and a faceplate comprising: a faceplate base(mounting bracket 100).
Oh does not teach the mounting frame comprising a first receiving channel located on the face surface, the first receiving channel extending along a first axis, and a second receiving channel located on the face surface, the second receiving channel extending along a second axis parallel the first axis; or a faceplate comprising a first guide channel extending along the first axis, the first guide channel configured to be coupled to the first receiving channel, and a second guide channel extending along the second axis, the second guide channel configured to be coupled to the second receiving channel.
Zambelli teaches the mounting frame comprising a first receiving channel located on the face surface, the first receiving channel extending along a first axis, and a second receiving channel located on the face surface, the second receiving channel extending along a second axis parallel the first axis(see Fig. 3 148 and 150, the receiving channels are located on the face surface and operate on axes parallel to one another);and a faceplate comprising a first guide channel extending along the first axis, the first guide channel configured to be coupled to the first receiving channel, and a second guide channel extending along the second axis, the second guide channel configured to be coupled to the second receiving channel(see Fig. 3 112 and 114, the guide channels are located on the face surface and operate on axes parallel to one another, the guide channels are configured to be coupled to their respective receiving channels).
Oh and Zambelli are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the sliding channels of Zambelli in the mounting bracket and electric box of Oh. The motivation would have been to slidably connect mounting bracket to the electric box to more easily align the two pieces.
Regarding claim 2, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of knockout holes located on the mounting frame third side(see the two holes on 24 in Fig. 5; Oh).
Regarding claim 3, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 1, wherein said faceplate further comprises: a faceplate ledge extending from a first side of the faceplate base away from the faceplate base(see ledge from the first side of the faceplate base labeled ledge above in Fig. 5); and a security tab extending from the faceplate ledge away from the faceplate base(see security tab extending from the ledge away from the faceplate base above in Fig. 5).
In the alternative, regarding claim 3, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 1, wherein said faceplate further comprises: a faceplate ledge extending from a first side of the faceplate base away from the faceplate base(see ledge 2 from the first side of the faceplate base labeled ledge above Fig. 5.1); and a security tab extending from the faceplate ledge away from the faceplate base(see security tab 2 extending from the ledge away from the faceplate base above Fig. 5.1).
Regarding claim 5, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 3, wherein the security tab is located equidistance between the first guide channel and the second guide channel (the security tab 2 is located equidistance between the first and second guide channels Fig. 5.1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 1, wherein said faceplate further comprises: a security tab extending away from the faceplate base in the same direction as the first guide channel and the second guide channel(security tab from Fig. 5.1 extends in the same direction as the guide channels), the security tab configured to be coupled to an outer side of the mounting frame first side(the security tab in Fig. 5.1 is coupled to the top portion of mounting frame first side).
Regarding claim 8, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 1, wherein said mounting frame is disposed along a first plane and further comprises: a wall surface disposed along a second plane; a first cut-out located on the wall surface of the mounting frame second side; and a second cut-out located on the wall surface of the mounting frame fourth side(see walls above on the 2nd and 4th sides of the mounting frame and the cut out holes on the sides of each).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pat. No. US 20220271521 A1) in view of Zambelli(US Pat. No. US 7726617 B2) and further in view of Liu(US Pat No. US 7674129 B1).
Regarding claim 4, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 3 but does not teach an alignment groove extending along the mounting frame first side, the alignment groove located between the first mounting channel and the second mounting channel; or a security tab recess located on an outer side of the mounting frame first side opposite a portion of the alignment groove, the security tab recess configured to couple to the security tab.
Liu teaches teach an alignment groove, the alignment groove located between the first mounting channel and the second mounting channel(13).
Oh and Liu are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an alignment groove extending along the first side of the mounting frame located between the first and second mounting channels. The motivation would have been to maintain the alignment of the mounting frame and the faceplate.
Zambelli teaches a security tab recess located on an outer side of the mounting frame opposite a portion of the alignment groove (see security tab recesses above, the alignment grove would be on the front of the mounting frame and the security tab recess is opposite a portion of the alignment groove), the security tab recess configured to couple to the security tab(see they are configured to couple to 160A and 160B).
Oh and Zambelli are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the security tab recess of Zambelli on the outer side of the mounting frame opposite a portion of the alignment groove of Oh as modified. The motivation would have been to create a more secure connection between the security tab on the faceplate and the mounting frame.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pat. No. US 20220271521 A1) in view of Zambelli(US Pat. No. US 7726617 B2) and further in view of Forutanpour (US Pat. No. US 20220068076 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 1, but it does not teach wherein an end faceplate contiguous with the faceplate base; and a side faceplate contiguous with the faceplate base and the end faceplate; wherein the faceplate base is sloped at an angle relative to the end faceplate.
Forutanpour teaches an end faceplate contiguous with the faceplate base; and a side faceplate contiguous with the faceplate base and the end faceplate; wherein the faceplate base is sloped at an angle relative to the end faceplate(see Fig. 1A-E with side plates sloped at an angle, an end faceplate at the bottom contiguous with the faceplate base, the sides are also contiguous with the base and end faceplate).
Oh and Forutanpour are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the faceplate of Oh have a sloped structure as in Forutanpour. The motivation would have been to have the bracket easier to interact with ergonomically as it faces the user.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pat. No. US 20220271521 A1) in view of Zambelli(US Pat. No. US 7726617 B2) and further in view of Liu(US Pat No. US 7674129 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 1, but it does not teach wherein said mounting frame is disposed along a first plane and further comprises: an alignment groove extending along the mounting frame first side, the alignment groove located between the first mounting channel and the second mounting channel; wherein the alignment groove is centered on an alignment axis that is parallel to the first plane, a reference line intersects and is orthogonal to the first plane, and the reference line extends through both the alignment axis and a center of gravity of the mounting frame.
Liu teaches an alignment groove located between the first mounting channel and the second mounting channel(see Fig. 2A, 13 is in the center between mounting channels); wherein the alignment groove is centered on an alignment axis that is parallel to the first plane(an axis through the center of 13 is parallel to the first plane of the mounting frame), a reference line intersects and is orthogonal to the first plane(a reference line may be drawn that is orthogonal to the first plane), and the reference line extends through both the alignment axis and a center of gravity of the mounting frame(Reference line drawn may be orthogonal to both the axis through the center of 13 and the mounting frame panel, and extends through the center of gravity of the mounting frame itself).
Oh and Liu are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an alignment groove of Liu centered on an alignment axis, parallel to the first plane on the first side of the mounting frame of OH. The motivation would have been to maintain the alignment of the mounting frame and the faceplate.
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pat. No. US 20220271521 A1) in view of Liu(US Pat No. US 7674129 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Oh teaches a mounting bracket assembly comprising: a mounting frame comprising: a mounting frame first side, a mounting frame second side contiguous with the mounting frame first side, a mounting frame third side contiguous with the mounting frame second side, a mounting frame fourth side contiguous with the mounting frame third side and the mounting frame first side(see Fig.5 above), a plurality of mounting channels extending along the mounting frame comprising: a first mounting channel, a second mounting channel, a third mounting channel, and a fourth mounting channe(see 502A,B,C,D) l;, a first cut-out located on the mounting frame second side, and a second cut-out located on the mounting frame fourth side(see walls above on the 2nd and 4th sides of the mounting frame and the cut out holes on the sides of each).; and a faceplate removably coupled to the mounting frame comprising: a faceplate base(mounting bracket 100), and a security tab extending away from the faceplate base in the same direction as the first guide channel and the second guide channel, the security tab configured to be coupled to an outer side of the mounting frame first side(see security tab from Fig. 5 extends in the same direction as the guide channels and is coupled to the top portion of mounting frame first side).
Oh does not teach an alignment groove extending along the mounting frame first side, the alignment groove located between the first mounting channel and the second mounting channel, a first receiving channel located on the mounting frame second side extending along a first axis, and a second receiving channel located on the mounting frame fourth side extending along a second axis parallel the first axis; a first guide channel extending along the first axis, the first guide channel configured to be coupled to the first receiving channel, a second guide channel extending along the second axis, the second guide channel configured to be coupled to the second receiving channel.
Liu teaches teach an alignment groove extending along the mounting frame first side, the alignment groove located between the first mounting channel and the second mounting channel(13). Liu also teaches a first receiving channel located on the mounting frame second side extending along a first axis, and a second receiving channel located on the mounting frame fourth side extending along a second axis parallel the first axis(see 141 and 142 Fig. 2A, the two axes are parallel and may be placed on the fourth and second sides of the mounting frame); a first guide channel extending along the first axis, the first guide channel configured to be coupled to the first receiving channel, a second guide channel extending along the second axis, the second guide channel configured to be coupled to the second receiving channel(see Fig. 1 guide channels on 40, they are configured to be coupled to the receiving channels and extend along the corresponding axes).
Oh and Liu are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an alignment groove extending along the first side of the mounting frame located between the first and second mounting channels and to include the sliding channels of Liu in the mounting bracket and electric box of Oh. The motivation would have been to maintain the alignment of the mounting frame and the faceplate and to slidably connect mounting bracket to the electric box to more easily align the two pieces.
Regarding claim 16, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 14, wherein the first guide channel further comprises: a first guide channel first portion; a first guide channel second portion(see Fig. 1 40 has two portions on the guide channel; Liu); and a slot that is continuous with at least one of the first guide channel first portion and the first guide channel second portion.(see slot is continuous with at least one of the first portion and second portion of the first guide channel; Liu)
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pat. No. US 20220271521 A1) in view of Liu(US Pat No. US 7674129 B1) and further in view of Forutanpour (US Pat. No. US 20220068076 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 14, but does not teach wherein said faceplate further comprises: an end faceplate contiguous with the faceplate base; and a side faceplate contiguous with the faceplate base and the end faceplate; wherein the faceplate base is sloped at an angle relative to the end faceplate.
Forutanpour teaches an end faceplate contiguous with the faceplate base; and a side faceplate contiguous with the faceplate base and the end faceplate; wherein the faceplate base is sloped at an angle relative to the end faceplate(see Fig. 1A-E with side plates sloped at an angle, an end faceplate at the bottom contiguous with the faceplate base, the sides are also contiguous with the base and end faceplate).
Oh and Forutanpour are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the faceplate of Oh have a sloped structure as in Forutanpour. The motivation would have been to have the bracket easier to interact with ergonomically as it faces the user.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pat. No. US 20220271521 A1) in view of Liu(US Pat No. US 7674129 B1).
Regarding claim 17, Oh teaches a mounting bracket assembly comprising: a mounting frame comprising: a mounting frame first side, a mounting frame second side contiguous with the mounting frame first side, a mounting frame third side contiguous with the mounting frame second side, a mounting frame fourth side contiguous with the mounting frame third side and the mounting frame first side(see Fig.5 above), a plurality of mounting channels extending along the mounting frame comprising: a first mounting channel, a second mounting channel, a third mounting channel, and a fourth mounting channel(see 502A,B,C,D);, and a plurality of knockout holes located on the mounting frame third side(see the two holes on 24 in Fig. 5), the plurality of knockout holes located on either side of the alignment groove(holes are on either side of the alignment groove); and a faceplate comprising: a faceplate base(mounting bracket 100).
Oh does not teach an alignment groove extending along the mounting frame first side, the alignment groove located between the first mounting channel and the second mounting channel, a first receiving channel located on the mounting frame second side extending along a first axis and a second receiving channel located on the mounting frame fourth side extending along a second axis parallel the first axis or a first guide channel extending along the first axis, the first guide channel configured to be coupled to the first receiving channel, and a second guide channel extending along the second axis, the second guide channel configured to be coupled to the second receiving channel.
Liu teaches teach an alignment groove extending along the mounting frame first side, the alignment groove located between the first mounting channel and the second mounting channel(13). Liu also teaches a first receiving channel located on the mounting frame second side extending along a first axis, and a second receiving channel located on the mounting frame fourth side extending along a second axis parallel the first axis(see 141 and 142 Fig. 2A, the two axes are parallel and may be placed on the fourth and second sides of the mounting frame); a first guide channel extending along the first axis, the first guide channel configured to be coupled to the first receiving channel, a second guide channel extending along the second axis, the second guide channel configured to be coupled to the second receiving channel(see Fig. 1 guide channels on 40, they are configured to be coupled to the receiving channels and extend along the corresponding axes).
Oh and Liu are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an alignment groove extending along the first side of the mounting frame located between the first and second mounting channels and to include the sliding channels of Liu in the mounting bracket and electric box of Oh. The motivation would have been to maintain the alignment of the mounting frame and the faceplate and to slidably connect mounting bracket to the electric box to more easily align the two pieces.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US Pat. No. US 20220271521 A1) in view of Liu(US Pat No. US 7674129 B1) and further in view of Forutanpour (US Pat. No. US 20220068076 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 17, but does not teach wherein said faceplate further comprises: an end faceplate coupled to the faceplate base; and a side faceplate coupled to the faceplate base, the side faceplate further coupled to the end faceplate; wherein the faceplate base is sloped at an angle relative to the end faceplate.
Forutanpour teaches an end faceplate contiguous with the faceplate base; and a side faceplate contiguous with the faceplate base and the end faceplate; wherein the faceplate base is sloped at an angle relative to the end faceplate(see Fig. 1A-E with side plates sloped at an angle, an end faceplate at the bottom contiguous with the faceplate base, the sides are also contiguous with the base and end faceplate).
Oh and Forutanpour are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the faceplate of Oh have a sloped structure as in Forutanpour. The motivation would have been to have the bracket easier to interact with ergonomically as it faces the user.
Regarding claim 19, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 18, wherein the first guide channel further comprises: a first guide channel first portion; a first guide channel second portion(see Fig. 1 40 has two portions on the guide channel; Liu); and a slot that is continuous with at least one of the first guide channel first portion and the first guide channel second portion.(see slot is continuous with at least one of the first portion and second portion of the first guide channel; Liu)
Regarding claim 20, Oh as modified teaches the mounting bracket assembly in claim 18, wherein said faceplate further comprises: a faceplate ledge extending from a first side of the faceplate base away from the faceplate base(see ledge 2 from the first side of the faceplate base labeled ledge above Fig. 5.1); and a security tab extending from the faceplate ledge away from the faceplate base(see security tab 2 extending from the ledge away from the faceplate base above Fig. 5.1).; wherein the security tab is located equidistance between the first guide channel and the second guide channel(security tab is equidistant from the first and second guide channels) and configured to be coupled to an outer side of the mounting frame first side(security tab is capable of being coupled to an outer side of the mounting frame first side).
Conclusion
/W.D.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619