DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 13-16, 18, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bhunia (US 20130032311), hereinafter referred to as Bhunia.
Re claim 1, 13 and 21, Bhunia teaches a jet impingement cooling assembly for semiconductor devices, comprising:
an inlet chamber (e.g. 215) configured to receive an inlet fluid flow;
a jet plate (e.g. 220) having at least one jet nozzle (e.g. ¶ 20, “The jet head 220 has a plurality of micro-jet regions 230 that each have one or more nozzles”) formed therein and coupled to the inlet chamber (see Fig 2), and positioned to direct the inlet fluid flow from the inlet chamber through the at least one jet nozzle to provide an impinging fluid flow (Fig 2);
a heat exchange base (200) configured to receive at least one semiconductor device (115) with a frontside facing away from the inlet chamber and a backside facing the jet plate (see Fig 2);
an impingement layer (e.g. 225) positioned between the at least one jet nozzle and the backside of the at least one semiconductor device to receive the impinging fluid flow, the impingement layer having impingement surface structures (110) formed thereon; and
an outlet chamber (chamber in 215 facilitating the outlet) positioned to receive the impinging fluid flow after the impinging fluid flow impinges on the impingement layer and the impingement surface structures, to thereby provide an outlet fluid flow (e.g. ¶ 20, “Heated liquid and vapor produced from transfer of excess heat from the high power devices 115 to the liquid 210 is evacuated from the cooling chamber 215 and condensed through a heat exchanger 235 for storage into a tank 240 and recirculated to the jet head 220”).
Re claim 2, 14 and 22-23, Bhunia teaches the jet impingement cooling assembly for semiconductor devices of claim 1, wherein the impingement surface structures form at least one impingement surface structure array (see 110 from left to right).
Re claim 3 and 15, Bhunia teaches the jet impingement cooling assembly for semiconductor devices of claim 1, wherein a center of the at least one impingement surface structure array is linearly spaced from a center of the at least one jet nozzle (see Fig 2).
Re claim 4 and 16, Bhunia teaches the jet impingement cooling assembly for semiconductor devices of claim 1, wherein the at least one impingement surface structure array includes an open zone in which no impingement surface structure is included, and a center of the open zone is aligned with a center of the at least one impingement surface structure array (see Fig 2).
Re claim 7 and 18, Bhunia teaches the jet impingement cooling assembly for semiconductor devices of claim 1, wherein the at least one semiconductor device has a device area (area of 115 in Fig 2), and the impingement surface structures have a surface structure area that extends beyond the device area (see Fig 2).
Re claim 8, Bhunia teaches the jet impingement cooling assembly for semiconductor devices of claim 1, wherein the surface structure area does not extend to a perimeter of the impingement layer (see Fig 2).
Re claim 24, Bhunia teaches the method of claim 21, forming the impingement surface structures in alignment with at least one semiconductor device mounted on a mounting surface of the impingement layer that is opposed to the impingement surface, and aligned so that during disposing of the impingement layer within a heat exchange base causes the impingement surface to be disposed to receive an impinging fluid flow from at least one jet nozzle of a jet plate, to thereby provide jet impingement cooling of the at least one semiconductor device (see Fig 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12, 17, 19-20, 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 6/7/2026