DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2020/0168842, hereinafter Huang) in view of Chen (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2024/0147779, hereinafter Chen) and Nishikiori (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2020/0227661, hereinafter Nishikiori).
Re claim 1 Huang discloses a display panel, comprising a display substrate(100), wherein each display pixel in the display substrate(100) comprises a plurality of subpixel regions(regions of 305); and an encapsulation layer, located on a light outlet side of the display substrate(100), and comprising a first inorganic layer(upper/lower310) and an organic layer(320) which are successively arranged in a direction away from the display substrate(100),
Huang does not discloses wherein the first inorganic layer comprises light transmitting regions and thickening regions, each light transmitting region correspondingly covers at least one subpixel region in an orthographic direction on the display substrate(100), and a thickness of each thickening region is greater than a thickness of the light transmitting region; wherein each of the plurality of subpixel regions is covered by a respective one of the light transmitting regions in an orthographic direction on the display substrate; wherein the thickening regions are formed by non-light-transmitting regions located between adjacent ones of the light transmitting regions;
Chen discloses in Fig 5 wherein the first inorganic layer(CFO/CFB/CFT) comprises light transmitting regions(ACP/CFO of Chen) and thickening regions[0113,0114 of Chen], each light transmitting region correspondingly covers at least one subpixel region (PDL of Chen) in an orthographic direction on the display substrate(BP of Chen),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Chen to the teachings of Huang in order to minimize cross-color, resulting in abnormal pictures [0002, Chen]. In doing so, a thickness of each thickening region[0113,0114 of Chen] is greater than a thickness of the light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen).
Huang and Chen does not discloses wherein each of the plurality of subpixel regions is covered by a respective one of the light transmitting regions in an orthographic direction on the display substrate; wherein the thickening regions are formed by non-light-transmitting regions located between adjacent ones of the light transmitting regions;
Nishikiori discloses wherein each of the plurality of subpixel regions(100se)[0089] is covered by a respective one of the light transmitting regions[0072] in an orthographic direction on the display substrate(100x); wherein the thickening regions are formed by non-light-transmitting regions(left/right/middle 522Y) located between adjacent ones of the light transmitting regions(522zB/522zG/522zR);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Nishikiori to the teachings of Huang in order to improve image quality of light transmissive organic EL display panels [0002, Nishikiori].
Re claim 2 Huang and Chen disclose the display panel of claim 1, wherein the thickness of each thickening region[0113,0114 of Chen] is at least 1.2 times the thickness of the light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen).
Re claim 3 Huang and Chen disclose the display panel of claim 1, wherein the thickness of each thickening region[0113,0114 of Chen] is within 3 times the thickness of the light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen).
Re claim 4 Huang and Chen disclose the display panel of claim 1, wherein the thickness of each light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) ranges from 0.5pm to 1.5pm.
Re claim 5 Huang and Chen disclose the display panel of claim 1, wherein a width of each light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) is greater than a width of the corresponding subpixel region (PDL of Chen) in the orthographic direction of the light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen).
Re claim 6 Huang and Chen disclose the display panel of claim 1, wherein each display pixel comprises a first subpixel region (PDL of Chen), a second subpixel region (PDL of Chen) and a third subpixel region (PDL of Chen), and correspondingly, each light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) of the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310) comprises a first light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen), a second light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) and a third light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen); the first light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) correspondingly covers the first subpixel region (PDL of Chen) in the orthographic direction, the second light transmittingregion correspondingly covers the second subpixel region (PDL of Chen) in the orthographic direction, and the third light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) correspondingly covers the third subpixel region (PDL of Chen) in the orthographic direction; and a thickness of the first light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) is a first thickness, a thickness of the second light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) is a second thickness, an a thickness of the third light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) is a third thickness.
Re claim 7 Huang and Chen disclose the display panel of claim 6, wherein the first thickness, the second thickness and the third thickness are all different[0130 of Chen].
Re claim 8 Huang and Chen disclose the display panel of claim 6, wherein two of the first thickness, the second thickness and the third thickness are the same, and are not the same as the thickness of the third party[0130 of Chen].
Re claim 9 Huang and Chen disclose the display panel of claim 6, wherein an overall thickness of the encapsulation layer is less than or equal to 20pm[0130 of Chen], and the overall thickness of the encapsulation layer is equal to or greater than a thickness of the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310).
Re claim 10 Huang and Chen disclose the display panel of claim 1, wherein a width W of each light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) is greater than a width L of the subpixel region (PDL of Chen), and meets a following condition: L<W L+5pm.
Re claim 11 Huang and Chen disclose the display panel of claim 1, wherein a material of the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310) is any one of SiOx, SiNx, SiNOx and ceramic.
Re claim 12 Huang discloses a preparation method of a display panel, comprising: forming a first inorganic layer(upper/lower310) on a light outlet side of a display substrate(100), wherein each display pixel in the display substrate(100) comprises a plurality of subpixel regions(regions of 305);
Huang does not discloses forming a mask layer on a side of the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310) away from the display substrate(100);performing perforating machining on a photoresist layer corresponding to a plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310), to expose the plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310), each light transmitting region correspondingly covering at least one subpixel region in an orthographic direction on the display substrate(100); and etching each light transmitting region on the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310), to etch the light transmitting region to a preset thickness; wherein each of the plurality of subpixel regions is covered by a respective one of the plurality of light transmitting regions in an orthographic direction on the display substrate; and etching each of the plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer, to first thickness, wherein non-etched portions of the first inorganic layer located between adjacent ones of the light transmitting regions form thickening regions having a second thickness greater than the first thickness.
Chen discloses forming a mask layer[0127 of Chen] on a side of the first inorganic layer(CFO/CFB/CFT of Chen) away from the display substrate(BP of Chen);performing perforating machining on a photoresist layer[0129 of Chen] to expose [0169 of Chen] the plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer, each light transmitting region correspondingly covering at least one subpixel region(PDL of Chen) in an orthographic direction on the display substrate; and etching[0130 of Chen] to etch the light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) to a preset thickness[0113,0114 of Chen].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Chen to the teachings of Huang in order to minimize cross-color, resulting in abnormal pictures [0002, Chen]. In doing so, a mask layer[0127 of Chen] on a side of the first inorganic layer(CFO/CFB/CFT of Chen) away from the display substrate(BP of Chen);performing perforating machining on a photoresist layer[0129 of Chen] corresponding to a plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310), to expose [0169 of Chen] the plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310), each light transmitting region correspondingly covering at least one subpixel region(PDL of Chen) in an orthographic direction on the display substrate(100); and etching[0130 of Chen] each light transmitting region on the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310), to etch the light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) to a preset thickness[0113,0114 of Chen].
Huang and Chen does not discloses wherein each of the plurality of subpixel regions is covered by a respective one of the plurality of light transmitting regions in an orthographic direction on the display substrate; and etching each of the plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer, to first thickness, wherein non-etched portions of the first inorganic layer located between adjacent ones of the light transmitting regions form thickening regions having a second thickness greater than the first thickness.
Nishikiori discloses wherein each of the plurality of subpixel regions(100se)[0089] is covered by a respective one of the plurality of light transmitting regions[0072] in an orthographic direction on the display substrate(100x); and etching[0127,0128] each of the plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer, to first thickness, wherein non-etched portions(left/right/middle 522Y) of the first inorganic layer located between adjacent ones of the light transmitting regions(522zB/522zG/522zR) form thickening regions having a second thickness greater than the first thickness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Nishikiori to the teachings of Huang in order to improve image quality of light transmissive organic EL display panels [0002, Nishikiori].
Re claim 13 Huang and Chen disclose the preparation method of the display panel of claim 12, further comprising: clearing away the mask layer[0127 of Chen], and forming other encapsulation layers on the side of the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310) away from the display substrate(100).
Re claim 14 Huang and Chen disclose the preparation method of the display panel of claim 13, wherein the other encapsulation layers comprise an organic layer(320) and a second inorganic layer(upper/lower310), and the second inorganic layer(upper/lower310) is located on a side of the organic layer(320) away from the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310).
Re claim 15 Huang discloses a display apparatus, comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises:a display substrate(100), wherein each display pixel in the display substrate(100) comprises a plurality of subpixel regions(regions of 305); and an encapsulation layer, located on a light outlet side of the display substrate(100), and comprising a first inorganic layer(upper/lower310) and an organic layer(320) which are successively arranged in a direction away from the display substrate(100),
Huang does not discloses wherein the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310) comprises light transmitting regions and thickening regions, each light transmitting region correspondingly covers at least one subpixel region in an orthographic direction on the display substrate(100), and a thickness of each thickening region is greater than that of the light transmitting region; wherein each of the plurality of subpixel regions is covered by a respective one of the light transmitting regions in an orthographic direction on the display substrate; wherein the thickening regions are formed by non-light-transmitting regions located between adjacent ones of the light transmitting regions;
Chen discloses in Fig 5 wherein the first inorganic layer(CFO/CFB/CFT of Chen) comprises light transmitting regions(ACP/CFO of Chen) and thickening regions[0113,0114 of Chen], each light transmitting region correspondingly covers at least one subpixel region(PDL of Chen) in an orthographic direction on the display substrate(BP of Chen), and a thickness of each thickening region is greater than that of the light transmitting region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Chen to the teachings of Huang in order to minimize cross-color, resulting in abnormal pictures [0002, Chen]. In doing so, a thickness of each thickening region[0113,0114 of Chen] is greater than a thickness of the light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen).
Huang and Chen does not discloses wherein each of the plurality of subpixel regions is covered by a respective one of the light transmitting regions in an orthographic direction on the display substrate; wherein the thickening regions are formed by non-light-transmitting regions located between adjacent ones of the light transmitting regions;
Nishikiori discloses wherein each of the plurality of subpixel regions(100se)[0089] is covered by a respective one of the light transmitting regions[0072] in an orthographic direction on the display substrate(100x); wherein the thickening regions are formed by non-light-transmitting regions(left/right/middle 522Y) located between adjacent ones of the light transmitting regions(522zB/522zG/522zR);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Nishikiori to the teachings of Huang in order to improve image quality of light transmissive organic EL display panels [0002, Nishikiori].
Re claim 16 Huang discloses a display apparatus, comprising a display panel, wherein a preparation method of the display panel comprises: forming a first inorganic layer(upper/lower310) on a light outlet side of a display substrate(100), wherein each display pixel in the display substrate(100) comprises a plurality of subpixel regions(regions of 305);
Huang does not discloses forming a photoresist layer on a side of the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310) away from the display substrate(100); performing exposure and development on the photoresist layer corresponding to a plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310), to expose the plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310), each light transmitting region correspondingly covering at least one subpixel region in an orthographic direction on the display substrate(100); and etching each light transmitting region on the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310), to etch each light transmitting region to a preset thickness, and forming thickening regions between the adjacent light transmitting regions; each of the plurality of subpixel regions is covered by a respective one of the plurality of light transmitting regions in an orthographic direction on the display substrate; and etching each of the plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer, to a preset first thickness, wherein non-etched portions of the first inorganic layer located between adjacent ones of the light transmitting regions form thickening regions having a second thickness greater than the first thickness
Chen discloses forming a photoresist layer[0129 of Chen] on a side of the first inorganic layer(CFO/CFB/CFT of Chen) away from the display substrate(BP of Chen); performing exposure and development on the photoresist layer[0129 of Chen] to expose the plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer, each light transmitting region correspondingly covering at least one subpixel region(PDL of Chen) in an orthographic direction on the display substrate; and etching each light transmitting region on the first inorganic layer, to etch each light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) to a preset thickness[0113,0114 of Chen], and forming thickening regions [0113,0114 of Chen]between the adjacent light transmitting regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Chen to the teachings of Huang in order to minimize cross-color, resulting in abnormal pictures [0002, Chen]. In doing so, forming a photoresist layer[0129 of Chen] on a side of the first inorganic layer(CFO/CFB/CFT of Chen) away from the display substrate(BP of Chen); performing exposure and development on the photoresist layer[0129 of Chen] corresponding to a plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310), to expose the plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310), each light transmitting region correspondingly covering at least one subpixel region(PDL of Chen) in an orthographic direction on the display substrate(100); and etching each light transmitting region on the first inorganic layer(upper/lower310), to etch each light transmitting region(ACP/CFO of Chen) to a preset thickness[0113,0114 of Chen], and forming thickening regions[0113,0114 of Chen] between the adjacent light transmitting regions.
Huang and Chen does not discloses each of the plurality of subpixel regions is covered by a respective one of the plurality of light transmitting regions in an orthographic direction on the display substrate; and etching each of the plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer, to a preset first thickness, wherein non-etched portions of the first inorganic layer located between adjacent ones of the light transmitting regions form thickening regions having a second thickness greater than the first thickness
Nishikiori discloses each of the plurality of subpixel regions(100se)[0089] is covered by a respective one of the plurality of light transmitting regions[0072] in an orthographic direction on the display substrate(100x); and etching each of the plurality of light transmitting regions on the first inorganic layer, to a preset first thickness, wherein non-etched portions(left/right/middle 522Y) of the first inorganic layer located between adjacent ones of the light transmitting regions(522zB/522zG/522zR) form thickening regions having a second thickness greater than the first thickness
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Nishikiori to the teachings of Huang in order to improve image quality of light transmissive organic EL display panels [0002, Nishikiori].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812