DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The instant application having Application Number 18/435,038 filed on February 7, 2024 has a total of 15 claims pending in the application; there are 6 independent claims and 9 dependent claims, all of which are presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, supports are shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated February 7, 2024 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C (2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 15 is vague and indefinite because the recitation of “the first processor generates the print data and the analysis data smaller than the print data in parallel" has not been clearly defined in the claims. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
The Examiner has given the recitation “the first processor generates the print data and the analysis data smaller than the print data in parallel" its broadest reasonable interpretation. For examination purposes, all claim interpretation is predicated upon the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim terms which would be fairly conveyed to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishida et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0286377 A1, ‘Nishida’, hereafter) in view of Kasai et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2007241682 A, ‘Kasai’, hereafter).
Regarding claim 1. Nishida teaches a printing system including an information processing apparatus and an image forming apparatus (a print system … print data generated based on a printing request from the printer, Nishida [0022-0024], Fig. 1. An image forming apparatus, Nishida [0005], Fig. 1), wherein the information processing apparatus comprises:
at least one memory that stores at least one first program; and at least one first processor, the at least one first program causes the at least one first processor (a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium … a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits for performing the functions … performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing the computer executable instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions …. The computer may comprise one or more processors … separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions, Nishida [0117]) to:
generate index files, each of the generated index files including a storage destination of the generated analysis data or a storage destination of the generated print data, a category indicating whether data corresponding to the included storage destination is the analysis data or the print data, and link information to a next index file, wherein when the index file is generated, link information to the generated index file is described in an index file generated immediately before (Nishida [0046-0047], Table 3, Fig. 4),
the image forming apparatus comprises: at least one memory that stores at least one second program; and at least one second processor, the at least one second program causes the at least one second processor (a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium … a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits for performing the functions … performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing the computer executable instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions …. The computer may comprise one or more processors … separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions, Nishida [0117]).
acquire the index files from the information processing apparatus (The pull print application transmits the request including the authentication token to the print server to acquire an index file. The pull print application acquires print data from the storage server in accordance with the index file, Nishida [0056]); and
process the analysis data and the print data corresponding to the storage destinations included in the index files, in an order of the index files connected by the link information, in accordance with the category included in the index files (Nishida [0046-0047], Table 3, Fig. 4).
Nishida does not teach
generate and store analysis data and print data for each page, wherein the analysis data is generated before the print data, and wherein the generated analysis data is used for correction processing performed by the image forming apparatus;
However, Kasai teaches
generate and store analysis data and print data for each page, wherein the analysis data is generated before the print data, and wherein the generated analysis data is used for correction processing performed by the image forming apparatus (Kasai [0003], [0007], [0049]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made having the teachings of Nishida and Kasai before him/her, to modify Nishida with the teaching of Kasai’s processing of image data for printing. Printing apparatuses analyze image data and correct the image data according to the analysis result. In the printing apparatus, print data is generated using the corrected image data. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of improving the quality of printed images (Kasai, Abstract, [0003]).
Regarding claim 2. Nishida as modified teaches, wherein the first processor generates the print data and the analysis data smaller than the print data in parallel (Kasai, Abstract, [0009-0010]).
Regarding claim 3. Nishida as modified teaches, wherein the index file includes link information to the index file itself while no following index file is generated (Nishida [0005], [0019], [0033], [0040], [0046-0047]).
Regarding claim 4. Nishida as modified teaches, wherein the generated index file corresponding to the print data of a final page includes information indicating an end as the link information (Nishida [0005], [0019], [0033], [0040], [0046-0047]).
Regarding claim 5. Nishida as modified teaches, wherein after the image forming apparatus acquires the index file from the information processing apparatus, the image forming apparatus acquires a next index file indicated by the link information included in the index file (Nishida [0034], [0038], [0043], [0056-0057], Table 3, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6. Nishida as modified teaches, wherein if the link information of the index file acquired from the information processing apparatus indicates the end, the image forming apparatus ends a process for acquiring a next index file (Nishida [0034], [0038], [0043], [0056-0057], Table 3, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7. Nishida as modified teaches, wherein the image forming apparatus processes, as a target, data corresponding to the storage destination included in the acquired index file (Kasai [0062], [0076-0078]).
Regarding claim 8. Nishida as modified teaches, wherein if the category of the acquired index file indicates analysis, the image forming apparatus determines necessity of correction based on the analysis data corresponding to the storage destination, and if necessary, generates a correction parameter (Kasai [0003], [0007], [0049]).
Regarding claim 9. Nishida as modified teaches, wherein if the category of the acquired index file indicates printing, and if there is the correction parameter, the image forming apparatus corrects the print data corresponding to the storage destination using the correction parameter and performs printing of the corrected printed data (Kasai [0009], [0031], [0049]).
Regarding claim 10. Nishida as modified teaches, wherein the image forming apparatus determines the necessity of the correction for each type of correction, and generates the correction parameter for each type of the correction (Kasai [0009], [0031], [0049]).
Regarding claim 11. Nishida teaches an information processing apparatus that generates data to be processed by an image forming apparatus, comprising:
at least one memory that stores at least one program; and at least one processor, wherein the at least one program causes the at least one processor to (a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium … a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits for performing the functions … performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing the computer executable instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions …. The computer may comprise one or more processors … separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions, Nishida [0117]):
generate index files, each of the generated index files including a storage destination of the generated analysis data or a storage destination of the generated print data, a category indicating whether data corresponding to the included storage destination is the analysis data or the print data, and link information to a next index file, wherein when the index file is generated, link information to the generated index file is described in an index file generated immediately before (Nishida [0046-0047], Table 3, Fig. 4),
Nishida does not teach
generate and store analysis data and print data for each page, wherein the analysis data is generated before the print data, and wherein the generated analysis data is used for correction processing performed by the image forming apparatus;
However, Kasai teaches
generate and store analysis data and print data for each page, wherein the analysis data is generated before the print data, and wherein the generated analysis data is used for correction processing performed by the image forming apparatus (Kasai [0003], [0007], [0049]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made having the teachings of Nishida and Kasai before him/her, to modify Nishida with the teaching of Kasai’s processing image data for printing. Printing apparatuses analyze image data and correct the image data according to the analysis result. In the printing apparatus, print data is generated using the corrected image data. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of improving the quality of printed images (Kasai, Abstract, [0003]).
Regarding claim 13. Nishida teaches a control method of a printing system including an information processing apparatus and an image forming apparatus (a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium … a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits for performing the functions … performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing the computer executable instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions …. The computer may comprise one or more processors … separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions, Nishida [0117]), comprising:
by the information processing apparatus,
generating index files, each of the generated index files including a storage destination of the generated analysis data or a storage destination of the generated print data, a category indicating whether data corresponding to the included storage destination is the analysis data or the print data, and link information to a next index file (Nishida [0046-0047], Table 3, Fig. 4),
wherein, when the index file is generated, link information to the generated index file is described in an index file generated immediately before, and by the image forming apparatus, acquiring the index files from the information processing apparatus (Nishida [0046-0047], [0056], Table 3, Fig. 4); and
acquire the index files from the information processing apparatus (The pull print application transmits the request including the authentication token to the print server to acquire an index file. The pull print application acquires print data from the storage server in accordance with the index file, Nishida [0056]); and
processing the analysis data and the print data corresponding to the storage destination included in the index files, in an order of the index files connected by the link information, in accordance with the category included in the index file (Nishida [0046-0047], Table 3, Fig. 4).
Nishida does not teach
generate and store analysis data and print data for each page, wherein the analysis data is generated before the print data, and wherein the generated analysis data is used for correction processing performed by the image forming apparatus;
However, Kasai teaches
generate and store analysis data and print data for each page, wherein the analysis data is generated before the print data, and wherein the generated analysis data is used for correction processing performed by the image forming apparatus (Kasai [0003], [0007], [0049]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made having the teachings of Nishida and Kasai before him/her, to modify Nishida with the teaching of Kasai’s processing image data for printing. Printing apparatuses analyze image data and correct the image data according to the analysis result. In the printing apparatus, print data is generated using the corrected image data. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of improving the quality of printed images (Kasai, Abstract, [0003]).
Regarding claim 14. Nishida teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a code executable by a computer, wherein the code executed by the computer causes the computer to execute (a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium … a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits for performing the functions … performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing the computer executable instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions …. The computer may comprise one or more processors … separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions, Nishida [0117]):
generate index files, each of the generated index files including a storage destination of the generated analysis data or a storage destination of the generated print data, a category indicating whether data corresponding to the included storage destination is the analysis data or the print data, and link information to a next index file, wherein when the index file is generated, link information to the generated index file is described in an index file generated immediately before (Nishida [0046-0047], Table 3, Fig. 4),
Nishida does not teach
generate and store analysis data and print data for each page, wherein the analysis data is generated before the print data, and wherein the generated analysis data is used for correction processing performed by the image forming apparatus;
However, Kasai teaches
generate and store analysis data and print data for each page, wherein the analysis data is generated before the print data, and wherein the generated analysis data is used for correction processing performed by the image forming apparatus (Kasai [0003], [0007], [0049]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made having the teachings of Nishida and Kasai before him/her, to modify Nishida with the teaching of Kasai’s processing image data for printing. Printing apparatuses analyze image data and correct the image data according to the analysis result. In the printing apparatus, print data is generated using the corrected image data. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of improving the quality of printed images (Kasai, Abstract, [0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishida et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0286377 A1, ‘Nishida’, hereafter)).
Regarding claim 12. Nishida teaches an image forming apparatus that acquires data from an information processing apparatus and processes the acquired data, comprising:
at least one memory that stores at least one program; and at least one processor, wherein the at least one program causes the at least one processor to (a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium … a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits for performing the functions … performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing the computer executable instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions …. The computer may comprise one or more processors … separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions, Nishida [0117]):
acquire index files from the information processing apparatus, each of the acquired index files including a storage destination of analysis data or a storage destination of print data generated by the information processing apparatus, a category indicating whether data corresponding to the included storage destination is the analysis data or the print data, and link information to a next index file (Nishida [0046-0047], [0056], Table 3, Fig. 4); and
process the analysis data and the print data corresponding to the storage destinations included in the index files, in an order of the index files connected by the link information, in accordance with the category included in the index file (Nishida [0046-0047], Table 3, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15. Nishida teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a code executable by a processor of an image forming apparatus, wherein the code executed by the processor causes the image forming apparatus to execute (a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium … a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits for performing the functions … performed by the computer of the system or apparatus by, for example, reading out and executing the computer executable instructions from the storage medium to perform the functions …. The computer may comprise one or more processors … separate computers or separate processors to read out and execute the computer executable instructions, Nishida [0117]):
although claim 15 directed to a medium, it is similar in scope to claim 12. The system steps of claim 12 substantially encompass the medium recited in claim 15. Therefore; claim 15 is rejected for at least the same reason as claim 12 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed on form PTO-892, and not relied upon, if any, is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Hirata et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0101525 A1) discloses an information processing apparatus is provided that is connected to a server that archives document data hierarchically formed by a plurality of files and stores the document data as a single file, comprising: a downloading unit configured to download the archived document data from the server, decompressing the archived document data, and storing a file forming a lower layer of the document data in a storage unit; a browser unit configured to access an access destination of the file forming the lower layer which is described in an upper layer file of the document data; and a readout unit configured to read out the file forming the lower layer by hooking the access and returning the read out file to the browser unit instead of the server, wherein the browser unit displays the document data based on the read out file.
Kamoi et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2013/0120794 A1) discloses an image forming apparatus includes a storage unit, a selection unit, and a generation unit. The storage unit stores first route information for acquiring first print information from an information processing apparatus, and stores second route information for acquiring second print information via an information conversion apparatus. The selection unit selects the second route information if conversion of the first print information into the second print information is necessary. In response to determining that a factor disturbing an acquisition of the second print information exist, the generation unit changes the second route information selected by the selection unit to the first route information, and request the conversion to the information processing apparatus so that, among pieces of print information which can be output from the information processing apparatus and can be printed by the image forming apparatus, the first print information becomes print information closer to the second print information.
Kawano et al. (US Patent Publication No. 20100188681 A1) discloses a print system is provided that is capable of supporting various print parameters enabling the saving of printing materials such as sheets and toner and comprehending a saving status of the printing materials to prompt a user to save the printing materials. If a print parameter set by a user is a print parameter contributing to saving of printing materials such as sheets and toner, a PC transmits identification information identifying a user of the PC and an eco-point predetermined for the print parameter along with print data to an image forming apparatus. The image forming apparatus transfers the identification information and the eco-point received along with the print data to a server apparatus. The server apparatus receives and the identification information and the eco-point transmitted from the image forming apparatus counts/records in association with each other.
Nagao et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0417371 A1) discloses a system including: a printing apparatus; an information processing apparatus; and a server system. The printing apparatus outputs identification information on the printing apparatus. The information processing apparatus transmits the identification information obtained from the printing apparatus based on acceptance of an instruction for receiving a first service, and performs display control of the information processing apparatus. The server system executes processing for confirmation as to whether or not the printing apparatus identified by the identification information transmitted from the information processing apparatus is registered for a second service, and provides data for displaying an item for the second service in a case where the printing apparatus is not registered for the second service. The information processing apparatus displays an item for registering the printing apparatus for the second service on a display unit of the information processing apparatus based on the provided data.
Shirai et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0155557 A1) discloses a first hash value calculated by a print server based on print data and a second hash value calculated by an image processing apparatus by using the print data are compared, and printing processing using the print data is cancelled in a case where it is determined that the first hash value and the second hash value are not the same.
Hotokeishi Kenichiro (Australian Patent Publication No. AU 2019203110 B2) discloses an information processing apparatus includes a first acquiring unit that acquires a processing attribute of a printing process corresponding to a printing instruction for executing the printing process using print data, a second acquiring unit that acquires an apparatus attribute of an image forming apparatus that executes the printing process, a third acquiring unit that acquires a data attribute of the print data, a print data interpretation unit that performs an interpreting process for the print data based on the processing attribute, a request unit that requests the print data interpretation unit to perform the interpreting process according to the printing instruction when it is not possible to determine from at least one of the processing attribute, the apparatus attribute and the data attribute whether or not an error occurs in the printing process, and a controller that displays information indicating that the error occurs in the printing process.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Rones can be reached at 571-272-4085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HASANUL MOBIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168