DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White (US 2016/0043319).
In regards to claim 1, White teaches a mask comprising:
a frame (112) which defines an opening (shown) on a plane (fig. 1-2; para. 28-29, 37);
a sub-mask (106) overlaps the opening and has patterning (120) which provides holes through which a deposition material is capable of passing (fig. 1-2; para. 28-29, 37);
a micro-actuators (114, aligner) are between the mask and the frame, are computer controlled and moves the mask within the opening of the frame when a voltage (i.e. power/signals from the computer) is applied to the microactuators (fig. 1-2; para. 29-32, 35, 37).
In regards to claim 2, White teaches the mask comprises a polygonal shape with sides and the microactuators are between the sides of the mask and the frame (fig. 1-2; para. 29-32, 35, 37).
In regards to claim 3, White teaches the connecting parts, shown as a line between the mask and the micro-actuator, along connecting part shown as a line between the micro-actuator and the frame, the connecting parts are shown to protrude from the sides of the mask and frame and connect to the micro-actuators (fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 8, White teaches the mask and frame are spaced apart from each other in a first direction and the actuators provide a first actuator which extends in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 9, White teaches the mask and frame are spaced apart from each other in the second direction and provides a second actuator which extends in the first direction (fig. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (US 2016/0043319) in view of Terada (US 2021/0202854).
In regards to claim 12, White teaches an apparatus comprising:
a process chamber (100) (fig. 1; para. 24-25);
a deposition source (108) is positioned within the process chamber and supplies a deposition material (fig. 1; para. 26-27);
a chuck (not shown) supports a substrate (102) within the process chamber (fig. 1; para. 25);
a mask comprising:
a frame (112) which defines an opening (shown) on a plane (fig. 1-2; para. 28-29, 37);
a sub-mask (106) overlaps the opening and has patterning (120) which provides holes through which a deposition material is capable of passing (fig. 1-2; para. 28-29, 37);
a micro-actuators (114, aligner) are between the mask and the frame, are computer controlled and moves the mask within the opening of the frame when a voltage (i.e. power/signals from the computer) is applied to the microactuators (fig. 1-2; para. 29-32, 35, 37).
White does not explicitly teach a mask frame supporting the mask.
However, Terada teaches vapor deposition mask (10) on a base frame (20). Terada teaches the base frame has a higher in rigidity than a mask frame (12) of the vapor deposition mask (fig. 2-5, 8-11; para. 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the base frame of Terada onto the mask of White because Terada teaches it will reduce deflection of the mask (para. 22).
In regards to claim 13, White and Terada as discussed, where White teaches a first alignment mark (122) is on the mask and the substrate on the chuck have features (second alignment mark) which are used to align the elements (fig. 1-2; para. 32-33, 37).
In regards to claim 14, White and Terada as discussed, where White teaches a processor/computer-controlled algorithm in control of the microactuators (114), to control the alignment (para. 32-33).
White as discussed, but does not explicitly teach a camera for capturing an image of the first and second alignment marks.
However, Terada teaches alignment cameras (100A-D/200) which images alignment marks (128 A-B /129A-C), where the alignment camera are connected to a control mechanism (40) to control the alignment of elements, the (fig. 8-9; para. 40, 55, 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the alignment camera of Terada onto the apparatus of White because Terada teaches it will reduce deflection of the mask (para. 22).
In regards to claim 15, White and Terada as discussed, where White teaches the processor/computer-controlled algorithm controls and moves the mask within the opening of the frame when a voltage (i.e. power/signals from the computer) is applied to the microactuators (fig. 1-2; para. 29-32, 35, 37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717