Response to Amendment
The amendments traverse the 112 rejections which are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 8-9, Applicant alleges that only a single bonding line is disposed withing Maki’s bonding area of the connecting pad P. Therefore, Applicant alleges that Maki does not anticipate: “the bonding pad comprises a bonding line and a plurality of traces connected to the bonding line,” as recited in claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument and conclusion because Maki, Fig. 25F, teaches the connecting pad P comprises a portion of the mesh pattern MP6. The connecting pad P comprises a bonding line of the mesh pattern MP6 and a plurality of traces of the mesh pattern MP6 connected to the bonding line. See Maki, Fig. 25F, annotated, below.
Furthermore, Maki at col. 18, lines 1-2 recites: “The embodiments form the connecting pad P mainly as a wide-width portion of the mesh pattern.”
In view of the above reasoning, the Examiner respectfully submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Maki’s embodiment of a wide-with portion of the mesh pattern that forms the connecting pad P reads on the claimed: “the bonding pad comprises a bonding line and a plurality of traces connected to the bonding line.”
Therefore, the Examiner respectfully submits that Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Maki” (US 10,575,400).
Regarding claim 1, Maki anticipates 1. An electrical module, comprising (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 3, line 40; the light-emitting module 10):
a circuit board (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 1, line 35, col. 3, line 42; the light-emitting panel 20);
and a bonding pad disposed on the circuit board, wherein the bonding pad comprises a bonding line and a plurality of traces connected to the bonding line (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the conductor pad P comprises the mesh patterns MP in Fig. 25F which comprises a bolding line and a plurality of traces),
wherein the bonding line comprises a first section and a second section, the first section is connected to the second section and extends towards a first direction, the second section extends towards a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and one of the traces extends towards a third section different from the first direction and the second direction (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the mesh pattern in Fig. 25F includes all elements of this limitation).
Regarding claim 2, Maki anticipates 2. The electrical module as claimed in claim 1, wherein the traces are configured in a radial manner (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the mesh pattern in Fig. 25F includes all elements of this limitation).
Regarding claim 3, Maki anticipates 3. The electrical module as claimed in claim 1, wherein the bonding line is L-shaped, the first section comprises a first end, the second section comprises a second end, and the first section is connected to the second section at a connection portion of the bonding line (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the mesh pattern in Fig. 25F includes all elements of this limitation).
Regarding claim 4, Maki anticipates 4. The electrical module as claimed in claim 3, wherein the traces comprise a first inclined trace extending towards a direction between the first direction and the second direction, and the first inclined trace is connected to the first end (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the mesh pattern in Fig. 25F includes all elements of this limitation).
Regarding claim 5, Maki anticipates 5. The electrical module as claimed in claim 4, wherein the traces comprise a second inclined trace extending towards a direction between the first direction and the second direction, and the second inclined trace is connected to the second end (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the mesh pattern in Fig. 25F includes all elements of this limitation).
Regarding claim 6, Maki anticipates 6. The electrical module as claimed in claim 5, wherein the traces comprise a third inclined trace extending towards a direction between the first direction and the second direction, the third inclined trace is connected to the connection portion, and the first inclined trace is symmetric to the third inclined trace relative to a first axis parallel to the second direction (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the mesh pattern in Fig. 25F includes all elements of this limitation).
Regarding claim 7, Maki anticipates 7. The electrical module as claimed in claim 6, wherein the traces comprise a fourth inclined trace extending towards a direction between the first direction and the second direction, the fourth inclined trace is connected to the second end, and the second inclined trace is symmetric to the fourth inclined trace relative to a second axis parallel to the second direction (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the mesh pattern in Fig. 25F includes all elements of this limitation).
Regarding claim 8, Maki anticipates 8. The electrical module as claimed in claim 7, wherein the traces further comprise a first transverse trace and a second transverse trace, wherein the first transverse trace is connected to the first section and extends along the first axis, and the second transverse trace is connected to the second end and extends along the second axis (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the mesh pattern in Fig. 25F includes all elements of this limitation).
Regarding claim 9, Maki anticipates 9. The electrical module as claimed in claim 8, wherein the traces comprise a first vertical trace, a second vertical trace, a third vertical trace and a fourth vertical trace, wherein the first vertical trace, the second vertical trace, the third vertical trace and the fourth vertical trace are parallel to the first direction, the first vertical trace is connected to the first end, the second vertical trace is connected to the connection portion and extends toward a direction opposite to that of the first vertical trace, the third vertical trace is connected to the second end, the fourth vertical trace is connected to the second end and extends towards a direction opposite to that of the third vertical trace (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the mesh pattern in Fig. 25F includes all elements of this limitation).
Regarding claim 10, Maki anticipates 10. A light-emitting device, comprising: an electrical module, comprising (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 3, line 40; the light-emitting module 10):
a circuit board (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 1, line 35, col. 3, line 42; the light-emitting panel 20);
and a plurality of bonding pads disposed on the circuit board (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the conductor pads P),
wherein each of the bonding pads comprises:
a bonding line and a plurality of traces connected to the bonding line (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the conductor pad P comprises the mesh patterns MP in Fig. 25F which comprises a bolding line and a plurality of traces),
wherein the bonding line comprises a first section and a second section, the first section is connected to the second section and extends towards a first direction, the second section extends towards a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and one of the traces extends towards a third section different from the first direction and the second direction (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the mesh pattern in Fig. 25F includes all elements of this limitation);
and a light source element is connected to the bonding pads (Figs. 4-5, 25F, col. 4, line 40, the light-emitting element 30 is connected to the conductor pads P).
Regarding claim 11, Maki anticipates 11. The light-emitting device as claimed in claim 10, wherein the traces are configured in a radial manner (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the mesh pattern in Fig. 25F includes all elements of this limitation).
Regarding claim 12, Maki anticipates 12. The light-emitting device as claimed in claim 10, further comprising a positioning mark, wherein the positioning mark is disposed between the bonding pads, the bonding pads are symmetric to an axis of symmetry, the axis of symmetry is parallel to the first direction, and the axis of symmetry passes through the positioning mark (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the mesh pattern in Fig. 25F includes all elements of this limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki in view of “Kim” (US 2021/0351262).
Regarding claim 12, Maki discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 10, above.
Kim discloses a positioning mark, wherein the positioning mark is disposed between the bonding pads, the bonding pads are symmetric to an axis of symmetry, the axis of symmetry is parallel to the first direction, and the axis of symmetry passes through the positioning mark (Figs. 14, 16, [[0181], [0195]; the alignment mark AM is a positioning mark that is disposed between bonding pads on an axis of symmetry between the pads).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Maki’s light-emitting device with Kim’s alignment mark in order to facilitate the alignment and placement of the lead electrode terminals and pad terminals, as suggested by Kim at [0181].
Regarding claim 13, Maki in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 12, above.
Maki discloses the traces are extended toward the positioning mark (Figs. 4-5, 25F; col. 13, lines 43-44, col. 16, lines 19-59; the conductor pad P comprises the mesh patterns MP which comprises a plurality of traces that extend in opposing directions, thus the traces that extend towards the positioning mark reads on this limitation).
Regarding claim 14, Maki in view of Kim discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 12, above.
Maki does not disclose the shape of the positioning mark is I or +.
Kim’s alignment mark as illustrated in Figs. 14 and 16 is in the shape of T. Kim, [128], discloses that the alignment mark may have a different shape, and that the shape may be any suitable shape, for example, the alignment mark may have a shape such that it is aligned with at least one side of the panel alignment mark in the thickness direction. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of ordinary experimentation to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Kim’s T shaped alignment mark in the shape of I or + since Kim teaches that the shape of the mark may be any suitable shape. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill would have recognized that modifying a T shaped alignment mark in the shape of I or + would have been an obvious matter of design choice in view of Kim’s teaching that the mark can be any suitable shape besides the T shaped alignment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Regarding claim 14, Nien, US 20230354521, [0053], and Takahashi, US 12,558,875, Fig. 2, teaches cross shaped patterns.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847